Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Original Hut Company

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Bodiam > The Original Hut Company Reviews

The Original Hut Company
Quarry Farm
Bodiam
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN32 5RA
Tel: 01580 830932
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KH-WILLIAMS 1 review from this member

Brilliant 3 nights stay away in a place of total peace and tranquillity, especially at night when the sun had gone down, and just the crackle of late night fires and a gentle hum of grown ups chatting, having put their tiddlers to bed!

The morning was an amazing dawn chorus. One you can only get when in the genuine countryside. I should have recorded it, it was that good!

During the day all the children from each camp found new friends, my 5 year old became and explorer with the bigger children and all played nicely together. Each were a credit to their parents, polite, respectful and enjoying being kids as they should be. Not strapped to an IPad or a Play Station!. What makes this site great is also nice people who visit and respect country and the environment.

Perfect off-grid camping, with clean toilet and shower facilities and plenty of hot water.

Pitch size more than ample, . And we have a pretty large tent, actually its a beast! Thanks Anna for sorting us out a great spot in the wooded glen.

Pitch separation generous.

Surrounding countryside offers fantastic walks, along the river and down into the village to explore the Bodiam Castle. (National Trust too, so don't forget your membership cards!). Awesome Castle Pub, fed and watered us on first night, the rest of our 'camping chow' was open fire cooking, as it should be. Safe fire pits and logs on site all ready to select and collect, a snip at just £4 a box.

Highly recommend this site. It has all the necessary provisions and appropriate restrictions; nothing against dogs, but this location offers so much wildlife it is important to keep it that way. Birds would practically sit beside you, and owls in tress directly above us, totally amazing.

We will definitely be coming back, and could have easily have stayed much longer had it not been back to school!

Top place, no complaints or negatives.

Karl Rayne and Breyton.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CGW_Sussex 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at the Original Hut Company's campsite. We camped in reasonably large tent with a friend who also had a large tent. There was good sized pitches and although the site was fairly busy; it did not feel that way. We were well away from other campers. The part we camped on was the poplar site which is very close to the river.

There were lots of children on the site and although they did run arund it was respectful and complete quiet at night.

The firepits were good and supply of wood excellent. The car free aspect made it a haven of peace. The owners are incredibly helpful and friendly.

This is a basic site. The compost loos were inadequate on this busy weekend. They look nice and started off ok but It has put us off going back. Which is a shame. There are two loos and two showers in an old converted shepherds hut.

The walk to Bodiam Castle is easy and only takes 20 mins. The Kent & East Sussex Railway run from the station at Bodiam. Great for steam railway enthusiasts.

If there could be more loos

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kuppenbender 3 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful camp site. The individual pitches are set in a multi-level wooded glade, linked to the toilet/shower block by a series of stepped pathways. The fire pits and plentiful supply of firewood (extra cost) are a wonderful bonus, and make for a 'proper' camping trip. The owners are friendly, helpful and while there is no reception block or camp site shop, they are only a phone call away.

I would say that this site is particularly suitable for families and children of pretty much any age. There's plenty of scope for them to explore the woods without having to stray too far from the tent. You must be prepared for the odd straggler or small group of children passing close to or even through your pitch, though. Although as this is such a small camp site, uninvited visitors are never overwhelming.

The site is really close to Rye and Camber Sands (short drive), The Bodiam Boating Station (short drive/long walk), and Bodiam Castle (short walk), so there's plenty to do in the surrounding area.

All in all, an excellent camping experience. Toilet/washing facilities are basic, but functional and quite picturesque. The only negative I have is that the hot water boiler for the shower/washing up was working erratically on our trip. Hopefully this will be sorted out.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jo40 3 reviews from this member

I've just had a lovely 2 night break with my two teenage boys. Our tent is large so the very accommodating owners gave us the one double pitch as we were the only campers. The other sites were lovely but much too small. Bases are bark chip which made packing up so much easier than on wet grass

Best part of the site was that you could have your own camp fire.

Toilet block was adequate although I'm not sure if two toilets would have been sufficient if site was full.

Water was warm and showers good.

Location was beautiful - very near castle and heritage steam train

Owners were very welcoming and helpful - may well visit again in the future!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fiolondon 1 review from this member

We visited for 5 (gloriously sunny) days at the end of the school holidays when we only had two other tents for company. It is a lovely site and wonderful for giving the children freedom to explore the small wood and learn respect for fire. The 2 chemical loos, 2 showers and 2 washing up sinks are housed in a shepherd's hut in the centre of the space. With 15 pitches on site, these facilities would perhaps be under pressure at full occupancy but were ideal when we visited. The design of the loo block. Has some lovely design touches including rustic timber joinery, tin bowls as plumbed sinks for handwashing and jam jars of wildflowers in each loo. Definitely the most 'chi chi' chemical loo we have ever seen! Pitches definitely better suited to small/medium tents - at 6m x3m ours would not have fitted everywhere so check when booking. We loved it and will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KatGroo 1 review from this member

This is a beautiful little site and although it's not very far from home we really felt we'd left the grid. We stayed in the camping area and were able to admire the Shepherd's huts and dream of glamping as we wandered along the river bank towards the castle and the pub.

As other reviewers have mentioned the site is wooded with a central grassy area, containing a cabin for well-appointed showers, chemical loos and washing-up sinks, and a shelter with a fireplace. It's a real treasure, with each pitch hidden away and joined by log steps and bark paths.

I was here because my twelve-year old's school broke up early and I wanted him and a couple of friends to have something to show for their extra holiday, and they were really able to enjoy their freedom here, building the fire, cooking, safe from roads and with loads of space, while I read a book and enjoyed the camp cuisine!

My initial concerns that we might feel stuck without a car were completely unfounded as Carole's taxi service from Etchingham was perfect, and then we had the option of bus or steam train to get around further afield.

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: CharliePetfield 1 review from this member

Had a great stay at The Original Hut Company! It was so cosy with the little warm fire! All the facilities were clean and ready for our arrival! We had lovely walks in the orchards to some great local pubs! We visited the beach, and although we nearly got blown away it was beautiful. There is so much to do and definitely worth a visit. Thank you to the owners for being so helpful and welcoming. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sholloway 1 review from this member

We have just had a wonderful week at the Quarry Farm campsite. We hadn’t realised until we arrived that it only opened this summer, hence the lack of reviews online. I’m sure that will change quite quickly - everyone there said how much they loved it, and we were all aware that we had lucked out to get a pitch easily this year.

It has only 10 pitches, set in a piece of woodland surrounded by the fields and orchards of a large farm - we didn’t get back in our car for days, as there are so many good walks straight from the campsite, including a lovely walk along the river Rother to Bodiam Castle.

There's no food shop in walking distance (Bodiam has a pub but no shop), so we had to get in the car eventually to buy food. There are several farm shops within a 10 minute drive and also supermarkets (the nearest I think were the Tesco's and Budgens in Hawkhurst).

The owners have left useful laminated maps (and various brochures about local activities) in the loos, which point you in the direction of the various shops and facilities nearby.

The site is very nicely designed, its generous pitches set under the trees around the circumference of the wood, each with its own firepit.

There’s an open grassy area in the middle of the site, at one end of which there’s a block with 2 showers, 2 toilets and 2 washing up sinks. The showers are run off a combi boiler, so are always hot; the toilets are chemical, but nicely designed – built out of wood, with soft lighting and homey touches like a vase of flowers in each and nice handwash.

It’s all kept very clean, though the drains from the washing up sink got a bit whiffy after heavy use. There’s also a lean-to with a fireplace and large table and benches in which various families gathered on our last night, when it rained torrentially.

Cars can be parked at the site for unloading, but are then parked off-site in a car park round the corner, where there’s also a woodshed with crates of wood and kindling for sale (the latter slightly redundant, given how many twigs and sticks there are littering the floor of the wood!), and a herb garden you can use. We loved the combination of the sheltered, shaded, nicely private pitches and the sunnier, more open central area, and the lovely views all around when you emerged from the site.

Anna and Nick are very helpful and friendly. (For example, the second pitch we were at was the only one on the site without its own fireplace, and Nick immediately cleared some dead wood and built one for us to use. They also carted another family's blow up mattresses back to the farm to blow up, as there are no hook ups at the site. ) They are keen campers themselves, and it shows in the thoughtful way they have designed the site.

We intend to go back as soon as we can. We’d also like to try out the shepherd’s huts(set by the orchard just a bit further up the road from the site) when the weather gets colder.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3974 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019