Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Birchwood Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Wareham > Birchwood Tourist Park > Reviews

Birchwood Tourist Park
Bere Road
Coldharbour
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 7PA
Tel: 01929 554763
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 175
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Rachel 1 review from this member

 Great site which was quiet even with it being half term.

Great access to Wareham Forest for bikes and hiking.

Site facilities were great and always clean.

Children enjoyed the games room and being able to ride there bikes into Wareham Forest.

We will be back again in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mafield01 12 reviews from this member

 What a great gem - and by todays standards, reasonably priced, too.

We arrived on NYE, and brought a car too, as we were spending NYE with my brother in Bournemouth.

Hard standing, with water and waste on the pitch. The site looks well maintained, the staff are super friendly, and the facilities are good. The showers are nice and hot, and not an on/off push button.

The cubicles are a little small however, but are very clean - and heated.

We enjoyed our stay, and will be on our list to return. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mary0311 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with direct access to Wareham Forest so great for our dog. We had a fully serviced grass pitch so no lugging water in the hot week we had.

Site is well maintained and the staff really nice and helpful. There was a curry van on Saturday evening which we didn't have but other campers said it was very nice.

We had a good TV signal but phone signal a bit patchy.

Didn't have children with us but they have a play area sand pit and small paddling pool and huge games field and a pitch and putt course so plenty of space for them to play. Shame it doesn't have a swimming pool for older children and adults but didn't bother us.

Easy access to surrounding areas to visit all within 10 miles would come again. Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door, lots of dog friendly beaches. Wareham 2 miles away with a lovely walk along the river, and the dog went swimming you can hire canoes or a motor boat.

Lots of people paddle boarding and a few brave ones swimming.

Market there on Saturday.

Sainsbury's and co-op in Wareham and Aldi a short drive away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Another year another stay at my favourite campsite.

They have changed one of the stations for bins, drinking and non-drinking water, and grey water waste into a drive-through Motorhome Service Point opposite the caravan storage area.

If one needs good mobile phone signal and Wi-fi coverage, then one would need to stay next the Reception area. This is the only tiny personal niggle that I have - it is truly a site to forget it all.

Still as well-kept and lovely as ever. Highly recommended.

New Year weekend and 2024's stay already booked. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Returned to my favourite campsite for a 6-night stay, and enjoyed the trip despite the dreadful weather with heavy and blustery showers, thundery at times.

However, the site was as delightful as ever, being very quiet, possibly due to the bad weather forecast. It became a lot livelier Friday night when the weekend weather turned for the better.

I had to move from my favourite grass with EHU pitch near the lower facilities block due to very bad mobile phone and site Wi-Fi signal which prevented from being able to work during my stay.

My new favourite pitch is now an all singing and all dancing fully serviced hardstanding pitch much closer to the office building where the Wi-Fi signal was the strongest and with better mobile phone signal.

If one likes to get away from it all, this is the site for you.

Having said that, I was very surprised to get good TV signals and was able to watch the news about the Queen's passing (a very sad day indeed).

Went to Kings (sic) Arms in Stoborough for a meal and it was good to see their kitchen had returned to form after Covid - last year they had a restricted menu and I did not enjoy my meal.

Also went to Rick Stein's Sandbanks restaurant for a meal, and I thought it was a tad overpriced for what I had.

All in all, not the best of trips due to the weather, hey ho! However, I have already booked for Christmas (highly weather dependent) and for the same time next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 My second trip to Birchwood Tourist Park this year, and stayed at my favourite pitch during the first week after the school holidays, and had a nice quiet stay.

All the facilities were fully opened, and the management and staff were as helpful as always.

There is a new bus service that serves the campsite, apparently it allows dogs too! However, my dog is only 8 months old and too excitable to travel on public transport, hence I did not try this new bus service.

Here is the information taken from Birchwood's website about this new bus service:

"NEW! Summer bus service (31) starting 29th May 2021 to September

Travelling direct from the campsite to Wareham train station and into town.

On to Monkey World, Bovington Tank Museum, Lulworth cove & Durdle Door. Change at Wareham to the Breezer 40 for Poole or Swanage. "

There was a mobile burger van by The Dorset Food Co. On Thursday during my stay, and I sampled their Pig Mac (pork burger) with cheese that came with seasoned chips, and it was nice and reasonable at 8. 50 GBP.

The only very small niggle is that the grass pitch with EHU was very well-used, and was rather bare and muddy. It is due to be re-seeded over this coming winter.

I went to Sandbanks Monday evening and it was packed with youngsters enjoying themselves before going back to college/university. I returned on Thursday late morning and it was very quiet and lovely.

All in all, another nice stay at my favourite campsite. 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 For my first camping trip in over two years, I chose to return to Birchwood Tourist Park which is my favourite site, and it did not disappoint.

Opened with strict Covid-19 compliance procedures in place, although they were allowed to open the toilets and washing up facilities etc. (no showers, and they only found this out a few days before they re-opened on 12 April 2021) the site was quite busy, mostly with units with their own onboard facilities. I saw only one tent during my stay.

I stayed on an all service pitch with my campervan with her own facilities, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

The staff were very helpful and the site well-kept as per usual. I was able to borrow a TV cable as mine was too short. Although it did not fit my van's TV port, I was given the advice and permission to change the connection to fit my own (I changed it back before I returned it).

I did not use the site facilities except for one of the two chemical toilet disposal points which was nicely kept clean by all who used it.

The site has a direct access to Wareham Forest, and my dog loved the walks around the site and the forest itself.

All in all, a very nice first trip in over two years at my favourite site. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sarahe12 1 review from this member

 This campsite was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful staff. Managed to get our pitches together, no problem whatsoever. Showers and toilets very clean.

Childrens play area and sandpit was a big hit with our children.

Lovely park and would highly recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kaz and Gaz 1 review from this member

 Just got home from one night camping at Birchwood tourist park Wareham. We only booked to clean our tent as our son used it for a week with his mates. So glad we did, it was disgusting and Birchwood touring park was fantastic. Wish we had booked longer.

Spotless showers and toilets. Social distancing and polite courteous campers.

Clean washing up fascliities. Water and electric very close to tent.

Playgrounds and paddling pool for the children. Even though we were just the 2 of us, we did love seeing the kids playing enjoying outdoor freedom.

Best bit was the forest walk in the evening. Slept like a baby. Definitely going again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: WashyWashy 1 review from this member

 Just spent a hot sunny bank holiday at Birchwood. We were lucky to secure a booking as it was very last minute but managed to get a pitch with EHU.

Checking in was easy and we were shown to our pitch by one of the site rangers. The site itself was perfect for our family with the park and paddling pool.

The bathroom facilities were cleaned daily to a high standard with the only downside being that there were issues with hot water on one of the days but there was plenty of hot water on the others.

We were pitched right next to the toilet block and swings which was great in that we could keep an eye on our children from our tent whilst they played but was obviously very hectic and noisy with all the children running around.

We would definitely return to this site as it is a great base for all there is to do in the area. 
via mobile


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Birchwood Tourist Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Birchwood Tourist Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Birchwood Tourist Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59076 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement