Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Durdle Door Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Durdle Door Caravan Park
Lulworth Cove
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5PU
Tel: 01929 400 200
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 107
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jan-neil 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is in an amazing situation but we were totally disappointed with our stay here. At £100 for just 2 nights we expected a bit more. On arrival we were directed to our seaview pitch which by the time we had located it we found it was just a random spot at the back of the public car park! It did have electric hook up but was outside the actual campsite boundaries and was just another row of parking spaces on uneven land. We had difficulty trying to level our unit using both sets of chocks. Other vans had to use stone blocks they had found dotted around. The poor couple next to us had a trailer tent which required a level pitch but it definitely wasn't. He really struggled setting up. I believe they were going to complain. If we had known what the unallocated pitches were like we would never had booked this site at all. We cant really comment on the rest of the site as we were not part of it!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonewer 4 reviews from this member

I stayed here in June of 2015 and left a review of the site at the time.

My summing up of the site in 2015 was that it was 'Frankly, a superb camp site let down by the fact that a public thoroughfare runs right through it. ' I see this sentiment was echoed by other reviewers as well.

I am however happy to report that management now route coach trips through a new woodland walk and so there is no longer the problem of a thousand tourists traipsing past your tent and pebble-dashing the toilets.

I will be pleased to award this site more stars than before and also note that the management of Durdle Door itself has vastly improved with far less litter than before and some attempt being made to stop tourists straying off the paths and destroying a world heritage site.

More needs to be done in the latter regard though. Maybe they need to invest in some actual fences.

The on site team could also do more to stamp out loud music and car engines being left running but apart from that, customer service is really good.

Oh, and the wooded area is still infested with crows which means constant squabbling and screeching, starting from about 5am, and everything gets covered in crow poo.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Kerievans 1 review from this member

Stayed in a camping pod for 3 nights, lovely campsite, toilets and showers all very clean. The shop is a bit pricey. We didn't eat at the Blue crab so can't comment. The only problem was the rooks, VERY noisy day and night and as soon as the food comes they gather like vultures.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IanJTurner 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for two nights in our small vintage caravan. The main part of the site seemed clean and very pleasant and the loos and showers were clean and well serviced. When we arrived, the staff were polite, friendly and helpful.

For the premium price that we were paying, we felt we'd be guaranteed a premium pitch. We were disappointed to find that the 'Sea View' pitch that we had been allocated was on a very steep slope that ran right down to the cliff edge! Not great, or particularly safe, for an old caravan such as ours.

We were also not happy to find that the pitch was not part of the main site but was, effectively, on the edge of the (obvoiusly very busy) public carpark for Durdle Door. Hardly what one would expect given the price of our stay. Had we been staying for more than a couple of nights, we would certainly have requested an alternative pitch or a refund.

As we had booked over the phone a few months in advance, I feel that the undisputable shortcomings of the Sea View pitches should have been made clear to us. We would definitely NOT have booked had we known.

In summary, the site and staff are lovely, but the Sea View pitches are clearly not worth the very high price.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon04 19 reviews from this member

Arrived in site, very friendly reception staff explained everything and some.

Our pitch was extremely large with electric and grey water waste, we were not on the sea view part of this site, when we walked that way the pitches with sea views we felt were an extension of the public car park, and not at all flat.

A nice walk to Lulworth Cove but a busy walk with plenty of fellow walkers and school children.

The site is the main route down to Durdle Door and there is plenty of traffic going through the site to get to the car park.

The Blue Crab restaurant and bar we felt was reasonably priced and good pub food the bar prices were normal prices.

A good shower and toilet block, clean warm and plenty of hot water.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janey47 20 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights. A cheery and friendly welcome on arrival and given a site map with barrier code and shower block code and pitch number. I chose a premium pitch with EHU, water and grey water drain. These pitches back onto the road leading to the public beach carpark so there is traffic during the day.

I am pleased I didn't choose a sea view pitch there are only small low wooden posts in between you and the huge public car park. As a lone traveller I would have felt vulnerable.

The showers are clean and fresh with plenty of hot water. There is a well stocked shop on site. I didn't eat at the cafe so I can't comment.

I couldn't get any digital TV reception at all but the free wifi was good enough to stream live TV on my iPad. This could have been because the site wasn't very busy so achieved better wifi.

This is a walkers paradise. Some of the walks are a little challenging but well worth the views. Lulworth Cove is definitely worth the walk. There is a visitors centre, gift shops, ice cream, cafe and a pub. Quite commercial in one sense but everything has been done sympathetically to the surroundings. Also everywhere seems to be very dog friendly.

