Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Les Peupliers

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Colombiers > Camping Les Peupliers Reviews

Camping Les Peupliers
7 Promenade De L Ancien Stade
Colombiers
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
34440
Tel: 0033 04 67 37 05 26
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 6 Reviews
                7/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oxter 71 reviews from this member

 Not much to add to previous reviews which I’d mostly endorse. The site is a bit frayed at the edges but generally good. We stayed for a week in May / June. The roads and most pitches are gravel and dust which were ok during our dry weather but would be mucky in wet conditions. The free WiFi at the café is only available for 30 mins every 6 hours but the paid WiFi is pricey. We paid €23 for a one week code. The download is about 7/8 mb but upload is dreadful at. 4 or thereabouts.

With ACSI CC the site fee was €16 per night in 2019 low season. Reception give you choice of pitches. Pitch sizes are adequate for car, caravan and awning. Sanitary facilities were clean with good hot showers and serviced in early mornings. The Vidoir Chemique is not the most pleasant but it is behind the shed on the Campervan Service Point which itself is no showpiece.

Overall, the site is ok but in need of TLC.

The canal paths in both directions are gravel and dust (not the tarmac quality of the towpaths further west. OK In dry weather but big bike and agricultural ruts and dried out puddle dips spoke. Volumes for the wet conditions. A cycle to Beziers and the 9 lock gates and pont canal was lovely. Opposite direction also scenic. Newish Casino Supermarket in Colombiers is available and the wine cooperative in Nissan-lez-Enserune 4/5 km away has nice red /white / rose in B I B for €14 per 5 litre box. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 43 reviews from this member

 This is a very French type of site and there are a number of statics which are clearly privately owned. There seemed to be a number of cats about which meant we had to watch our dogs carefully, even though they were on leads at all times. One small cat even tried to get in via our roof light, so we had to keep that closed.

The site is signed from a number of roads nearby and could be quite difficult to access if you end up coming through the village. We were advised to approach from the direction of Montady which was very straightforward. It is, however, down a single track lane with a couple of 90% bends.

This is a small site with a nice looking pool (we didn't try it) and a bar and restaurant. There is also a very exciting looking multi level play area for children. The site is open all year, which will be useful for those travelling further south for the winter. There is a small enclosed heated washblock with baby facilities for use out of season. The main washing facilities are unisex. The toilets have paper but no seats, for ease of cleaning. The showers are good, with plenty of hot water and a small shelf for shower gel etc (not all sites we visited have this). There is also a family shower cubical with an additional shower head and hooks at child height and also a wash basin. Other washbasins are in the open. I used the washing machine and tumble dryer to change the bedding and, unusually, needed to feed them with Euro coins.

A family run site with, I think, little English spoken, although I admit to trying to do it all in French so there was no need for English. Bread is ordered each day for the following morning.

There is a railway close by, but we didn't find the noise intrusive.

We were able to walk the dogs off the lead along the canal du midi and also alongside the railway track (fenced off!). The village is very old and quite small. We went to a quite disappointing market, but we were out of season. The port area is new and pretty characterless, but we had a very nice menu du jour for 14. 50 euros.

My daughter and I had walked this part of the canal a few years ago, but I had no recollections of Columbiers at all!

We stayed 4 days before we moved on to a pre-arranged meeting with family. This would be a good base for anyone wanting to explore this part of Languedoc Rousillon or for anyone needing a stop over when travelling to or from Spain. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Split ends 8 reviews from this member

 This was the only site we could locate close to the canal while on our cycling holiday. With small tent.

It was pleasant and suited our needs - we stayed 2 nights. Colombiers was ok but not enough bustle for us and the old town had very little to offer. A sadly modern marina built in poor taste was all it had to offer. A few cafes.

The pool was clean and nice. We didn't use the cafe. Our pitch was ok gavel/stone but in this area you cant expect much. We had a nice pitch and enjoyed watching people/cyclists going by. The toilet block was acceptable even though I never saw it being cleaned. Good laundry area and big family bathrooms.

However the noise from the adjoining site was awful on Sunday night the wind was in our direction and the live music went on until 2am which drove me mad I could not sleep. The train noise was ok.

Nice basic site for a couple of days. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lbarkas 84 reviews from this member

 If I had booked this as a site for my main holiday, I would probably have been disappointed. Yes, there is the railway yard and passing trains, but from our pitch we could not actually see the trains or the maintenance yard. The noise aspect did not affect us too much as we can hear trains passing on a main line near our home though not so close. It is preferable to the never endless drone of traffic on a motorway which we have encountered whilst away this time. Also, if the wind had been in our direction we would have got the whiff from the septic tank of the nearby holiday village. We could definitely smell it as we walked past on our way to the village.

Beziers was disappointing and not as picturesque as some French cities we have been to recently. In fact, I found it a little threatening being approached by beggars and would not like to be there at night. They were also setting up for the 5-day Feria which involves bull-fighting, but judging by the bars and stalls being set up, it looks more booze orientated! Not our scene, so we stayed away.

Had an enjoyable visit to the village of Minerve which was charming and not too commercialised. Also, took an evening cruise on Le Bonpas on the Canal du Midi with a meal included which was excellent. They take a maximum of twelve passengers and give a commentary along the way. At €34 per person, we considered it excellent value for money and the highlight of our week.

