Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Toms Field Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Swanage > Toms Field Camping Site Reviews

Toms Field Camping Site
Toms Field Road
Langton Matravers
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3HN
Tel: 01929 427110
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Mid March To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 95 Reviews
                9/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Beatsworking 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site mid-week (on a Thursday) before the school holidays and were able to book a pitch over the phone the day before arriving.

We were met at the gate by a friendly gentleman and he suggested that we use the 'family field' as it is flatter for our classic 1970's VW Camper. We actually drove around the upper, more sloped, field first but agreed that the lower field was more suitable. There are no marked pitches but quite a few areas were reserved, presumably for the weekend, so it wasn’t too packed in either field and therefore not a lot of people around and it was lovely and quiet.

The location is great and we had intended to stay a few days to explore the coastal paths and possibly walks to Corfe and Swanage. However, when we checked the toilet and shower facilities we were not so sure as both the male and female blocks left a lot to be desired as they were dirty and smelly with the floors somewhat awash. We had expected to find dated facilities but not for them to be in the state that we found them. Having read some good reviews we wondered if we had arrived before the cleaners so we booked for just the one night and left things open.

We enjoyed the walk to the Dancing Ledge on the coast during the afternoon and then pored over the maps in anticipation of further walks over the following days. However, things in the facilities blocks were just as bad in the evening so we decided not to take showers and to leave next morning. Hopefully we just hit a bad time to visit but I am afraid that we are unlikely to return unless later reviews show that was the case. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: JOCUKCamp 6 reviews from this member

 We started our visit to Tom's field prior to the school break-up. At this point the campsite was nicely quiet with plenty of space available - it filled up enormously the first weekend of the school holidays and was perhaps rather too full of tents and motorhomes for our liking.

Booking was limited to certain areas when we arrived to enable the school holiday pre-booked campers their space, but if I am being honest this suited us as having a huge tent a large flat surface suited us best and we managed to find one.

Many of the pitches in the field we used that were being reserved would not have suited us as well as I felt that many were sloped to some extent and I am glad we were able to choose where to pitch - though there were very few very flat large areas available even with few people present.

It isn't that the slope is huge in most places, but it was significant enough to have made pitching our own, rather large tent, awkward if we could not have found the flatter spot we used.

The shop in the name is adequately stocked and there is a fair amount of camping gear available if you hit a problem or forget something. It stocks local foods and understandably these are priced somewhat higher than most supermarkets, but you are getting local products and we did enjoy some of the things on offer to support the local businesses.

It was open whilst we were there for a few hours in the morning and early evening, but I did find myself wishing the opening hours were longer at times when I realised I forgotten to change things like cool blocks.

Now cool blocks are a case in point - their site advert is quite correct you cannot re-freeze your own blocks, you have to hire one for a refundable £1 deposit and each change costs 30p during the week. The drawback of this is that you can't plan to take home local perishable foods as you don't have your own frozen blocks to take home unless you trash your £1 deposit and take a site frozen block home.

Another truism of the site advert is that showers are by token - a 25p token buys 3 minutes. Again they are perfectly up-front about this and I went there with this knowledge, but both the shower payment and the block re-freezing payments seem a little petty when it's a £20 a night stay for a no-frills pitch with a shop of limited hours, on an admittedly clean and tidy site in a lovely location.

I've been to many sites that make available a chest freezer for folks to sort out their own blocks FOC. And which offer free showers for no more cash per night. It is just a little jarring to have to work around both systems and for such small exchanges of cash each time.

It would surely be easier to just add £1 to the stay each night and site would probably still be in profit and folks could enjoy showers and the use of a freezer FOC. The shower block and toilets were clearly older, but all functioned well and were kept spotlessly clean - the facilities seemed adequate for the numbers there - especially the numerous toilets, showers were fewer - I think I counted 4. There were a good number of basins and the divisions between them was a nice touch that I have not seen before.

There were good washing-up facilities and I cannot fault the temperature of the hot water (which was free apart from the showers) except to say mind that it doesn't take your skin off it was that hot! All the sinks seemed to have their plugs though so cold could be added to a sink full of hot. They also have a breakfast bar open on weekends, but we did not try this.

There is excellent walking nearby that can be reached on foot, and we did Dancers Ledge, but note that there is an off-putting small climb to get down to the base of the ledge the last section of which I think would be beyond some people with infirmities.

The site was was nice and quiet, but check the date of the local Reggae festival as this does penetrate across the fields until they pack up for the night - You might want to plan an evening out yourselves! Also once the schools break-up and loads of folks arrive you do get the expected noise of families with children. I didn't expect otherwise.

We also liked Swanage and took a lovely boat trip to Poole. I would also recommend Athelhampton House. All the staffs we met on site and in the area were lovely too.

All in all I'd certainly return, but it would be nice if they could sort out the inconvenience of all the extra payments and just wrap it all up in the cost of a night's stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: FraFra 6 reviews from this member

 If I was going to run my own campsite, there's not much I would do differently to Tom's Field. The location is ideal: quiet and secluded but short walking distance to the village pub and shop in one direction and the coastal path in the other.

There's a range of pitches to choose from depending on your preferences for views, privacy and space. There are plenty of toilets and washing up sinks for the size of the site. The showers are good (paid with 20p tokens) with changing space in the cubicles.

When the site was full over May bank holiday there were a few people had to queue on a couple of days but that's to be expected. The staff are generally friendly and the shop is well stocked.

As it's first come first pitched we were glad we'd driven down on the Thursday of the bank holiday weekend as it filled up during the course of the Saturday.

