Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mount Douglas Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Mount Douglas Farm
Laity Lane
Lelant
Mount Douglas Farm, Lelant
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR26 3HE
Tel: 07803154717
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: July And August

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 22 Reviews
                10/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HappyAdam 1 review from this member

A wonderfully relaxed site, fantastic facilities and situated perfectly for walks into either St Ives or Hayle along the South West Coast Path.

The owner, Phil is a great character. Always happy to help out with advice or practical assistance.

The breakfast van was an added bonus, bacon and egg baps were just what the doctor ordered after a couple of glasses of wine the night before!

I couldn't recommend this site enough.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: VickiSmith1 1 review from this member

Wonderful stay here at Mount Douglas Farm! Phil was brilliant, very laid back and a great host. Showers and all facilities are clean and regularly stocked. We stayed an extra night at last minute. Loved it. Thank you!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chappersanddarv 1 review from this member

This is by far one of the best campsites my family have stayed at. My kids begged me to book up again for this year as they love the site, location and the friendly atmosphere as they make friends and play until dark in a safe environment.

As a few other reviews state, yes it is quite basic but it has all you need and require. The owner Phil is a truly lovely man, he is so Cornish its unreal, laid back, accommodating, very welcoming and will always try to help you where possible.

Lots of extra addons that are great, plenty of free to use communal fridges to store your food and most importantly. Alcohol in. There is a freezer that you can use free of charge to re freeze your ice blocks. There is an area that people leave food and other beach/camping items that either they no longer need or can't fit in their vehicles and these are available for others to take and either keep or use. They have a tumble dryer on site (50p per use), a washing machine (3. 00 per use) and amble washing up area.

The site is clean and tidy and is situated at the top of the hill at Carbis Bay and you get a great view of Hayle.

The site allows you to have campfires, bags of wood are available from Phils assistant who is based in the caravan (Sandy, 3. 50 each), who is a very lovely chap and extremely helpful.

Great walk along the coast from Carbis bay to St Ives, took about 25 mins and then we took a train back which is very reasonable in price.

Overall, we love this campsite and I can't recommend enough. Thanks Phil for a great time for the 2nd year running, see you next year.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bangui 1 review from this member

This campsite is clean (ie the toilet and shower and washing area) and peaceful.

Phil the owner was very friendly and accommodating.

Looking forward to coming back here this year as my kids enjoyed this place.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mjhill 1 review from this member

1 weeks Holiday in St Ives before moving onto the Gower. Fabulous site, basic but has everything you need and more. Nice little touches make a difference eg fires allowed, they also sell wood etc, Fridge / Freezer which is so handy, toilets always cleaned, little burger van, although we didn't use it, short walk to an excellent restaurant, 15mins walk to the beach, which we thought was the best beach, short walk to a pub, to Costcutter, and a short drive to Tesco or Lidl supermarkets.

All these things make it so much easier and enjoyable, we had a great time at the site, weather was pretty good, but did get windy on the top there where the site was.

Owner/Farmer was great, always about checking all ok, helpful with anything, and a bit of a character which we like.

All in all, great time, great site, would return, and would highly recommend. Great experience had by myself, wife, daughter, and 2 dogs, thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barbara81160 1 review from this member

This site is within walking distance of the station at Carbis Bay and it is easy to walk all the way into St Ives. The owner offered to pick us up from St Erth station. We didn't ask - he offered and delivered us and our luggage right to our pitch. Lovely hot showers which I didn't have to queue for, free hair dryer, loads of hot water at the washing up sinks and huge fridges for us to use. In the morning there was a food caravan doing hot drinks and baps. In the evening there were chips and burgers. Fire pits for hire and wood for sale. Very relaxed atmosphere. Costcutter shop less than 10 mins walk.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leesa Halliwell 1 review from this member

Amazing site. Close to Carbis Bay, St Ives and Hayle. Extremely helpful and friendly owner (Phil). Big fridges and a freezer for everyone to use. Washer, dryer, gas hob, toaster, plenty of washing up sinks. Showers and hot water always available. Toilet blocks basic but great and cleaned daily. Plug sockets for charging phones or using shavers, straighteners etc. On site snack bar open at certain times daily. Rent a firepit. Buy firewood. It's by far the best site we have ever been to. You definitely get the true friendly relaxing campsite feel. We will return for sure.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireBlount 1 review from this member

This is one of the best campsites I have visited in a long time. It feels like 'proper' basic camping - yet nothing we could have required was missing. The toilet, shower, washing up blocks were all clean and well maintained. The big communal fridges are a brilliant idea ! Run in a beautifully generous, relaxed but efficient way, the owner ( Phil) was around every morning and afternoon and friendly and helpful - yet without being intrusive. In fact we tried to pay him several times throughout the week and only managed to pay him on the final day!

The site is in easy walking distance of a good local shop, beach and railway station - while maintaining a feeling of being away from it all in a field.

I would definitely recommend this site - and will be coming back!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Enuj 2 reviews from this member

Great site. Travelled down with family from Gloucester and Suffolk without booking anywhere and found this site after the one we had originally looked at was mostly under water from our lovely British weather. The owner came straight over and took us to our pitches, 3 tents for 7 nights. Great facilities, fridges, freezer, washing machine, microwave and hob even a toaster. Hot showers with plenty of water. Toilets had plenty of loo roll a hair dryer and plug sockets. Everywhere was very clean. Very nice owner and helpful. We had an open fire every night. Quiet family site. Easy access to local amenities by car, bus or train or just walking or cycling. Would recommend this site to anyone and look forward to returning. Good value for money, flat ground, electric hook up and farm chickens, loved it all, perfect.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MkMary 1 review from this member

Just returned from our second visit to this site. If you like a nice quiet smallish site, but one that has all the facilities necessary for a brilliant camping experience, this is for you. Phil - the owner - has created a very laid back atmosphere, great for young and old. He has loads of local knowledge too, recommending places to visit. There was bags of hot water for pot washing or showering, big fridges and a freezer for campers to use, a washing machine and tumble dryer. Don't expect all the frills of a 'club' site, but do expect a friendly welcome, camp fires at night and camping as it used to be. The beach is within walking distance of the site, about 15 mins, bus stop to st Ives 5 mins walk away and the train station 10 mins walk. There is a great fish and chip restaurant 10 mins walk away too. Already talking about going back again next year.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3971 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019