Sometimes the noise from fellow campers went on into the night and way past 11. 00 as advertised by the site as being a quiet time. There did not appear to be any enforcement of this rule. Also, kids whizzing round the site on bikes is an accident waiting to happen and should be discouraged. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campintent 18 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - Mature Couple with Tent and Gazebo.

This is the first review that I have submitted on this website, but don’t let that influence you. I have been camping for over 40 years and camping in France, on and off, for at least 30 of them.

There are two basic problems with this (apparently) 3-Star site – trains and stones.

The trains would bother most people, as the site backs onto the main railway line. Most of the trains are pretty quiet, being powered by overhead cables, but they rattle and roar as they pass under the two nearby bridges. This starts at 6. 00am and continues until 11. 00pm. The sidings that can be seen in satellite images are actually part of a wagon repair yard. They were quiet for most of our six-day stay, but on the first day after a long public holiday the shunting began. A powerful diesel loco pulls old wagons which screech as their un-lubricated wheels are dragged relentlessly along the track. The loco sounds it’s horn every time it moves off, which was frequent.

The stones are a real problem for tent users like ourselves, who also use an electric hook-up for those little luxuries like a cool-box, a kettle and lighting. Most of the pitches are designed for caravans and consist mostly of hard-standing composed of stones, broken pottery and bits of glass spread liberally around. Luckily, we had several spare groundsheets which we were able to place under the tent to reduce the risk of damage to the sewn-in groundsheet. If you arrive late afternoon like we did, tired after a long drive and knowing that you have a one or two-hour job of setting up camp ahead of you, having to search the site for the least damaging pitch was not a welcome task. Apart from having to clear our pitch of the larger and sharper stones, we also had to boil water to kill the several ants nests that would otherwise have been right under us.

For ‘normal’ campers without a need for electricity, there is a small strip of grass with no EHUs (and no shade), which is right beside the railway line.

Again looking at satellite images, the square area of brown land immediately to the south west of the site is now a holiday village complex. Although quiet when we were there in May, it might not be in high season. The real problem is it’s sewage pumping plant, which is just across the road behind the campsite’s wash block. When the wind was in the wrong direction, the malodourous whiff was quite unpleasant.

Apart from these grumbles, the previous reviewer has it about right. The pitches are generous and nicely shaded. The new loo and wash block is very pleasant, although we never saw it being cleaned. You can order bread and croissants if you ask. Wi-Fi is charged for, but they will give you 20 minutes for free.

The Canal du Midi is indeed within walking distance of the site and we had a marvellous evening when we took a walk at dusk and saw at least six otters in various groups swimming nonchalantly to and fro.

Colombiers is fairly unremarkable although the little marina is worth a visit if you like to watch boats come and go. Restaurants range from cheap-ish snack bars to over-priced establishments, with little in between. There is a large new Casino hypermarché on the far side of town, which was very handy for supplies. We found Capestang a more attractive town to visit. It has a lovely square, where they hold a good market on Sundays. There are several bars, mid-range restaurants and a pizzeria. We had a pleasant lunch in the Restaurant de la Grille, which specialises in food from a wood-fired BBQ.

There are many interesting places to visit from this base. We went to the coast at Cap d’Agde, visited the nine canal locks at Fonseranes and spent a day at the lovely old town of Minerve.

So to summarise, if you can tolerate the trains and don’t mind the stones and the sewage whiff, this is a strangely pleasant place to spend several days or more. There would not be much for children to do on this site (which suits us!).

For caravanners or any large vehicle, do not even think of approaching from the north-east. The track is extremely rough and uses a single-lane railway bridge which could give you severe problems. The roads from Montady and Colombiers are fine. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franbee 175 reviews from this member

 Reviewers-mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We chose this site from the ACSI book so we would be sure of finding it open. It was easy to find from the directions, it did say not to follow a satnav.

The site is a few minutes walk from the Canal du Midi on the edge of the village of Columbiers. It has flat grassy pitches, plus mobile homes which are dotted around and not intrusive.

The pitches are mostly separated by hedges and there are plenty of trees for shade. There is an unmarked area suitable for tents.

The site gives an impression of a country park, very pleasant, though at the far side it backs on to some railway sidings which you might not want to be viewing. However, when we were there there was no noisy railway activity, just a few goods trains going through.

Checking in was quick and efficient, the friendly warden asked us to choose our own pitch. I think he must have been the owner, he was very busy doing jobs getting ready for the season.

The sanitary block is mixed, in 3 buildings. The old building is a basic outdoor sort of place, housing the toilets, but perfectly ok. One of the new buildings has washing up and laundry in. The other has 3 swish new heated bathrooms with toilet, basin and shower. Each is different, one has disabled facilities, another includes a baby bath.

Next to the reception building is a new bar/cafe, which was nearly finished when we were there, and behind that is a pool which was closed. Children's play area and boules pitch.

A short walk towards the village brings you to the Canal du Midi, an old port and marina, worth a stroll round. The village has a few shops and restaurants.

The site is close to Beziers and not far from the coast, so ideally situated. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Les Peupliers child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Les Peupliers have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Les Peupliers?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Les Peupliers dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Colombiers      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4926 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement