Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Scaldbeck Cottage Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Scaldbeck Cottage Campsite
Stiffkey Road
Morston
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 7BJ
Tel: 01263 740188
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 3 to 6
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sichef1504 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from another fabulous weekend at scaldbeck cottage met some really nice people it's a basic site but I think all the better for it

Beautiful scenery around Morston and Blakeney with easy access to Wells next the Sea and Cromer and all along the coast by the coast hopper bus

All in all a great site with great owners in a wonderful part of the UK

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sichef1504 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely site

Just got back from a long weekend here

Very welcoming owners and clean facilities

Nice flat large pitches in 1 field short walk to the Anchor pub great food and beer

Lovely walks straight out onto the marshes and coast path Blakeney about 20 minute stroll

I camped alone and travelled there by public transport and I'd emailed previously asking if they sold logs but they didn't but the owners offered me a lift to Blakeney so I could get some not many places would do that

Will definitely be back here

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ellabell 1 review from this member

Lovely location and very peaceful and tranquil. For a weekend a great spot but if you are staying for any longer the facilities are extremely limited. No hot water in the sink in the toilet to wash your hands and no hot water at the wash up sink in the field - also only the one toilet in the one shower cubicle so you may understand more about somebody else's business than you wanted to! It is only for this reason we have marked this site down, if you are ok with extreme rustic toilet/shower facilities, then it is a great site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catherine-83 1 review from this member

My husband and I have just returned from 5 days of camping at Scaldbeck Cottage and we had the most wonderful time. We usually stay further down the coast but decided on a change of scenery and it certainly is some of the most amazing scenery. The campsite is literally a stone's throw from the marshes (and I can't throw!) just the other side of a line of trees. It is the quietest, most serene campsite we have ever been to apart from the birds who start early on their dawn chorus, I can't say this was a bad thing to be woken up by!

We decided to have breakfast cooked for us half way through the holiday and it was really tasty, try the homemade jams as they are amazing! As you will read from other reviews there is only one loo and shower together, however, there were times during our stay that the site was full to their quota of 12 people and I had to wait once for a matter of 20 seconds, I couldn't see this as an issue. There were also times when we had the campsite to ourselves which was bliss.

We weren't really that interested in birdlife but they certainly persuade you to be interested, it's teaming with wildlife on the doorstep. There is a pub in the village, the seal trips on the quay, and it's only just over a mile (you can walk the coastal route or drive) to Blakeney which has a good selection of restaurants/pubs and some shops.

This campsite is certainly on our saved list, a wonderful stay.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PaulaMB 19 reviews from this member

We love this site and have stayed there many times. It is only about 45 minutes from home and the place we think of for a very quick break if we happen to be at home and the weather is good.

Five or six tents max. One shower and toilet (they are together so you do have to wait at times) which are perfectly decent and clean enough (perhaps not if you are a clean freak). Basically an outside loo on the house with a shower in it.

Campfires allowed unless everything is bone dry and then common sense prevails.

Lovely owner and we have always met lovely fellow campers at this place, sort of place where we end up sharing dinner/drinks with other campers.

Plenty of room for the few tents they have. Horses in the immediate field next door (well, same field actually with electric fencing). Some picnic tables (I think there is one per tent pitch).

Lovely location for walks along the coastal path.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tigi 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks camping at Scaldbeck Cottage. We were delighted with it and found it to be a very friendly, welcoming place, especially the owner. Because it is so small, we got chatting to the other campers and swapped tips of places to visit/ eat. The facilities are basic, but the toilet/shower area was clean and adequate for the number of people the site caters for. We were able to use the chest freezer in the house to freeze our blocks for the cool box. You are close to the main road, but the noise didn't disturb us and it was not particularly noticeable. The 2 resident chickens are very curious. The wood pigeons are numerous and noisy!

Be warned that the ground is extremely hard, rock pegs are recommended, and to put them in at a steep angle. We loved the fact that we were directly on the coastal path and could walk and cycle to pretty villages/towns from the site. We bought a lot of locally prepared seafood and samphire from kiosks and shops on beaches and in the villages. We also bought fruit and had fantastic coffee and cakes at Wiveton farm shop. Another place worth visiting is Fellbrigg Hall, the walled garden is beautiful. Next time we will take advantage of the Coastal Hopper bus, which is very well used by tourists and locals alike, and do more walking.

We had mixed weather, but the rain passed through quickly, and you can watch all the weather systems coming through. Fantastic sunsets and massive expanses of sky over Morston and Blakeney.

Definitely a place to return to.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soul Cyclist 3 reviews from this member

The location of this site is excellent for the coastal path and the site itself with all the random boats, broken tractor and other machinery has an eccentric feel to it. Yes the facilities are basic and the one thing that lets it down is the toilet and shower being in the same room. This aside the location is great, especially if you want to leave your car and walk or cycle. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizziee 3 reviews from this member

We were a little disappointed with this site as the reviews we had read made it sound little short of paradise!

Pros:

- The location is fantastic, right next to the marshes and the North Norfolk Coastal Path.

- there is plenty of space, the pitches are flat and the grass short

- there is plenty of hot water for showering

Cons:

- Contrary to some reviews (not on this website) it is not quiet. The site is one small paddock away from the very busy, noisy main coast road

- the site is actually just a scruffy field, with a junk yard on one side. The choice of views from your tent are main road or junk yard!

- there is no fridge facility for freezer blocks

- washing up is in an outside sink in cold water

- the all in one shower, loo and wash room was very basic, and was not cleaned once in the five days we were there! It got pretty disgusting so we cleaned it best we could ourselves.

- whilst we were there gangs of builders turned up with cement mixers and other heavy (and very noisy) equipment at 7am. Not quite the peaceful break we had anticipated!

Because of the location I've scored it average.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentgirl21 4 reviews from this member

This campsite falls under the description of a tiny campsite. What this means is that there can only be 6 tents at any one time.

The facilities includes one unisex toilet and shower with plenty of hot water. This is adequate since the site is so small.

What makes this site so fantastic is that it is situated right next to the marshes and Morston Quay, where one can go on a seal-watching boat trip. One can go for walks for miles around and the scenery is breathtaking and one can easily take fantastic photos without really trying.

BBQ's are allowed as long as it is off the ground.

It is also very near Blakeney with it shops and pubs.

The entrance to the campsite from the main road was a bit difficult to spot when we were there but one can always use Google Earth.

The grass is short and where we pitched the ground was flat. Be careful, though not to pitch your tent in front of the owner's garden.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1403 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019