Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Nipstone Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Minsterley > The Nipstone Campsite Reviews

The Nipstone Campsite
Stone Cottage
The Bog
Minsterley
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY5 0NJ
Tel: 01743 792073
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Truemana 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful campsite that is in a stunning location with lots of walks nearby.

Really good that no cars are allowed on the camping field. Our children loved it and it was very safe for them.

Facilities are basic but that is part of the appeal of this place. Rachel and Tim are wonderful hosts.

Many thanks and we hope to visit again soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RosiesClan 1 review from this member

 A lovely quiet campsite, perfect for our family group with small children.

It's hard to find a campsite that allows open fires so this was great - the 5 fire kit was a bargain!

A walk to the Bog Visitor Centre was easy (but quite muddy), they serve lovely coffee and cake! we walked back via Nipstone Rock which gave us some lovely views.

The only minor down side was only having one toilet / wash basin, which was ok until Saturday bedtime when queues started to form. Saying that the toilet never ran out of toilet paper which is very unusual!

A great base for walking Stiperstones, or touring the local attractions such as Snailbeach mine.

A rare 'old fashioned' campsite with very welcoming and helpful owners. We will certainly return! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raven Family 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed an extended weekend break at Nipstone and will definitely visit again. The site was as advertised: set in a beautiful and remote site with lovely views of the surrounding countryside and accessible for local walks.

The owners were friendly and helpful - bringing fire wood to the tent on request. The facilities were regularly cleaned, basic but adequate for a short stay - washing up sink and toilet with hot water.

No cars on the camping field made it really safe for the children. It was great to have a fire pit - a real camping experience. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spike2000 1 review from this member

 I would whole heartedly recommend this campsite. This is a wonderful campsite if you want to do some hiking, all the trails are within 5 minutes from the campsite and the views are stunning.

The toilet block and washing up area are ideal and using a wheelbarrow to transport your camping gear to your pitch is an ingenious ideas. As a woman camping on her own I felt very safe and can't wait to go back.

There are dog kennels next door but the dogs didn't bark at night and I didn't really notice them! I have found a little gem at an amazing price! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 21 reviews from this member

 Me and my girlfriend have just got back from an awesome weekend break at Nipstone camp site.

The site is a true camp site with no caravans or motor homes allowed and it has no electric hookups

On arrival we were greeted by Tim the owner, he was very welcoming and informed us about the site and the surrounding area.

The site is just over 2 acres on a gentle sloping field with a tree in the middle. Its surrounded by trees apart from a 100 metre gap which frames the awesome view of the rolling hills and a great spot to watch the sunset.

With them only allowing 15 tents there is ample space to pitch and we were allowed to pick our own spot. There are no cars allowed in the field and he offers wheel barrows to you for taking your gear to your chosen spot. For families with a lot of gear he will offer to drive his golf buggy with a trailer to help you with your stuff.

The facilities on site are basic and remind me of camp sites from when I was younger. One compost toilet and one conventional toilet with a wash basin, both unisex and that is it. They were both clean and well stocked. Its also where the only water tap is positioned.

This place is perfect for short stays with the place seemingly more geared up for couples or single campers with the site not having any showers. Families with very young children might find this a struggle but it depends on what sort of camper you are. There is no play area or bar, just yourselves and nature.

Fires are allowed at a small cost and wood can be bought on site for as little as 2 a bucket. The owner came round in the early evening to say hello and ask if you needed anything. He asked one family to politely turn down their music, which they did. I loved the attention he showed to everyone while still leaving you to own devices.

Groups are not allowed and with no cars blaring music out makes this a perfect getaway for a weekend.

The surrounding area is great for walking and exploring, the nearest shop is about ten minutes drive away and is also next to a great pub serving food and local beer.

The only negative I can find is that next to the site is a dog kennels, Its not the sites fault but the dogs barking might put off some people. To be fair its only at feeding times and I've had worse alarm calls.

Both me and my girlfriend cannot wait to go back. It has to be my favourite place so far this year. It felt like such a contrast from our last break. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clean Cook Lily 1 review from this member

 I absolutely loved my visit to this site and can't wait to go back. Tim is a great host, helpful but not intrusive. He bravely allowed a group of D of E lads into his home to watch the world cup final, which I thought was nice of him!

The surrounding area is great, it's an underrated part of the world in my opinion. We went on many walks, mostly by leaving the car behind and following the paths that run behind the site to The Bog (slightly unfortunate name) and took in some fantastic views. The Stiperstones inn is well worth a visit, and they cater for many dietary requirements. There is a little shop in the village, and it's quite an experience.

Don't let the lack of showers put you off. I got by with flannels and a large plastic jug for hair washing, there was plenty of hot water. There is only one toilet, but this was not an issue when we visited as the site was not crowded. There's bushes for you hardcore campers.

We loved that fires are allowed, the effort to dig a pit is well worth it.

A great little site for couples, though families with children will also find plenty to see and do. It's not a park though, so bear this in mind if you have easily bored little ones!

Only negative point ; the washing up sink is quite low down to the ground and only ran cold. A very minor inconvenience really, I feel silly mentioning it. A truly great break. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snowflakefairy 1 review from this member

 My family and I (2 adults & 2 children over 5) stayed here for two nights.

The campsite is in a great area ideal for walks along the Stiper stones and exploring the beautiful Shropshire countryside.

Pros:

A lovely warm welcome by the owners who are very friendly and usually on hand should you need anything. The camping area is a field with a downward slope & trees around the perimeter on three sides. The facilities consist of a toilet & washbasin housed in a shed, it was very clean, and as there were only 2 other tents when we stayed availability wasn't a problem. Camp fires are allowed here, you need to dig up a layer of turf and replace once finished, and a fire pack can be bought on site for 5. 00, great for those chilly evenings.

Cons: The tariff of 5. 00 per person is great is there is just one person, but there is no concessions for children over 5, so we paid 20 per night for our family of 4. Considering the facilities available this in our experience of quite a few camp sites is expensive.

The other downside was the lack of control over the resident fox hounds. Unfortunately over the two days we stayed there the dogs managed to find their way inside our tent whilst we were out, and had to be retrieved by the owners. So please be aware of this when booking!

We wouldn't stay there again, but will go back and explore Shropshire again. 
Management response: Many thanks for your comments, we appreciate the feedback, which is important to us. Regarding the second last paragraph which mention foxhounds. This year, 2014 they will no longer be a problem as now, and in the future, there will be no resident foxhounds or dogs of any kind.


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bjkennard 1 review from this member

 Located in a fantastic area for walking. Hosts were very helpful and accommodating. This is a basic site - no showers or shaver points, one clean WC with hot & cold water.

There are no shops or pubs in the immediate area - though the Bog visitor centre (about 1/2 mile away)serves refreshments in the daytime.

We were rather bothered by flies - but that may have been a widespread problem given the very hot weather. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GrayM72 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for two nights in July 2013. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 4 young children (Aged 5, 4, 3 and 2).

The campsite is very remote and set in beautiful countryside but was relatively easy to find using the directions given.

Fantastic welcome from the owners who showed us to our pitch and even offered to help us with our equipment.

The camping-field is very large and despite there being another small group of tents it felt like we had the whole campsite to ourselves.

We didn't spend a lot of time visiting the local area as our children loved running around the camping field with footballs or kites or just exploring. This gave the adults lots of time to relax knowing that the children were safe and having fun. However, we did manage a short walk to The Bog Visitor Centre for some ice cream and a delicious slice of homemade orange cake.

It was also fantastic to have an open fire at night. For the small sum of 5 the owners provide a 'fire-pack' of firelighters, kindling and a generous amount of logs(we didn't manage to use all of them despite having a fire for over 3 hours!).

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay; the campsite was beautiful and the owners very helpful. We would definitely consider returning and would highly recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: B34VER 1 review from this member

 We visited this campsite from 27th - 29th July 2012 with some friends, there were 5 adults, one six year old child and a 18 month old toddler.

The campsite is located in a remote location which we really liked, the surrounding countryside was beautiful.

We were allowed to pull up some turf to have a campfire, this was a really nice touch and quite a rare thing nowadays on campsites. The owners even supplied two buckets of dry wood and kindling for 5

They have various animals on site, the kids loved this (we ended up helping heard the sheep into different fields).

There is a small wash room/toilet which was always very clean.

The only thing letting this campsite down was the lack of shower, we went mountain biking on the Saturday and a shower would of made all the difference. Apart from that everything else was 100% 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Nipstone Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Nipstone Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Nipstone Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minsterley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3241 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020