Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Hayfield Fishing And Shooting Lodge

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > South Yorkshire > Doncaster > The Hayfield Fishing And Shooting Lodge Reviews

The Hayfield Fishing And Shooting Lodge
Hayfield Lane
Auckley
Doncaster
South Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DN9 3NP
Tel: 01302 864555  or  07484 918414
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 5 Reviews
                7/10 from 5 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Baseli 1 review from this member

 Very nice site and welcoming staff well enjoyed my stay.

The campsite is well maintained with separate fields to use. And there is 2 big lakes with beautiful surroundings. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fletton 2 reviews from this member

 Update.

The site is accepting casual overnighters again. There are actually two separate camping areas on the site.

The 'Hayfield Fishing and Shooting Lodge' who manage camping within the fenced area of the pub - and payment is made in the pub.

'Hayfield Fishing Lakes' who manage all other camping areas both grassed and car park area and you pay at the Fishing Bait bar.

The pub on site isn't open on Mondays at present otherwise it opens between 8 and 9am until 'not busy' but usually until 7/8ish and later if they have something in particular going on.

The main gates are locked nightly until 8ish am

Current rates are 10GBP or 15GBP with EHU for both areas.

The main thing to remember is that this site is primarily a premier fishing lake with a pub. It is not a typical campsite. It is very ad-hoc at the moment.

There are fishing matches on a regular basis most days so the car-park gets busy first thing in a morning and last thing with fishermen chatting etc.

They also cater for a dog trainer who is there most days from about 11 ish. Sometimes there are a few barking dogs in the fields.

I have given a low overall rating because like I said it is very ad-hoc. And although it suites my needs it may not be everyone's cup of tea! 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fletton 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on a regular basis all this year (2016) when visiting my relatives in Doncaster.

Very very basic ad-hoc site - but been really handy for me.

Just been informed by staff member today (02/11/2016) - via site owner - that they are no longer accepting casual over-nighters and are effectively closed until further notice - as they are in the process of applying to Local Authority for independent camp site status - and have a number of perm caravans on site already. However, I am told they will continue with their remaining planned rally quota for anyone who has either booked a rally or is thinking of. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wallers 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site twice within two weeks as we enjoyed it so much the first time. Now renamed The Hayfield. Cost per night is only 12 with electric hook up. Toilet facilities available when pub opens which is 0630 due to being next to a large fishing lake and supplying the fishermen, and yourself if required with excellent buffet breakfasts. Bridleway runs alongside and ideal area for cycling away from traffic. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the site is child friendly. Food is well priced and very good. We will be there again this year and I highly recommend a stay. Bus stops to Doncaster and Bawtry within 400 yards. There is also a shower in ladies toilets. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MissElaineous 37 reviews from this member

 The certificated site is a very small field next to the Hayfield Fishing Lake car-park, so expect some noise in the morning as the anglers are booking in for their days fishing. Very quiet at night though, after the pub has closed.

There is another larger field that is used for rallies I believe. A field in between these two camping fields is used by a dog training group on Saturdays, this is actually quite entertaining to watch. Apparently, there is electric hook up available if you need it.

The chemical disposal point is in the large field, so quite a walk away from the CS field.

There are toilets in the Hayfield Inn which is open all day, although this is under different ownership to the Fishing Lakes and Campsite, nobody seemed to mind us using them. We did eat at the pub while we were there, and I have to say the food was something special.

Worth going camping here just to eat out. The pub provides lots of inflatable castles and slides etc. So a great place to take the kids, though I was child-free this particular weekend so didn't use these facilities. There is a charge for these, wrist bands can be purchased for you children.

There are woodland walks surrounding the site, and cycling tracks too. The Yorkshire Wildlife Park is in walking/cycling distance and I intend camping at Hayfield again to visit this. Don Valley Outdoor Centre is just round the corner if you need any camping supplies.

UPDATE: FEBRUARY 2013:

The Fisherman Inn is now under new management so my comments regarding the meals and inflatable castles and slides is not relevant. Also, the site is no longer on the camping and caravanning club listing, but I called in to the site this month to make enquiries and was told camping is still available by calling Hayfield Lakes, that is the fishing place, just google for information. We had a drink at the pub and were told that food will be available from March onwards. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Hayfield Fishing And Shooting Lodge child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Hayfield Fishing And Shooting Lodge?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Hayfield Fishing And Shooting Lodge dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Doncaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in South Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement