Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Farm And Pepper Bells

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Bristol > Manor Farm And Pepper Bells Reviews

Manor Farm And Pepper Bells
Upton Cheyney
Bitton
Bristol
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
BS30 6NQ
Tel: 07940 085 418
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Oswestry Ed 17 reviews from this member

 This site is basic, but it ticks all the boxes. Two good clean free showers with plenty of hot water (male & female) clean toilets with wash up facilities.

It's on a working farm situated on a hill with excellent views.

There is also a shop on site, but closed when we were there.

There is a pub 250m down the road that serves good food.

The site was pre booked months in advance but our group were the only people there.

We used it as a base to cycle along old railway line into Bath and Bristol.

Do not use sat nav as it sends you up narrow lanes. The site is at top of Brewery Hill Lane, on left just after the pub.

Will revisit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: OnARainyDay 1 review from this member

 We've just returned home from a 2-night stay at Manor Farm and had a great time. Everything was so laid back and relaxed, including the farmer (David) himself!

It's back-to-basics camping, so if you need hook-up and a kids' playground, this is not for you.

This place is not widely advertised, so there were only 4 couples staying through the weekend.

Facilities were rustic but exactly what was needed: 2 toilets (1 male, 1 female) and 2 electric showers (undesignated, one big enough for a family with a sink as well).

There is also now a washing up facility in the same barn. There is no hook-up and no water tap in the field, so bring your water carrier.

This is a working farm, and there are cows next to the camping field - they were noisy first thing in the morning!

The location is stunning, on top of a hill with beautiful views across the fields, and feels so rural despite being within easy reach of both Bath and Bristol.

As with many campsites, this would depend so much on the others staying at the same time, but we were lucky to have quiet friendly people there along with us.

Dogs are welcome. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Harman 1 review from this member

 Great site, friendly staff,

Toilet and shower facilities with everything you need,

Would recommended.

If you like being with nature this site is perfect. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Moss999 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from spending the weekend here. As my Husband had damaged his back we decided to try Glamping otherwise I would have been unable to erect out tent alone. We arrived on the Farm via the winding roads in the pouring rain.

Our welcome from David the owner was warm and he showed us to the Yurt. He then returned half an hour later to check again we had got everything we needed and did ask throughout our stay. The Yurt was comfortable and cosy inside with a log burner, futons, table and chairs and cushions and rugs.

Also crockery, glasses and cutlery. Outside was a fire pit and a bbq so my Husband was happy playing caveman. On this we cooked the best Lamp Chops we have ever had from the friendly Butchers adjoining the Farm Shop. We also purchased Steak, Sausages and Bacon and they are of excellent quality. We never buy meat from a supermarket always from a butcher. These were exceptional though with the Farm Produce.

The Farm shop/ Cafe stocks a wide range of goods including their produce from their on site Chili Farm. It is all well priced and not a rip off like many campsites. We had some of the homemade cakes that were delicious. Others were having Breakfast there and it looked good.

There are two showers that are spacious and of good quality and clean and two toilets. We stayed at Bank Holiday and did wonder if it may be an issue but it was not. They were always clean.

There is a Yurt, Two Bell Tents and the rest of the field was taken up by 6 other tents. The children were kept amused by the animals including Cows, Calves, Pigs, Horses and the Sheepdog who will play throw the stick all day much to my daughters delight.

This is a relaxed friendly campsite so you feel you have to relax too and we did easily. The views are amazing and you feel real escapism. We camped with our 5 year old daughter and the rest of the campsite was taken by families. It was quiet from 10pm and no loud music being played. I understand it is popular with Hens and this would be a great venue for it.

We also wandered down to the local Upton Inn which is a 2 minute walk. My Husband enjoyed their wide range of Beers with the Carvery we had. Lots of lovely walks around.

We will be returning and checking our dates now when we can return! We may bring our own tent this time. There is no electric and to be honest the only thing we missed with this was charging our phone which meant we could escape even more. As for washing up we had a bucket which we used filling with cold water and a couple of kettles. Reluctant to leave a review as don't want it getting too booked up! Well Done David and Team it is perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennylambchop 4 reviews from this member

 Manor Farm campsite is good, with a few minor drawbacks. We found it quite hard to make a booking initially as it was a little difficult to get through to anyone, obviously they are a busy farm, however it took about 6 calls to finally confirm availability. The camping field is quite small, with bell tents on one side, and tents pitched on the other.

The site is good, with a farm shop/cafe, and a butcher really close, and toilets and shower facilities. Prices are pretty cheap £7. 50 each for adults in a tent, though I understand the bell tents are about £250 for 3 nights. It was good to have the farm shop available for purchases, and we would recommend the lamb and mint burgers.

Bitton steam railway is very close, and a great place to visit. There is some road noise at night, which was strange. Although you're in quite a rural spot you can hear what sounds like motorbikes on a Friday night, possibly boy racers! You can also see the lights of Bristol off in the distance, though I found this quite scenic.

There isn't anywhere to wash your dishes, however the friendly butcher will let you use his sink no problem. In general this is a good campsite, the only issue I found with it is that it does seem to be hired out by predominately large groups.

I personally prefer campsites where there is a mix of different people, as my little boy finds it easy to make friends. Unfortunately here most of the time it was us, and a large group of 5 families who all knew each other.

We felt like we were intruding a little! I noticed another review elsewhere mentioned the same thing, saying that a small young family were sandwiched between a large hen party and another large group of friends. I have heard that this is a hen party favourite, and I'm not sure young families or other campers would feel comfortable with this as it is quite a small intimate campsite.

Anyway, a nice campsite, just not for us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzan111 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed here since we needed an overnight stay close to a function. Site is in a lovely location, very quiet and lovely views. Camping field slightly sloping.

Very clean toilets and shower, you need a torch to et to them at night. On site cafe and butcher which is open on weekends, Some animals, pigs and goats for the children to look at.

Only downside was cost since you pay per person £7. 50 per person over the age of 10, so £22. 50 for the night for the 4 of us. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Honeycrack 1 review from this member

 I had never 'Glamped' before but, now that I have, I will definitely do it again & with Pepper Bells/Manor Farm. Our bell tent was spacious, well furnished and a little slice of camping luxury. Combine that with the fire pits, great views, amazing farm shop (try their organic meats & brilliant hot sauces all produced on the farm), we were very happy campers!

The facilities are basic, clean, modern (proper shower!) and apt. The local pub (The Upton Inn) does a great range of quality food and drink. We were more than happy to eat there on several occasions.

Manor Farm is between Bath & Bristol. This was so good for us as it allowed to enjoy various day trips & shopping excursions but escape the rat race at the end of the day. There is also a number of walks if you like the great outdoors.

Alex & Dave were very friendly, obliging and keen to make sure we were happy at all times. Alex was also keen to show us the chilli aspect of the farm & that was truly amazing! Sooooo many varieties of chillies, all of which go in to the sauces.

All in all, a cracking few days! Thanks guys. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shellylou 1 review from this member

 We just came back from an amazing weekend at the farm. We went to Bristol for the Balloon Festival, which was a complete disaster and let down. However, staying at this site made none of that matter!

We arrived late and were greeted by a very friendly man (David I believe) who showed us to our pitch. The site was lovely and peaceful with great views down the valley and surrounding hills. There is also a large campfire they light and you can sit around it. They had a very well equipped shop on site, you must try their homemade chilli sauce (the fruity one) it is brilliant. We also had some burgers from their butchers, which as you can guess were great.

The toilet block was small but modern and always clean and the shower was a proper shower! There is no set area to wash up, however if you ask them nicely they let you use their kitchen.

On our final morning we had breakfast in the barn cafe on site and it was gorgeous. Once again great service and friendly staff. We will definitely be recommending this to our friends and famiy and shall return! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Howard1 1 review from this member

 We had a brilliant stay here, so glad we found Manor Farm when just looking for a stop over on the way out of Cornwall. Suffice to say we could've spent longer there!

This is a working farm with farm shop on site. The hospitality was genuine and extremely friendly, plus David (farmer) even cooked us the most awesome breakfast himself using the farms own bacon and sausages, top that?!

Not to mention when we arrived with one throw away BBQ left we were impressed to find the on-site butcher with amazing burgers, sausages, steaks, everything from their own livestock PLUS freshly baked baps - yeeha!

The facilities were fine, good showers and toilets (no regular hook-ups).

Oh and there is a pub almost next door. A great escape and well located for both Bristol and Bath.

The barn on-site (some buildings dating back to 17th Century with beautiful old Dovecote) occasionally holds plays from the local amateur dramatics society plus they hold an annual chilli festival too which sounds fantastic!

Thanks David and the team for your great hospitality, hope to be back soon. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Manor Farm And Pepper Bells child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Farm And Pepper Bells?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Manor Farm And Pepper Bells dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bristol      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2993 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder