Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Durdle Door Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wareham > Durdle Door Caravan Park Reviews

Durdle Door Caravan Park
Lulworth Cove
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5PU
Tel: 01929 400200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 72
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 92 Reviews
                7/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Camel campers 55 reviews from this member

 Booked this site to spend the weekend with family, we booked on the 12th February for the weekend of the 11th March, and asked to be pitched together.

On arrival it was clear that we were not going to be pitched together, in addition we were also informed that the restaurant and bar would be closed to touring visitors as they were holding an event for the owners of the static vans to welcome them back for the new season! nice to know once they have your money they change what is on offer.

Other than this the site is ok toilet and showers dated but clean. Lovely location, but a long way from anywhere, so if you don't have personal transport public transport is sporadic especially out of season.

Wont go back again as to shut the restaurant with no warning we think is unacceptable. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Timspe 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location with excellent facilities.

Lovely secluded pitch with well maintained showers and toilets.

Easy to follow instructions and clear site map with a drive over drain for grey water. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blakeys7 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely location, and great access to Durdle door and lulworth close.

Clean facilities, Nice bar/restaurant. Maybe a little on the pricey side, however the food was really nice.

The pitches are hardstanding and have water and elec.

Now my only gripe was our pitch.

We were on pitch number 4 and tbh the grass around it could have been a bit tidier and the hedges trimmed. Also the gradient was so steep it took some big blocks to get the caravan level.

Also, although the pitch is hard standing, it isn't wide enough for both the caravan and awning.

Pitches 3, 4 and 5 were also under the trees which are home to a family of crows. This is mentioned on their website, however be ready for the noise but worse of all, the damage their poo does to your caravan. It took ages cleaning their muck off.

My advice is to ask for a pitch on the side nearest the service road for the public car park.

We would visit again, just on a different pitch. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lizi659 1 review from this member

 We booked a touring pitch for my husband and I. We were really pleased with the large hard standing pitches (must remember hard standing pegs for the awning next time) with bushes either side for privacy. Water taps on our own pitch and facilities not too far away.

Pitch on a slight slope, but we found blocks no problem.

A great location for local natural attractions without the need for travelling if your up for some walking. Being a countryside location, itís a fair drive out to the nearest towns and more commercial attractions.

Having seen how popular this area had been on the news over the summer I was pleasantly surprised to find although busy, there was plenty of space. (The children being back to school probably being the reason)

The site itself was quite peaceful and picturesque, not too commercial, it had a rustic, woodland vibe.

The site and surrounding areas had good COVID safe practices.

Booking was flexible and we booked Sunday to Sunday, noticed some tourers/campers just stayed one or two nights, so that was good not being fixed to weeks or weekends. £200ish for 7 nights, which I thought was good value and on par with other sites.

Great communication via email or phone and a friendly informative greeting at reception on arrival.

Will definitely recommend for tourers and campers (we didnít see the static side) for friends and family who enjoy walking and hiking and countryside drives. This site was Perfect for us! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: JGBE 4 reviews from this member

 Clean facilities and plenty of them - never had to queue!

Lovely location, very close to the beach and Durdle Door itself, great for anyone looking to spend a couple of days walking the Coastal Path, relaxing on the beach or visiting the lovely towns/villages nearby!

Slightly hilly ground. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 Sadly I did not really enjoy my time at Durdle Door. We had a seaview pitch, however, didn't see much sea as basically was just staring at a massive car park all weekend. Cars came early and left late, so very little peace.

The pitch was on a significant slope, which made life difficult, toilets etc a long walk away.

Positives were friendly staff and nice food in the bar.

Ultimately this site is a bit of a rip off, the argument is no doubt you pay for the location, but when the view is ruined by cars and there is no peace then this argument is somewhat false. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joe Shardelow 4 reviews from this member

 The only plus this site has is Location which is excellent for Durdle Door, Lulworth Cove and everything in between.

£110 for 2 nights is expensive by any standards, but when the toilet block is filthy on our arrival late evening, I thought it may be due to daytime use so I left it to the following morning but no change, and when I had the audacity to ask for it to be cleaned the sarcasm from the cleaning staff was unbelievable, and within my earshot.

On site restaurant is over-priced, in my opinion for basic cafe food, and no discount for the takeaway option.

Overall not impressed, the touring part of this park is obviously not the main facility, as the static holiday homes are much better catered for, smooth tarmac roads, good lighting etc, whilst the touring section has rough stone roads, and very poor lighting.

We will not be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jan-neil 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in an amazing situation but we were totally disappointed with our stay here. At £100 for just 2 nights we expected a bit more. On arrival we were directed to our seaview pitch which by the time we had located it we found it was just a random spot at the back of the public car park!

It did have electric hook up but was outside the actual campsite boundaries and was just another row of parking spaces on uneven land. We had difficulty trying to level our unit using both sets of chocks. Other vans had to use stone blocks they had found dotted around.

The poor couple next to us had a trailer tent which required a level pitch but it definitely wasn't. He really struggled setting up. I believe they were going to complain.

If we had known what the unallocated pitches were like we would never had booked this site at all. We cant really comment on the rest of the site as we were not part of it! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonewer 4 reviews from this member

 I stayed here in June of 2015 and left a review of the site at the time.

My summing up of the site in 2015 was that it was 'Frankly, a superb camp site let down by the fact that a public thoroughfare runs right through it. ' I see this sentiment was echoed by other reviewers as well.

I am however happy to report that management now route coach trips through a new woodland walk and so there is no longer the problem of a thousand tourists traipsing past your tent and pebble-dashing the toilets.

I will be pleased to award this site more stars than before and also note that the management of Durdle Door itself has vastly improved with far less litter than before and some attempt being made to stop tourists straying off the paths and destroying a world heritage site.

More needs to be done in the latter regard though. Maybe they need to invest in some actual fences.

The on site team could also do more to stamp out loud music and car engines being left running but apart from that, customer service is really good.

Oh, and the wooded area is still infested with crows which means constant squabbling and screeching, starting from about 5am, and everything gets covered in crow poo. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kerievans 1 review from this member

 Stayed in a camping pod for 3 nights, lovely campsite, toilets and showers all very clean. The shop is a bit pricey. We didn't eat at the Blue crab so can't comment. The only problem was the rooks, VERY noisy day and night and as soon as the food comes they gather like vultures. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Durdle Door Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Durdle Door Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Durdle Door Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement