Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Pebble Bank Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > Pebble Bank Caravan Park Reviews

Pebble Bank Caravan Park
90 Camp Road
Wyke Regis
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT4 9HF
Tel: 01305 774844
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 01/04/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 34 Reviews
                7/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: EmzieP 6 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 4 day break at Pebble Bank. Some of the pitches are quite sloping and not suitable for motorhomes. There were tents pitched amongst the caravans and motorhomes which made it very cluttered, there definitely was not a 3 meter gap between units. The site mainly consists of static caravans and there is only one toilet/shower block with 3 showers and 3 toilets for the whole site.

The restaurant bar has recently been refurbished and is open to the public which made it very busy both times we visited but they do have live music on at weekends, which seemed to be mainly attended by the locals. We didn't eat in there so cannot comment on the food.

There are no security barriers to the site so anyone can enter without being checked. There was a lot of traffic coming and going on the site, which was quite annoying.

Due to it being bank holiday weekend the price for dogs went up to £4 a night each. A lot of money considering there weren't even dog mess bins around the site.

Although they have obviously spent a lot of money refurbishing the bar, they should consider making improvements throughout the rest of the site, especially considering those who pay a lot of money each year for their static or caravan pitch. Speaking to a few of them they feel they are more interested making money in the bar from non residents.

We won't be returning as there are nicer sites in close proximity to this one. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wizzy Seas 4 reviews from this member

 This is a small site with mostly static caravans. The location is very good with fantastic views across the fleet and reasonable prices. The staff are friendly enough but there was a mix up with our site number on our arrival.

It has a basic bathroom block but you have to walk from the touring field through the static caravans and on our visit one of the static caravan occupants complained that we shouldn't walk past 'his van'! By the end of each day the toilets were out of paper and in desperate need of a clean (and it wasn't even peak season). There was also never any hand soap in the dispensers.

There is a little play park with climbing frame and tire swing at the top of the touring field.

Access to the site is very good but be careful of speeding cars on the lane later in the evening.

Weymouth and Portland are both very short drives from the site.

This is definitely not the best touring site in weymouth put it offers a good compromise in terms of location, price and facilities. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TBeard1971 1 review from this member

 We have just returned home after spending a week at this delightful site. What a great site, owners are really friendly and helpful, lovely shower and toilet block which is kept spotless, and the best thing is the lovely sea views. The site is only a 5 minute drive from weymouth. Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 3millers 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, although on a slight hill but no problems with leveling the van up, plenty of room between pitches, great views over Chisel Beach, toilet & shower block very clean showers hot & cubicles spot on as somewhere to put all your stuff while showering without it getting wet, plugs for hairdryers/straighteners etc, plenty of sinks & toilets, husband said the men's were also very clean with 4 showers plenty of sinks & toilets/urinals, separate disabled facilities.

There is a bar on site which has great views over chisel beach, there are table & benches outside for the warm days.

Management are very friendly & helpful.

We walked along the coastal path towards Weymouth, was a little challenging in places where it was overgrown but then picked up the Rodwell Trail which took us to weymouth harbour.

We got a taxi back to weymouth in the evening & had a lovely meal at The Red lion.

Would definitely stay here again if planning to visit the area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony Headlam 29 reviews from this member

 This camp site is in a prime location, just behind Chisel Beach and you can see Portland Bill and look out across the sea. We woke up to that view for two weeks, lovely. The site was kept in good condition, tidy and clean, I felt sorry for the lady who cleaned the toilets but overall they where well looked after cleaned every day. There is a bus service that runs into Weymouth every day and bus stops are a short walk away into the local village, Wyke Regis. The site is well placed for touring all along the Jurassic Coast and also the tank museum and Monkey World and for those who want to go farther afield eg poole or Bournemouth, locally Porland Bill has a great view along Chisel Beach and the bay of Weymouth. The town of Weymouth is also well equipped with shops and a long beach, plenty of things to see and do, Nothe Fort, is well worth a visit, if you like a bit of history. Visit the Marlborough restaurant best fish and chips in Dorset.

There is a bar on site that is managed by a local from the village, it is well run and friendly and the atmosphere was always welcoming, there is entertainment on a Saturday night. I read on other peoples reviews that upon entering the site directions can be a little confusing so I checked it out on Google earth, park up on the grass where the reception indicator points and walk down the slope to the office through the static vans. Some pitches are less level than others it took us a while to get level but managed it in the end, it is not as uneven as some I have been on but when you go to county's that are known to be hilly you have to expect uneven pitches. We would definitely go back to this site again when we return to Dorset 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: P90tac 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights just turned up and was plenty of space in half term showers and toilet block were clean lovely views out over the coast we found a lovely coast walk with the dogs

Washing up area clean and laundry was reasonably priced

The site went up a hill so some pitches looked grad to level but most others seems to manage

Park area for the kids tesco express was a 20 min walk from site and it wasn't too far to drive into Weymouth nice peaceful site there was a bar but we didn't use it.

Would visit again 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 We camped here to walk the South West Coast Path as it is easily accessible from the site. The touring field is sloping and not easy to get level even with chocs. The toilet bloc in my opinion has taken a hammering during the summer and when we stayed in September it was all rather grubby, with door locks missing on some of the doors and moldy walls in places. Plenty of hot water though. We couldn’t find a place to do the washing up and when I asked I was told that there were sinks in the laundry block. Eeuw! Yuk! Wash my dishes in the deep laundry sinks?! I don’t think so! This may not have been particularly noteworthy had we not been charged £22.50 per night (inc. EHU) in September after the school holidays were over. This influenced our decision to have a Chinese meal delivered (which was very good) – no pots to wash! Clearly you are paying for the view at this site. It has served it’s purpose for us – to camp in this area – but we won’t return, there are other sites offering better value for money in September. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Davie 12 reviews from this member

 Its really a fixed-caravan site with a field for tourers bolted on the side. So feels a bit chaotically run if you are a tourer. We phoned ahead to book but got only the answer phone. We took a chance and when we arrived at 17:30 the reception was closed so we selected a pitch.

The next morning we reported to reception and were asked if we were the people who phoned yesterday to ask if there was a pitch free. We said yes, and they said ‘good we wont have to return your call then’! Maybe it’s a bit more focused during the season?

The entry signs are confusing; stating that the second entrance is for reception—but lower down the information board it tells you that the first entrance is for tourers.

There are no signs and you are unlikely to be met by anybody so will have to arrange your pitch yourself. Other campers told us that the rule is that you stop with your front wheels stradling the numbered marker stones.

It was early season so only four of us tourers there. There are about half a dozen pitches at the bottom of the field under the Weymouth Pines which have superb views looking over Chesil Bank and the Fleet Lagoon with Portland Island in the distance.

There is no motorhome service point but the field has many drinking water taps (but no way of connecting a hose) which have drains which, if you had a long enough hose could be used for grey water dispersal. There is a chemical toilet disposal site.

The toilet/shower areas are superb.

The site brags (warns?) of entertainment and bingo in the bar at weekends.

£15 a night inc ELU.

From the campsite, we walked the SW Coast Path along the north shore of the Fleet Lagoon—on one side superb wildflower meadows and with water and seabirds on the other side. Picked up a bus at the bridge to Portland. It runs every 10 minutes to Southwell and then there is a 25 min walk along the western cliffs to Portland Bill and the visitor centre. Can then walk back to Southwell along the road so get views to Pirbeck in the East.

The second day we went out with the Fleet Explorer glass-bottomed boat into Portland Harbour and the Fleet lagoon. Wonderful trip, expertly explained, well worth £7. From Jetty at the Ferry Bridge; has parking or is a 25 min walk from the campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lazyleyden 8 reviews from this member

 We just missed the school holidays so it was not busy. Even so with about 20 units on site there was a bit of confusion on boundaries of pitches, but there is adequate space for car awning and unit.

Slightly sloping and levellers handy. Good views over Chisel beach and Portland head.

Facilities clean but only 3 showers and toilets, in mens anyway.

We walked from site along coast to Weymouth, it took about 2 hrs to the renovated Old Port area where many festivals are held during the summer. There is a bus every 10mins from Weymouth to nearest bus stop to c/site which 10-15mins walk. There is also a more local bus from just up the road but I think its a bit irregular, but it does service the c/site.

It was interesting that a lot of people staying on site were connected to the Olympic games being held in Weymouth.

Our neighbours were on their 10th visit and stay for 3 weeks. For me 3 days is nice but adequate

Didn't see anything for kids or a shop 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deejays 2 reviews from this member

 Having read some of the reviews on other sites we had a sleepless night worrying about PebbleBank before we travelled as it was a new site for us.

We usually stay at East Fleet in the town but it was booked out this year.

First impressions weren't good, the campsite is a narrow strip of land (20m wide) on a steep slope with pitches along each side (max 30 pitches)

It is really an after thought to the caravans/mobile homes on the site.

There is only one tap at the top of the site, and we had real trouble because of space restrictions having our car on site, we had to leave our car on the main site car park a good 200m away from our tent.

The pitches are generally flat but ours (and other) family sized tents overlapped the prepared pitches which were probably caravan pitches in a previous life.

Whilst the shower/toilet block is brand new it has to be said that there was no sign of the owner or any staff on the camping side of the site during the week we were there. I think they are slowly improving facilities.

The bar, and staff running it were fantastic and really friendly to us and the kids (16;15;13 &4) as were the caravan owners who look like they've known each other for many years.

Space is limited in the bar, the entertainment provided is really fantastic the bingo and singers put on (particularly on the Weds & Sat night) were great.

Please be careful when it is wet if you're parked on the slope as you will struggle to get your car out, not even Colin McCrae would get out without a 4 wheel drive and a push.

Our MPV churned up the grass after heavy rain and needed a push to get out, as did everyone else without a Land Rover!

It wouldn't be our first choice in Weymouth, but we enjoyed our stay.

The views from the site are stunning (when the coastal mist allowed) and road works permitting it's nice and close to the town. The works taking place in adance of the Olympics have made a simple journey through the town into a nightmare.

There is no shop on site, bread; milk etc is a short drive away at a Tesco Express linked to an Esso Garage.

It is absolutely ideal if you have a small tent and travel light as it's right on the Coastal Path. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pebble Bank Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pebble Bank Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pebble Bank Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1594 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December