Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Valley Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Site Reviews

Valley Farm Campsite
Lane House
Farmoor
Oxford
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX2 9NL
Tel: 07803 891631  or  07767 402944
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Denise oastler 1 review from this member

Lovely rustic site in a great location. It is conveniently placed to give very frequent and regular access by bus into Oxford city centre. It is tranquil and fuss-free without the need for excessive rules to be imposed everywhere and therefore visitors are expected to respect the site to make it an enjoyable experience for everyone else. The owners live on site and are very friendly, helpful and available if need be. The toilet and shower facilities are currently being refurbished and looking great. This site is definitely worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michelle C C 2 reviews from this member

Lovely views and easy access to Oxford (we used park and ride). Lots of room for kids to run around and quite peaceful. Friendly donkeys. What really let it down were the toilet facilities. They were frankly appalling. Two toilets and one woefully inadequate shower (1) for ladies and same for men all presumably running off the house water supply so water was often just a dribble and sometimes didn't work at all. We were surprised that the owners could have so many pitches (including the glampers who also had to share these) with such limited facilities. I resorted to just a bowl wash as after trying multiple times I couldn't get into the showers without queuing for 30+ mins and was scared off by stories of boiling hot then freezing cold poor flow. We didn't even bother with the washing up area as only one sink was working. Granted it was August bank holiday and busy

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mildertduckling 1 review from this member

Stayed here for a night with my husband and two children. Lovely flat site with plenty of space and friendly owners. Good facilities, if basic, but very clean and well-maintained. Would be great for group bookings. Excellent value for money and will definitely be making a return trip! Only thing to mention is that there isn't much natural shade, which wasn't ideal on a very hot and sunny weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sueb78 2 reviews from this member

The facilities at this site are inadequate for the size of the site. We stayed over a bank holiday weekend and the one ladies'/gents shower and two toilets/two sinks were constantly in use, with long queues at times. The two washing up sinks had little drainage space and the step up to them was not wide enough, making it back-breaking to wash up, once you had managed to get a sink. If someone was in the shower while you were washing up then the shower would go cold (despite the 1 cost for a ten minute shower) and the water flow for washing up was abysmal. Some of our group didn't manage to shower for 2 days despite paying a lot for the glamping tents. For the price you pay, I would expect far better facilities. We won't be coming back unless they improve. Otherwise the site was pleasant and fairly well located.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffmorris 1 review from this member

A basic campsite with fine amenities. Showers, toilets and washing area were all good. Donkey's were great fun and enjoyable for the kids. Flat and open. Very relaxed owners. BBQ pits worth hiring. And a lovely walk to the reservoir - would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lukeledge 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here at short notice for an overnight after picking up new motorhome, so had no kit in the van and needed somewhere with a shower. Not as difficult to find as the reviews make out, but entrance is pretty narrow! Nice open field for camping, fairly flat, relaxed owner. Toilet block was small but ok, had to pay 1 for a shower. Thought 20 for the night was a little high, but otherwise fine.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nelleke van Schoonh 4 reviews from this member

Difficult to find, a very narrow road.

This is a great campsite when you have nice weather! We had a lot of rain. It's an open site with nearly no shelter. Lots of noise from the road and airplanes.

The toilet block is really small, not too clean and there was every day a lack of toilet paper. One toilet seat was loose. No cover on washing up area although I read this is in project (written in 2014?). Too bad there are no family showers, with 10 minutes time you can easily shower with more people.

Great: we went up to Oxford by bus (awful walk beside a very busy road). On the way back: Please tell the driver you stay at the camping and he will stop right before the entrance!

We absolutely won't come back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lornemcd 1 review from this member

Avoid this site in very wet weather unless you are on hardstanding. The field gets very boggy in very wet weather. We got stuck and only got out with difficulty and help. We do not have a 4x4. We also found the driveway a tight squeeze because of parked cars, causing us to brush against the hedge. Otherwise a lovely site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PamnJim 6 reviews from this member

Pitched ourselves anywhere as instructed, with EHU. Owners very friendly and obliging. We feel they have let the site slipped a little as could do with a bit of tlc. Site is quiet with beautiful views. Oxford and Whitney very accessable especially by bus which is almost by the site. This B4044 is a rat run and VERY busy. To access the general store & Resevoir, although not sign posted on the site, is via the right hand corner of the site and follow the field walkway. New arrivals not monitored and being the week-end we were soon coralled by 6 large tents/families/cars & many children. Plenty of room elsewhere. Only 1 shower & 2 loos for each gender, believe not regularly cleaned, hair & mud in the shower which did not drain away due to blockage. Access to showers via a 12' step. Doubtful if we will return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gracenj 1 review from this member

A group of friends and I stayed here for one night and really enjoyed our stay. Showers and toilets were small but clean and well-kept and didn't have to queue. 1 for the showers was reasonable.

Camping ground was small and quaint but not very busy. We were a group of nine and there was plenty of space around us. Families were there and other friend groups. The man who owns the site was welcoming and relaxed- his dog Popeye was welcoming too! The donkeys were fun and saw a few rabbits hopping around. There is a reservoir near to the site but didn't manage to visit it.

We did miss the turning into the site the first time because their sign is quite small. Even though it is right next to a main road, its a quiet atmosphere. This does mean that it is difficult to get to places without having a car. Info of local places to go were on a notice board and we tried to walk to the shops but turned around because after 25mins walking we couldn't find any main stores. But driving to stores is very quick. The barley field next to the campsite had a path cut through it which was nice to walk through. It is very close to a regular bus service into the city too.

I would definitely come here again and recommend it to others who want to stay close to Oxford but far enough away in the country.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2758 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019