A word on the rooks! There is noise from them but I got used to it in no time. It became a back ground noise I didn't notice and they are quiet at night so no sleep disturbance.

I would definitely return to this site one day but only out of high season as I would think the surrounding areas get extremely busy.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nic323 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights on a Sea View Pitch. The Pitch had an amazing view and watching the sun set was lovely but it was right at the back of the public car park for Durdle Door - the car park is shut at night and it didn't bother us although during the day it was reasonably busy and we were very conscious of security. The sea view pitches are very sloped so chocks definitely needed (the other pitches were a lot flatter and more manicured) The shower block was always clean although a little cold at times and a bit of a walk from the sea view pitches. There is a good pub on site and the food was nice, also quite a well stocked shop. Lulworth cove is only 20min walk over the headland and we could see Durdle Door from the van so plenty to do.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5448 31 reviews from this member

Staff very welcoming. They also dealt with a late night noise issue really well. Pitch was large, well drained and level. Site right on Durdle Door so excellently placed. Price reflects this but worth paying for the location. Shop well stocked. Will visit again but will avoid in high Summer as am sure it gets mobbed.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elzi01 2 reviews from this member

There are 2 areas to pitch tents, the woodland which is plagued by squalling crows, and a small open grassed area that slopes this way and that way. The toilet and shower facilities near the tent pitches were cleanish but in one block the shower area did flood even after repair work was done. The toilets behind the shops were not up to standard. The bins needed to be emptied more frequently. Customer service was average to good. Despite these disappointments we will be returning as the beach was amazing. The most beautiful place I have seen in a very long time. Yes it's a bit of a steep walk but so worth it. The sea was clean - you can see your feet, snorkelling is so rewarding here. No sand but the pebbles were very small as you get onto the beach, they do increase in size as you walk along though, little seaweed. Being a bay it was calm however the beach dips sharply once in the sea so take care with young children. A lot of coach loads at the weekend making the decent and ascent a little concerning given the volume of traffic, but week days weren't quite so busy. Plenty to do in this area to keep kids happy.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Essendy 8 reviews from this member

Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove are beautiful. The beaches have a few more pebbles than you would like, but the sea is a lovely blue and this location is as close to perfect as anywhere I have seen on Britain’s coastline. The campsite is at the side of the only narrow road that leads to the car park at the top of the cliffs above St Oswald’s Bay and this is the cause of the majority of the problems that the site faces.

We had a pitch with a hook-up and, from the main road, you have to drive down through the reception area, where the shop and bar are, along the road to the car park and then turn back on yourself and enter the hook-up pitches via a barrier that has a PIN code. This is fine and the pitches are of a good size and are fenced and hedged to provide some privacy. To exit the hook-up area the track re-joins the entry road at the reception area, again by a barrier. The barriers prevent unauthorised vehicle access, but we found that lots and lots of people park on the main road outside and then walk down to the sea along the road and then, understandably, choose to walk through the campsite rather than down the busy narrow road. There is also a coach drop-off point prior to reception where loads more pedestrians are constantly deposited to find their way to the sea. This leaves you with the feeling that you are in a refugee camp as crowds of pedestrians traipse through the site, asking where the toilets are and this also raises concern over the security of your possessions, although nothing of ours was taken.

The hook-up area backs on to the wooded camping area and the no music/noise after 10pm site rule was neither adhered to nor enforced by site management. The ‘holiday home’ (static caravan) area of the site is behind reception and looked fine as it was away from the melé.

There was, we were told when checking in, a PIN lock on the toilet block door, but this had been damaged and removed and so there was no access control at all. The toilet block was closed for an hour and a half twice a day at what we felt were peak times and the resultant level of cleanliness was not what you would expect for 90 minutes effort; perhaps they couldn’t keep up with the demands of the ‘visitors’ to the site as well as the paying guests!? The washing up facility was fine with lots of hot water, the showers are push-button, but no coins are necessary as at some other sites. There were new doors and a new PIN lock installed on the toilet block during our stay, which necessitated a 4 hour closure of the facility, but this was not left operational and the door could still be opened by all and sundry.

The site shop is well-stocked and you pay an expected small premium for this local facility. The drink prices in the bar were good, but the bar food was a little pricey for what was essentially microwave cuisine.

If I was managing the site I would have to address the huge non-resident pedestrian traffic, and also revise the toilet-block cleaning regime to better suit the needs of camping guests.

Overall, disappointing considering how expensive the pitch was. The location is excellent, but I would have preferred to have stayed elsewhere and visited Durdle Door from a more relaxing and properly managed base.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2198 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019