Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Big Bear Lodge (winner Of 4 In A Bed)

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Big Bear Lodge (winner Of 4 In A Bed) Reviews

Big Bear Lodge (winner Of 4 In A Bed)
Hendre Villa
Melverley
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY10 8PH
Tel: 01691 682640  or  07711312103
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Strong_77 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent the weekend at Big Bear Lodge for a Uni friends reunion, and have mixed feelings about the place. The location was good and the facilities are spotless (probably nicest camping shower I've ever seen). The owner was extremely helpful and the fact that they have camping, B&B and camping pods all in one place was ideal for my group of friends (as some scared of outdoor life!). On the negative side however, there was not enough facilities (1 male, 1 female, 1 disabled shower etc. For 4 camping pods and a campsite big enough for around 15 tents). The campsite field was very lumpy (like a ridge and furrow field) and was hard to find a bit of ground flat enough to pitch, and when we asked one of the staff if we could camp in the camping pod field (which was much flatter, probably bigger with much better views we were told in no uncertain terms that tents were not allowed in that field, even though one of the photos on this website shows exactly that. So goods and bads but would say all in all worth a visit especially if have fussy friends that don't do proper camping! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: MRSCAMPING 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed in a Camping Pod for Easter. As regular tent campers (no electric) we thought we would try Glamping in a pod - not for us as not as fun & cosy as a tent. Felt like we were in the garden rather than the wilds of Shropshire. Facilities were spotless and lovely - but not hugely practical - Only 1 ladies shower, and 1 sink in with the toilets (so not v private) - so used the disabled loo, shower & basin all in 1 room - but basin tiny & no shelf. The washing up sink was facing a wall with an awkward draining board and the rubbish bins were over the road?! so what to do with 3 bits of pasta in my saucepan?! Mark the owner was super friendly & helpful. Would be ok for 1 night if eating out - but not like camping. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clare-E 2 reviews from this member

 A bit crazy going camping outside in March (and it was cold this year) so we went for a pod for a couple of nights. Great value at 40/night for 3 people. There was a lockable door, electric and heater so we were warm and snug. One thing - if you are used to sleeping on the grass the floor can seem a bit harder as it is wood. However, worth it for the other comforts.

It was very quiet at the time we went. The owners were very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The toilets were also very impressive and something like a 4 star hotel!

We went on walks and visited the local ancient timber church which was very interesting. We also drove further out to Powis Castle (which was ok but in my opinion not as good as say, Warwick) and went to a small village called Montgomery and climbed up to the castle. Be aware that the incline is VERY steep walking to this, but great views up top and a reasonable size for a ruin.

We had a great time in Melverley. Recommended for a quiet break for a couple of days away from hustle and bustle. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerryo78 1 review from this member

 I stayed at Big Bear for the bank holiday weekend with my husband, our 2 year old daughter and our dog. We arrived fairly late on the Friday evening and pitched our tent in the field with the caravans as we wanted electric hook up. Mark, the owner, was very helpful and helped us run our cable into his shed. He gave us lots of information about the local area and even gave us his mobile number if we needed him. The toilets/shower block is first class. It is spotlessly clean and really tastefully decorated. Never a shortage of toilet paper and complimentary handwash and lotion at the sink. The shower is nice and spacious which made is easy for me to shower myself and my little girl. There is a heated towel rail too which I thought was a nice touch. There is only one shower and two toilets per block though which may have been a problem if the site had been busier but we never queued for either. There are washing up facilities with hot running water, very good. If you want a quiet, peaceful break this is for you. We will definitely go back, we had a lovely time. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clevercampers 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Was very wet when we visited but Mark was very accommodating and we parked up by the shower block next to the donkeys. Despite weather we had a good time. Nice walk to local pub.

Showers are lovely. If you want a quiet site in Shropshire then this one is a must.

No play area for children so may be a bit too quiet for some. Good area for cycling as quiet flat roads around site.

Melverley church is a little gem! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crofton Blade 2 reviews from this member

 We visited Big Bear for a week after a really prolonged rainy spell so the touring site was very wet and boggy! What a quiet and secluded spot it is. The pitches are brand new hard standing which Mark, the owner now realizes he needs to upgrade to cope with really wet weather.

Shower and toilet block is brand new and probably the best we've experienced; 3 showers and three toilets (one of each for men, women and disabled. They were always spotlessly clean despite our tramping mud everywhere, as the wet weather carried on during our stay.

Electric hook up and fresh water are literally adjacent to your pitch whilst the waste disposals are at one end of the site and are currently a little difficult to access through the mud.

Mark could not do enough for us- he even found me whilst I was walking on the riverside to tell me that he'd made an arrangement with the local farmer for me to fish the River Vyrnwy, which is not easy as most of the river is in private hands. Result- a 7lb barbel from the flooded river, so I was well pleased.

Even his dogs and donkeys are friendly once you make friends with them. We were watched each evening by the cows in the next field and I caught a brief view one evening of a badger passing through the site. Buzzards soaring above the site were also a nice distraction.

We really enjoyed our stay despite the bad weather - the site is brand new so will get better as it settles down- we'll certainly be returning in the future to see how the site has developed. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Plutopug1 2 reviews from this member

 Big Bear Lodge is a brand new campsite with fantastic facilities. Its a really beautiful part of Shropshire I had not visited before but is really lovely. Off the beaten track but good access and new hook ups and fresh water close by.

Shower and toilets brand new and best I have ever used. A small but friendly site with beautiful views of the hills just 12 miles from Shrewsbury.

A nice country pub just 10 mins walk along the riverbank. Dogs very welcome and great walks by river or through woods. Owner just opened and could not do enough for you.

Big Bear has everything you could wish for in a campsite cannot recommend highly enough - would definitely be back soon! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Big Bear Lodge (winner Of 4 In A Bed) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Big Bear Lodge (winner Of 4 In A Bed) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shrewsbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3401 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement