Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Twiteys Tipis

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Twiteys Tipis
Lowe Farm
Hunscote Lane
Wellesbourne, Warwick
Warwick
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV35 9EXCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45 + PITCHES 3, TIPIS, 1 SHEPHERDS HUT, 1 YURT
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen98 23 reviews from this member

I reviewed this site when we visited last year. Not much has changed with the site itself, it still has the mown pitches in a meadow of long grass, still has decent facilities and you can still have campfires. The one difference I did note was how busy it was, although as we were there on a weekend in the school holidays I suppose it is to be expected.

As mentioned before you can't drive to your pitch (a good point), but all of the car parks were full. There were also often queues for showers and washing up. To the credit of the owners the pitches were still as big as before and when camping it didn't feel crowded, but when you needed the facilities you had to be prepared to wait. Also you are now charged to bring a trailer(5 each I think).

I feel I am being a bit picky, it is still a lovely site and I'm sure that we will be back. But if you have the choice, I'd come midweek in term time if you want a completely stress-free camp.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen98 23 reviews from this member

On arrival Stuart showed us around, he was really friendly, couldn't have been more helpful and made a great first impression. There is an honesty shop selling essentials, as well as everything needed for a campfire, great to be somewhere where the campers are trusted. There is also a barn area which really made me think we had come to the right place. It not only had showers, sinks, fridge, freezer, sockets for charging phones etc, washing up area, table, sofas and books but also an urn and a kettle. The urn and kettle were for the washing up (as the water heater was out of order), but also for anyone to use if they just fancied an easy cup of tea.

We were camped in the lower meadow. It did have some portaloos but I usually made a bit longer walk to the 'proper' toilets by the shop.

Other people have mentioned the pitches being circular mown patches in a meadow of long grass and it really worked. There was also a larger mown area just for the kids to play on.

Our one trip out was to the MAD Museum in Stratford - not huge, but really interesting.

All in all we loved the site - the friendliness, the campfires, the lack of cars and the meadow setting. We would happily return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Family Brown 2 reviews from this member

*Perfect apart from the wasps*

Some friends and I stayed here for two nights mid-August, with our children (aged between 10 months - 6 years).

The site is really beautiful and we loved the circular mown pitches with fire pits. There is lots of space between pitches - it was full on the second night but in some of my photos it looks like we are the only ones there! We camped in the top meadow which is flatter and has lovely sunset views.

The owners were welcoming and helpful and the facilities were clean and pleasant to use. The little shop stocks essentials including marshmallows, and there are sofas and tables in the spacious wash up area. Taking our stuff up to the pitch in wheelbarrows was hard work, but worth it for the car-free meadow, completely safe for the kids, and no engines or slamming doors to disturb the peaceful atmosphere.

The other campers were almost all families too, and the children absolutely loved roaming the field with all the new friends they made, exploring through the long grass, meeting the chickens and ducks, and toasting marshmallows on our campfire. The site was very quiet from 10pm and we enjoyed peaceful evenings and nights.

During the day we visited the airfield just down the road - walkable even by toddlers - where you can get a good cooked breakfast/lunch and a hot drink. There are loads of attractions nearby if you were staying for longer. Warwickshire is very pretty, I can't give it 10* as a location, as other parts of the country are a lot nicer and have mountains/sea/woods etc, but it's local for us and an easy weekend trip.

It would have been an absolutely perfect experience, if it hadn't been for the wasps. There must have been nests close by as we were constantly being pestered by them - I know it's August but it wasn't just the odd one or two, they were there as soon as we started pitching, even with no food out. I put a wasp trap out and it must have caught over 100 in 24 hours. (Have used it in other 'waspy' places in August and caught maybe 20 in the same period). This really put a downer on our stay, as we all felt on edge and it was almost impossible to prepare or eat food. A real shame, not the fault of the site owners and everything else was amazing. I've had to lower my ratings because of that, but if there were no wasps it would have been 10*.

I'd love to come back, just not in August!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: R1ch4rdAug61 1 review from this member

Stayed here overnight just to get away from home. What a fantastic site. Cars kept away from tents. Individual pitches set apart and surrounded by natural tall grass rather than packed in on neat lawns in formal rows. Fire pits in each pitch as well! How good is that? Great to sit round the fire toasting marshmallows. An absolute haven.

We didn't take kids however, there was plenty of space for them to explore. Lots of nearby walks, cycle routes and local attractions.

Toilets were kept very clean as were the showers although these are electric which are not very powerful and it was difficult to get dressed in the changing area on a wet floor which inevitably gets dirty as users put shoes on. No hot water at sinks for washing or shaving also which was a bit of a negative. Possibly not for Glampers.

Michael who owns the site, could not have been more helpful. If you want a get close to basic camping on a natural site free from cars with lots of walks or cycling, then this is for you. We will be going back as we loved it.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sanji982 1 review from this member

We loved the idea of meadows! The circles of mowed grass where you pitch make the place feel bigger.

Handing fire bits already there at a reasonable price, fire pit is ready to be used.

Friendly host, too bad for the portable toilets but hopefully the new ones being built will be ready for our next visit.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GStretch 1 review from this member

Second 'annual' visit for late May Bank Holiday with friends

We were Family of Five with Kids age 7, 5, 2 and Friends - 4 with Kids 7 & 5

Pitches well separated by long grass, love the no cars rule with barrows to transport tent etc, happy to let kids roam site and play with other children. Lovely to have fire in the evenings.

Extraordinarily friendly owner who genuinely tries to make sure all have a good stay. Basic toilets, with new block under construction. Covered barn with 4 sinks, two electric showers and fridge freezer/kettle.

Close to castles and sights but nice away from it feel.

Recommended.

Graham and Rachel Stretch

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen 64 1 review from this member

A beautiful location, lovely big pitches, fantastic meadows, open fires, very peaceful. Really good campsite. However, the other reviews are a little misleading. The facilities are portaloos and after a busy May bank weekend these were seriously smelly. The owner was v keen for feedback and there are more showers, washing up facilities and proper toilets in the pipeline, once these are in this will be an outstanding campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rugbymummy 1 review from this member

We visited with our young family as a trial run (not far from home), just before Aug Bank holiday. We loved it! Stuart is fantastic, he does so much to keep things running smoothly, looking good and most of all was so welcoming, hospitable and helpful, he really went out of his way to make sure we were all sorted and settled in. The site is so well maintained and I love the long grass around the pitches. All of the amenities were kept clean and tidy and there was everything you need readily available. It was our first trip with our six-month old and although we'd prefer to go further from home we will definitely go back as it was fab and the view from the top field was beautiful. Thank you and very special thanks to Stuart - you really made the trip for us x

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RestedAmy 1 review from this member

Well. What can I say. What an absolutely wonderful campsite!

My boyfriend and I arrived to the site fairly early in the day. After making a couple of calls to the owner, he advised us to carry on and pitch up and he would be over to greet us on his return.

As you do, we had a little wander and checked out the facilities. The toilets and showers were immaculate. We also noticed the little touches like the opportunity to purchase fresh eggs, logs and BBQs if required.

We chose our spot right at the back of the site. We were lucky enough to have the choice of any pitch due to having our stay mid week. The site itself is on two fields and whilst they are close to each other they are extremely private due to the long grass surrounding the areas.

During our two nights stay, we experienced the amazing views, wonderful weather together with polite and approachable staff. On top of this, we also witnessed the aeroplanes passing, one of which gave us a show of loop the loops! Very special.

We did have to drive to the nearest shop for food and drink. This wouldn't be walking distance for any forgotten items.

We would definitely return to this site and may even consider a weekend in the well kept tipis. Can't wait to come back!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Palmyra007 1 review from this member

My three sons and I stopped here overnight whilst having a couple of days back-packing. From the warm welcome by Stuart (the site manager) to leaving the next morning I cannot recommend this site enough. Facilities are basic but very clean and they work all the time (the hot shower was most welcome). The site itself is two fields left to nature with individual pitches mown into the meadow grass and interconnecting pathways. There are even barrows provided to take your kit from your car to the pitch (if needed). The fire-pits are a brilliant idea - and we sat drinking hot cocoa whilst all around us the glow of open fires lit up the incredible landscape. We pitched two tents with loads of room to spare.

If you want a back-to-basics site as nature intended, with caring, friendly staff, and peaceful family-friendly neighbours, then this is the site for you.

The down side? Just make sure you have strong tent-pegs as some of the pitches are a little stoney - but no real dramas.

We will definitely be going back!

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Warwickshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3385 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0947