There's a field next to the campsite for taking the pooch to the toilet, and the site is very doggy friendly. The only downside was that from reading the info on ukcampsite we thought we weren't allowed fires so didn't come prepared, but other people did have fires in raised baskets with no bother - next time we'll come prepared.

We'll definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: SmallB 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Tom's Field for 4 night in a tent and had a fantastic time. The site isn't just one field but a number of different areas, some small and cosy others bigger. The site is really chilled and laid back with a great shop.

Facilities are clean and basic but with all you need for your stay. There's a little hut which serves breakfasts at the weekends which was great to visit.

At £9 a night for me, my tent and the car it was also great value. All in all a fantastic site, much recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KGCOTTAGE 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Nice level site, plenty of water points and good facilities. Well stocked shop. Charges very good particularly as I camped on my own and was charged per person not for the pitch. Will definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony Burgess 9 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful 4 nights at this site. Friendly and helpful staff, no complaints by us about the facilities. We think this is a great site and have already recommended it to friends and family.

When walking on the footpaths by the site we found plenty of cowpats and sheep droppings to avoid but can't remember being troubled by dog-poo, so no bad experiences on that count unlike an earlier reviewer.

As well as the hourly bus service through the village we used the at least hourly Swanage to Bournemouth service via Studland and the Poole Harbour ferry. Stops allow walkers to alight for walking the chalk downs either to Corfe or on Ballard Down to Old Harry Rocks, and we did the latter with fabulous views over both Swanage or Poole Harbour. In high season there is also a bus from Swanage to Lulworth Cove.

RSPB have a large reserve area with facilities at Arne, a wonderful place to visit with extensive car parking at £5/day. Follow different routes to walk over heathland and in woods, and maybe picnic on a beach - an ideal adventure for nature-loving families.

We found the Langton Parish church open on Thursday mornings for coffee & cake, and the small museum revealing both the history of Purbeck stone quarrying and of the development of small aircraft-carried radar during WW2 which enabled submarines to be successfully located. We also enjoyed visiting one or two 'PAW' (= Purbeck Arts Weeks) venues to see the work of craftspeople and artists.

One of our most enjoyable camping breaks! Much to explore, very good walking, fine beaches - all in the glorious setting of the Purbecks. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: R001 4 reviews from this member

 We are in our mid 60's & have been to this site a couple of times now and really like the laid back atmosphere. Buses stop just outside the site (going to Poole, Wareham & Swanage) and there are some wonderful walks. It's an easy walk along the Pilgrims way to Swanage and a simple, quick bus ride back means no need to drive, so you can have a few beers - Brill!

There is a Pub a comfortable walk away in the village which sells food (we never tried the food), as well as real Ale & Cider. Loads of people on the site had their dogs with them and the only negative was that walking in the fields around the site (not on the site itself), meant having to dodge the doo-doo thoughtlessly left in the middle of the pathways - dog owners please understand that it is extremely thoughtless & unpleasant to allow your dog to foul on a well trodden footpath. Please be courteous and move it off the footpath.

The ablution facilities are clean, perfectly adequate and what one expects on a normal campsite - not modern or luxurious. The pitch hire charge is most reasonable in our opinion given the excellent location. You can buy basics & hire a small BBQ (only off-the ground BBQ's allowed), from the reception/shop which is also where you buy tokens for the showers from. The shop didn't seem to open for many hours so I'd advise buying what you need when you see it open.

You don't need to book in advance except possibly the absolute peak season as this is a big site and there is another just down the road, so it's extremely unlikely that one or the other will fail to put you up. Each time we have been it has been busy but there has still been plenty of space and the pitches are generous. The last time we went we were offered a choice of pitches with or without hookup and chose a lovely secluded one - wonderful.

If you want one of those five star, highly regimented, spotless, manicured club sites with concrete everywhere don't go to Tom's Field, but if you want a basic, no frills, laid back site this is perfect. We'll be going back many times as we absolutely love the area.

No marks for child friendliness as we don't have any and we were there during term time, however, there were a number of well behaved under school age tots on the site that seemed to be having a wonderful time. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheBicks 6 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a 4 night stay at Tom's Field. £18 per night for a family of 4 in a medium sized tent.

This campsite suited us down to the ground. No frills but a lovely site divided up into areas with bushes, trees and rabbit warrens. It was full half the time we were there but never felt overcrowded.

Our 2 boys played games with other children on the site for hours. Apparently it's a great place for hide and seek.

The facilities are basic but plentiful and clean. 25p for a 3 minute shower and lots of hand basins and toilets in the ladies though I can't speak for the men's. There was even soap!

The owners were perfectly pleasant and very helpful. The shop sold enough to keep you going including fresh rolls and croissants in the morning. Outside the shop is a fairly extensive herb garden for campers which we thought was a lovely touch and made very good use of.

A great site for families in a beautiful location just 20 minutes walk from the South West Coast Path and 3 miles drive from Swanage. You also need to visit the Square and Compass in Worth Matravers, 5 minutes drive away. What a pub! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bekchops 2 reviews from this member

 Great little site, very popular with VW vans, a few electric pitches. 3 small fields, couple of other small areas frequently use by DoE or schools. Showers and toilets clean and functional, 25p tokens for showers, purchase in shop. Quite and relaxed. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Seniorsx2 7 reviews from this member

 Brilliant campsite, helpful owners, well organised, clean facilities, recycling well oranised. There is a small shop on site. Lots of wild life. There is pub grub in the village lasagne, scampi etc all very affordable and enjoyable and within walking distance. It was spring bank week when we visited but still plenty of space and peaceful atmosphere. We can t wait to return and stay longer. We went on a family camping holiday with our 2 daughters and their families and we all agreed we would reurn. 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Toms Field Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Toms Field Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Toms Field Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4546 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020