Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwel An Nans Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Gwel An Nans Farm
Cardinham
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 4EF
Tel: 01208 821359
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John Haddon 1 review from this member

We had a lovely stay at this camp site, we hadnít camped for a long time but from the outset we found the owners very helpful with both advice and lending us equipment which we didnít know we needed!

The site is situated in beautiful countryside which we took our two dogs on some lovely walks making the most of the rural setting.

Farmland surrounded the site which added to the relaxed atmosphere, even the cows grazing werenít a problem when we walked through the field. The nature trail was a bit like a trip through the secret woods leading down to a pretty little stream.

We shall definitely come back to this site as we had a lovely time and actually stayed longer than originally planned.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TracyHayward 1 review from this member

I have to post this to defend the comments left by jaseman25 as others have done.

This is a lovely site with the most helpful of owners, nothing is too much trouble. They are easy going and friendly to all who stay. It would appear to me that once again people who want to behave badly, ignore the rules, and have no thoughts for other people on the site think they are always right even when they are wrong. These comments come from my partner also, we were so angry for the owners when we read this.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chubbs70 2 reviews from this member

I really do have to leave another comment about this fantastic site and leave a little info about the comment below from Jaseman25.

We have now visited this site quite a few times this year, including the last week. As usual nothing is too much trouble for the owners and their daughter Norma who manages the campsite. All the facilities were absolutely perfect, cleaned daily to a very high standard and the grounds perfectly tended as usual. I won't bore you all with any more comments about what a wonderful site it is as this has been covered many times before.

What I will comment about is the negative post below. My family and I were camping near them during this time and it wasn't a pleasant experience. We actually stayed for the full duration but sadly another family left a day early due to all the hassle and noise coming from them. What they fail to tell you is how the site owners and manager bent over backwards to help them when they couldn't get their trailer tent to open. Machinery and jacks were brought out to sort the problems and no cost was charged. What they also fail to tell you is the amount of times their darling little children blocked up the toilets with paper towels, meaning the site manager was out there unblocking them on more than one occasion, one being the early hours of the morning.

The site rules state that no ball games are to be played in the camping area but there is a field no more than 50 yards away for them to play in. Do you all think this family took any notice! Several families staying at this wonderful site told them many times to stop hitting their caravans and tents with balls but they took no notice. It was a total relief when they left, the site was back to the tranquil place it always has been.

Don't let the negative comments from the husband and wife put you off. Every now and then you do get 'family from hell' staying at a site and this time it was here. Would this put my family and I from staying there again, not a chance. Its a hidden gem that has always been popular for families looking for a bit of peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jelyb 1 review from this member

This small family run site as an absolute gem. It is maintained to the highest of standards, it features a level field with fuchsias and hydrangeas surrounding it, and lovely views over the fields. The pitch sizes are generous, giving plenty of room for awnings/wind breakers/pup tents/extra cars etc.

The site is located close to the A30, making easy access for exploring all that Cornwall has to offer, also situated close to Cardinham woods, perfect for walking or cycling ( although the Bodmin beast cycle route is not for the faint hearted).

The site owners are lovely people and cannot do enough for you to ensure that you enjoy your stay. It is very child and dog friendly, with a designated playing field for ball games and woodland walk for the dogs.

They own a couple of Donkeys and Gerald will call at every pitch with children and offer them rides on his small trap in the mornings (weather permitted).

I cannot recommend this site highly enough, we love it.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dianefryingpan 1 review from this member

Just back from a fabulous stay at Gwel-an-Nans Farm. We were three generations of the same family, grandparents in a caravan with electric hook up and the rest of the family in tents. We had a warm welcome from Norma, who showed us to our pitch and around the facilities. Toilets and showers are kept spotless by Sheila and Norma, there's also a fridge freezer and microwave - useful for those in tents - dishwashing facilities, a book library (with donations to the local hospice) and washing machine and tumble dryer for a very reasonable charge. We didn't sample the pasties, which are cooked to order, but we will next time. The site is set amongst rolling countryside with wonderful views, is well kept and quiet. A supermarket is just a short drive away.

What a good idea to have a small, separate field for ball games. Saves parents worrying about upsetting other campers if a ball should go off course.

Our children were very taken by the two friendly, gentle donkeys Harry and Dino and were very excited to be taken on donkey cart rides by the owner Gerald. Gerald is quite a character and had us in stitches with his banter. We didn't want to leave, but hope to be back again soon. Thank you Sheila, Gerald and Norma for helping to make our stay truly memorable.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaseman25 1 review from this member

Just got back from this campsite and like all the the other people who review we found the owners nice and helpful but soon realised there was a two tier rule. People who had their caravan stored there and friends of the owners can kick a ball around the tents and have dogs loose. However my young kids (age 3, 5, 6, 7) had to go down the field which didn't bother me about football as no one likes balls hitting tents but when the owner had a go at my 3yr old about playing bowls against my windbreak and riding his little scooter I found this strange. Also whilst there another family kept throwing stuff in the loo and making a mess but instead of dealing with them he decided to have a go at my kids even though we had been out all day and most of the evening.

our electric hook up kept tripping as it was hanging out the post and rain got in, after reporting it just being told it's ok.

My wife left a honest review and she was confronted by the owner who trapped her in the wash room and wouldn't let her past until she had her say.

To be honest it was a nice site and I think it is very unsuitable for a young family it would suit a older family or a couple better.

Also if your towing and aren't keen on reversing you won't like the access as it is single track in some parts

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jess32 1 review from this member

I've not long come back from this site and to be honest I wasn't very impressed! The owners came across all nicey nicey to start with and then turned! Every time we had a problem it wasn't dealt with properly and professionally. They kids couldn't play as the field was to bumpy as donkeys and cows have churned it up. The washing machine was taped up only allowing one wash load, which as I'm paying for it they have no right in dictating what we do it on. The owners kept shining torches into people's tents and caravans every night. I was there at the same time as this jasemans person and his wife and children, I thought it was lovely to see young children enjoying them selves and having fun isn't that what holidays are for. And that caravan that was next to them I had to return their dog many times as it kept going into other people's tents when they were out, dogs are supposed to stay on leads. Yes the toilet had not been flushed but my whole week their not once saw paper towels in the toilets and neither did my husband. Some people find it so easy to blame children as they know they can't defend them selves, that's what older people do! I didn't leave early because of the children I left due to my own reasons nothing to do with the children. The rules say ball games down in the field that's it, it should be rules for everyone as there was plenty of people that were playing foot ball and nothing was said. The owners kept coming up with excuses but not reasons why they couldn't deal with things properly. The toilets didn't flush properly. I have been to this site many times before and to be honest it was lovely to see children playing, it's not a hidden gem at all, and the only families from hell aware the ones who like passing the blame on other people presuming it was them doing wrong not other people. It also said there should be no games and ball games on the camp site so why have all these old people on doing it and the children from another caravan. You need to redo your posters and read them before you print them off. This site is not for people with young children! It's for older couples or families who don't play, if you have so many rules and clearly dislike children it needs to be turned into an adults site only.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chubbs70 2 reviews from this member

Just arrived back home after our first visit to this campsite and it certainly won't be long before we return.

Can't believe I haven't heard about this place before now. On arrival we were given a true Cornish greeting by the owners and their daughter Norma showed us to our pitch.

The campsite is situated in an ideal place for exploring Cornwall. You would think you were miles from anywhere but it is situated only a couple of miles from the main A30 and A38 arterial routes that run through Cornwall.

The campsite only has 10 pitches, each one with its own electric hook up if needed. The cost per pitch is only £16. 00 per night and that is based on 2 adults and 2 children sharing. Additional adults and children are charged at a very competitive £2. 00 per night each. Not only is an electric hook up included in the price, it also includes the use of walk in disabled friendly wet room showers, disabled friendly toilets, the use of a fridge freezer to store provisions, a kitchen for washing up, microwave and hair dryer in the shower block. For a small cost there is also a washing machine and tumble dryer.

This campsite is very family friendly and there is even a separate area for playing ball games. Also on site there are 2 resident Donkeys, Dino and Jimmy. These have been part of the family for many, many years and and if conditions permit the children will be offered short rides around the area sitting in the cart. The Donkey's love a treat from the campers but you are advised not to hand feed them but drop anything on the grass in front of them. Their favourite is a few Extra Strong Mints !.

Apart from the campsite itself there is also a lovely nature walk down into the valley and into the family owned woodland. At certain times of the day you might be lucky and spot some of the various breeds of Deer that live wild in the area. These include the Majestic Red Deer which are becoming harder to spot country wide. Foxes, Rabbits, Pheasants and a multitude of other wildlife can also be seen in the area.

This family owned campsite is not for single/mixed sex stag parties looking to party and blast the music out, they wouldn't be welcome here. This site is for families, singles and couples looking for peace, quiet and tranquillity, somewhere to relax for a few days in the heart of beautiful rural Cornwall. As previously mentioned, this campsite only has 10 pitches. This gives each guest/family plenty of room to camp, compared to other sites that cram people in for profit.

Local Supermarkets are only a few miles away from the site but no catering service is provided, apart from some fabulous home cooked Cornish Pasty's which can be pre ordered through Norma while you are staying.

Rubbish bins are provided but they have a strict recycling policy which they prefer you adhere to. Cold tap water standpipe are within easy reach also.

So, if you are looking for a bit of peace and tranquillity, a campsite and owners that put guests before profit and one that welcomes tents, caravans and motorhomes, this is the place for you.

An absolutely beautiful location, exceptionally clean and tidy site where the guest comes first and all needs are taken care of.

Check it out, you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

We used this site for a one night stop over whilst in Cornwall for the weekend and were pleasantly surprised.

Previous reviews were good which is why we choose this site and we werenít disappointed. We arrived after dark and were checked in swiftly, there is an area of hard standing which we were able to pitch on as the ground was quite saturated. No surprise at this time of year.

There were great facilities on the campsite including free showers, toilets, laundry room and fridge freezer (all very clean!) along with an information point and easy walking for dogs off of the site. In the morning it was easy to see why this would be a popular site in the summer as the grass pitches are lovely and flat, the site was very well looked after and borders and planting around the site were really pretty and nicely maintained.

We wouldnít hesitate to come back here.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 131 reviews from this member

Stopped here for one night when travelling through. Called late in the afternoon and spoke to the friendly owner who confirmed the details and that turning up early evening would be fine.

The hardstanding pitches were nice and level, so when turning up in bad weather it was good not to have to mess around getting the chocks out. Despite the weather, the owner came out and showed us where to pitch and we were shown the facilities.

As it had been so wet the grass was saturated, so wellies were definitely in order to cross the grass to get to the toilet block. This was clean and the water hot.

There was good dog walking just along the road in to the forest; again the wellies came in handy. As others have mentioned the gate is a little tight to swing in to, especially when you can't take a wide birth because of the soft verge.

All-in-all a nice little site, that we'd have no problem in returning to if in the area again.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


924 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!