Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Heritage Coast Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Monknash > Heritage Coast Campsite Reviews

Heritage Coast Campsite
Y Felin Fach
Monknash
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF71 7QQ
Tel: 01656 890399
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 20th March To 30th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Coogee 4 reviews from this member

 This site was adequate. The beach nearby is lovely for exploring rock pools and within easy walking distance. There are plenty of sandy beaches in the area too. It is situated in a nice quiet spot yet within easy reach of larger towns and Cardiff. If you do not wish to take your car/transport into the city, the trains from Bridgend run very frequently, even on a Sunday, and has a good car park.

For further trips we would definitely recommend the 4 waterfall trail and the superb Big Pit. The countryside and beaches are all lovely.

We did not use the restaurant or bar so cannot comment on them personally but other campers enjoyed them.

We didn't feel this campsite was very spacious as advertised. The "large" pitches were not what we class as "large". With a 6 man tent and car there was no room for our gazebo (which I had paid for when booking).

With the campfire positioned you were right next to your neighbours, which felt intrusive and made us feel compelled to constantly quieten our children. The field was better, where there were no designated pitches, but this seemed to be for groups.

There was room to play on that field but as it was not within sight of the tent and we felt it would encroach on the people camping there, we felt we could not use it to play. So, we would suggest when booking asking for the field if you would like some more space.

The campfire was waiting for us when we got there and was a nice thing to have, however, we had good weather so I'm not sure how good it would be in the rain.

The toilet and shower facilities were not really adequate. There were 2 women's and 2 men's toilets. This meant at times there was quite a queue in the morning for the loos and basins. Using the 2 showers was the same, especially when families needed to use them together.

The 50p/5 minutes would have been OK had it not taken 3 mins to get the temperature off freezing or too hot. The shower curtains did not contain the water well and so the floor was constantly awash (despite the efforts of all the ladies swabbing it after use) and also meant clothes could get wet, especially longer length clothes like trousers (we were wiser after the first shower).

So, yes, the site was OK, thanks mainly to the lovely other campers and friendly dogs and location, and is functional. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Griff753 1 review from this member

 Just Perfect: very friendly staff, lovely site with plenty of space,

Quiet and well run but not officious,

Small restaurant and bar with everything you need,

Short walk to the beach with spectacular scenery and lovely local walks.

We'll be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gengland 1 review from this member

 I cannot praise this campsite enough, the staff were lovely and welcoming and it didn't seem like anything was too much trouble for them. We arrived late but we had our pitch waiting for us.

We'd hired a campfire which was brought over to us. The campsite was really friendly, lots of families and happy dogs. The beach was amazing and not too far away.

All in all I highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Evabels 1 review from this member

 We booked this fairly last minute as we wanted somewhere near a beach and not too far from home. The beach is beautiful and remote (not great for really little kids unless carried). Low tide there is lots of sand, rock pools and climbing. It was a gorgeous walk down through the fields and forest with streams to play in. The kids didn't miss or need a play area as the meadow was perfect for a ball or gymnastics show ;)

We had such a great time here and it was much smaller than anticipated which was perfect. Safe for the kids (if avoiding the conversation area). The fire pits were huge but the logs cut quite small in size so they burned a bit quicker compared to other sites we've hired them at.

The 'proper' coffee was just great as was the little communal area by the café/reception. Great being open all day too.

Upon booking we didn't read anywhere that you had to pay for a shower (50p for 5 mins) so that was a little surprise (quite possibly missed by us). Camping for 2 is quite reasonable but as every little bit you add adds up it can work out quite pricey a night to have to pay for showers! If we could say anything it would be longer shower curtains please :)

The staff/owners were lovely and we will be back and would definitely recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newportjones 9 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site and we will definitely be returning. A clean site in a fantastic location, approx 20 mins from the coast. Very friendly and attentive owners.

A great cafe on site.

Child friendly, lovely views.

The only downside was the number of showers which meant we needed to wait to use them. However they were clean and the water hot.

Definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chivdog 2 reviews from this member

 We booked an electric hook-up for the first May bank holiday weekend, but promptly forgot to bring our cables. The site owner kindly lent us his own for the weekend.

The pitches in the front paddock are reasonably large, all are on a slight slope and fairly exposed to the elements. The shower and toilet blocks weren't heated and were freezing cold - thankfully the water was hot.

We hired a fire pit and bought a few packs of wood for a reasonable price. The cafe/bar was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly.

There is a decent pub a couple of minutes walk from the entrance to the site. The walk to the beach through the forest was magical and the kids loved it.

It was a nice site, although exposed to the elements. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WestieTwm 6 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite! This was our first and definitely not last visit here.

We were warmly greeted upon our arrival and was given a tour of all the facilities before being taken to our pitch. The pitch was spacious leaving plenty of room between ourselves and our neighbours. The facilities were clean and modern and the shower cost 50p for at least 5 minutes.

Once pitched we had a lovely walk down across the fields and through a wood (nature reserve) to the sea and very interesting coast line with it's sandstone cliffs and fossil filled rock underfoot.

For tea we visited the local pub which had an excellent selection of ales and ciders. Both meals were good value and plentiful. An alternative to the pub would be to eat at the site and if our breakfast was anything to go by then this would be worthwhile (maybe next time).

We will definitely return here as it is a gem of a site. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: She25 7 reviews from this member

 A quick, one night visit to this lovely site. The owners Philippa and Glynn are very friendly as the other reviews state. We arrived on the first day they opened for the season, and there were just a couple of other groups. Our van coped fine with the mud in the field (we were on the drier side I think!) and were able to park up with a distant view of the sea over the fields. The walk down to the sea is lovely, over couple of fields and down through some woods complete with a lovely waterfall. It's probably a half hour wander. We had a brilliant breakfast at the cafe in the morning, cooked fresh and with lovely thick bacon. Coffee was excellent too, and I really like the decor in the cafe - country cottage feel rather than greasy spoon, with fresh flowers on the tables.

The pub up the road has a roaring inglenook fire, was mostly full of the other campers and some locals. The lounge area was very welcoming, the restaurant a bit quieter but complete with log burner and it was Thursday so perhaps busier on the weekends. Enormous portions of good pub grub, I had local sausages and they were great. Also good ale on tap.

We'll be back!

To note - although we didn't need EHU Glynn did ask if we wanted it - they must have upgraded since the reviews that said it wasn't available. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gaynoryoung 2 reviews from this member

 Have just come back from our 3rd visit this year and it was just as great as the first. We can't complain about a thing. Lovely friendly owners and staff who can't do enough for you. The facilities are spotless and wonderful cooked breakfasts and fresh coffee in the cafe. Our favourite pub is just a few hundred yards up the road where you always have a lovely welcome and a good home cooked meal if you desire. Can't wait for our next visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Readingman 2 reviews from this member

 In short, a great campsite. There for 6 nights, family of 5, in the mixed weather that a blustery August offered.

From the moment you walk in, it is clear the site is well managed and the campers respond to the way it is managed. Two very clear examples: (i) by 10. 30 p. M. The site is very quiet indeed and (ii) the site is spotless which is only noticeable because there were plenty of dogs around but absolutely no mess.

There are two showers each for the men and women, and two toilets each for men and women. The showers are 50p for 5 minutes: whilst not all sites charge, there is a benefit to doing so in that people don't 'hog' the showers. On balance, I think the nominal charge is a good idea. There is always the 'will there be enough toilets' nerves but none of the five of us ever had a problem.

An example of how the owners deal with issues: when we arrived, one of the women's showers was not working, so they opened up a wet room so that there was another facility available. It genuinely feels like the owners want to make sure you are comfortable.

We have an unnaturally large shaped tent but even that did not faze the owners: they were more concerned that we were comfortable. We had originally been booked on one pitch but the owner suggested another pitch for us which suited us beautifully.

On the last but one day asked to extend our visit by a night (which was a Saturday night): they did not have the room to accommodate us but their response: 'we'll make it work'. And they did.

The shop is more of a cafe and none the worse for it. A great place for a cup of coffee (and a chance to read the local paper). Wifi is available at no extra charge.

There was no specific children's play area but there did not need to be: the site was safe and there were large areas for the children to play.

There is no electric hook-up on purpose: the owners do not want people plugged into the telly all day. There is a facility for phone charging (although phone signal throughout the local area is poor - a benefit in my opinion).

There is a beautiful and very private beach about 20 minutes walk away - the walk itself is spectacular.

We were recommended activities, places to visit and places to eat. All of them were top recommendations. If you visit, there is a restaurant in Southerndown called Frolics (not a name that reflects the place) - Italian, owned by Franco, a Sicilian, whose food is just first class. Really, worth a visit.

Southerndown also has a great beach at Dunraven - a wonderful beach - and about 5/10 minutes drive from the site.

A great place to stay: a return visit is certain. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Heritage Coast Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heritage Coast Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heritage Coast Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monknash      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3603 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020