Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rough Grounds Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Lechlade > Rough Grounds Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Rough Grounds Farm Certificated Site
Burford Road
Lechlade
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 3EU
Tel: 01367 253261
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 caravans and 10 tents
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Franb6 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site. We will definitely be back. The owner Patrick is very helpful and accommodating.

The site has only one shower and 2 toilets but this we knew on booking and as we have our own shower and loo it made no odds to us.

Everything was spotlessly clean and they use ethical products and recycle which we liked. If there was no queue for the loo it was just a bonus!The elsan point is easy to use cleanly. We showered in our van.

The track to the site is narrow with no passing places, so you rely on people looking before they start off down it. I wouldn't want to have to reverse our van!

The site is level and there was plenty of space for non-electric pitches to be as far away as you liked, even over the Jubilee weekend. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Katego 1 review from this member

 Simple, good facilities, relaxed owners;

Great location to pubs and cotswold wildlife park and very quiet. Good vibes there.

Would definitely go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jeremy 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location - off the beaten track.

Very friendly member of staff on arrival.

Owls calling at night great, early morning birdsong a delight.

Toilet/shower/washing machine/washing up facilities were fine as when I stayed there was only a maximum of 5 vans/tents at any one time - If it was busy I could imagine the facilities would not be adequate for a busy period! I may be wrong. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lalla7 1 review from this member

 We had booked 7 nights but just stayed for 4 (early departure due a number of reasons not all due to the site). The site seemed to cover 2 fields so not sure how many caravans/tents were actually there in total.

The facilities could have been better. The 'gents' toilet was a small shed. There was a single hand towel provided and, especially with Covid 19, disposable hand towels would have been more appropriate.

In the area of the toilet/shower facilities there was a distinct smell of sewage efflux. Though I'm not certain what sort of waste system was in use, it seemed some attention to this would be necessary.

The owner and family very polite and friendly. Location and dog walking areas all very acceptable. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Henryfox 12 reviews from this member

 The site is in a fabulous location, yes ok there is some road noise and aircraft noise. If you are into planes this would be a perfect spot as itís close to Brize Norton & the planes come over very low.

Nice walk into town from site, lots of places to eat & drink almost all dog friendly, you can even hire a canoe or SUPB in town at a great price.

The owners are lovely and very friendly.

Now for the bad things, the first time we visited the toilets were spotless & the next twice the toilets obviously hadnt been cleaned for some time, hand towels were filthy & there was no soap.

This would make a perfect adults only site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Norfol 10 reviews from this member

 This is a really basic Down to earth lovely site. When we stayed with a. Few friends it was pretty quiet so not sure how it would be if it was busy in the middle of August.

Only 2 toilets, one shower and a washing up area with washing machine.

It is really peaceful, easy to walk in to the lovely town, great walks, dog friendly.

We have been back since and will be back again. Reasonable price and no fuss. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sparky60 2 reviews from this member

 A large flat field, surrounded by woodland and a nearby lake. Has potential to be lovely site, however the owners had booked in an extremely large group of adults and children. Although only having fun the volume of noise, mainly from adults shouting spoiled our stay. Dogs were running around the site not under any supervision.

There is a shower and toilet, but again due to numbers of people on site we could not access this. Facilities are not in the camping field.

Nice walks nearby for our dog and good access into Lechlade.

Our visit was at a bank holiday, so expected site to be busy, but in future would not stay if we knew very large party had booked in. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigel five 1 review from this member

 Site is very clean new toilet, shower. And laundry block recently installed, owners very friendly, within walking distance of town. There are many public walks around site. Would recommend to everyone. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Buzzy-Beans 5 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site this is!

I chose this site because it is quite close to where my daughter lives.

Very easy to find and with easy flat access and the ground is also almost entirely flat.

Great walking for the dogs around the adjacent large trout lake.

A small amount of noise can be heard from the roads as well as occasional aircraft noises from the quite close RAF Brize Norton.

Very friendly owner with whom I enjoyed a lengthy chat.

We will be back.

The only possible down side is the number of midges flying around which is no doubt due to the lake only a few yards away. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: K Honeyman 1 review from this member

 Was very impressed with Rough Grounds Farm Site. Lovely owners, very friendly and accommodating, did phone first to be told the entrance was a bit muddy, decided to go for it anyway and unfortunately got stuck, but no problem they towed us in straight to our chosen pitch. Can pitch where you like, though hook-up is only on one side. Lovely walk to the nearby lake which if you fish is not theirs, but you can buy a pass for fishing. Short walk into Lechlade. Will definitely go back. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rough Grounds Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rough Grounds Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Rough Grounds Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lechlade      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement