Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Swanage > Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Haycrafts Lane
Harmans Cross
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3EB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 02/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonesy103 7 reviews from this member

 As has already been noted this is a small site and yes, the toilet/ shower block might be a little dated (something the wardens will also point out) but they really arenít as bad as some folks are making out. OK they donít have underfloor heating or piped music but they are more than adequate for this site 😂.

Nice views of the Purbeck hills from the site especially the upper part, the site is quiet and the pitches are nice and level and the wardens are knowledgeable and helpful.

I quite liked the owl waking me up in the middle of the night 😉

Itís a great location and a short walk down to the steam railway heritage line between Swanage and Corfe castle which provided us with two great days out.

It's no surprise that this site always appears to be fully booked. † 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hollybabes 10 reviews from this member

 Site not as tidy as usual. I know it was No Mow may, but still in Mid June, very scruffy with groundsman doing little each day it seems! The usual wardens were on holiday and Oh how the site missed them!

Showers as usual awful but due to be rectified it seems. Do not put super pitches on this site, this will backfire, people will not pay for them here. Lovely owls and nature all around.

Facilities awash, (not from the showers this time) after every cleaning and very very dangerous. Also the brickweave in front of showers needs sorting NOW, not next year after someone has fallen.

Might try somewhere else next year as Andie and Ali won't be there 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Royale610 2 reviews from this member

 A really pleasant welcome from the warden on my arrival.

All the relevant information about the site and given a choice of pitches.

The facilities were spotless and so was the site.

The office/shop stock some essentials.

Maps were available of footpaths into both Swanage and Corfe.

Both start within a short walk from the site.

Iíd certainly return to Haycraft. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roger Stoakley 4 reviews from this member

 Just arrived home after spending five nights at this great site. On arrival, the wardens could not have been more helpful.

The lack of dog friendly beaches is a problem on the isle, but we found Kimmeridge Bay is just superb for dogs and adults alike.

It is at the heart of the Jurassic Coast, and so interesting. Make sure to check the tide times as itís not accessible 24/7. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 65 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site perfectly placed in the Isle of Purbeck, five minutes walk from Harmans Cross station where you can catch the steam train to Swanage or Corfe castle.

Nice views of the Purbeck hills from the site especially the upper level.

Yes the facilities are a bit dated but work perfectly. Nice level pitches and great wardens.

It's no wonder this site always appears to be fully booked. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keefysher 20 reviews from this member

 We booked here for a birthday surprise for MrsP that entailed friends being on site before our arrival. We were able to locate a pitch opposite them.

That evening we had a lovely BBQ at one caravan, the following evening a curry in ours, just what this caravanning lark is all about.

On the second day we walked from the site to the coastal path and onwards to Swanage to find the car we had parked there earlier. A stroll along the promenade and ice cream was a treat.

We then returned to site via the Square and Compass at Worth Matravers, that is well worth the experience, not to mention the beer.

The next day after purchasing our train tickets from the helpful wardens, Trev & Clair, we walked to the nearby Harmons Cross station to catch the pre arranged train to Corfe Castle.

Whilst standing on the bridge friends arrived to surprise MrsP, then sister and family, and then whilst on the platform our neighbours from home arrived.

We boarded the train and arrived at Corfe Castle, where further friends were waiting on the platform. A little later in Corfe 2 more brothers and family completed the surprisers.

We went into the castle, a first for us despite driving past over decades. The kids enjoyed climbing, exploring and learning the history of the Castle.

A lovely relaxed lunch in the garden of The Greyhound, followed by local ice cream across the road finished off a great day out.

Return to HC via train and a walk back up the hill to site. A lovely part of the world. We will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joannec 9 reviews from this member

 Went to this site at easter, 2 adults and 2 children, 9 and 14, and 1 dog. Fantastic site with very friendly wardens. A small site where children can bike and safety play ball games. Clean shower block.

Just wished the shop stocked a little more. The surrounding walks for dogs were amazing. I love the area and think it can easily compete with cornwall.

Swanage has a small town and beach but the whole of the surrounding coast was great for the whole family. Would we return ?- Yes.

A fab little site - Keep up the good work 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CARAVAN40 2 reviews from this member

 What can I say, lovely, lovely, lovely site, we have been visiting this site now for nearly 10 years and will continue holidaying there for many more to come. Lovely area, lovely beaches and plenty to do.

Having children we visit mainly at Whit and in the Summer Holidays and always have a great time.

During the school holidays the site gets busy with children and as they are on holiday they should be able to enjoy themselves, make new friends and many meet up with holiday friends year after year. Riding their bikes and scooting round the site is ideal, parents know where their younger children are and people who are on the site know to be careful when driving round the site. Yes they can be noisy but isnt that part of what the 'holiday experience' should be! children and family's having fun with plenty of laughter.

My only complaint is about some of the people who use this site, trying to spoil children's fun and complain about 'nothing' they seem to forget that they was once young themselves. Those who don't like the site being noisy should holiday when the children are at school and not in school holidays!

Can not wait for our next visit to this lovely site 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frannyvan 17 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Haycraft. Lovely lovely site!

The weather could not have been kinder, nor the relief wardens on arrival and the normal wardens on departure.

The kids enjoyed roller skating and scooting around the site - not so many kids around this visit though (more arriving as we left though on Good Friday). Never queued once for lovely clean, powerful showers. Also never begrudged washing up in the sunshine.

We attempted the walk to Corfe with our 10 and 2 year old. Beautiful walk across fields, right next to the stream train line. There is a small section along the main road, which we decided against and ended up doing a rather dodgy detour (adding a couple of miles) which resulted in me leaving hubby and kids in Corfe, while I caught the train back to get the car.

Take plenty of provisions as the Co-op in Swanage is very pricey and a pig to park in. Same goes for Sainsburys in Wareham. The garage in Harmans Cross has groceries but is also pricey.

Swanage is a lovely quaint town and a ride on the steam train to Corfe Castle a must.

Bracing walk at Studland beach. Naturist runner a Hi light for our 10 year old. Think she'll be dining out on that story at school!

We enjoyed a day out to Weymouth and used the park and ride for £3. Visited the SeaLife centre and tower (use discount vouchers if you have them as Merlin and expensive). Great day out. Finished with dinner at Morrisons for £9 for all 4 of us (kids eat free weeknights).

Site does need an on site playground - one very close and the approach road is a bit hairy, but thankfully we didn't meet anyone. That's why I've given it less stars - but if those things don't bother you, it's a 10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frannyvan 17 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely couple of days at this site. It's a smallish site in a fantastic rural location. Facilities are lovely and clean, but the shower cubicles could do with a few more hooks for hanging stuff. Shower pressure was fantastic.

Certainly not the site's fault, but wish some of the other campers would be a bit more considerate in how they leave the toilets and sinks. Maybe it was kids? The family bathroom was fantastic with purpose built baby bath and shower and toddler toilet.

Pitches are lovely and flat with hard standing on the top terrace. We had Sun all day on number 37!

If you have kids, don't make the mistake that I did and forget your scooters, as I never heard the end of it. There is a lovely smooth road that runs around the site, that all the kids use. I wouldn't say they caused a nuisance, as was the middle of summer holidays and they played quietly and sensibly. There is only a playing field at the site but there is playpark a 10 min walk from the site, next door to the train station. Too far to let our 9 year old go alone.

A ride on the stream train is a must and of course a visit to Swanage and Corfe Castle.

The reception has a small amount of groceries - eggs milk etc. The Spar at Harmans Cross Garage had groceries too. Plus Co-op at Swanage and a small Sainsburys at Wareham.

Must visit again. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Haycraft Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3782 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement