Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Heritage Coast Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Monknash > Heritage Coast Campsite Reviews

Heritage Coast Campsite
Y Felin Fach
Monknash
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF71 7QQ
Tel: 01656 890399
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 20th March To 30th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gengland 1 review from this member

I cannot praise this campsite enough, the staff were lovely and welcoming and it didn't seem like anything was too much trouble for them. We arrived late but we had our pitch waiting for se. We'd hired a campfire which was brought over to us. The campsite was really friendly, lots of families and happy dogs. The beach was amazing and not too far away. All in all I highly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Evabels 1 review from this member

We booked this fairly last minute as we wanted somewhere near a beach and not too far from home. The beach is beautiful and remote (not great for really little kids unless carried). Low tide there is lots of sand, rock pools and climbing. It was a gorgeous walk down through the fields and forest with streams to play in. The kids didn't miss or need a play area as the meadow was perfect for a ball or gymnastics show ;)

We had such a great time here and it was much smaller than anticipated which was perfect. Safe for the kids (if avoiding the conversation area). The fire pits were huge but the logs cut quite small in size so they burned a bit quicker compared to other sites we've hired them at.

The 'proper' coffee was just great as was the little communal area by the café/reception. Great being open all day too.

Upon booking we didn't read anywhere that you had to pay for a shower (50p for 5 mins) so that was a little surprise (quite possibly missed by us). Camping for 2 is quite reasonable but as every little bit you add adds up it can work out quite pricey a night to have to pay for showers! If we could say anything it would be longer shower curtains please :)

The staff/owners were lovely and we will be back and would definitely recommend the site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Newportjones 9 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site and we will definitely be returning. A clean site in a fantastic location, approx 20 mins from the coast. Very friendly and attentive owners.

A great cafe on site.

Child friendly, lovely views.

The only downside was the number of showers which meant we needed to wait to use them. However they were clean and the water hot.

Definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chivdog 2 reviews from this member

We booked an electric hook-up for the first May bank holiday weekend, but promptly forgot to bring our cables. The site owner kindly lent us his own for the weekend. The pitches in the front paddock are reasonably large, all are on a slight slope and fairly exposed to the elements. The shower and toilet blocks weren't heated and were freezing cold - thankfully the water was hot. We hired a fire pit and bought a few packs of wood for a reasonable price. The cafe/bar was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly. There is a decent pub a couple of minutes walk from the entrance to the site. The walk to the beach through the forest was magical and the kids loved it. It was a nice site, although exposed to the elements.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WestieTwm 6 reviews from this member

What a lovely campsite! This was our first and definitely not last visit here.

We were warmly greeted upon our arrival and was given a tour of all the facilities before being taken to our pitch. The pitch was spacious leaving plenty of room between ourselves and our neighbours. The facilities were clean and modern and the shower cost 50p for at least 5 minutes.

Once pitched we had a lovely walk down across the fields and through a wood (nature reserve) to the sea and very interesting coast line with it's sandstone cliffs and fossil filled rock underfoot.

For tea we visited the local pub which had an excellent selection of ales and ciders. Both meals were good value and plentiful. An alternative to the pub would be to eat at the site and if our breakfast was anything to go by then this would be worthwhile (maybe next time).

We will definitely return here as it is a gem of a site.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: She25 7 reviews from this member

A quick, one night visit to this lovely site. The owners Philippa and Glynn are very friendly as the other reviews state. We arrived on the first day they opened for the season, and there were just a couple of other groups. Our van coped fine with the mud in the field (we were on the drier side I think!) and were able to park up with a distant view of the sea over the fields. The walk down to the sea is lovely, over couple of fields and down through some woods complete with a lovely waterfall. It's probably a half hour wander. We had a brilliant breakfast at the cafe in the morning, cooked fresh and with lovely thick bacon. Coffee was excellent too, and I really like the decor in the cafe - country cottage feel rather than greasy spoon, with fresh flowers on the tables.

The pub up the road has a roaring inglenook fire, was mostly full of the other campers and some locals. The lounge area was very welcoming, the restaurant a bit quieter but complete with log burner and it was Thursday so perhaps busier on the weekends. Enormous portions of good pub grub, I had local sausages and they were great. Also good ale on tap.

We'll be back!

To note - although we didn't need EHU Glynn did ask if we wanted it - they must have upgraded since the reviews that said it wasn't available.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gaynoryoung 2 reviews from this member

Have just come back from our 3rd visit this year and it was just as great as the first. We can't complain about a thing. Lovely friendly owners and staff who can't do enough for you. The facilities are spotless and wonderful cooked breakfasts and fresh coffee in the cafe. Our favourite pub is just a few hundred yards up the road where you always have a lovely welcome and a good home cooked meal if you desire. Can't wait for our next visit.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Readingman 2 reviews from this member

In short, a great campsite. There for 6 nights, family of 5, in the mixed weather that a blustery August offered.

From the moment you walk in, it is clear the site is well managed and the campers respond to the way it is managed. Two very clear examples: (i) by 10. 30 p. M. The site is very quiet indeed and (ii) the site is spotless which is only noticeable because there were plenty of dogs around but absolutely no mess.

There are two showers each for the men and women, and two toilets each for men and women. The showers are 50p for 5 minutes: whilst not all sites charge, there is a benefit to doing so in that people don't 'hog' the showers. On balance, I think the nominal charge is a good idea. There is always the 'will there be enough toilets' nerves but none of the five of us ever had a problem.

An example of how the owners deal with issues: when we arrived, one of the women's showers was not working, so they opened up a wet room so that there was another facility available. It genuinely feels like the owners want to make sure you are comfortable.

We have an unnaturally large shaped tent but even that did not faze the owners: they were more concerned that we were comfortable. We had originally been booked on one pitch but the owner suggested another pitch for us which suited us beautifully.

On the last but one day asked to extend our visit by a night (which was a Saturday night): they did not have the room to accommodate us but their response: 'we'll make it work'. And they did.

The shop is more of a cafe and none the worse for it. A great place for a cup of coffee (and a chance to read the local paper). Wifi is available at no extra charge.

There was no specific children's play area but there did not need to be: the site was safe and there were large areas for the children to play.

There is no electric hook-up on purpose: the owners do not want people plugged into the telly all day. There is a facility for phone charging (although phone signal throughout the local area is poor - a benefit in my opinion).

There is a beautiful and very private beach about 20 minutes walk away - the walk itself is spectacular.

We were recommended activities, places to visit and places to eat. All of them were top recommendations. If you visit, there is a restaurant in Southerndown called Frolics (not a name that reflects the place) - Italian, owned by Franco, a Sicilian, whose food is just first class. Really, worth a visit.

Southerndown also has a great beach at Dunraven - a wonderful beach - and about 5/10 minutes drive from the site.

A great place to stay: a return visit is certain.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magmar 22 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite with excellent facilities. Really warm welcome. Plenty of information about the local area. Very nice café on site. BBQs & Fire Pits available for hire at reasonable rates as well as charcoal and firewood on sale. Café/shop has some basics inc Wine & Beers. Ice creams also available. Very nice 25 minute walk to the beach which whilst quite rocky is sandy when the tide goes out. Lower field for the kids to kick a ball around and a decent dog walk if you take part of the footpath down to the beach. Pub just up the road serving good food and another a short distance away serving fish & chips. Good Co-op supermarket in Llantwit Major plus a very good butchers. We will return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cal18 1 review from this member

The site was busy as it was the summer holidays and I felt that it was over crowded with lots of cars traveling between the rows of tents and little ones having to be rescued and games stopped. Booking in felt rushed and there was some confusion over pricing, I paid 100 pounds for a tent and a trailer tent for two nights 3 adults and 2children which thought was expensive.

The area is beautiful and the walk to the beach enchanting.

A bit more space and less rushed welcome would have made all the difference.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2949 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019