Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Steading Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Haddington > The Steading Caravan Park Reviews

The Steading Caravan Park
West Garleton
Haddington
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH41 3SJ
Tel: 01620 825160
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lesley and dave 1 review from this member

We have visited this site the last three year in fact we were the first on when they opened

Eddie and Ann and family are the nicest people we have come across on a camp site

Shower and toilets immaculate

Site neat and tidy

And lovely dogs ( that love sausages )

Nothing is to much bother for them extremely helpful

They also have a lovely young daughter who give us fantastic directions when we left this morning
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Revid 8 reviews from this member

Found the site full of what seems to be longstanding vans after booking a week before, was told that the booking book was lost. Did stay overnight by parking behind unoccupied caravan, In turning around my wife was bitten by one of the jack russels trying to move it out of the way of my wheel. The owners did come around to apologise, we shall not return.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angelaz 10 reviews from this member

Been here several times and always find a welcome. The owners are friendly and helpful. Facilities are clean and tidy. Good open views, can see 'The new bridge' from here! Good skyscapes too.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JC789 2 reviews from this member

Lovely little campsite. Eddie and his family were very welcoming and helpful. We were the only tent there on the night that we stayed and had our choice of where to pitch in the field. Due to recent rain, sections of the field were quite wet but at the top end it was OK. There are some hook ups though we didn't use one.

The bathroom block contains just one bathroom each for women and men with each room containing a toilet, sink and shower. They were spotlessly clean, toasty and warm and the water was hot. Outside there's a washing up sink, again with good hot water.

They've just built a new exterior wall and had not yet put up a sign identifying the site so we went past it at first - it's directly opposite the East Lothian Produce facility. A fairly busy main road runs right past the site. We walked to the nearby Hopetoun Memorial (10-15 mins) for views over the local area. Haddington is around 1. 5 miles away.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angelaz 10 reviews from this member

Very friendly people and couldn't help me enough. I had a quadbike which had a nail in the tyre, I followed Eddie to the Redpath tyres garage where they repaired it free of charge as I was doing a charity ride (LEJOG). Eddie also reduced my camping fees. Would be a good place to stay and explore the area. Not far from the coast and a nice open view.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WetWindyHappy 2 reviews from this member

A very pleasant site.

Although a wee bit small, this does not detract from the fact it made an excellent base (the size made us feel more secure).

The owner was very nice and helpful, and his two small dogs were a joy to play with.

The services were spotless and I couldn't fault them myself for a caravan site (we have used some complete disasters over the years).

We will be returning.

There is a country road next to the site as others have mentioned, this could be a blessing or a curse, for us it was a blessing as it made towing the caravan easier to the site and the odd car/bike noise didn't upset us.

If you need a value for money site to enjoy the Edinburgh Fringe then you won't be disappointed.

No Club or shop, but that's why we booked.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kate20 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite during the summer holidays and we would definitely recommend to other people. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the toilets and site were always clean. We decided to go into Edinburgh one day on the train which was really easy to find and park nearby. Haddington is just down the road and the views from the campsite were beautiful. We will be rebooking this campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jodeyagg 1 review from this member

What a superb location and stunning sea and hill views of the area

The site was clean and tidy with brilliant night lighting and easy access into the site the hosts welcomed us and our family we had a choice where to set up and the children played on the trampoline it was 4 minuets drive into Haddington village which had every thing you need.

The site is small but has hot showers an area to wash up and waste facility. The owners had excellent knowledge of the area and things to do how to get there etc my husband and 3 children had a great 5 days and the highlight was your little Jack Russell Jack thank you for your hospitality we will definitely be back here next time 🌅 fantastic visit to East Lothian Scotland x

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Revid 8 reviews from this member

A small site we were the only visitor there spent 2 nights, very pleasant surroundings with a good welcome from the owners. Very hot showers & toilet block, we are 7. 4m so space would be very tight if any more motor homes had been there. Great views over the Forth and a good climb to the tower. Good for cycling but the site is on a hill above Haddington.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vivien Saunders 4 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site with my two small dogs. The owners are very friendly, site is brilliant, toilets and showers first class, nice grass site plus a good, large hard-standing area. My dogs were able to go in the field next door. The electrics are brilliant with nice welcoming light. The site is very easy to find and only a couple of miles off the A1. Absolutely first class.

I stayed there to play golf at Gullane and very good from there. Easy access to Edinburgh on the A1 and then the City bypass. For anyone travelling up the A1 and then north into Scotland this is a brilliant stop.

Fantastic.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3246 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019