Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Wareham > Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park > Reviews

Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Barnhill Road
Ridge
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5BG
Tel: 01929 556444
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2024 to 29/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 61 Reviews
                8/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs mouse 20 reviews from this member

 Have to be honest, I wasn't sure when we arrived but this turned out to be a lovely site. The reception/shop is only opened for a few hours twice a day but the names and pitch numbers are on a board by reception.

Note to self. It helps to look at the map of the site with pitch numbers clearly marked first, somehow we didn't notice it and wandered around looking for our pitch number!

The shop is stocked with local meat, bread and basics, also has a coffee machine and croissants /pain au chocolate in the mornings.

The pitches are mostly level and drain well, just as well as we had quite a lot of rain while there.

The facilities are kept clean and although appear dated are actually very good. The showers are push button and last a good amount of time and run at a comfortable temperature. They are roomy enough to prevent clothes becoming wet. There are three hand sinks, a privacy cubicle with a hand sink and five toilet cubicles (in the ladies side).

There is also a laundry room and dish wash room in the same block.

Chemical disposal is at the end of the block. The water is piping hot for dish washing so that's a bonus.

There is no play area for children but plenty of room to play. A big bonus for us was the peace and quiet, its a great place to unwind.

Out of the campsite you can walk up a quiet road through the little village and along a footpath (part of the Purbeck Way) beside the river into Wareham.

It took us about twenty minutes and we spotted deer on a few occasions in the nearby fields. In Wareham there are two lovely pubs that do food beside the river, we ate in the Quay Inn and it was excellent.
The fish and chips we bought in town and ate beside the river were also very good.

Plenty to do in the local area. We visited Kingston Lacey and Brownsea Island and Corfe castle, all National Trust, have to pay for the ferry to Brownsea from Poole or Sandbanks.

Bovington Tank museum is nearby and a very interesting day out, we visited Beaulieu but it is a bit of a trek to get there. Monkey World is nearby as well.

Lovely beaches in the area although we only managed time to visit Swanage. Gives us a good excuse, if needed, to visit again and see a bit more of the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 42 reviews from this member

 Inspired by Springwatch being filmed at RSPB Arne, which is 2 miles away from this campsite, coupled with never being on the Jurassic coast before we decided to book a few nights near Wareham and Weymouth area to explore. We stayed the first 3 nights at Ridge Farm.

Deposit paid by bank transfer, the balance paid on arrival. We got there and the site office was closed but our name and pitch number was on a notice board so that was fine. Hookup connected, kettle on after the long drive and a bit of a chill out for a bit. It looked a really nice site. Plenty of space, not too busy and everyone just relaxing by their vehicles.

We walked along the narrow road to nearby Stoborough for a meal and pint at the King's Arms - the nearest pub to the campsite. Highly recommended. Wareham is just another 10 minutes up the road with more pub options and there's a nice walk back along the riverside back to the campsite.

The site office was open the next morning to pay the balance. It's a well-stocked shop but we'd already got most things with us that we needed for a few days. There are leaflets outside for local activities too. The toilets and shower facilities were spacious and clean. The push-button showers were nice and hot with a deep room so plenty of space to get dry and keep your clothes dry away from the shower section. No problems here at all.

As mentioned, the walk in to Stoborough and Wareham is quite easy. We also walked one evening across Stoborough Heath. There are deer everywhere round here! And plenty of other wildlife. Horses, butterflies, even a frog hopping along the path. I wish we'd had more time to explore.

The one day spent at RSPB Arne itself was a bit of a washout so we didn't see much wildlife but the forest walks looked really great. The RSPB cafe is worth a visit too. In the wider area, there is Corfe castle and the beautiful Studland to visit. We did a sea kayak trip from Studland with Fore Adventures.

The sea was calm and the trip takes you out to Old Harry Rocks headland where you land on the rocks and explore even more. Really recommend doing something like that. Amazing experience and very well organised.

I'd highly recommend the site for it's peace and quiet and proximity to some amazing areas such as RSPB Arne. I just wish we had more time to explore (and better weather!) but it just means we will have to visit again! 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Journo 18 reviews from this member

 On the plus side: great location, handy for Wareham and RSPB Arne. Good-sized pitches. Although dated, showers hot and washing up water also hot. Good coffee.

Negatives: didn't reply to booking request. Wouldn't take phone booking and form supplied from website couldn't be completed on line.

First time I've encountered a site that didn't provide grey water disposal point. And the chemical disposal point is a splash-prone hole with no flushing mechanism or hand-washing facility.

Given there was drought and therefore an area-wide ban on fires and BBQs, I was surprised to see campers allowed to light a BBQ.

In short, a bit cheeky to charge 30 nightly. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: WHeaps 22 reviews from this member

 Another stay at one of our favourite campsites in the area. Another warm welcome and all was well.

Water in showers was a bit cool on the first morning, but very swiftly attended to as soon as reported.

Although we booked too late for an EHU, the site was not too busy for a holiday weekend, and we had a nice spacious pitch with a view.

No doubt we will be back again another time. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Margaretsp 4 reviews from this member

 Good sized pitches. Easy to find and very handy for Wareham. You can walk into Wareham along the river. Lots of dog walks.

The site was busy but there was plenty of room for everyone.

Showers were basic but clean with plenty of hot water. New washing machine and tumble drier. Not an "all bells & Whistles" site but good, no frills facilities.

No playground for kiddies but they played on the field.

The Granary in Wareham is good to eat at but you have to book. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Harris 1 review from this member

 Great little site, nice clean and friendly.

Will be going again.

Last minute booking and staff very helpful.

Lots of hot water for showers and clean toilets. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Awfuldriver 12 reviews from this member

 What a great site.

Peace and quiet. Spacious pitches. Flat as a London pint. Trees for shade. Decent facilities, shop and very scenic setting with boats bobbing on the horizon.

Fair price.

Campers were the only source of noise - those unwilling to get off their cellphones or their backsides to retrieve their screeching toddlers, resorting to yelling at them instead.

That apart from lawnmover man just over the way who mowed his patch of green on a daily basis on his clattery ride-on. He sell's jar's of "jam's, marmalade's, honey's and lot's of other type's of bottle's of thing's" - can't miss his house - there's a big union Jack flapping outside. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 72 reviews from this member

 This is a delightful, smallish site, very well placed on the Purbeck peninsula. It is quietly tucked away but near enough to Wareham not to need a shopful of groceries on site. The ground is excellent and the grass cut to a sensible length, although you will find some loose clippings so bring a doormat. It's well sheltered with plenty of mature trees. Rock pegs will hold but the ground's perfect for plastic pegs.

There are plenty of caravans on seasonal pitches, mostly around the perimeter. These were well used by their owners and families who contributed to the friendly and relaxed vibe. We were there for half term week and it was pleasantly busy with some excellent tent setups to ogle.

The facilities are a bit WWII in character - probably rather bleak outside summer - and featured a pleasing respect for spiders which seemed to control the flies admirably. The showers are excellent - powerful, swift to run hot and at a consistently good temperature. The whole was kept very clean and was efficiently maintained. When some heavy handed camper broke one of the lavatory cisterns of an evening I was surprised to find it being fixed the next morning.

The pot wash area is under cover with a helpful bin for food waste, which I assume helps feed some pigs somewhere. Only two sinks here, but there are two more in the laundry room next door. Masses of scalding hot water through mixer taps and plenty of surface space for your dishes. Perfect.

The laundry is a domestic washing machine and an ancient looking but formidably effective tumble dryer. They run off slot boxes which take tokens that you buy from the on site shop - allow about a fiver for a wash and dry. Some campers found the shop's opening hours to be a problem. I never managed to work out the pattern myself, but if in doubt you just call or text the agreeable Janet on the number shown in the window. She usually turns out to be on site anyway, and the only time I needed to call she was already walking up behind me.

There's no dedicated play area for children, but with lots of open space, mature trees, a paddock full of sheep and lambs, the odd passing cat and plenty of other children about, my daughter didn't want for entertainment. There's no wifi but the 3G coverage is good enough to stream video.

In summary, it's a lovely, friendly, relaxed and uncomplicated site. You really have to search if you want to find any rules, which are a short paragraph of T&Cs buried somewhere on the website. Radical stuff, but everyone seemed to get on just fine using common sense and common courtesy. A keeper. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hcwinsemius 2 reviews from this member

 General

In general, this is a fair camp site to visit the Purbeck Peninsula although it has some shortcomings that could easily be amended (see further below). It is conveniently located near Wareham, where a large selection of shops, pubs and restaurants can be found. From here, you can for instance visit the first parts of the Jurassic coast, the Swanage railway (steam), Corfe Castle, the beautiful Hartland Moor Nature Reserve.

Site:

The site itself is very pleasant, it offers green grass, spacious pitches. A downside for us (as tent campers) is that most of the pitches are occupied by (permanent) caravans, which I find a small deterioration of the romance of a camp site in general.

Facilities:

These are complete, however they are not cleaned frequently enough. Too often

Reception:

The reception is only opened for a few hours per day, but clear instructions how to pitch are given at the front door. What I found very annoying is that the first person we spoke to gave us a quote for 16 pounds per day for a 4-day stay. We wished to extend the duration of our stay and requested this with a second person. She could not find our original booking and then gave us a new quote for 19, 50 per day (added one of our small children), even for the first 4 days. We complained about this and although this was reverted, this did not happen without a discussion. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sebreay 6 reviews from this member

 Straightforward, friendly site. Great location.

Overall

Smart grassy site with hedges and mature trees on border and throughout to provide some demarcation. No tarmac roadway, so keeps it feeling fairly relaxed and fluid. Small in form, so probably best suited to families/couples rather than groups, but they may be able to reserve pitches together if needed. A good base for your activities, and a calm place to return to at the end of the day.

Pitches

Clearly marked in the most part. Reasonable size (probably 8 x 5m at least). Majority flat (only a few on very slight slope), all grassed. Quite a lot of caravans on whole-season pitches, so site looks full but they're largely empty, filled up at weekend. Near a river so not exceptionally well draining it seemed, pitches on perimeter stayed dry, but those under trees puddled up a bit in downpour, not messy/muddy though.

Facilities

Clean at all times, water hot and plentiful. Very dated in style, but I've seen far worse. Essentially everything you need in place, but I would imagine the 'shed' style is a bit less inviting out of the high season when temps are that bit lower.

Office

Only manned for a couple of hours morning and afternoon, but sufficient it seems. Clear instructions posted on the door for expected arrivals and on the end of the phone if you need any clarity. Friendly, but not exceptionally so. Some bare essentials stocked along with an eclectic selection of 'deli' style goods. Weekend mornings freshly baked (from frozen?) croissants and pastries available, which was a nice touch.

Location

Ideal base for Purbeck and beyond, Swanage/Studland only 20mins away. End of a lane, so very secluded and quiet, no main road noise. Wareham nearby for stocking up, and Chipperies chip shop in high street very good food. Sainsbury's small car park a bit hectic, but everyone seems to get a space eventually.

Value for money

Seems to be the going rate for site in the area. Only falls down slightly as the facilities are a little basic for the price. 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ridge Farm Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3231 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement