Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitemead Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wareham > Whitemead Caravan Park Reviews

Whitemead Caravan Park
East Burton Road
Wool
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 6HG
Tel: 01929 462241
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: 12/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Tonyburn 4 reviews from this member

 We were met by a friendly man who welcomed us and showed us to our pitch.

Itís a nice clean site, but with the restrictions we used our own facilities, so canít comment on the site facilities.

We were in Dorset to visit our grandchildren who we hadnít seen for over a year, who lived nearby, so wanted to extend our visit to leave in the afternoon of the Sunday. We were told we could leave the van there for the day, but they would charge us another £9. 50. The site was not even half full, and when we left there was no other comings or goings, so we werenít taking up space that was needed. The usual site we use (which wasnít open on this occasion) never charges us the extra when we stay late.

Our time on the site was limited as we spent the days with the grandchildren and only returned to the van to sleep, so really we didnít fully explore the site or surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davidj 1 review from this member

 So what to say, Whitemead caravan park is a well run tidy and very clean site.

Location. Perfect for Monkey world, Tank museum, Wareham, Lulworth cove, Durdle Door.

Our pitch overlooked a lovely nature area on the River Frome, lots of wildlife to watch.

Due to Covid 19 there was minimal contact with the proprietors, I am sure had it been another time we would have had more communication face to face. Great stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juliepowell 1 review from this member

 A nice site spread over 3 separate fields with friendly welcome. Small shop (quite expensive) but only open an hour early morning and an hour evening (at this time of year)

The pitches we were on were small in width even with the car in front of caravan, only a small gap to next caravan and they had people walking close to their awning on a path, think it would have been better as one pitch.

Lots of trees which gave us a shady spot despite asking for a sunny position which other pitches had. Good playground for children. Walkable to 2 local pubs both good and the train next to the site if you wanted it.

Sound of army tanks up & down the road in the evenings bit annoying if you sat outside. Nice walk for dogs up the central path to a river with fields either side.

We had the special deal for over 60's which was very good 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Retired of IOW 14 reviews from this member

 As soon as we drove into the site we knew we would like it. The pitch we were on looked out over a field with a river running through it. It was so peaceful, sitting watching and listening to the birds. The site is well maintained, the shower block is immaculate and the showers are good. The cubicles have lots of hooks and a bench to sit on.

The laundry/washing up room is in a spacious room, plenty of sinks. Washer and drier for clothes. The site is well placed for transport links. The railway station is a 5 minute walk, with trains to Weymouth, Dorchester and Poole.

There are two pubs in the village serving excellent food and real ales, both within easy walking distance, one of them literally the other side of the railway line to the campsite. There are grocery two shops also within easy walking distance.

We only had 9 nights due to commitments at home, we would have stayed longer if we could have, but will definitely be back. The managers and staff are friendly and helpful and work hard to keep this site the way it is. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jessicaw80 2 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this campsite many times over the years. They run the campsite very well and the toilet facilities are always very clean. There are some nice walks from the site and it is also well located to local shops, takeaway etc. It is also well located to monkey world, tank museum and a short drive to the coast. Overall its a very professionally run site and we've never had any issues. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shrek999 4 reviews from this member

 Absolutely love this site, we have been quite a few times over the last couple of years. Location is brilliant for Poole to Weymouth and all in between. The site is always spotless and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Great walks for the furry one and two pubs within walking distance. We like it so much we are going for a season pitch next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GillAndTerry 1 review from this member

 Just returned home from two fantastic weeks staying at this beautiful site.

Everything was absolutely perfect. The Owners and Staff were so friendly

And helpful ~ nothing too much trouble. The amenities are always kept

Absolutely spotless and the site is very neat and tidy. Great base for Swanage,

Weymouth, Poole etc. Love that itís in a village location with all itís little shops.

Will definitely be visiting again! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The swifties 12 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site in a handy location for exploring this part of Dorset. Monkey World and Bovington tank museum only a short drive away. Plenty of other things to do in the local area. Site very clean and tidy, plenty of bins, recycling centre as well. Fabulous toilets and showers, plenty of hot water and music too. Owners extremely helpful when we had noisy neighbours and sorted it out straight away and very tactfully. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MagsF 7 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely nine days at this campsite. The facilities were great always clean and well looked after. Never had to queue for either showers or loos. It was good to have an indoor washing up area.

The camp shop has very limited opening hours but it wasn't an issue as there are a couple of convenience stores 5 minutes away. We were on the furthest field and it was peaceful other than ocassional train noise. The train whistle can take you by surprise at first but we soon got used to it and stopped noticing it. I cannot comment on facilities for children as these weren't relevant for us.

The general waste bins in the centre of each field were good as was the recycling near the amenity block. All kept very clean.

The site is well located for exploring this part of the south coast.

The staff were friendly and helpful and seem to be making a real effort to build on the improvements they have already made in their first year of running the site. All ready good, I can only see it getting even better. Will definitely be returning to this camp site when we venture south again. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bessiecamper 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with toilets and showers to die for! The cleanliness of the site shows how much hard work is put into its upkeep. A very warm welcome and parting from the owners, with no problem with booking and paying over the 'phone using our ACSI card. We had an excellent hard stand with mains electric, fresh water and ample rubbish and recycling points, along with a waste water disposal point and toilet drop.

No need to drive around as the railway station is nearby, a good bakers, Spar shop, convenience store and a local butcher near a well-stocked hardware store, just over the railway bridge outside of the site. The Tank Museum and Monkey World only 5 minutes away, and Lulworth Cove 5 miles from site.

Definitely will use again. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitemead Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Whitemead Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3939 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement