Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Threlkeld Hall Touring Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Threlkeld Hall Touring Site Reviews

Threlkeld Hall Touring Site
Threlkeld
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4SX
Tel: 01768779211  or  07825711008
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 61 Reviews
                10/10 from 61 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Truediamond 84 reviews from this member

There are now more pitches here than when we last visited but the other facilities have been extended to match. We did feel, though, that it was much better suited to caravans than motorhomes.

Although each pitch has a grey water disposal point, it's not sited to get a motorhome o

Utlet above and there isn't a central point to dump grey water. Similarly, having a sink to wash dishes/prepare vegetables would be a benefit.

Anyway, this is still a great site. The extra male& female toilets and showers are welcome, even if they were never busy during our stay.

The views are great and it's an easy walk to the village for a meal or the bus.

The night sky was clear and marvellous too.

Another one to come back to.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jondy376 57 reviews from this member

Just arrived home after 8 nights at Threlkeld Hall touring site.

The site is well thought out, with very spacious super pitches all having fantastic views, the site is very well maintained with new toilets and showers added this year.

We found the location really good for walking, eating out and tourist attractions.

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Janlou 5 reviews from this member

What a lovely warm welcome we received from the owner of this site when we arrived at the start of our 2 day visit and she was more than happy to spend time with us, giving us information on where we could eat and walks from the site. This is a well kept site in a beautiful setting. The pitches are spacious and fully serviced with EHU, water and tv aerial socket. The toilet/shower block is modern, warm and kept very clean. The Vodafone and Three mobile phone signals are also very strong from this site. An easy 10 minute walk along the bridleway takes you into the village where there are two pubs to choose from if you’re looking for something to eat or drink - no problem to walk there even in the dark if you have a torch. There is also a bus running into Keswick every hour if you fancy trying somewhere a bit further afield. On top of this you are surrounded by the most amazing views - what’s not to like!
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Juliemarie 3 reviews from this member

We visited here for 4 nights. Pitches are huge ! We had lovely weather. Walked into Keswick from site (approx 5 miles) had to go via the cycle path as the walk along the old railway is under restoration, got the bus back. Keswick is fab, so dog friendly. Went to Ullswater and took the boat over the lake to Pooley bridge. Ate at the Horse and Farrier twice & the golf club once. Would definitely recommend. Only 1 toilet & shower each for gents & ladies. Owners were very friendly. There is a lovely walk along the stream on the way down to the golf club, handy for a morning with the dog. We didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted to. We will definitely be returning, we loved it.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kcg1969 6 reviews from this member

We made a last minute booking here on the way back to Scotland from Wales. Our van is really too big to go too far into the Lakes so somewhere with easy access is needed. It is about 2-300m from the A66 and so isolated from the traffic noise.

Pitches are really good with plenty of space and fully serviced. It is on a working farm but that really doesn't impact at all. Even our dogs didn't seem to take too much notice of the rams in the field in front.

As others have said, only single toilet/shower for the 16 or so pitches (I'll come to that later). That said my son nor I never had any waiting issues but my wife daughter did - we heard from other tourers that another building was getting renovated as an additional toilet.

We ate in Horse and Farrier pub in the village and also the Golf Club. The former a bit fancier and the latter a more conventional pub fayre - more my style!

No facilities for the kids but we knew that and we were the only family there that I could determine.

Last point - there are 16 (IIRC) hard standing pitches in the main area arranged around the edge of a field in a crescent shape. This gives a great feeling of space. But soon after we arrived (we got the last pitch) another 2 vans parked up just inside the main gate on the top of the hill on what looked like designated areas. If I got put there I would be pretty unhappy, so make sure you get one of the numbered main pitches (1-16).

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SnowyCol 4 reviews from this member

Superb access off the A66 from either direction, on arrival nobody at reception but found a very helpful young man in the workshop who offered us various pitches.

Once set up on our fully serviced pitch we were able to appreciate the wonderful views.

The pitch was level, and the awning goes on the hard standing, you will need rock pegs, there is no grass, each pitch is separated by shrubbery.

The facilities consist one shower, wc and hand basin per sex and are heated if required.

Chemical toilet point is good but is out doors without cover.

Dog walking is excellent with many options.

Keswick Golf Club is half a mile away and does good basic food, menu in facilities entrance.

Overall I rate this site as very good, I cannot comment on the friendliness of the owners as we did not meet them other than the young man on arrival.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Penfold147 2 reviews from this member

We arrived, late in the pitch dark, unable to see what the site was like, and as we had chosen it for the ease of being off a main road, didn't have expectations as to prettiness. However we awoke to a big Wow factor, totally unexpected, with snow capped mountains on either side of the caravan. The family are very friendly and welcoming, pitches clean, tidy and perfectly functional. Like others have pointed out the site could do with a couple more loos, however this didn't spoil anything because the toilet and shower were immaculate, upmarket and toasty warm.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bea5tie 1 review from this member

We absolutely love, love, love this site. Wish so many folks did NOT know about it as hard to get in it is so popular. Pitches are big and fully serviced. Tracy and Andrew could not be more helpful if they tried. The whole area is stunning. I could go on all day about how lovely this site is. We tried it as a stopover and never left.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 84 reviews from this member

What's not to like?

This Site sets all sorts of standards:

* Location - beautiful views of Blencathra and easy access to the Hills. Very handily placed for the A66 and a 10 minute walk from the village. There is an hourly bus service to Keswick and Penrith from Threlkeld.

* Facilities - there may only be one set of Mens' & Womens' washrooms/toilets with another set on the way but they are impeccably clean and well equipped.

* Pitches- all the pitches ( there are now 15 or so) are fully serviced and even have waste water disposal.

* Owners - very welcoming and helpful owners who showed us to our pitch and explained the set up.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janey47 22 reviews from this member

We had an overnight stop here enroute to Scotland. We were met by Adam the owners son. A delightful young man who was very helpful and informative. The pitch sizes are large and level with grey water drain fresh water tap electric and TV aerial point. The surrounding scenery is stunning and there are some lovely walks directly from the site.

The only negative for me there was only one toilet and one shower for the ladies. Although the site was full it was spotlessly clean and fresh.

We were told they are in the process of converting a farm building to extend the toilet and shower facilities.

I would definitely return to this site with my dog for a walking holiday.

Although it is ideal for a stop off the M6 as it's only a few miles from the Keswick junction.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3353 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020