Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Durdle Door Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Wareham > Durdle Door Caravan Park > Reviews

Durdle Door Caravan Park
Lulworth Cove
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5PU
Tel: 01929 400200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 68
Open: 01/03/2024 to 02/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thehawkes 1 review from this member

 Arrived at site to be given “Camp Rules”. Please can we not be treated like children who don’t know how to behave. Perhaps a “guide” would be preferable?

The pitches are a good size but not a very good layout. Hard standing in the centre but our pitch had very little grass on the right to erect our awning. Especially as it has been wet and we were asked to keep on the gravel.

Many of the pitches would have been more suitable as we booked for an awning, where many of the others didn’t have an awnings up.

Luckily we also took our small porch awning so managed to squeeze it in. Pitch not allocated till arrival.

Also on a fully serviced pitch the waste water drain is further up the pitch on a slope, so struggled to get the water to drain.

The toilet block facility was clean and looked okay. Chemical toilet area also well maintained.

Code required for both entrance barrier and toilet block but different numbers. At least have one to remember for both if necessary. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stugit 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2nights midweek on a sea view pitch, these are behind the car park and face out to sea - pitch at the far end, the view is better.

The pitches have a slope to them, you will need levelling ramps and chocks. They do have some breeze blocks to help you. All the pitches have electric hookup and are open plan, there is a waterpoint half way along the pitches.

Staff are brilliant, helpful and cheery.

You get into the main site through a path behind the pitches, its a 3/4 minute stroll-to the showers, toilets, restaurant and shop.

The bar is mid price but has some great offers, we had 2 fresh stonebaked pizzas and a bottle of red wine for £25.

Site is Not cheap, but good value. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Gwen Moulster 1 review from this member

 The site is in a beautiful location our dog loved it too. We were met by the warden who was brilliant.

She was really friendly and nothing was too much trouble, she deserves an award for the quality of her customer service which was truly outstanding.

The toilets and showers were regularly cleaned, but could do with an upgrade as they are getting a bit tired. The water pressure in the shower was a bit low at times.

We liked the restaurant/bar and shop facilities. It would have been even better if they had served breakfast.

It would also have been appreciated if they had offered some evening entertainment, as the local bus service doesn't run in the evenings.

We thought a quiz night would have been a lot of fun and probably popular, without creating too much extra work. 


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Camel campers 58 reviews from this member

 Booked this site to spend the weekend with family, we booked on the 12th February for the weekend of the 11th March, and asked to be pitched together.

On arrival it was clear that we were not going to be pitched together, in addition we were also informed that the restaurant and bar would be closed to touring visitors as they were holding an event for the owners of the static vans to welcome them back for the new season! nice to know once they have your money they change what is on offer.

Other than this the site is ok toilet and showers dated but clean. Lovely location, but a long way from anywhere, so if you don't have personal transport public transport is sporadic especially out of season.

Wont go back again as to shut the restaurant with no warning we think is unacceptable. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Timspe 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location with excellent facilities.

Lovely secluded pitch with well maintained showers and toilets.

Easy to follow instructions and clear site map with a drive over drain for grey water. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blakeys7 20 reviews from this member

 Lovely location, and great access to Durdle door and lulworth close.

Clean facilities, Nice bar/restaurant. Maybe a little on the pricey side, however the food was really nice.

The pitches are hardstanding and have water and elec.

Now my only gripe was our pitch.

We were on pitch number 4 and tbh the grass around it could have been a bit tidier and the hedges trimmed. Also the gradient was so steep it took some big blocks to get the caravan level.

Also, although the pitch is hard standing, it isn't wide enough for both the caravan and awning.

Pitches 3, 4 and 5 were also under the trees which are home to a family of crows. This is mentioned on their website, however be ready for the noise but worse of all, the damage their poo does to your caravan. It took ages cleaning their muck off.

My advice is to ask for a pitch on the side nearest the service road for the public car park.

We would visit again, just on a different pitch. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lizi659 1 review from this member

 We booked a touring pitch for my husband and I. We were really pleased with the large hard standing pitches (must remember hard standing pegs for the awning next time) with bushes either side for privacy. Water taps on our own pitch and facilities not too far away.

Pitch on a slight slope, but we found blocks no problem.

A great location for local natural attractions without the need for travelling if your up for some walking. Being a countryside location, it’s a fair drive out to the nearest towns and more commercial attractions.

Having seen how popular this area had been on the news over the summer I was pleasantly surprised to find although busy, there was plenty of space. (The children being back to school probably being the reason)

The site itself was quite peaceful and picturesque, not too commercial, it had a rustic, woodland vibe.

The site and surrounding areas had good COVID safe practices.

Booking was flexible and we booked Sunday to Sunday, noticed some tourers/campers just stayed one or two nights, so that was good not being fixed to weeks or weekends. £200ish for 7 nights, which I thought was good value and on par with other sites.

Great communication via email or phone and a friendly informative greeting at reception on arrival.

Will definitely recommend for tourers and campers (we didn’t see the static side) for friends and family who enjoy walking and hiking and countryside drives. This site was Perfect for us! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: JGBE 4 reviews from this member

 Clean facilities and plenty of them - never had to queue!

Lovely location, very close to the beach and Durdle Door itself, great for anyone looking to spend a couple of days walking the Coastal Path, relaxing on the beach or visiting the lovely towns/villages nearby!

Slightly hilly ground. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 Sadly I did not really enjoy my time at Durdle Door. We had a seaview pitch, however, didn't see much sea as basically was just staring at a massive car park all weekend. Cars came early and left late, so very little peace.

The pitch was on a significant slope, which made life difficult, toilets etc a long walk away.

Positives were friendly staff and nice food in the bar.

Ultimately this site is a bit of a rip off, the argument is no doubt you pay for the location, but when the view is ruined by cars and there is no peace then this argument is somewhat false. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joe Shardelow 6 reviews from this member

 The only plus this site has is Location which is excellent for Durdle Door, Lulworth Cove and everything in between.

£110 for 2 nights is expensive by any standards, but when the toilet block is filthy on our arrival late evening, I thought it may be due to daytime use so I left it to the following morning but no change, and when I had the audacity to ask for it to be cleaned the sarcasm from the cleaning staff was unbelievable, and within my earshot.

On site restaurant is over-priced, in my opinion for basic cafe food, and no discount for the takeaway option.

Overall not impressed, the touring part of this park is obviously not the main facility, as the static holiday homes are much better catered for, smooth tarmac roads, good lighting etc, whilst the touring section has rough stone roads, and very poor lighting.

We will not be returning to this site. 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Durdle Door Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Durdle Door Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Durdle Door Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement