Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gwel An Nans Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > Gwel An Nans Farm > Reviews

Gwel An Nans Farm
Cardinham
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 4EF
Tel: 01208 821359  or  07970957110
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: TheOldDears 6 reviews from this member

 We last visited this site 10 years ago and it is still as lovely as we remembered it. So peaceful and with outstanding views across the countryside.

The facilities are clean and tidy - gents'loo and 1 shower, ladies the same. The showers are disabled friendly with an adjustable stool and grab rail. Heat adjustable showers too [no nasty push buttons here] also a heater on a timer switch. Free hairdryers too.

There is an additional disabled friendly washroom with toilet and basin and plenty of space. 1 dishwashing sink.

The maximum number of units here is 10 so never a queue. A lovely nature trail from the play area down through bluebell woods was a delight to see.

Our dog enjoyed walking from the site down to Cardinham Woods, plenty to do in this area.

The access up from the A38 roundabout is a little exciting at times but we got through OK, noting passing spaces on the narrow parts. Larger units than our small van were on site.

Dear Gerald was running the site previously but has handed the reins to his daughter Norma who is cheerful and friendly. Gerald comes by on his mobility scooter to have a chat which is nice.

No faults to find at all with this hidden gem of a site. 


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Les2kb 1 review from this member

 Close to Bodmin and within a short drive to either coast. Access from A30 was a little narrow and involved some steep descents and ascents and perhaps we were fortunate not to meet traffic coming in the opposite direction.

Site was accessed between stone gate posts that are a little close together but ok if taken slowly. Pitch was a hardstanding with grassed area to the side which was ample in size.

Toilets and showers although a little dated were perfectly adequate and kept clean and tidy by the site staff. Staff were friendly and considerate and quite helpful when required.

Costs were reasonable considering the facilities but site owner did say he would have to put prices up due to the rise in the cost of utilities.

Site managers dog could be a little overfriendly and did not like people crossing its ground. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Minimi 1 review from this member

 Lovely location friendly owner great value for money. Everything needed for stay.

Very dog friendly. Lovely spring water.

Quiet peaceful away from it all location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lee Cooper 1 review from this member

 Fantastic, friendly and welcoming site.

Owners are friendly, welcoming and keep the facilities exceptionally clean and tidy.

We stayed in the field closest to the Donkeys and the views are outstanding across to Cardinham Woods.

The Fire pit hire is a must for a great evening and would recommend to anyone just for a tenner with wood, skewers and marshmallows included.

Centrally located to hit both coasts, it is a great base to explore Cornwall.

The site is quiet, well run and we will be coming back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John Haddon 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay at this camp site, we hadnít camped for a long time but from the outset we found the owners very helpful with both advice and lending us equipment which we didnít know we needed!

The site is situated in beautiful countryside which we took our two dogs on some lovely walks making the most of the rural setting.

Farmland surrounded the site which added to the relaxed atmosphere, even the cows grazing werenít a problem when we walked through the field. The nature trail was a bit like a trip through the secret woods leading down to a pretty little stream.

We shall definitely come back to this site as we had a lovely time and actually stayed longer than originally planned. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TracyHayward 1 review from this member

 I have to post this to defend the comments left by jaseman25 as others have done.

This is a lovely site with the most helpful of owners, nothing is too much trouble. They are easy going and friendly to all who stay. It would appear to me that once again people who want to behave badly, ignore the rules, and have no thoughts for other people on the site think they are always right even when they are wrong. These comments come from my partner also, we were so angry for the owners when we read this. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chubbs70 2 reviews from this member

 I really do have to leave another comment about this fantastic site and leave a little info about the comment below from Jaseman25.

We have now visited this site quite a few times this year, including the last week. As usual nothing is too much trouble for the owners and their daughter Norma who manages the campsite. All the facilities were absolutely perfect, cleaned daily to a very high standard and the grounds perfectly tended as usual. I won't bore you all with any more comments about what a wonderful site it is as this has been covered many times before.

