Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Marshford Camping Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Bideford > Marshford Camping Certificated Site Reviews

Marshford Camping Certificated Site
Churchill Way
Northam
Bideford
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX39 1NS
Tel: 01237 477160
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 motor homes or caravans plus tents
Open: Easter Or April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 01/04/2021 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grahamjones47 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site close to Bideford and Appledore. Also close to the Tarka Trail. A big plus is the organic farm shop attached to the site, which has some wonderful products, including many vegetables grown on site. Facilities are good with two loos, a wash cubicle and electric power shower with good supply of hot water. The family who run the farm/shop/site are friendly and very helpful. A road into Appledore runs past the site but was relatively quiet during the night. We paid £16. 50 per night in early July, pre school hols. The rates rise to around £20 once the kids are around. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scrimple 1 review from this member

 A lovely site but let down by the very busy road alongside.

During our stay, something like 3 heavy 4 wheel drive tractors towing trailers an hour passed by from approx 7am up to 10:30 pm, add to that various concrete mixers, aggregate and other supply trucks and cars etc all made what could be a very peaceful site very noisy.

We did not use the site facilities as we have them in our unit, but they looked ok, a bit basic but clean. There is a well stocked site shop full of organic veg and other artisan goods, but it is a tad on the expensive side. There was no designated play area for children that we found, but there was enough space for them them to enjoy them selves. There is full water and wet waste facilities and a chemical disposal point. Dry waste was recycled into various containers.

The site is close to Appledore, Westward Ho and Bideford, not walking distance for us (about 2 miles) but all very peaceful and tranquil. Westward Ho is the more commercial of the three with a lovely beach in anything but high tide, it is a lovely place. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 This is a small friendly site with an organic shop. The facilities are basic but are kept reasonably clean if a little spidery. We had EHU and spent a very pleasant weekend here. The shop is good for stocking up on basics and it has a good supply of organic produce. It is not far to walk to Appledore where there are pubs and there is also a good regular bus service which runs between Appledore and Bideford past the site until quite late at night. It is on a main road but that didnít bother us. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wishihadapurpletent 9 reviews from this member

 Myself and my nine year old son spent a very sunny weekend here. Having read the reviews prior to booking I realised it was a small campsite and close to the main road. The traffic noise did not bother us and was quiet at night.

As previous reviews have said, there are 2 toilets, one shower (nice, hot and free)and a vanity cubicle. Also one washing up station. Despite 5 other pitches being occupied I did not bump into anyone else using the facilities so for a campsite this size the facilities are adequate. All kept clean and well supplied with toilet roll, washing up liquid, etc.

The large organic farm shop was a bonus. I recommend the Sheppys organic cider!

The owner of the campsite was very friendly and helpful.

We chose this site as it was close to the activities we wanted to do. We walked into Appledore on the first night. Took about 20 minutes and some great views. You do have to keep crossing the road as sometimes the footpath is only on one side of the road but this wasn't a problem. There is also a steep hill down into Appledore but worth it for the great fish and chip shop (down a small lane off the seafront - Meeting Street).

We also did the Tarka Trail - Instow to Barnstaple (13 mile round trip). We drove to the start in Instow and paid £4 all day parking. Fremington Quay is worth a visit en route - fantastic ice cream and the cafe also serve hot meals - did spy some cooked breakfasts.

Finally we visited the Cobbaton tank museum (just outside Barnstaple) where my son was in his element. A little pricey in my opinion but he was happy.

All in all a good little campsite with basic facilities and a good base for the surrounding area.

(I marked child friendliness 7/10 only as there was not much space being a small campsite. However my son was more than happy cycling about and kicking his ball. ) 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bluenosegriff 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site over Easter 2014. The site is well laid out and the people are very nice. There is a well stocked organic shop attached to the site that is well worth a visit. Toilets and showers are clean with lots of hot water. We will be staying on this site again. Short drive to westward ho and Biddeford. Lots to do in the area. Well worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alecsmart 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights April 2014. Facilities are fine for a site of this type, clean and well kept. Plenty of hot water as well.

Some pitches have a very slight slope and it might be an idea for there to be some planks to help level caravans and motorhomes but no big deal.

Owners are vey helpful and make every effort to ensure your stay goes well. Entrance to the site is clear and easy.

The shop is well stocked and very handy.

Lots of easily accessible places such as Appledore, Westward Ho!, Tarka Trail.

In all we would recommend the site wholeheartedly. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jamesdickens 1 review from this member

 We visited with four friends. In other vans. The Owners could not have been more helpful. From late arrivals to any daily questions. The clean smart toilets and shower room were great and lashings of non stop hot water. Also in the washing up room. We had worried about the road. Should not have ! hardly noticed it. On site shop is superb Organic food etc. Have re booked already and can't wait. Great position for bike rides. Canoes launched just 5 mins away. Perfect and great value ! well done Marshford. And Thanks 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Coups 1 review from this member

 We totally agree with Gandry's comments.

The site is well situated for exploring North Devon. The clean facilities are adequate. The Burrows is lovely for dog walking and the beach is spectacular. There is an excellent bus service.

We do not know the percentage of campers using the site but in view of our unpredictable weather, an indoor drying area would be useful for them.

We hope to return before the end of the season. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gandry 6 reviews from this member

 A sheltered spacious site with hook ups has friendly owners, although a road runs alongside it is shielded with a bank of mature trees and bushes, there is a well supplied farm shop on site. The clean toilet block is unisex and has 2 toilets, wash basin cubicle and a wet room.

Free wifi is available.

It is in a lovely location, the beach at Westward Ho! is about 2 miles away. The Tarka trail is nearby and is ideal for walking or cycling, also the coastal path is within easy reach. Close by the fishing port of Appledore has places to eat, and Hockingís ice creams are not to be missed! Further afield along the A39 is Clovelly, Hartland Point and Bude.

The 'Big Sheep' near Abbotsham is an ideal day out for the family.

Atlantic Village shopping outlet has bargains from well known retailers and is worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul Thurlow 7 reviews from this member

 Very similar experience to the previous reviewer.

Close to Appledore and the Tarka Trail. Good range of pubs in Appledore and good transport links. Lovely coastal walks. The owners were friendly.

The site itself - just think basic! The toilet block facilities are plain and simple. I'm sure some cleaning took place, but if you like your facilities to be warm, pretty and scrupulously clean then you best give this a miss, particularly if flies and spiders are not your thing! Luckily the site was fairly empty; I would not want to be there when full.

The biggest issue for us was the proximity to the road - quite noisy from 7. 00 am onwards even in our caravan. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Marshford Camping Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Marshford Camping Certificated Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Marshford Camping Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bideford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6114 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement