Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rubha Phoil Eco Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Sleat > Rubha Phoil Eco Campsite Reviews

Rubha Phoil Eco Campsite
Armadale Pier Road
Ardvasar
Sleat
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV45 8RS
Tel: 07393 830403
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 10
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 13 Reviews
                6/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Sheelba 1 review from this member

Cheap and cheerful place with people making a very admirable effort to live as sustainably as possible. It's not for everyone but it is impressive to see what can be achieved.

Be warned: if your idea of eco-living is having an alternative flush on the toilets in your six bed house, just going on long-haul flights every other year and glamping in palatial yurts in the Surrey countryside this place is probably not for you.

Management response: Please note that from 2017 this site is under new management. The new owner has a completely different way of working and have a different vision for the site than previously. It will remain to be an Eco Campsite, however it will have a far more tidied up look and properly working permaculture site, more attention for the well being of the campers, and the bothys for rent are being fixed and upgraded.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hearty campers 2 reviews from this member

We found this place by accident in June and loved it so much we went back in July then again in September. We had never stayed in an Eco campsite before and I wasn't sure what to expect with the compost toilets but I was pleasantly surprised that they didn't smell at all and there is an electric shower available. You take a walk through the Forest and you have tent pitches available with fire pits nearby. There are also enough compost toilets in the woodland area for campers. The walk takes you to spectacular views with seating areas if you want to look out for otters, seals and other wildlife. This is an adventure play ground for kids, so if you have any take them and get them educated about nature.

If you don't fancy camping there is a wigwam with a large fire pit outside and a couple of bothies available to rent with log burning stoves inside to keep you cozy at night. There is no wifi available but who wants to be bothered with day to day life when your away. The closest shop is about a 10min walk but beware you are in the islands so if you're looking for a 24hr shop the closest place is 15mile away in Broadford. There is also a small store in Ardvarsar that is open in the morning, closes for lunch then reopens again. Everywhere is closed on a Sunday apart from the co-op in broadford. The situation of this site is ideal for either a holiday or a stop over as its situated right next to Armadale Pier. Their website states this is NOT a glamping site and I was surprised at some of the negative comments left on this site. Nature is not perfect!

The owner of this land relies on volunteers to help with the upkeep of 16 acres and is continuously trying to improve the area. The people are so friendly and knowledgeable about permaculture. Keep up the good work and don't be disheartened by negative comments.

If anyone is looking for a back to nature experience then this is the place for you. We will definitely be back and help where ever we can as this place is unique!

Management response: Please note that from 2017 this site is under new management. The new owner has a completely different way of working and have a different vision for the site than previously. It will remain to be an Eco Campsite, however it will have a far more tidied up look and properly working permaculture site, more attention for the well being of the campers, and the bothys for rent are being fixed and upgraded.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jo Wilder 1 review from this member

First, please execuse my bad englisch. So I had to Wright my review with a translator.

This campsite is unique. I've never seen so much natural state at a campsite. Who can not get back to nature or want to pee in the bushes ? Then you are wrong here. The composting toilet is clean and the spiders keep mosquitoes in check. There is no electricity, no animation. There are unparalleled views of otters and seals. Waking in the morning to the cries of the gulls. Sit comfortably by the own campfire ud the view of the sea enjoy. Who can 30 min walk through the underbrush and discover a beautiful detail after another. Lovingly painted signs and home-built viewing platforms. It is a real eco nature camping. There is nothing spoiled for 3 star hotel, but that it should notThere is a pub and a small shop in a 10 minute walk. I should again come to sky, dannnur campsite on this extraordinary garden. The chickens and ducks on the premises fall on hard. Chaos is program. All a bit greener, if you know what I mean. The price is reasonable priced. The Old lady is super nice and helpful. I'll be back. , , , ,

Jo and Mona from germany with motorbikes in roadtripp

Management response: Please note that from 2017 this site is under new management. The new owner has a completely different way of working and have a different vision for the site than previously. It will remain to be an Eco Campsite, however it will have a far more tidied up look and properly working permaculture site, more attention for the well being of the campers, and the bothys for rent are being fixed and upgraded.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Natty1 1 review from this member

Wow, this place is amazing!

Really beautiful woodland walk to an Wildlife Hide to watch otters and seals and birds a great place for kids and the campsite is great either sea views or woodland views.

We stayed in the Seagull Hut which is very basic, bunk beds and a wood burning stove, kettle and toaster it really was like getting away from everything.

Is a permaculture site with electric shower and compost toilets, which were new for us but they don't smell and I don't mind peeing in a bucket, it it means saving water and the folk explained how the system works which was really interesting.

I think if you expect a 5 star hotel you will get a shock but if you go with an open mind and take an interest in what the site is about you will have great time. The people running it are happy to talk and explain stuff which is great.

I read some of the other reviews and can't work out what the problem is? What do they expect for £15 per night!

Management response: Please note that from 2017 this site is under new management. The new owner has a completely different way of working and have a different vision for the site than previously. It will remain to be an Eco Campsite, however it will have a far more tidied up look and properly working permaculture site, more attention for the well being of the campers, and the bothys for rent are being fixed and upgraded.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Shuttersister 4 reviews from this member

My daughter had booked us into the Seagull Sanctuary for 2 nights as a surprise birthday present. We are keen outdoor people and have camped all over the world but sadly this little haven was not for us.

When we arrived it was not ready but we did get to look inside it was basic which we had expected but it was not inviting. The furniture and fittings were of a poor quality the rug was tired and old looking, a bottle on the table held some dried heather. The bunk beds had slats a mattress covered with a fitted sheet then a tartan travelling rug on top of this plus one small cushion. You were asked to provide your own bedding which we did. There was a wood burning stove and some small pieces of wood some pieces of cardboard but nothing to light the fire with. The door had a snib to lock it but this would not work and there was lots of spiders webs which could have so easily removed before people arrived. Two folding camping chairs were provided to sit on but the cover for one arm kept falling off. The curtain pole was a tree branch which is quaint but to be able to close the curtain you literally had to pull it over the twists and knots in the wood, a nice idea but still in the raw stages.

The toilet facilities were one of the better areas a composting toilet not too far from the Bothy there was a bucket and a toilet luckily a pipe had been put in so we did not need to use the bucket. We left after one night and did not return.

A great opportunity is being missed here as this is a beautiful area and if some time, money and attention to detail had been spent on the cabins and surrounding area it would be wonderful location as there is much wildlife to see eg seals, otters and stunning scenery to enjoy but at present as you approach the site there are so many things lying around just making the place look untidy and not very Eco friendly which I thought was one of it's main selling points.

Management response: Please note that from 2017 this site is under new management. The new owner has a completely different way of working and have a different vision for the site than previously. It will remain to be an Eco Campsite, however it will have a far more tidied up look and properly working permaculture site, more attention for the well being of the campers, and the bothys for rent are being fixed and upgraded.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Flowerfairy 4 reviews from this member

I am sad to leave this negative review but we found that the Skye Forest Garden/ Skye Permaculture site to be a disappointment.

We had seen the website and on the strength of it and their permaculture-organic ethos, we made a huge detour at the end of our holiday just to visit them and hoped to have an idyllic couple of days getting back to nature and living simply.

However, we were shocked to find that the place was terribly untidy, run down and over grown. There were plastic pots, dustbins, plant trays, bits of sting/ rope, sticks, bamboo canes and other junk everywhere and clearly these had been in situ for a long while. Some of the plant info signs were beautifully painted but when the signs are surrounded by the other mess, it just contributed to the look of 'crazy'.

The 'Seagull Sanctuary' hut we were to stay in, was reached through a close neighbour's private land and this area was equally untidy - random wood and planks, pallets, fishing nets, scrap bikes, you name it. This was all visible from the hut and just not what you want or expect to see at a supposed sanctuary!

The hut itself smelt of damp and smoke. We had been expecting something basic but prepared to a decent, clean standard - they describe it as a beach hut bothy. A garden shed would have been better! The bunk beds had hardly any slats supporting the mattresses. Food such as stock cubes and other unsealed packets had been left out in the open on the shelves which can only attract mice and other critters! Efforts had been made to make it homely - eg a few candles and some ornaments but this does not make up for the basic flaws.

Oddly, they did not leave anything but a few sticks of kindling for the wood burner, but it was suggested we use the electric fan to take the chill off. Not very eco or permaculture - I had expected they would be coppicing wood sustainably from the land.

And I'm all for making do, recycling and re-using but in my opinion, using a small branch to (barely) hold up a (smelly and mildewy) door curtain, is not kitsch, hipster, creative, eco or twee, it is just inadequate.

We had no choice but to stay the night, as we arrived in the evening very tired from driving and could not find any other accommodation, but we left as soon as we could in the morning.

Two good points:

1) The compost toilet near the hut was fine. I did see only it in early twilight though and only used the plastic bucket for a pee! We have no problem being back to nature :o)

2) The neighbour kindly allowed us to leave the car on his land near the hut as my husband had mobility difficulties and could not have walked up the long hill to the site.

It would help if the site described that they are actually up a fairly steep longish, hill and that you are expected to take you car back to the bottom, after unloading and using a wheel barrow to take your things to the hut. This is fine but not if you have mobility issues/ disabilities. We could not book by phone so we could not find this info out before booking.

This end of Skye (the Sleat peninsular) has an attractive coastline - very Swallow and Amazons. But we didn't see much of it due to leaving ASAP and going to Portree to find civillisation and a hot breakfast.

Management response: Please note that from 2017 this site is under new management. The new owner has a completely different way of working and have a different vision for the site than previously. It will remain to be an Eco Campsite, however it will have a far more tidied up look and properly working permaculture site, more attention for the well being of the campers, and the bothys for rent are being fixed and upgraded.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aysteph 5 reviews from this member

A great pity that the motorhome park, which has fantastic views(as everywhere on Skye) is unkempt, with rubbish and old tyres, muddy and scruffy. Eco? Not really just an excuse to do very little apart from painting a few silly signs highlighting that weeds are plants. The location is ideal as just by the ferry from Mallaig so a great place to stop on first night on Skye

Management response: Please note that from 2017 this site is under new management. The new owner has a completely different way of working and have a different vision for the site than previously. It will remain to be an Eco Campsite, however it will have a far more tidied up look and properly working permaculture site, more attention for the well being of the campers, and the bothys for rent are being fixed and upgraded.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Rik412 3 reviews from this member

We stayed in the Seagull Sanctuary which was a hut/cabin not far from the owners house. There had been a mix up with the booking as children aren't normally allowed here but we were allowed to stay. It is normally for one or two adults. It was very cosy with a small fire/stove, kettle, dishes, table, chairs, bunk bed. After a wet day the stove makes the cabin really warm and cosy.

We had a compost toilet not to far from the cabin which I never seen anyone else use. I was a bit worried about the toilet but there was no smell and it was clean.

We travelled on foot so having the site right at the ferry was perfect. The site is beautiful and peaceful. There is lots of painted signs giving information on the plants and what they do. The walks are great for children and one leads down to the beach where you can view the seals. Small children would need help with the stairs going down to the beach as they are steep at the bottom. My son loved the ducks and the cat that roam about the site. The only criticism of the site is one shower is not enough if it is busy.

The owners and volunteers are very friendly and helpful.

The bus stop is just outside the site which will take you to Portree and Broadford. There is also a cafe and gift shops at the pier. Five minutes walk there is a garage/shop/small cafe, You can get cash back here if needed and some shopping.

If you want to get away from it all and back to nature then this is the place.

Management response: Please note that from 2017 this site is under new management. The new owner has a completely different way of working and have a different vision for the site than previously. It will remain to be an Eco Campsite, however it will have a far more tidied up look and properly working permaculture site, more attention for the well being of the campers, and the bothys for rent are being fixed and upgraded.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Undermanager 1 review from this member

A very interesting place to stay if you are interested in ecological things and handy for the ferry. This is clearly the owner's passion and there are a lot of fascinating areas, like the eco toilets, the use of plants etc. The welcome was warm and the orientation clear. The whole area is wooded. This meant huge numbers of the dreaded mozzie! Maybe I was unlucky on the day I arrived. Bring lots of repellent and a head net. I was camping out of my car. You have to pitch your tent in the wooded area overlooking the sea - very pretty and peaceful. However, you then have to wheelbarrow everything you need over to your tent. Then park the car down near the bottom near the ferry terminal, although the owner did let me keep the car closer to the wood the night I was there after a bit of negotiation. Your tent will be about 5 - 10 minutes walk from the car. If you need to keep popping into your car, this will be a real pain and inconvenient but if you are using a bike or arrive with a rucksack on your back, you should be fine. I was planning to stay longer but left after a day. I didn't feel relaxed about the car set-up or the mozzies.

Management response: Please note that from 2017 this site is under new management. The new owner has a completely different way of working and have a different vision for the site than previously. It will remain to be an Eco Campsite, however it will have a far more tidied up look and properly working permaculture site, more attention for the well being of the campers, and the bothys for rent are being fixed and upgraded.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bowkg 3 reviews from this member

We stayed in a wigwam on this site for 2 nights with our three children 6, 4 and 12 months. We arrived at 9pm in the pitch dark. We were shown to our wigwam and then owner disappeared. No site orientation about running water / toilets / showers.

Wigwam was what we expected however the site was not. Perhaps it was our ignorance but we are not familiar with permaculture and what it means.

The toilet was a compost one which I could maybe have coped with if there was flushing one too. No hot water to wash hands and one of them was 'full'

When showers and toilets are advertised I took it to mean proper facilities not a shower in a wooden shack. Not suitable for anyone in November but especially not little ones.

The site itself felt very run down and messy. Fine line between eco friendly and just a mess.

Having said that the woodland walk was good and possibly would be better in the summer. Great for kids to explore. However, even bits of it were broken/ not usable

I feel the way the site has been photographed/advertised is hugely misleading.

This site would be acceptable to only the most avid eco families and not just your average recylcers.

I don't mean to be so critical but just don't want anyone else to find its not what they expected. For £90 I feel we never got value for money :-(

Management response: Please note that from 2017 this site is under new management. The new owner has a completely different way of working and have a different vision for the site than previously. It will remain to be an Eco Campsite, however it will have a far more tidied up look and properly working permaculture site, more attention for the well being of the campers, and the bothys for rent are being fixed and upgraded.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3183 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019