Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rockley Holiday Park (haven Holidays)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Rockley Holiday Park (haven Holidays)
Napier Road
Hamworthy
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH15 4LZCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 44 reviews from this member

We used this site for a half term break with the grandkids, aged 6 & 8. Booking and check in arrangements were very smooth. The only criticism is the lack of a reasonable parking area for touring arrivals who want to check in. We had a hard-standing pitch with water, drainage and EHU, near the wash block. This was kept reasonably clean, sometimes in spite of the best efforts of some clients! Although this area seems to be a magnet for children on bikes, scooters, etc, there was no intrusive noise. Indeed for a site with a lot of entertainment and other facilities, we found it remarkably quiet.

On one evening we ate in the on-site bar. Reasonable 'pub grub' food; a little pricey for what it was but not exorbitant. We ate out the rest of our stay(there's no lack of choice in Poole). The children in our party enjoyed the entertainment that was pitched at their age group, although it contained elements of 'hard sell' for other (payable) attractions - tacky! The pool complex was a hit.

Off site we all (adults too!)found Monkey World amazing; only a short drive away, with good value refreshments, too. It also has excellent play areas for kids. A visit to Poole Pottery had the youngsters fascinated to watch a demonstration of pots being 'thrown' and decorated.

In summary, a good place to go for a family break.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Collied 10 reviews from this member

The touring area is crowded and can be noisy due to the close proximity of the next unit. Shops on site were expensive (fish and chips particularly as was the health clinic). We had limited use of the 'Club' facilities (our choice)and found it nothing special and was easily missed. Some lovely walks close by mostly overlooking the lovely Poole harbour, great sunsets. The 'beach' is small and quite muddy and we were told off by the staff member at the cafe there, as our dog inadvertently left muddy paw prints on her newly cleaned floor, needless to say we did not take advantage of the pricey cafe. If you can find the nearby lake that's a lovely walk too. We have been here twice and found both times the toilets and showers to be lovely and clean with no shortage of hot water. We wont go back but now hear that Haven Holidays who own the site will no longer be providing a tourist area from 2016 no doubt so that they can maximise their profits by installing ever more static caravans. Poole town centre and quay is well worth a visit with good shops but car parking is expensive if you can even find a place to park. We tended to park in Asda car park where its free if you spend 5 in store.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shaunreynolds 1 review from this member

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at Rockley Park. We were greeted on arrival and given our Pitch numbers with instructions how to find our way there and then told once we were set up or in our own time to make our way to reception FastTrack and get our passes etc. We duly did and when we got there the staff were great especially with our2 young children providing big smiles and sweets (although I ate them!)

The pitch itself was ok, really close to the amenities and on site facilities but under a tree so the awning got used by the birds quite a bit! Apart from the obvious shading issues from the tree it didn't cause us too many issues as we had plenty of room non awning side which was a sun trap mid to late afternoon.

The on site facilities are ok with the shop stocking for most needs and a few items which may need replacing but as to be expected the prices in the shop for all items are inflated. There is a small walk to a nature reserve which is great for walking dogs. The small beach down near boatyard is ok but could get crowded quickly. The Live lounge entertainment for the kids was great with lots of activities taking place during the day then the standard lineup on the night with character shows and fun and games after. The Funstars team work really hard to make the kids enjoy themselves and will try and accommodate any requests you may have. Our little boy was 4 whilst we were there and they had him on stage with one of the characters singing Happy Birthday to him. The smile on his face was priceless and hasnt stopped talking about it since.

We booked at the turn of the year and got great value (62. 50 for 5 nights) so I would recommend others do the same. Overall we had a great experience at Rockley Park and would definitely visit the site again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Salmong 20 reviews from this member

Spent 7 nights here for the half term holiday.

When we arrived at the park we were left to fend for ourselves, no organisation in the touring area and no staff to welcome us and a lack of check in procedure, so we left our outfit on the touring area and went looking for the reception, we then queued for about 30 minutes and eventually were checked in.

Our Pitch was right opposite the shower block and was a good size, in future I would request a pitch away from this area due to the noise at all hours, and the fact that the children congregated around the block which at times could be quite noisy.

The previous occupants of our pitch had kindly left several large piles of dog poo which needed to be cleared before we set up.

The site itself is great for those of us with children to entertain ( we took our 6 year old Grandson) and he had the time of his life - but please be aware that this is not a site for a peaceful break! - It is not our usual choice but we found it brilliant for families - so its horses for courses.

The other amenities on site are excellent all seems to be very well kept and clean - showers are cleaned regularly and were more than adequate - I only had to wait for a shower once in the whole 7 days.

Car parking around the site is very haphazard and there were several static caravans 'dumped' at the roadside making it quite difficult to manoeuvre about the site.

The on site shop is very comprehensive, and stocks a good range of everything - yes its expensive - but that's what you get on a site like this.

In summary - if you want a quiet getaway - don't go here! but if you want a site that has plenty of entertainment and activities for children look no further.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mclouis 3 reviews from this member

What you would expect from a commercial site and all the noise to go with it.

Greeted on arrival and given pitch number, but no map or directions. Found pitch after negotiating cars dumped every where and children speeding round on scooters / bikes / roller skates with no awareness of cars at all.

The pitch itself was already very muddy and the grass churned up so I dread to think what it will look like later in the season. The pitches are all different sizes some with parking, some without (hence cars dumped all over the place). All pitches have water tap and drainage, (although some people choose not to use drainage and let their 'grey' water run all over the road and onto other pitches). You don't get any pitching instructions (i. E car, caravan, awning). Our pitch was tight, just about fitted the caravan, porch awning and parked the car; no space to sit outside. Haven could resolve these 'social' issues by providing a pitching guide with basic touring guidelines and expectations of behaviour.

Our pitch was used as a 'short cut' by people staying in static caravans which became annoying when they were returning from the club late a night.

The showers and toilets were ok, water pressure affected if some-one else starts a shower in another cubicle and cubicles are small if you need to take children in with you.

The swimming pool was busy and cramped. For the size of the site it's on the small size and don't attempt to have a shower afterwards; the pool side showers are cold and useless.

We ate in the Mash and Barrel; waited around 20 minutes for food to arrive and the food was adequate not great value for money.

All the staff we came into contact with were helpful. You need 'funworks' pass to access everything apart from the shop and security check these all the time. I hope they move the smoking area away from the entrance to the arcade as it's not pleasant passing smokers with small children. The outside play area was been built; it's no adventure park for the kids to burn off energy.

We visited Brownsea Island which was great a day out and painted pots at Poole Pottery. Upton County Park is nice too.

If commercial sites are your thing then you will like this park, however you can't choose who you 'camp' with and we left feeling tired from all the late/sleepless nights from noise.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CarolJD 4 reviews from this member

We just turned up at Rockley Park with it being out of season and they managed to let us have the last touring pitch available at a whopping cost of 36 for 1 night. As we had driven a long way and were tired, we took it. The facilities on site were good if you didn't have a dog (which we do) as you can't access anything with a dog. I believe there was a swimming pool and activities for children and a bar and restaurant (not accessible with a dog). There was a well stocked supermarket on site. Showers and toilets were good though. We found the pitches to be very small and cramped even for a medium sized motorhome and we didn't think it was worth the money. It was also quite a way from anywhere except a very small beach.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pintacider 28 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a 5 night stay.

I thought they organised the check in bit very well. We were greeted at the entrance by one of the entertainment team who then phoned through to get our pitch number - meant we could drive straight on and then check in a little later.

Site looked very modern, clean and fresh. Lots of stuff for family and kids. Heated pools both indoor and outdoor. Good size flat pitches. Shower and toilet block were also clean and tidy.

There is an hourly bus to Poole bus station (you could set your watch by it. 7 minutes past every hour) from where you can catch other buses to a wide variety of destinations. A day pass for an adult was 5. 40 or you could get one for the week for around 14 - great value.

Entertainment was decent - usual stuff such as bingo, games for kids, disco and cabaret acts.

The closest beaches weren't anything special but you are only a short drive us bus ride (or cycle in our case) to Sandbanks and Bournemouth which are amazing beaches

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pleach01 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a tour taking in 3 Haven sites in 2 weeks. Travelled down from Manchester- including breaks took around 6 hours door to door, partly due to adverse weather and the fact that we had to exercise 3 dogs twice en route. It is a massive site, but the touring area is unusually quite close to the facilities for a Haven site. Plus points: 1. There is a sort of beach within the overall site perimeter, 2. Toilet block quite modern and clean whenever we visited and 3. It was handy for us to visit my elderly mother.

Negatives: 1. There was a room for a touring office but it seemed to have been abandoned, forcing you to walk back to main reception after you have passed it on the way in. The parking bay for arriving outfits was blocked by- you guessed- a spare static caravan. After such a long drive, I just waned to pitch and go do the formalities afterwards if they couldn't be bothered to provide a touring warden. In the course of doing so, OH wondered off to get the paperwork only to return and tell me we had to move because someone had reserved that specific pitch (which we were told wasn't possible) as they had special needs. In fact the people who subsequently arrived were quite hale and hearty, even pushing their caravan on the pitch. Clearly mates of the local management. 2. We chose the park so we could get to a dog friendly beach. Two choices here. One reasonable bach is down by the boat club and shows up on the Haven map with parking. When you get there, you find Haven don't own it and it's 5 a day. Otherwise you can park in the free council car par at the top of the cliff, but watch out for the tide times as the tide comes right up to the steps and it is a steep climb down from the carpark. 3. You can't really access any facilities apart from the Spar without going through security and showing your pass. So if you are a dog owner and fancy sitting outside the mash and barrel with a pint in the afternoon, forget it. It is within the security zone, so a no-go. 4. There's nothing to do outside of the park that doesn't involve a car ride. 5. Bar prices very expensive (usual Haven).

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: ROMANA31 6 reviews from this member

We are just back from this site after staying for three nights and four days.

This site is great as it has a site shop, swimming pool, bus service, take a away and amusements crazy golf and more.

There is plenty of entertainment for children and adults.

My children really enjoyed themselves at this site especially the evening entertainment as there was dancing and games

The entertainment crew were great and really engaged with the audience and got the children up and dancing and involved.

We decided to catch a bus into poole as it ran every hour and it saved on trying to park. The shopping centre was good and there was plenty of cafes we also managed to find one that did a good range of gluten free food for my daughter.

We went on a boat ride to brownsea island which run regularly.

Weymouth is close and there is a great beach and attractions there as well as the sea life tower.

I would definitely go back to this site again as the caravan we stayed in was very clean and very well equipped. This site is clean and tidy and we had nothing to complain about, the views are great from the park.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnycamper00 9 reviews from this member

Wel,l a another nice haven site. Check in was great and easy. The touring area is a little tight so manoeuvring a caravan could be tricky in high season.

Toilet block ok but codes are used on doors and the ladies would work when it wanted, not good when you are busting

Pitches were ok ,a little muddy but as October its understandable as near end of season.

Staff were great. Swimming pool was a little small but as we went before Dorset half term it was always quiet. Flume not working either but my son loved the large slide. Mash and barrel pub had free wi-fi which was good, food lovely if a little small, good prices.

Evening entertainment was great

Where the touring area are a lot of statics, and customers have to walk past - ok in day, but late evening we had a lot of shouting, screaming and singing!

Downside is you need to be of your pitch by 10am - you could ask to stay later for a fee if your pitch was free, if not the view point on site could be used (at your own risk)

Would go again

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2478 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!