Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Herons Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Herons Park
Dengemarsh Road
Lydd
Lydd
Kent   (Browse area)
TN29 9JH
Tel: 01797 320323  or  07585 316316
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 53
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StephenJames 1 review from this member

Friendly, clean, spacious, no frills camping. Plenty of hot water and free use of fridge/ freezer which was a real bonus.

Ideally located for Dungeness lighthouse, RSPB reserve and RH&D railway. Lake setting. Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day hassle-free stay.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon04 19 reviews from this member

The approach to this site past the Kart track and I have to say I was thinking about moving on in the morning because of the close proximity to the Kart track. For us we didn't notice noise from the Kart track, even though it was Easter and the track was busy.

Really friendly booking in gave us details of the local area and recommended restaurants.

We didn't need to self level as our pitch was flat, the pitch size was extremely generous and it really gave a feel of space.

We didn't use the camp fire option but plenty of campers did.

Ladies Toilets only 2 toilets for females and 2 showers, busy periods not enough, men's 3 toilets and one shower not enough, there were 2 family shower facilities ( didn't look in so can't comment).

Would we return, it's a surprise to say but yes we would, quiet, no light pollution, convenient for Rye, Hythe and the surrounding area, we have a scooter so really easy for to get around.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kelray 1 review from this member

It was a nice morning sun shining through bedroom window, we said that's take the old girl out for the last weekend (campervan) didn't have a clue where to go we come from Kent love Norfolk but just wanted somewhere near for two nights, found this site. We love it wasn't sure to put review on in case it gets to popular and cant get our pitch, but 10 out of 10 if you just like camping, chilling, fishing, cycling, walking, shop if you run out, clean shower, toilets and really nice people, so glad we went and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ZoeMcd 5 reviews from this member

I was nervous about booking having read other reviews but having left things till the last minutes this site had availability, it was reasonably priced and I could book for 2 nights over a bank holiday weekend, plus I could chose my pitch on-line. Driving in past the industrial estate made me even more nervous.

However, I didn't need to worry! Its a small field with pitches clearly marked out and electric hook up for those who book it. Staff are friendly and helpful and fire pits are allowed. The toilet block is clean and hot water was available all day. There is also a small shop.

There is a fishing lake but its up a bit of a hill so as long as small children are kept an eye on it doesn't pose a risk to them. The hill means it isn't actually visible from the campsite but it is next to the site.

Yes its a bit bleak and you can see the power station, but that is the entire Romney area, its not called Romney MARSH for nothing! Its marsh land. We took the bikes and just up the road is a good cycle track which takes you right through to Camber Sands which we really enjoyed.

Its a great little gem of a site, we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. It had a fabulous atmosphere and in all honesty we have paid double to camp on other more well known sites and haven't enjoyed it as much. We will definitely be returning. Fabulous weekend had by all! If your campers and not glampers then this is a site for you.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Booboo67 1 review from this member

Friendly campsite

Fires allowed, so good time had by all even when it's dark (no lighting in field, so when it's dark it's dark!)

Never went in the site shop but seemed to be open when it would've been needed.

Very windy part of the world so peg your tent down if wind forcast!

Good nightly rates just make sure you get the car/pitch/person ratio right!

Will defo be going back :)

Ty for a great weekend :)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spudmum 9 reviews from this member

Wanted a cheap break away with an open fire friendly site and within an hour and a half from home. This ticked all the boxes. Arrived 5pm Friday. First impressions were quite grim, being among go kart track, scrap yard, near a power station etc and must admit we did wonder what we had let ourselves in for. However, the site itself was fine. Nice big field with pitches round the edge, all marked out. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We liked the idea that you could book which pitch you wanted online.

Got a take away in Lydd on Friday night, very small town but had a couple of takeaways and a pub and two shops, all within a few mins drive.

Had a firepit on Friday night. The owner has a stack of these which are first come first served and we bought a huge bag of wood from him for 5 which lasted both nights. There's also a small shop which sold sweets and drinks, not that we used it.

Sainsburys 10mins drive.

AREA: Pitch n putt golf nearby and looked great for walking/cycling/kite flying in the area. Power station lit up nicely at night! Lots of sheep on site.

SHOWERS and LOOS: very clean but only two of each which for a site with the potential for 50 pitches is not enough. We never had a problem waiting but there were only 4-6 other families there at the same time. Wouldnt like to be there if it was busier.

One major problem was the lighting timer in the loos/showers. Half way through my husband's shower the lights went off and he had to wave his arms frantically to get it to switch back on! Haha! I thought it was funny till it happened to me - alas I'm not so tall and there was no way I was streaking out of the shower to get the sensor to pick me up. So a shower in the pitch black it was! Shower cubicles very small as well and nowhere decent to dry off without getting clothes wet. Also husband's shower was cold so he waited for my son to finish and used his. Other than that they were adequate.

WIND:. Well, as this is on the marshes as such we did expect it to be a bit blowy but my goodness I thought we were going to be walking the yellow brick road to the Emerald City. Saturday night was just unbearable. Didn't sleep a wink thinking we would lose the awning and our boys! Braved a trip to the loos at 4am and saw that EVERYONE else was also up holding on to their tents for dear life. Whether this was a one off or whether this is a regular occurrence I couldn't say but it certainly has put me off going back. Far too windy.

FISHING: boys sat all day fishing and caught an eel. Hmmm.

So all in all an eventful weekend. Thought the price was ok 46 for two nights, with elec. But it could definitely do with some improvements.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sjm71 2 reviews from this member

This is a very small site, very basic but they do plan on adding more facilities in the future. One idea would be to offer fridge/freezers to keep campers food/drinks in.

The shower and toilet are clean and well kept, a little temperamental with the temperature and flow. The dish washing area has only cold water as there is no electricity but just boil a kettle and that's sorted just remember to do the dishes while you have daylight.

No light! they offer fire pits and provide logs and starter kits for 5 and 2 respectively. There are shops nearby spar and sainsburys are up to 10 mins drive away.

There are loads of beaches nearby, and loads to do in the area.

The owners are very pleasant and chatty, once night falls they regularly patrol the area.

The owners and campers who were there the same time as us gave the whole site a really friendly feel, so we will definitely stay again.

Lastly I would like to thank all the campers who help untangle my sons kite as and when was required

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katiepeapod 1 review from this member

My friend and I stayed at Herons Park for 2 nights. The site is quite small (maybe 30 pitches?) and is next to a go-kart track. We could hear the track sometimes during the day but it wasn't very noticeable and stopped at a reasonable time in the evening anyway.

The showers were VERY clean but were either very hot or very cold, depending on whether the other shower was on or not! However, the owners asked us about the quality of the showers one morning so I think they are trying to fix the problem. The toilets were also clean and well stocked with toilet paper.

There is a washing up facility, which was very useful but one night we were a bit late washing-up and there was no light! There is no playground but the pitches are arranged around the edge of a small field so there is plenty of space in the middle.

The nearest shop is in the town of Lydd which is about a mile away. We were pleased to find that the Spar shop was open on a Sunday! If you need to do a bigger shop there is a Sainsburys in New Romney. Camber Sands is a 10-15 minute drive away and is a lovely long sandy beach. As we were only there 2 nights I don't know what else is in the local area but we had a lovely time and would recommend it :)

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kev78 1 review from this member

My partner and I stayed here with our 3 kids, it is a lovely place,

We got two tents and the car on a pitch for 15 per night which we thought was very good,

The shower block was very clean, there was washing up station,

Fishing lake just next to field with fishing two rods for 5,

Staff were extremely helpful, and always checking if everything was ok and if we needed anything.

Was worried kids would get bored as no playground but they had lots of fun running around and Rye is only 9miles away and is a great town,

We are already planning our next visit

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1966 1 review from this member

I stayed with my partner and my 2 boys, it was a very good campsite. It was very quite. There was no playground, however there is loads of space to play. The owner was really nice and pleasant.

The showers where a bit hot. There was no clothe washing facilities. The campsite just opened. The surrounding area is flat.

The nearest shop is in the village of lydd which is 1 mile away and there is a saisbury in new romney that is 3 miles away.

The beaches are new romney which is quite and very nice or camber sands which is very busy.

Overall a very good campsite. Would come again.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2099 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938