Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ulwell Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Swanage > Ulwell Holiday Park Reviews

Ulwell Holiday Park
Ulwell
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3DG
Tel: 01929 422 823
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/03 To 07/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 84 Reviews
                8/10 from 84 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Adamdelves 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely pitches !

Immaculate facilities great showers.

Handily placed for many attractions nearby but just off a main road.

Fantastic value for money as I stayed in a “hikers pitch” which was £8pppn including electric! Only available to small tents less than 2. 5 m I think.

Will be back soon! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Maddiebongo 2 reviews from this member

 Dramatic setting amongst hills. We were assigned a grassed pitch with hookup conveniently next to our daughter's family in their caravan.

Enjoyed a cycle ride along the lanes to Corfe castle and back, and visited Monkey World, Kimmeridge Bay, Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door by car.

Shower and toilet block very good and generally clean, bar a few details/splash marks others have mentioned which I put down to some of the other users. Perhaps management could review the scope of their cleaner visits re sinks and splashbacks.

Did not use the pool or restaurant this trip. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JandB 15 reviews from this member

 The prices have rocketed and the cleaning standards have plummeted.

In the last 3 years the prices out of season have rocketed from around £12 a night to £21. Sadly the standards of cleanliness haven’t matched that rise, quite the opposite.

During the 5 nights we were there this November the toilets had barely been touched. By the time we left 3 of the men’s 5 cubicles had run out of toilet paper, 2 had run out for 2 days before then. There was a brown streak on one sink (possibly blood from cleaning teeth) that was there 2 days before we left and was still there on the morning we left. But for me, worst of all, was on the day we arrived there were extensive “splash” marks on the boards between and around the men’s urinals that were still there when we left 5 days later. These “splash” marks were so obvious and extensive that I was amazed the cleaners hadn’t seen them. The men’s urinals had some serious drainage issues too.

The park is set in a lovely location with easy bus access to the town. There is a swimming pool on site, which we didn’t use and the pub/bar has been refurbished to a high standard.

We left feeling that given the sharp rise in prices and the poor standard of cleaning, its not somewhere we’d want to return to. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 183 reviews from this member

 A lovely peaceful campsite set between rolling hills which is excellent for walkers and mountain bikes. Had a nice new hard standing pitch and they seem to be creating new ones. Thought the toilet/shower block in the touring field was modern and of a high standard but the one shaving mirror between six sinks in the gents may create problems in busy periods. We thought the food at the Village Inn was excellent for the price and nice to see a real ale on tap also. The open top bus caught by the site entrance to Bournemouth via the ferry and Sandbanks was very interesting. We walked to Corfe castle also and caught buses back but there is also the option of the steam train. Reception on arrival ok and the free Wi Fi was an added bonus. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vashka 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a couple of days between Christmas and New Year. Enjoyed our stay and we will definitely return to this site as it's in a great location, is good value for money and has good facilities. The only downsides are: no indoor washing up facilities which I think are definitely needed for a campsite that is open all year, can't control the temperature on the showers so you only have one temperature, luckily on our visit it was hot! Pitches are a good size and the site is easy to access. We went for a drink in the bar which was nice and busy, we didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. Easy walk into Swanage and there is also a regular bus which passes by right outside the site. We wanted to do a coastal walk and although there was nothing in the reception, the man on reception was really helpful and drew a couple

Of options on a map. Will definitely return to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We have visited Ulwell a number of times before, this site is a firm favourite of ours to use both in high and low season, whilst I must confess that I prefer low season as it is generally a little quieter, perfect for us and our two dogs.

The campsite has a bar which is open all year, we used it for the first time during this visit and were more than happy with the reasonably priced, simple pub grub on offer, the bar was busy even in low season which is always a good sign. Other facilities include a shop (seasonal but well stocked when open)and a swimming pool which I admit we have not used but it always seems busy.

A lot of work has been done on the landscaping of the touring pitches over the last few years so it is very tidy and well maintained. Whilst the toilet facilities seem a little tired they are clean and also well maintained, my other half moaned that the men's showers were cold but I've didn't have the same problem in the ladies!

We love coming to this site due to the ease of walking direct from the site with a variety of routes available, we've been here four times now and still much more walking for us to do in the area. There is also easy access to public transport from the site and Swanage has the lovely railway to enjoy if you are that way inclined.

Top site to visit, we'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dafsaabi 8 reviews from this member

 Having previously been less than overwhelmed by Swanage, I decided it was time to give the town and area another chance, and there's no denying that there's plenty to keep the whole family entertained. The steam railway from Corfe Castle to Swanage is excellent, the beaches of Studland Bay are unmissable, and Swanage itself has plenty to offer.

After deciding that the 'campsite' we stopped at just south of Swanage was probably not best-suited to our needs, we headed to Unwell, a campsite we had used 7 years previously. We were given the relief pitch (probably the best pitch on the whole site), and passes to the swimming pool for the duration of our stay were included in the price.

Pros:-

Excellent facilities,

Lots for children to do,

Passes for the swimming pool,

The area.

Cons:-

Soulless,

Well-lit at night.

I suppose when I was 13 this sort of camping village would have appealed to me, and there were enough retirees sat around televisions in their static homes to suggest that I may again find this pleasurable, but it turns out that I have been corrupted by campfires and the night sky. Without these 2 ingredients a campsite has to be exceptional and I'm afraid this isn't.  


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rnclayton 1 review from this member

 Just had 3 nights here, at this very nice park. This was our families' first taster for caravanning, having just bought our first. Normally we camp in a family tent, but decided to upgrade this year.

Chose one of the larger grass pitches, as we didn't know how much room we would need. Pitch was sloping 2 ways, but was easy to level caravan out. Bit of a dead grass patch on each pitch, but soil seemed cracked and dry. After a day and a half of light'ish rain, that became a thick mud patch under our groundsheet. Our fault for pitching where we did, but had we parked the van directly over it, wouldn't have had much room before the start of the next pitch. That pitch was empty, but we always try to ensure we are within our allocated boundaries.

Staff were very helpful on arrival, and a very nice lifeguard in the pool was great with the children.

Shower block was always clean, but it was probably only about 1/4th of its camping/touring capacity. Not many children there. Showers were great, but the floor of your entire cubicle does get wet, so put your shoes on the side.

Shop seemed well stocked. Didn't use the food services.

Verdict - Great park, and will probably visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nic323 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights, about a 30 min walk from Swanage and on a bus route so very convenient. Excellent shower block and good facilities in the block for families. We were also given passes for the pool which we did not use but it again looked clean and well presented. Excellent shop with fresh croissants in a morning. The only downside was that some of the pitches looked a little worn and there are a lot of static caravans so a slightly different vibe to the campsites we would usually stay on 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ghart386 32 reviews from this member

 Another enjoyable week at Ulwell Cottage, shame about the weather.

Pitch 15 is very roomy and we like it up there at the extremities of the park.

Village Inn all good. Usual good food and pleasant staff. (I think barman knows us now as locals after 5 years on the trot?)

My previous reviews say how much we love the area and it's amenities.

Downside: Cleanliness of the toilet / shower block.

From last years holiday I have noticed a definite deterioration in general cleanliness. Lack of toilet rolls / children? poking the loose ends back into dispenser rendering them useless? Please change to normal loo rolls!

Also, the perennial complaint of too short run time on the showers!

We will return but have noticed that standards have slipped. 


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ulwell Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Ulwell Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ulwell Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ulwell Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


805 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement