Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Merley Court Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Merley Court Holiday Park Reviews

Merley Court Holiday Park
Merley
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 3AA
Tel: 01590 648331
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: February 5 To January 2

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 121 Reviews
                8/10 from 121 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seamsman 4 reviews from this member

I had made a late booking over the internet and was surprised how easy it was and with the addition on additional 20% discount was tempted to try a new site.

Access to the site is very easy, just off the A31. The entrance into Merley court is nice and open so no problems for a large tourer.

Reception and shop is quite large selling most the items you may run short on and more. A friendly and welcoming service was given along with a site map with the pitches. The site also has a wooded dog walk for the dogs, and further walk on the castleman trail nearby. Having located the grass pitch as booked it was too small for my twin axel caravan and car to fit despite giving the dims on the booking so I requested another pitch. Reception were very helpful in finding another for 6 nights but would have to move for the last night. The site was generally clean, however the grass was getting long and no cutting was done in the week I was there. There is a pool and bar on site but I did not use. The usual elsan waste points were clean and tidy.

Now for the bad bits, The site has two wash blocks one containing one toilet and three toilet / sink / showers within the cubical, this was the cleaner of the two blocks. The other block had clean toilets, but the showers were disgraceful, with mould, cobwebs, rusty handles and hair left on the shower ledges. I have never been tempted to use the shower in our van, but this was the opportunity I needed

I was told in no uncertain terms from my wife the ladies were the same. These are the dirtiest showers I have come across in 13 years of camping. I gather that the site is looking to change to residential lodges so cannot see the site improving and await to hear back from Shorefield Holidays.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 176 reviews from this member

We stayed here during the weekend and was just about full but was still very quiet at night. Found the reception efficient and friendly. Most pitches were fairly secluded with trees surrounding the park, heard Woodpeckers calling often. Toilets/showers dated but clean and functional. Didn't use the on-site bar so can't comment instead walked to the nearby Willett arms near the flyover which is open all day for food and has a couple of real ales on. A bus can be caught down the road from this pub to Wimborne or further afield. Paid about 18/night which I thought was very reasonable for a site like this.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pollawyn 4 reviews from this member

Have stayed on this site several times. Always clean and well run. Very convenient for Bournemouth. Our last stay was only for one night as we cut short our visit to a dreadful site. The welcome was the same as if we were visiting for a longer period.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 21 reviews from this member

For the price this is an excellent site. More facilities than any normal being could wish for, all clean and superbly maintained. Paid a couple of quid more per night than another site not a million miles away that was run down and frankly filthy.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 30 reviews from this member

Just got back from Merley Court. Our first visit here and overall impressed. As a Bank Holiday weekend, site completely full. Thankfully our pitch had a solid hedge behind it, meaning no one could get through a gap and use our pitch as a cut through. Saw plenty of other very inconsiderate people using our neighbours pitch as one!

I cannot see where, if caravan and motorhome sales are at an all time high, site operators want to turn there touring sites into static / lodge parks. Very shortsighted, in my opinion.

Great location for Poole and Bournemouth. Shop good for essentials and staff very friendly.

Toilets and showers as clean as you would expect when site to capacity.

Grounds well maintained. As we have a dog we would have appreciated more information as to walks.

As we were only there Friday to Monday can't really comment as to local shops etc.

I would definitely return here if we can.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Topshelf 12 reviews from this member

Site is well run, we never used the outside pool so cant comment on that, the bar, is or was quit during our stay picked up a little at weekends. Shop was well stocked, toilets was dated but very clean. We did visit the sister site to use the indoor pool, and that was great, 10 to 15 mins drive. One little tip is there is a gate that leads onto the sports club grounds, this leads onto the road were you will find a under pass suitable for cycling to the next village, lots of local shops inc wetherspoons. Play area is for I would say up to 7 yrs

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JC41 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights mid August. Site tidy on arrival and staff very helpful. The site was extremely busy although our pitch was large (we chose a fully serviced pitch) and we had more than enough space. Other areas around seemed crammed in. Nice pool area but more for kids splashing and jumping than for adults who wanted just to swim. Didn't use the toilet/showers although they did look clean. I did overhear someone say that by the end of the dAy they were grubby from kids in and out. We did have a slight problem with children opposite us kicking a football round on 2 empty pitches and continually being kicked under our caravan. Never saw a warden so this is clearly not kept in check. Such a shame that Shorefield Are proposing to make the site over to owner occupier luxury mobile type units, guess that's down to money? Great site for visiting local areas, would visit again but maybe with our grandchildren next time. Bar area nice but no atmosphere At all as no entertainment whatsoever. For such a big and busy site they could do more.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mountain_goats 9 reviews from this member

We spent two nights there over the weekend, good value for money but the downside is lots of people on the site.

Pros

Good price

Toilets clean and tidy

Plenty of water and drain points around

Cons

Children running around pitch and climbing trees, this caused damage to our caravan after big branch snapped off and hit it.

Playground closed.

Short of staff, never seen any wardens around site.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bigbessie 17 reviews from this member

Just spent a couple of nights but it is a lovely site very well kept and excellent variety of pitches with plenty of space and not all parked in a row. The staff were very helpful and the bar is pleasant. It seems the toilet blocks have had a facelift since our last visit but just a shame there is not the attention to detail in cleaning.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Duffnut 30 reviews from this member

Nice relaxed Site, we really enjoyed our stay here and will go back again. We were looking for a relaxed week and we got that.

The Shop was good and carried the basics. We never used the club so cannot comment on the food in there.

It is a good base for travelling around the area.

There is also a camping shop just outside the site so great if you need anything while you are away.

There is talk of turning this site into Statics only, I really hope this doesn't happen, we need nice relaxed sites like this to continue not disappear.

Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4139 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019