What I will comment about is the negative post below. My family and I were camping near them during this time and it wasn't a pleasant experience. We actually stayed for the full duration but sadly another family left a day early due to all the hassle and noise coming from them. What they fail to tell you is how the site owners and manager bent over backwards to help them when they couldn't get their trailer tent to open. Machinery and jacks were brought out to sort the problems and no cost was charged. What they also fail to tell you is the amount of times their darling little children blocked up the toilets with paper towels, meaning the site manager was out there unblocking them on more than one occasion, one being the early hours of the morning.

The site rules state that no ball games are to be played in the camping area but there is a field no more than 50 yards away for them to play in. Do you all think this family took any notice! Several families staying at this wonderful site told them many times to stop hitting their caravans and tents with balls but they took no notice. It was a total relief when they left, the site was back to the tranquil place it always has been.

Don't let the negative comments from the husband and wife put you off. Every now and then you do get 'family from hell' staying at a site and this time it was here. Would this put my family and I from staying there again, not a chance. Its a hidden gem that has always been popular for families looking for a bit of peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jelyb 1 review from this member

 This small family run site as an absolute gem. It is maintained to the highest of standards, it features a level field with fuchsias and hydrangeas surrounding it, and lovely views over the fields. The pitch sizes are generous, giving plenty of room for awnings/wind breakers/pup tents/extra cars etc.

The site is located close to the A30, making easy access for exploring all that Cornwall has to offer, also situated close to Cardinham woods, perfect for walking or cycling ( although the Bodmin beast cycle route is not for the faint hearted).

The site owners are lovely people and cannot do enough for you to ensure that you enjoy your stay. It is very child and dog friendly, with a designated playing field for ball games and woodland walk for the dogs.

They own a couple of Donkeys and Gerald will call at every pitch with children and offer them rides on his small trap in the mornings (weather permitted).

I cannot recommend this site highly enough, we love it. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dianefryingpan 1 review from this member

 Just back from a fabulous stay at Gwel-an-Nans Farm. We were three generations of the same family, grandparents in a caravan with electric hook up and the rest of the family in tents. We had a warm welcome from Norma, who showed us to our pitch and around the facilities. Toilets and showers are kept spotless by Sheila and Norma, there's also a fridge freezer and microwave - useful for those in tents - dishwashing facilities, a book library (with donations to the local hospice) and washing machine and tumble dryer for a very reasonable charge. We didn't sample the pasties, which are cooked to order, but we will next time. The site is set amongst rolling countryside with wonderful views, is well kept and quiet. A supermarket is just a short drive away.

What a good idea to have a small, separate field for ball games. Saves parents worrying about upsetting other campers if a ball should go off course.

Our children were very taken by the two friendly, gentle donkeys Harry and Dino and were very excited to be taken on donkey cart rides by the owner Gerald. Gerald is quite a character and had us in stitches with his banter. We didn't want to leave, but hope to be back again soon. Thank you Sheila, Gerald and Norma for helping to make our stay truly memorable. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jaseman25 1 review from this member

 Just got back from this campsite and like all the the other people who review we found the owners nice and helpful but soon realised there was a two tier rule. People who had their caravan stored there and friends of the owners can kick a ball around the tents and have dogs loose. However my young kids (age 3, 5, 6, 7) had to go down the field which didn't bother me about football as no one likes balls hitting tents but when the owner had a go at my 3yr old about playing bowls against my windbreak and riding his little scooter I found this strange. Also whilst there another family kept throwing stuff in the loo and making a mess but instead of dealing with them he decided to have a go at my kids even though we had been out all day and most of the evening.

our electric hook up kept tripping as it was hanging out the post and rain got in, after reporting it just being told it's ok.

My wife left a honest review and she was confronted by the owner who trapped her in the wash room and wouldn't let her past until she had her say.

To be honest it was a nice site and I think it is very unsuitable for a young family it would suit a older family or a couple better.

Also if your towing and aren't keen on reversing you won't like the access as it is single track in some parts 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gwel An Nans Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gwel An Nans Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gwel An Nans Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3529 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement