Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Squires Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > West Yorkshire > Sherburn In Elmet > Squires Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Squires Caravan Park And Campsite
Newthorpe Lane
Newthorpe
Sherburn In Elmet
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LS25 5LX
Tel: 01977 684618
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 32
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
                8/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Christ 1 review from this member

 Camp site on open fields, plenty of space for children to play.

Shower and toilet block clean, although you use a coin for each shower the water is hot and shower strong.

Cafe sells lovely home cooked food at a reasonable price.

Lots of motor bikes to browse around on Sunday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrwhippy1954 45 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Squires over the Easter weekend. With all the awful wet and cold weather.

The location is only a mile or so from the main road arteries. It does have a railway line within 50 yards of the site and the trains for some reason do like to sound off their horns whilst travelling past. I found no shop/pub etc close by.

The site itself is one long track with hard standing pitches either side. The pitches are adequate but not large in size. The site seems to be half seasonal caravans and the other half normal tourers. All have electricity and plenty of water taps. The electricity is via a pre-paid card in £5 lots. The first night I was there it seemed to eat up the money. The subsequent nights I used little power but by then I had put in more money and ended up leaving money for the next camper. Even allowing for the vagaries of the electricity cost, at £12 per night at Easter it was good value.

The toilets were not so good. The shower cost £1 for 3 minutes and was only part of the loo with just a shower curtain separating you from the urinals. On my second day both cubicles were not working correctly. One had it's door broken and the other the door would not shut. However the loo in the café was absolutely fine.

The café itself was very good value for money with a big Sunday carvery. The café is known as a biker café. Do not be put off by hoards of motorbikes outside. The riders are all very pleasant people.

There are also a number of large fields beside the campsite which offer excellent dog walking. I suspect in the summer when there are rallies on it may be a bit different.

Due to this it may be best to check what if any events they are holding before you book. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sweetie towers 3 reviews from this member

 If you are looking for a quiet peaceful site then it's not for you

We went over bank holiday 9 of us and had a cracking time

There was a band on in the pub/cafe who were brilliant

Pitches are spot on and plenty of water taps and electric

Waste disposal area is very clean

Toilets and showers are basic but very clean

For £10 a night it's spot on

We had a really good time and would go back especially if there was something on in the bar

The staff and Paul are very friendly and helpful

No trains at night. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dieseldoris 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first venture in our new motor home and did not know what to expect. As it was a Bank Holiday weekend we were limited on our choice of sites. We read the reviews and decided to give this site a try.

We were pleasantly surprised. When we arrived at 7pm the place was packed with bikers. We went into the café and checked in the customers and staff were all very friendly.

All pitches are hard standing. We had pitch 32 which was at the back of the site which was quite compared to pitches near to the café, and there were no campers behind us.

While the train track is “near” you get used to the noise and the sounding of the trains horn. No trains run during the night.

Electricity is a £5 card which you insert into a slot at the electricity hook up. There is a digital display on the meter telling you how much is left on the card. A card lasted us three nights and we still had 75 pence left on the card when we left on Monday.

There was also a stand pipe near the meter.

There was plenty of space to walk the dog. There were a lot of people on site who did not keep their dogs on leads. So just take care when walking your dog.

The waste disposal was very clean.

We got the bus into Selby but were unaware that the service stopped running at 17:45. We got a taxi back which cost £20 which was well worth it as we shopped, had a few drinks and a lovely meal in Selby.

Transport is essential as there no pubs/shops within walking distance.

Would visit the site again. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TimndFlick 10 reviews from this member

 The site is behind a lively bikers cafe. It also is a pub and a restaurant.

The facilities are well used and sited behind the accessories shop.

The pitches are in between the cafe and what appear to be a boot fair field.

All are hard standing and have adequate water and waste disposal, but have to say very uninspiring.

The staff are really friendly and helpful, we had a really good carvery meal in the pub. The pub was very lively with plenty going on and even has its own pseudo ice rink.

I might add, the trains do not run at night but don't pitch by the round 'W' sign by the railway. This means whistle for any eastbound trains. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yeldog 1 review from this member

 I booked this site as being convenient to family in Pontefract / Castleford. We received a warm welcome in the cafe from the staff despite dealing with a lively bunch of Bikers celebrating Halloween.

The site, which is still being developed, offers flat hardstandings with plenty of space on a terrace behind the café. Electric points, standpipes and drains are plentiful although the chemical disposal point is currently temporary and being developed. “Super” pitches offer individual drainage but not a tap.

Toilets and showers, attached to a motorcycle shop behind the café, are clean and modern with copious hot water and token operated showers. Electricity is charged for separately; you buy a £5 card which is pushed in a slot on your electric outlet point. A display shows how much credit is still available. With a little care I made it last 4 nights despite leaving the heating on low each night.

The cafe, a converted country pub, is a lively establishment with long opening hours (shut on Mondays in winter). It offers quality Transport Café style food. We particularly enjoyed Yorkshire pudding filled to overflowing with “own farm reared Angus beef”. However, you may find yourself the only one drinking alcohol as the Bikers stick to tea and coffee for the most part.

The site is about a mile off the old A1 so access is easy and the road noise from the A1M is very much in the background. The Leeds/York railway runs alongside the site but trains stop overnight and most do not sound their hooters. Otherwise the site was quiet with no noise from the café or bikers though there is a field alongside used for Car Boot Sales etc.

Being close to the A1M/M62 junction, access to York and the coast is good and Junction 32 (M62) outlet shopping centre and Xscape ski slope and entertainment centre are 15 mins. Away. Several gastro-pubs are scattered throughout the surrounding rolling countryside.

This full facility campsite is situated in a campsite void between York and Wakefield and I will happily return it when I need to visit the area. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Squires Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Squires Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sherburn In Elmet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2070 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement