Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pool Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Bridgend > Pool Farm Campsite Reviews

Pool Farm Campsite
St Brides Major
Bridgend
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF32 0SE
Tel: 01656 881675  or  07792 308338
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/07/2022 to 31/08/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Pop Up Campsite 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: CreakyDoor 1 review from this member

 Facilities were very basic - an outhouse with a single toilet and shower, a couple of portaloos and a small shed for a kitchen that had a small fridge, toaster and kettle.

No bins were emptied in the time we were there (2 nights), the kitchen wasn't cleaned and really needed it and the site just felt like a field next to a road. There were some more fields a little further away from the road that may have had a nicer atmosphere but there were a couple of very large groups there so for the sake of some peace and quiet stayed away.

Good points - it was quite near the beach and had a pub opposite.

Location - 5/10 as was near a beach in a nice part of South Wales, but on a main road.

Facilities - 1/10 as they were very basic and more importantly, dirty.

VFM - 5/10 - difficult to rate as it was cheap - you just pay for the pitch so some people squeezed in 2 or 3 tents, but I didn't enjoy the stay.

Customer service - 5/10, no really interaction with any staff needed, but they really need to keep the site clean.

Child friendliness - 5/10, nothing unfriendly about the site, but no facilities for children. There is a pond next to the site which if we were camped near would mean I needed to keep an keen eye out for my kids.

Overall rating - 3/10 - I was aware that the campsite was basic, but the fact that the bins were not emptied at all and the dirty kitchen really put me off. I would not recommend. If the facilities were clean andthe other fields were a nicer location my score could go up to a 5. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Donnaban 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely two day stay in the beautiful shepherds hut was pretty and cozy

The owners were very friendly and came by for a chat

There is only one toilet and one shower which had lovely hat water

The camp site was very busy so there was a small issue with the toilet.

Great pub at the top of the road were we had a lovely meal also great takeaway fish and chips.

The area is very pretty a lovely walk to the beach. Thank you. For a lovely stay Donna and Sam 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AmandaXZ 1 review from this member

 This site is well situated and Farmer Glyn is extremely welcoming but the facilities are basic.

The field is next to a main road, but this was not a problem during our stay and the pub is straight opposite. We drove to Dunraven bay, which took about 3 minutes and the kids had a great time exploring rock pools and watching the surfers.

Thankfully, we were the only tent on site at the time of our visit, as there is only one toilet and 1 shower, in a small breeze block shed. There is no hot water other than from the electric shower and the washing up area is a sink and stand pipe on a wall.

There is a small shed with dryer and multiple plug sockets for charging phones etc, which was excellent.

We were welcomed by Farmer Glyn, given 6 fresh eggs and the kids invited to collect their own eggs the next morning.

This site is fine for a couple of nights, but lacking in facilities for a longer stay. I also found the price to be high for what's on offer. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oliveo1l 1 review from this member

 My husband and I booked this site last minute as somewhere to sleep after a wedding in Margam but having been I can fully imagine spending a weekend here. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice! The site is a small quiet field and perfectly suited if you want beach and pub facilities, with Southerndown a 15 minute walk away across lovely fields and the Farmers Arms just opposite (but not close enough to be noisy).

On arrival we we greeted by the owners friend (who was very friendly and helped us pump up our airbed using the Farm's pump since we'd forgotten our foot-pump!). The owner was out at the time we arrived but we later met Glyn, the owner, and he was such a friendly and helpful man, even gave us a lift to the wedding over 20 minutes away which was beyond the call of duty! What a star.

We slept brilliantly and enjoyed a sunny morning when we woke.

The toilet is simple but clean and well kept. The shower was good, hot water and very clean.

We were very impressed and will be returning as soon as possible!

Thanks for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernie Ray 1 review from this member

 Amazing welcome from the owner along with his delicious eggs Thank you! Really enjoyed the stay and look forward to going back very soon :)

Toilet and shower clean and handy.

Perfect location for Farmers Arms and Southerndown.

Beautiful countryside walk over to the Beach through fields, with friendly animals occupying some fields :)

A must place to visit quiet location although very central location 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rushden campers 1 review from this member

 Friendly welcome (it was late in the evening) - received half a dozen eggs as a welcome gift - nice touch. This is a working farm, and a new ( last couple of years) campsite. There is 1 toilet and a portaloo with no lighting. The 1 shower has been tiled nicely - but still insufficient facilities when fully booked. The farmer is helpful I. E. Has good ideas for places to visit he comes with his array of friendly dogs but they messed where we camped!

This site has a lot of potential and and good position for exploring the area.

Good luck for the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blocky 1 review from this member

 What a great camp site. We have been to several sites in the past but this one was by far one of the friendliest. On-site facilities include;

Shower - clean and functional

Toilet - well maintained and clean

Cream Tea Garden - beautiful

The owners were very helpful and made a point of coming to speak to everyone as they arrived and kept coming back to see if people were ok. They were also very helpful when I managed to fall over and dislocate my shoulder!

We arrived on a Friday afternoon at about 3 and were welcomed by the owner with a box of fresh eggs (best eggs I have ever eaten!). The site is flat and quite small (only about 15 pitches but they are a good size). This place is ideal for families. We had two kids with us, 9 and 4, and they loved it. There was plenty of space to play games and the farm dogs were friendly too.

There is a beautiful walk down to the beach through the farm and is ideal as the beach car park is incredibly small so walking down from the campsite was perfect.

The pub across the road (The Farmers Arms) is great. Good food and good beer too, if a little on the pricey side. However, just up the road a couple of miles is the Star Pub in Wick - they do good food too and the other way in the town of St Brides is the Fox and Hounds.

Overall we loved this site and will be coming back regularly. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sssnake 37 reviews from this member

 Booked at short notice and turned up the following day to a very warm reception and half a dozen free range eggs. Yum.

This is a nice flat camping area with a toilet, and shower plus a small unit with electrical power for those camping essentials like hair straighteners and phone chargers.

This was an absolutely perfect place to camp. It is a working farm and although the camping area is adjacent to a B road, it is not busy and even the lightest sleepers shouldn't have any problem. The walk to Southerndown beach across the farm is beautiful. A night cost 15 which I think is pretty steep for a tent with my son and I but it didn't detract from a great time.

The pub across the road (Farmer's Arms) serves good food. - the 'Gourmet Burger' was superb and the real ales were first class. I highly commend this site to you. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maistro 6 reviews from this member

 We got a good forecast and thought we would go away for the night.

As the site isn't far away and only open for a short period at the moment, we thought we would give it a try.

On arrival we met the owners along with two friendly dogs, the field was flat. Toilets, shower, rubbish bin and water were all handy.

We put the tent up and Glyn came over to make sure everything was okay, he even brought us some eggs, a nice touch.

We had a few drinks and dinner at the farmers over the road.

Hopefully all will go well with this new site as we feel it will be good for the area. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pool Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pool Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pool Farm Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridgend      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1231 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement