Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Portesham Dairy Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Portesham Dairy Farm Camp Site
Bramdon Lane
Portesham
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4HG
Tel: 01305 871297
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 15th March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
                9/10 from 76 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickrock 6 reviews from this member

Very good site with Farm Shop and excellent village pub within yards of entrance. Main Toilet/shower block one of the best we have seen. Slightly strange in that the front end of the site near entrance and toilets was just about full with seasonal pitched caravans, so although we thought it was very busy, it was a bit of a ghost ship. The back end of the site however became a bit more frantic with families at the peak of the weekend. If you like a bit of peace and quiet therefore, book the pitches near the entrance, whereas if you like a festival atmosphere book nearer the back. Only drawback is that the hardstanding pitches have a very coarse 'road skim' topping of big stones and broken up tarmac which is not pleasant underfoot or to put an awning on top of.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nigelsjab 3 reviews from this member

Have used this site for many years and seen it go from strength to strength with improvements and expansion, facilities are good, large field for games and good child's play ground, a twenty minute car journey into the town of Weymouth and two miles to Abottsbury Swanery. Friendly staff and owner.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Guardian 1 review from this member

The campsite is very clean and tidy, we were very pleased with our holiday there and will return as, but we did notice that people didn't think having their dogs on the leads, applied to them. Also having people turn up at 9pm and putting their tent up, right next to you with no consideration that people are settling down. That is not the owners fault, but lack of respect for other people.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laurie118 22 reviews from this member

We have been here several times before, and I cannot fault the site. The pitches are flat and clean with hookups and plenty of fresh water points. We used to belong to the c&cc but left because of the new prices charged. This site is very reasonable and the toilets and showers are better than some of the club sites. Nice village and pub and now there is a farm shop just across the road with a small cafe and lots of fresh food items in the shop.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stan on tour 38 reviews from this member

We picked this site for one night when touring in the area. Our choice was based in the reviews but we were very disappointed! There is no reception or security gate and the site seems soulless with dark slate gravel little greenery and numerous unoccupied touring caravans. It is clearly still being developed and there is a nice pub and farm shop just across the main road and good wifi, but not a site where we could relax or would want to spend time.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The road toad 2 reviews from this member

We normally use Caravan Club sites but Portesham Dairy Farm may have changed that!

A small compact, quiet and flat site very close to the lovely village of Portesham with a very relaxed atmosphere.

Half the site is devoted to seasonal tourer pitches with the rest available for caravan tourers and campers.

Fully serviced pitch with 18A electricity for 18. 00 a night - the owner is currently updating a lot more pitches to fully serviced.

Two toilet blocks - one brick built, very warm and spotlessly clean, and a portacabin block, unheated but clean and perfectly adequate - both with loo roll supplied.

A 5 minute walk to the Kings Arms pub/restaurant and 5 minute drive to Abbotsbury and the Chisel Beach.

Note: Take the A roads from Dorchester to the outskirts of Weymouth and then the B road west to access the site - don't follow your TomTom!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SaucyMinx 5 reviews from this member

Maybe we have been spoilt by The Caravan Club sites but on this site facilities are basic and I never saw anyone clean them. The site seems very unkempt and the roads could do with being tarmaced. There are no security gates to this site either. If only they were to spend a bit more time and money on this site it would be OK. The plus side is that there is a pub about 250 metres away. We will not be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cholly 2 reviews from this member

Clean, Tidy, well maintained, grass well cut. Good washing facilities, not too big, great for young families and couples. Handy for the pub and farm shop. Owner extended our stay and moved around others pitch so we didn't have to move,

No negatives at all.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chipmonk 14 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night over Easter period. Owner very accommodating as we booked last minute.

The site is reasonably flat, with a mixture of hard standing and grass pitches. There seemed to be a lot of permanently sited vans on the hard standing area.

As the weather was very bad, there were several areas that were quite boggy and flooded. The drainage was not 100%. There were signs of vehicles that found it difficult to get out, as there were deep ruts in the grass. Having a four wheel drive, that still proved a little difficult.

The facilities were spotless and extremely clean. Don't be put off by the porta-cabin style showers and toilets. They are 1st class.

The camp is a fair drive from Weymouth and Portland. But, to wake up to the sounds of just the birds singing is great.

There is a local pub just 200m up the road, which we did not use. Did eat at the Luggers, a few minutes drive away, which was excellent.

We would return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fisherman64 2 reviews from this member

A lovely site on a farm, but where they have a big flat field with great facilities. The showers and loos are plentiful, some being in portacabins but which are amazingly modern and clean. Like any where in August, they were well used and the rain always causes a bit of a problem, but it couldn't be helped. It's very near Dorchester and Weymouth, in the middle of beautiful countryside, and we would definitely return. The prices are very reasonable compared to others in the area.

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2221 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019