Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Heritage Coast Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Monknash > Heritage Coast Campsite Reviews

Heritage Coast Campsite
Y Felin Fach
Monknash
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF71 7QQ
Tel: 01656 890399
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 21/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           20/03/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 62 Reviews
                9/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louise 1 review from this member

 Beautiful campsite, staff extremely helpful and welcoming, facilities spotless, loved loved loved the location,

Firepits were a big hit, dog friendly, really enjoyed sitting outside the bar/ cafe area in the evening with a glass of Prosecco 🥂,

Gorgeous weather, fabulous pub 2 minute walk away and only a 15-20 minute walk to the beach,

We will definitely return very soon,

We did book last minute so only had the option of booking with no electric hook up but this was not an issue for us as we are quite self reliant,

Plenty of toilet facilities as the field we were in had a further 3 x porta toilets,

We will return very soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kwoolly 1 review from this member

 Absolutely superb site, the staff were amazing, sòooo friendly, pitch was bit small for our studland but was ok,

Toilet showers good, would have liked a mop in there to clean up after shower, and no Elsa point but owners explained why

Thanks again

Kath and paul 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Caroline Wynne 2 reviews from this member

 Exactly what we wanted, great facilities and simple camping.

Busy pub as expected but picnic benches made eating easy for self catering.

Great position to walk to beaches 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Clouvinaxes 3 reviews from this member

 Great campsite, very friendly and helpful staffs and owners. Very clean toilets and showers, bare in mind it's a coins system showers, 50p around 5 min.

Excellent system put in place regarding social distance during this covid business.

Fantastic walk to Monknash beach from camp take around 15min across a field, a little woodland and then the dune to the beach where social distance isn't an issue at all.

Hire a fire pit for BBQ and marshmallow and you'll have a memorable holidays.

Definitely recommend and go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: WestieTwm 7 reviews from this member

 Another visit to Heritage Coast Campsite and yet again we were very impressed. We were welcomed as we arrived and shown to our pitch having had all the facilities shown to us.

There is plenty of room on the pitches ensuring that there is never a problem of crossed guy ropes or neighbours infringing on your space. The facilities are very clean and the showers were hot (50p required).

On site there is a bar/restaurant serving a good selection of beer and food (have the chicken curry if available, I really enjoyed it!).

Our visit is in the wake of the Covid 19 lockdown and we, my wife particularly, had concerns about measures taken to prevent the spread of the virus. We needn't have had any concerns. All staff wore masks and all surfaces were regularly wiped down with anti-bacterial spray. There is a one-way system around the outside of the bar (no public entry to the bar) and there are many anti-bac stations that are kept topped up. There is much more chance of catching the virus in a supermarket than there is on the Heritage Coast Campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Coogee 5 reviews from this member

 This site was adequate. The beach nearby is lovely for exploring rock pools and within easy walking distance. There are plenty of sandy beaches in the area too. It is situated in a nice quiet spot yet within easy reach of larger towns and Cardiff. If you do not wish to take your car/transport into the city, the trains from Bridgend run very frequently, even on a Sunday, and has a good car park.

For further trips we would definitely recommend the 4 waterfall trail and the superb Big Pit. The countryside and beaches are all lovely.

We did not use the restaurant or bar so cannot comment on them personally but other campers enjoyed them.

We didn't feel this campsite was very spacious as advertised. The "large" pitches were not what we class as "large". With a 6 man tent and car there was no room for our gazebo (which I had paid for when booking).

With the campfire positioned you were right next to your neighbours, which felt intrusive and made us feel compelled to constantly quieten our children. The field was better, where there were no designated pitches, but this seemed to be for groups.

There was room to play on that field but as it was not within sight of the tent and we felt it would encroach on the people camping there, we felt we could not use it to play. So, we would suggest when booking asking for the field if you would like some more space.

The campfire was waiting for us when we got there and was a nice thing to have, however, we had good weather so I'm not sure how good it would be in the rain.

The toilet and shower facilities were not really adequate. There were 2 women's and 2 men's toilets. This meant at times there was quite a queue in the morning for the loos and basins. Using the 2 showers was the same, especially when families needed to use them together.

The 50p/5 minutes would have been OK had it not taken 3 mins to get the temperature off freezing or too hot. The shower curtains did not contain the water well and so the floor was constantly awash (despite the efforts of all the ladies swabbing it after use) and also meant clothes could get wet, especially longer length clothes like trousers (we were wiser after the first shower).

So, yes, the site was OK, thanks mainly to the lovely other campers and friendly dogs and location, and is functional. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Griff753 1 review from this member

 Just Perfect: very friendly staff, lovely site with plenty of space,

Quiet and well run but not officious,

Small restaurant and bar with everything you need,

Short walk to the beach with spectacular scenery and lovely local walks.

We'll be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gengland 1 review from this member

 I cannot praise this campsite enough, the staff were lovely and welcoming and it didn't seem like anything was too much trouble for them. We arrived late but we had our pitch waiting for us.

We'd hired a campfire which was brought over to us. The campsite was really friendly, lots of families and happy dogs. The beach was amazing and not too far away.

All in all I highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Evabels 1 review from this member

 We booked this fairly last minute as we wanted somewhere near a beach and not too far from home. The beach is beautiful and remote (not great for really little kids unless carried). Low tide there is lots of sand, rock pools and climbing. It was a gorgeous walk down through the fields and forest with streams to play in. The kids didn't miss or need a play area as the meadow was perfect for a ball or gymnastics show ;)

We had such a great time here and it was much smaller than anticipated which was perfect. Safe for the kids (if avoiding the conversation area). The fire pits were huge but the logs cut quite small in size so they burned a bit quicker compared to other sites we've hired them at.

The 'proper' coffee was just great as was the little communal area by the café/reception. Great being open all day too.

Upon booking we didn't read anywhere that you had to pay for a shower (50p for 5 mins) so that was a little surprise (quite possibly missed by us). Camping for 2 is quite reasonable but as every little bit you add adds up it can work out quite pricey a night to have to pay for showers! If we could say anything it would be longer shower curtains please :)

The staff/owners were lovely and we will be back and would definitely recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newportjones 9 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site and we will definitely be returning. A clean site in a fantastic location, approx 20 mins from the coast. Very friendly and attentive owners.

A great cafe on site.

Child friendly, lovely views.

The only downside was the number of showers which meant we needed to wait to use them. However they were clean and the water hot.

Definitely recommend this site. 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Heritage Coast Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heritage Coast Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heritage Coast Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monknash      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2983 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder