Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Swanage > Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Haycrafts Lane
Harmans Cross
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3EB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 02/03/2021 to 05/11/2021
           02/03/2022 to 05/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roger Stoakley 4 reviews from this member

 Just arrived home after spending five nights at this great site. On arrival, the wardens could not have been more helpful.

The lack of dog friendly beaches is a problem on the isle, but we found Kimmeridge Bay is just superb for dogs and adults alike.

It is at the heart of the Jurassic Coast, and so interesting. Make sure to check the tide times as itís not accessible 24/7. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 22 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site perfectly placed in the Isle of Purbeck, five minutes walk from Harmans Cross station where you can catch the steam train to Swanage or Corfe castle.

Nice views of the Purbeck hills from the site especially the upper level.

Yes the facilities are a bit dated but work perfectly. Nice level pitches and great wardens.

It's no wonder this site always appears to be fully booked. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keefysher 19 reviews from this member

 We booked here for a birthday surprise for MrsP that entailed friends being on site before our arrival. We were able to locate a pitch opposite them.

That evening we had a lovely BBQ at one caravan, the following evening a curry in ours, just what this caravanning lark is all about.

On the second day we walked from the site to the coastal path and onwards to Swanage to find the car we had parked there earlier. A stroll along the promenade and ice cream was a treat.

We then returned to site via the Square and Compass at Worth Matravers, that is well worth the experience, not to mention the beer.

The next day after purchasing our train tickets from the helpful wardens, Trev & Clair, we walked to the nearby Harmons Cross station to catch the pre arranged train to Corfe Castle.

Whilst standing on the bridge friends arrived to surprise MrsP, then sister and family, and then whilst on the platform our neighbours from home arrived.

We boarded the train and arrived at Corfe Castle, where further friends were waiting on the platform. A little later in Corfe 2 more brothers and family completed the surprisers.

We went into the castle, a first for us despite driving past over decades. The kids enjoyed climbing, exploring and learning the history of the Castle.

A lovely relaxed lunch in the garden of The Greyhound, followed by local ice cream across the road finished off a great day out.

Return to HC via train and a walk back up the hill to site. A lovely part of the world. We will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joannec 9 reviews from this member

 Went to this site at easter, 2 adults and 2 children, 9 and 14, and 1 dog. Fantastic site with very friendly wardens. A small site where children can bike and safety play ball games. Clean shower block.

Just wished the shop stocked a little more. The surrounding walks for dogs were amazing. I love the area and think it can easily compete with cornwall.

Swanage has a small town and beach but the whole of the surrounding coast was great for the whole family. Would we return ?- Yes.

A fab little site - Keep up the good work 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CARAVAN40 2 reviews from this member

 What can I say, lovely, lovely, lovely site, we have been visiting this site now for nearly 10 years and will continue holidaying there for many more to come. Lovely area, lovely beaches and plenty to do.

Having children we visit mainly at Whit and in the Summer Holidays and always have a great time.

During the school holidays the site gets busy with children and as they are on holiday they should be able to enjoy themselves, make new friends and many meet up with holiday friends year after year. Riding their bikes and scooting round the site is ideal, parents know where their younger children are and people who are on the site know to be careful when driving round the site. Yes they can be noisy but isnt that part of what the 'holiday experience' should be! children and family's having fun with plenty of laughter.

My only complaint is about some of the people who use this site, trying to spoil children's fun and complain about 'nothing' they seem to forget that they was once young themselves. Those who don't like the site being noisy should holiday when the children are at school and not in school holidays!

Can not wait for our next visit to this lovely site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frannyvan 17 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Haycraft. Lovely lovely site!

The weather could not have been kinder, nor the relief wardens on arrival and the normal wardens on departure.

The kids enjoyed roller skating and scooting around the site - not so many kids around this visit though (more arriving as we left though on Good Friday). Never queued once for lovely clean, powerful showers. Also never begrudged washing up in the sunshine.

We attempted the walk to Corfe with our 10 and 2 year old. Beautiful walk across fields, right next to the stream train line. There is a small section along the main road, which we decided against and ended up doing a rather dodgy detour (adding a couple of miles) which resulted in me leaving hubby and kids in Corfe, while I caught the train back to get the car.

Take plenty of provisions as the Co-op in Swanage is very pricey and a pig to park in. Same goes for Sainsburys in Wareham. The garage in Harmans Cross has groceries but is also pricey.

Swanage is a lovely quaint town and a ride on the steam train to Corfe Castle a must.

Bracing walk at Studland beach. Naturist runner a Hi light for our 10 year old. Think she'll be dining out on that story at school!

We enjoyed a day out to Weymouth and used the park and ride for £3. Visited the SeaLife centre and tower (use discount vouchers if you have them as Merlin and expensive). Great day out. Finished with dinner at Morrisons for £9 for all 4 of us (kids eat free weeknights).

Site does need an on site playground - one very close and the approach road is a bit hairy, but thankfully we didn't meet anyone. That's why I've given it less stars - but if those things don't bother you, it's a 10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frannyvan 17 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely couple of days at this site. It's a smallish site in a fantastic rural location. Facilities are lovely and clean, but the shower cubicles could do with a few more hooks for hanging stuff. Shower pressure was fantastic.

Certainly not the site's fault, but wish some of the other campers would be a bit more considerate in how they leave the toilets and sinks. Maybe it was kids? The family bathroom was fantastic with purpose built baby bath and shower and toddler toilet.

Pitches are lovely and flat with hard standing on the top terrace. We had Sun all day on number 37!

If you have kids, don't make the mistake that I did and forget your scooters, as I never heard the end of it. There is a lovely smooth road that runs around the site, that all the kids use. I wouldn't say they caused a nuisance, as was the middle of summer holidays and they played quietly and sensibly. There is only a playing field at the site but there is playpark a 10 min walk from the site, next door to the train station. Too far to let our 9 year old go alone.

A ride on the stream train is a must and of course a visit to Swanage and Corfe Castle.

The reception has a small amount of groceries - eggs milk etc. The Spar at Harmans Cross Garage had groceries too. Plus Co-op at Swanage and a small Sainsburys at Wareham.

Must visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site. The pitches were spacious and level, the facilities were good (I like the fact that the showers were not push button controlled). The Baby & Toddler room, complete with bath and mini loo, was a bonus too.

Location is excellent as it is just a short walk to the Swanage Steam Railway. It is a single track road getting to the site though, and it was further along the track than I expected.

We would return to this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T5tripper 7 reviews from this member

 Super site, with excellent hot water and water pressure, clean and tidy the whole time we were there. Never found a problem with queueing for showers but maybe that's because we use them later in the evening. The site itself is on two levels, made up of mainly hardstanding and some grass.

Children do tend to use the road as a scooter or bike run, but as there is only a grass field and no actual play park this is understandable.

The site is right on the Purbeck Way so walkers will enjoy the site. We literally parked our van up and didn't use it until we went home on Monday. We walked into Swanage and back via a different route - take the map, some sign posts are missing. We also walked to Corfe Castle and back by two different routes and to Worth Matravers. Swanage is lovely as is Corfe, the train is super and only a short walk from the site. In the height of summer there is a late train if you wish to go into Swanage or Corfe. We took the train to Corfe at 5. 30 had something to eat and walked back, about 2 miles.

Surrounding area is really something special, we only live about 45 minutes from the site and have enjoyed many days out in the area. Can recommend Durlston Country Park, Studland Beach, Fort Henry/Harry Rocks, the Banks Arms at Studland for pub food, although not the cheapest. The model villge tea room is dog friendly outside and in. The Nat Trust cafe is dog friendly in the back garden. The Bankes Arms at Studland and The Bankes Arms (both the same name) are both dog friendly inside and out, the Corfe one has lovely garden for the kids.

The big shopping centre at Poole not far away and also Poole Quay worth a visit. Wareham nice town and good for a wander and even a boat trip. Swanage has a lot to offer both for entertainment and food.

The site shop is good and all in all this is a great site. Access not too bad, although passing places in parts and a bit narrow if you approach slowly you will be fine, no matter what you are towing.

Child friendliness marked down as no facilities in park which would have kept them off the road around the site a bit more. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Woodlander 15 reviews from this member

 After several tries over the years we finally got a pitch on this little gem of a site. The wardens are very helpful and friendly and work hard to keep the site in tip top condition. Most of the pitches are generous but I was glad we were able to stay on the top level as the pitches under the trees looked a bit gloomy.

Excellent showers, although a little on the small side. I was glad I took my extra 'door hook' with me to hang clothes on. The force of the hot shower was amazing and only needed to be used on half power. My husband complained that someone persisted in smoking in the gents toilets and made it unpleasant for other users, and some drivers seemed to find it hard to find first gear and use the 5mph speed limit!

The area is nicely central to beaches, towns, museums and country parks. The local roads were easy to use even with our motorhome, otherwise we usually bus although on this occasion the nearby steam trains were great fun to use. You can buy tickets in the reception. I can highly recommend this site. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5647 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement