Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Toms Field Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Swanage > Toms Field Camping Site > Reviews

Toms Field Camping Site
Toms Field Road
Langton Matravers
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3HN
Tel: 01929 427110
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 14/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 108 Reviews
                9/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Susanewman 5 reviews from this member

 Great location, beautiful walks and views, friendly helpful staff and delicious bacon bap breakfast.

Good hot showers.

Nice local pub across a field and only a couple of mile walk to square and compass, great pasty and cider pub. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Lized3 2 reviews from this member

 The location of the site is excellent, in beautiful countryside with views over the Purbeck Hills towards the sea.

It has all you need, with the usual toilet blocks with free, powerful showers, sinks stations which are under cover. It has a drying room and washing machine (which I didnít need to use).

If you donít want to cook your own breakfast, thereís a little independent cafe hut on site (Sprout and Bean) offering excellent coffee and warm pastries as well as breakfast buns. And if you donít want to cook in the evening, itís only a short walk to the village pub.

You can park the car next to your tent then leave it as thereís a good bus service for popping into Swanage or visiting further afield - which is much better than my local rural bus service in Yorkshire! There are lovely walks from the site, the South West Coast Path is close by & the shop has leaflets of circular walks - I can highly recommend the walk to Dancing Ledge, returning via the Square & Compass in Worth Matravers for a pint & pasty, then popping to see dinosaur footprints!

Not surprisingly, the site was full and as Iíd booked last minute & my pitch was slightly sloping, but not too much. I donít have electric hook up and it was great value for money.

The location is the best thing about this site and Iíll definitely stay there again for longer next time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Benfe7 1 review from this member

 Excellent stay and facilities at Tom's Field.

Great for walks, with easy access to the Jurassic coast, Durdle Door and the Priests Way.

Swanage and Corfe just a stonesthrow also, can't recommend enough. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jmcmil 1 review from this member

 Excellent stay at Tom's field Swanage.

Amenities all very clean. Plenty hot water.

Pitches good were flat, well cut grass.

Well stocked shop on site.

Lots of coastal walks and places to visit from the site.

Definitely visiting again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jpennycook 1 review from this member

 First time in my own tent (I shared a tent with someone in 2000 I think to go to Glastonbury). It was all trouble-free. The toilets and showers were clean. The owners were friendly and helpful. It rained, but never mind. I charged my mobile phone in the site shop one morning, but used my power banks the rest of the time.

I was on a slope, which was annoying, especially as I didn't think about it when I pitched the tent. The birds seemed quite unafraid, and would hop past the tent regularly. The site was generally quiet - the 11PM no noise rule definitely works.

The showers stay on until you turn them off and are free. They give good pressure, and the temperature is easy to adjust. The taps in the toilets have to be held down, which is irritating (they don't stay on for a while after you press them). The toilet paper is dispensed in single sheets - I might take a toilet roll next time.

The on site breakfast service seemed a bit expensive for what I got, but I only used them once (muesli + UHT milk the rest of the time!). They took credit cards, which was convenient.

There's a pub in the village where I went for tea - it was popular over the Bank Holiday weekend. They did pizzas on Friday night, as well as the normal menu. The pub also houses the village shop, where you can get a cup of tea and a pastie as well as normal village shop things. Between the campsite and the pub is a children's playground.

There are plenty of paths and bridleways in the area - I walked from the campsite to the Square and Compass pub in Worth Matravers for a pint and a pastie, then to the Scott Arms in Kingston for more beer and Jamaican food, then got the bus back to the campsite.

It's also possible to walk to Swanage. There's one bus an hour between Wareham and Swanage via Kingston and Corfe castle that goes past the campsite, or you can walk to Herston for a choice of buses. Swanage has the usual set of seaside shops, plus a full-size Co-op, Budgens, Boots, and a hardware shop.

I'd suggest not trying to take a tent on the number 40 bus from Wareham to the campsite - they don't really fit. Next time, I'll get a taxi. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tjbaby 1 review from this member

 Come with 4 other adults and one kids we all loved it,

Happy with everything, staff, toilets, shop, location,

We will definitely come back here,

The only thing we had trouble with was them picking up the phone. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 132 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this campsite for 3 nights at the start of October. Very well organised check in procedure with prompt return of calls and excellent greeting on arrival.

There are some views over Swanage from 'The Upper Ridge' which I chose although most pitches in this section slope slightly. Other flatter pitches available.

Plenty of shelter from mature hedges. Good washing and toilet facilities, always clean and plenty of hot water (token system not in use), however shower block somewhat dated with small shower and toilet cubicles. Didn't bother me, perhaps even adds character. Well stocked shop and breakfasts provided at weekends.

Pub in village 5 minutes walk, or better still head along the Priests Way to the Square and Compass, about 30 minutes walk.

Beautiful walks from the campsite, Dancing Ledge, Seaton, Durlston, Swanage. Bus from village, Steam train from Harnam Cross.

Lovely quiet, well organised site in a superb location, which is what you pay for. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Crinion 4 reviews from this member

 Very clean, friendly and accommodating - I am a bikepacker and they loaned me an outdoor chair to sit on.

They have a dedicated small field for hikers and bikers 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Miffy9 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, Good showers- no token needed.

Great location- pub within walking distance, still serving food. Small shop on site and also within walking to little village shop selling local cheeses, fresh bread and other essentials.

Lots of walks from the site, also a great local bus from the village to Poole and other local places.

Would recommend this site, had a great time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 125 reviews from this member

 This is a basic but well-located site. Reasonable value at £24 pn. Friendly and helpful staff.

However, there are no hardstandings, all pitches are grass and all pitches are sloping. The breakfast was excellent both for quality and value (£7. 50 for full English and coffee)

The facilities are basic but clean.

Notes :

1) The Breezer Summer bus timetable stops after 21st September

2) Bus takes 10 minutes to Swanage and 30 minutes to Wareham

3) Market Day in Swanage is Friday

4) Market day in Wareham (on the quay and quite small) is Saturday 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Toms Field Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Toms Field Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Toms Field Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3107 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement