Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wareham > Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Barnhill Road
Ridge
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5BG
Tel: 01929 556444
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Awfuldriver 12 reviews from this member

 What a great site.

Peace and quiet. Spacious pitches. Flat as a London pint. Trees for shade. Decent facilities, shop and very scenic setting with boats bobbing on the horizon.

Fair price.

Campers were the only source of noise - those unwilling to get off their cellphones or their backsides to retrieve their screeching toddlers, resorting to yelling at them instead.

That apart from lawnmover man just over the way who mowed his patch of green on a daily basis on his clattery ride-on. He sell's jar's of "jam's, marmalade's, honey's and lot's of other type's of bottle's of thing's" - can't miss his house - there's a big union Jack flapping outside. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 44 reviews from this member

 This is a delightful, smallish site, very well placed on the Purbeck peninsula. It is quietly tucked away but near enough to Wareham not to need a shopful of groceries on site. The ground is excellent and the grass cut to a sensible length, although you will find some loose clippings so bring a doormat. It's well sheltered with plenty of mature trees. Rock pegs will hold but the ground's perfect for plastic pegs.

There are plenty of caravans on seasonal pitches, mostly around the perimeter. These were well used by their owners and families who contributed to the friendly and relaxed vibe. We were there for half term week and it was pleasantly busy with some excellent tent setups to ogle.

The facilities are a bit WWII in character - probably rather bleak outside summer - and featured a pleasing respect for spiders which seemed to control the flies admirably. The showers are excellent - powerful, swift to run hot and at a consistently good temperature. The whole was kept very clean and was efficiently maintained. When some heavy handed camper broke one of the lavatory cisterns of an evening I was surprised to find it being fixed the next morning.

The pot wash area is under cover with a helpful bin for food waste, which I assume helps feed some pigs somewhere. Only two sinks here, but there are two more in the laundry room next door. Masses of scalding hot water through mixer taps and plenty of surface space for your dishes. Perfect.

The laundry is a domestic washing machine and an ancient looking but formidably effective tumble dryer. They run off slot boxes which take tokens that you buy from the on site shop - allow about a fiver for a wash and dry. Some campers found the shop's opening hours to be a problem. I never managed to work out the pattern myself, but if in doubt you just call or text the agreeable Janet on the number shown in the window. She usually turns out to be on site anyway, and the only time I needed to call she was already walking up behind me.

There's no dedicated play area for children, but with lots of open space, mature trees, a paddock full of sheep and lambs, the odd passing cat and plenty of other children about, my daughter didn't want for entertainment. There's no wifi but the 3G coverage is good enough to stream video.

In summary, it's a lovely, friendly, relaxed and uncomplicated site. You really have to search if you want to find any rules, which are a short paragraph of T&Cs buried somewhere on the website. Radical stuff, but everyone seemed to get on just fine using common sense and common courtesy. A keeper. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hcwinsemius 2 reviews from this member

 General

In general, this is a fair camp site to visit the Purbeck Peninsula although it has some shortcomings that could easily be amended (see further below). It is conveniently located near Wareham, where a large selection of shops, pubs and restaurants can be found. From here, you can for instance visit the first parts of the Jurassic coast, the Swanage railway (steam), Corfe Castle, the beautiful Hartland Moor Nature Reserve.

Site:

The site itself is very pleasant, it offers green grass, spacious pitches. A downside for us (as tent campers) is that most of the pitches are occupied by (permanent) caravans, which I find a small deterioration of the romance of a camp site in general.

Facilities:

These are complete, however they are not cleaned frequently enough. Too often

Reception:

The reception is only opened for a few hours per day, but clear instructions how to pitch are given at the front door. What I found very annoying is that the first person we spoke to gave us a quote for 16 pounds per day for a 4-day stay. We wished to extend the duration of our stay and requested this with a second person. She could not find our original booking and then gave us a new quote for 19, 50 per day (added one of our small children), even for the first 4 days. We complained about this and although this was reverted, this did not happen without a discussion. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sebreay 2 reviews from this member

 Straightforward, friendly site. Great location.

Overall

Smart grassy site with hedges and mature trees on border and throughout to provide some demarcation. No tarmac roadway, so keeps it feeling fairly relaxed and fluid. Small in form, so probably best suited to families/couples rather than groups, but they may be able to reserve pitches together if needed. A good base for your activities, and a calm place to return to at the end of the day.

Pitches

Clearly marked in the most part. Reasonable size (probably 8 x 5m at least). Majority flat (only a few on very slight slope), all grassed. Quite a lot of caravans on whole-season pitches, so site looks full but they're largely empty, filled up at weekend. Near a river so not exceptionally well draining it seemed, pitches on perimeter stayed dry, but those under trees puddled up a bit in downpour, not messy/muddy though.

Facilities

Clean at all times, water hot and plentiful. Very dated in style, but I've seen far worse. Essentially everything you need in place, but I would imagine the 'shed' style is a bit less inviting out of the high season when temps are that bit lower.

Office

Only manned for a couple of hours morning and afternoon, but sufficient it seems. Clear instructions posted on the door for expected arrivals and on the end of the phone if you need any clarity. Friendly, but not exceptionally so. Some bare essentials stocked along with an eclectic selection of 'deli' style goods. Weekend mornings freshly baked (from frozen?) croissants and pastries available, which was a nice touch.

Location

Ideal base for Purbeck and beyond, Swanage/Studland only 20mins away. End of a lane, so very secluded and quiet, no main road noise. Wareham nearby for stocking up, and Chipperies chip shop in high street very good food. Sainsbury's small car park a bit hectic, but everyone seems to get a space eventually.

Value for money

Seems to be the going rate for site in the area. Only falls down slightly as the facilities are a little basic for the price. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: APSTARRANT 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Ridge Farm for our first weekend away, having bought our caravan in August. As a novice towing a caravan I was a little concerned going along the narrow lane to site, but no problems encountered and once pitched all was very nice. Plenty of space, shop, showers and toilet facilities great. Some great walks from site with our young puppy and Wareham well worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 102 reviews from this member

 We're just back from a 3 night stay here, on the recommendation of my hairdresser! It is a lovely site, quiet and peaceful about 2 miles out of Wareham. You can walk into Wareham along the river from the site, about 25 minute stroll. There is a change of owner, the very welcoming and friendly lady has been here just this year. There are fresh croissants, Danish pastries, bread etc baked on site ready for 8. 30 am, all of which are delicious along with an assortment of coffees, teas and hot chocolate. Lovely!

The toilet and shower blocks are very clean and although it was the school summer holiday we never had to queue. The showers are hot and FREE!

There are two fields, one with only electric hook ups and the other with a few but mainly without electric.

The children enjoyed running around and cycling about the site and didn't seem to miss not having a playground.

The site is in an excellent position for exploring the Isle of Purbeck, the beaches at Studland are magnificent and within an easy drive, expect traffic queues in August when everyone leaves at tea time !

Kimmeridge bay is a wonderful rocky beach with lots of fossils for the children, and adults to find!

We will return! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnny Phillips 2 reviews from this member

 I cannot praise this campsite enough!

Arrived late afternoon. There were no staff around but there was a card in the reception window with my name on it and advice about where to pitch my tent. (To be honest, though, I did not even notice the card in reception until I had had a good look around the site and pitched my tent where I thought suitable. )

This was the scene: the sun was shining, there were a handful of caravans lining the edge of the park and a man cutting the grass. It was very quiet, the only sound which could be heard, apart from the grass cutter, was birdsong and a faint ringing sound - which I later learned was the masts of sailing vessels, moored nearby on the river Frome.

Later on, after resting, I went for a walk along the river Frome. It was a peaceful walk; although I did get very bad hayfever, helped in no small way by the long grass and reeds.

The campsite itself can be reached by a relatively short stroll along part of the river Frome. (Be warned, one can get quite wet feet whilst walking this path, after there has been rainfall. This is due to the very long grass. )

There are other walks in and around Wareham, including a 'walls walk' which explores the town's ancient walls which I think are Saxon.

Wareham has a good selection of shops, pubs and takeaway food vendors. There is one newsagents/convenience store in particular, which I found to be trading at 06:50 on a Sunday morning. That was handy for me who, thinking it was Monday and a certain well known shop would be open at 07:00, was surprised to learn that it was actually Sunday!

The whole area around Wareham is good for cyclists. There is a lot of lowland heath which makes for pleasant scenery. Wareham is also well placed for excursions to Poole and the stunning Purbeck Hills.

I myself arrived at the campsite on a bicycle, heavily laden with all my stuff. I feel that Ridge Farm recognises my effort by only charging 5 per night for walkers/cyclists.

The campsite is definitely one of, if not the, best that I have stayed at. The toilet block was clean with hot and cold running water. The showers were, and I dare say, probably still are, free, so no fussing around with coins; all that for only 5 per night. Bargain! The reception staff are friendly and, quite flexible, too. (I had stayed two nights before I even paid them. This was because of reception opening hours. )

My only criticism about Ridge Farm campsite is the pitching ground. Although it is flat, it does have little depressions here and there which do become water logged after prolonged rainfall. This, however, did not affect me. I surveyed the ground before pitching and decided to pitch underneath a line of trees. Top tip: pitch under the trees and stay dry!

If I were to visit this area again, I would definitely stay at Ridge Farm. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KWM1 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this pleasant little site. Nicely tucked away in a sheltered little sun trap. No main roads adjacent to the site so lots of peace and quiet.

The owner was on site when we arrived and welcomed us but as the site was quiet we saw little of him over the course of our stay.

Overnight heavy rain on our last night did make the grass on our pitch a little soggy but we were able to drive off without incident. The owner and handyman were there first thing sweeping out the flooded washing up area.

I had conversations with a few regulars who return to this site year after year for the tranquillity, though I understand it is less tranquil in the school holidays even though there is no play area or facilities for children.

The shower block is a bit basic but with our own facilities this was not a major concern. We saw cleaners coming on site at mid-day to clean them out so cleanliness should not have been an issue.

A little expensive at 19.50 a night for unit + two adults. Other local sites with better facilities charging 18.

All in all a nice little site in a beautiful location, close to the main delights of Purbeck. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Dootsons 7 reviews from this member

 Another great week at Ridge Farm. The Jubilee weekend was fully booked, but we still had loads of space and no queues for the showers, loos or washing up. The on site shop was invaluable, stocking all the basics.

The weather let us down this time, but the site and staff were as helpful and welcoming as ever.

The walk into Wareham along the river is very pretty, and if you happen to want very good quality food and drink - The Old Granary on Wareham Quay!

Only one small point - the water pressure in the showers could be better 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nukes67 10 reviews from this member

 Love this campsite. Everything so laid back and easy. Wareham being a nice little town but still has everything you might need. Don't wanna shout too loud about how much we will use this again for fear of it becoming something other than what it is. We like the fact there are no hidden extras, showers, toilets, hot water, etc etc. Only slight issue being 'midges', but you shouldn't expect anything less when you're next to a lovely 'marina'. The town is within walking distance (on the way there), but a bit of a stagger back (according to 'wife'!). 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement