Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Spital Tower
Denholm
Hawick
Borders   (Browse area)
TD9 8TB
Tel: 01450 870092
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30 Pitches, 4 Safari Tents & 20 Wild Woods Pitches
Open: March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnm3487 3 reviews from this member

Not usually one for writing reviews but here goes.

Excellent staff, make you feel welcome as do the neighbours /owners? in the nearby houses. Every one was willing to have a chat asking if we were enjoying our stay.

Visited with grandson, on our first camping expedition. We must have looked a sight after two nights in the woods with wood smoke and minimal washing (our choice) digging, foraging and fire wood harvesting (just to top up the daily bag of logs provided). We were at pitch 7 at edge of Home wood, other visitors arrived just after we had, David came over to say hello and suggested that the kids Sam and my grandson (Logan) joined forces for the two night stay along with Jim (4) who would be along later with his family (sorry cannot remember your names guys. Whole atmosphere was friendly and helpful. According to David this was the norm.

Getting kit to Home wood was easy, staff transferred our belonging up to the pitch and gave us a tour. (Again cannot remember names sorry guys and lassies you deserved better mention than this).

Blessed with decent dry weather grandson 4. 5 years decided he wanted to climb the Ruberslaw hill. We got most of the way up the first peak when Papa (me) decided on some mind games. I was carrying the intrepid explorer on my shoulder at the time but the outcome was that we ended up in Hawick for a cheese burger, Wild camping makes you hungry as does not eating our cereal in the morning due to me not securing milk out of reach of marauding locals (badger). I caught sight his broad rump as I looked out the tent when asking him to kindly leave the premises. The next night all bags were raised of the forest floor which seamed to flumux the locals either that or they don't like semi skinned milk, as all our resources were still present in the morning.

The site is excellent appears well run, having the toilets at the hub was a god send as the young intrepid explore was not for bearing any skin in the thunder box. There were no unpleasant odors from the closest one to pitch 7. What would have made the experience better:

For me I need a better sleeping bag as I was cold during the night!

Logan an extra two three or six nights(his words)

Owners and staff do nothing you have a winning formula!

Of course I will be back

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PRich 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at ruberslaw for the first time and it is absolutely amazing! It does exactly what it says on the tin. 5 star! Ruberslaw caters for whatever type of camper you are. The one who likes the convenience of quality facilities. To the person who literally wants go 'wild' camping. There is the glamping facilities for in betweeners and even wild wood camping with running water but a bit more privacy than the main site.

With facilities including immaculate showers and toilets. Washing up area with a cooker, washing machine, toasters, kettles and fridges. Fab recycling. Barrows to transport your equipment. A wee shop for essentials. A gorgeous glass conservatory to use. Fire pits to hire. And a hub which has the largest communal fire pit I've ever seen that also has numerous picnic tables to use surrounding it (ideal for rainy weather). Well. As I said, 5 STAR!

Staff are exceptionally helpful, great walks nearby and a fabulous area to explore. Its a MUST!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The clampits 5 reviews from this member

I was with my wife and two children (10 and 12) and was looking for a wilder camping experience, Ruberslaw gave us a taste but allowed access to modern conveniences.

Their hub site was a 10 minute walk from the wild camping area, the hub area is a brilliant site for families with small kids, flat site, lots to do and the 'hub' makes for a safe haven if raining etc. Also no cars in the camping area feels safer for littlies.

We were wild camping and needed our gear taking to the wooded area as it was too off the beaten track for the car. This added to the feeling of being in the wilderness.

The site is a little wooded area with communal fire pits available, all very clean and quiet. Lots of birds and insects and one sighting of wild deer. There is water delivered, the efficient Thunderbox toilet and no other nods to civilisation. We all loved it, particularly looking up from the orange glow of our campfire to the patterns of stars through the trees surrounding us.

The owners are very helpful and friendly and run a tight ship. I was impressed with the entire set-up and would recommend this highly for anyone wanting to get a bit closer to nature than most campsites allow.

The site was central to the places we wanted to visit (Lindisfarne, the national park etc. )but beware of your sat-nav. Often we were taken down tiny windy 'shorter routes???'

I would thoroughly recommend this site for families with younger kids or families wanting a bit more adventure. A lovely time had by all

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IanandRach 1 review from this member

Our first camping effort for over 20 years and couldn't have chosen better. Facilities and maintenance of the site are excellent and Ali & Alan are constantly available to help with any queries and impart local knowledge.

Neatly mown and defined pitches in the walled garden supported by spotless washing facilities and amenities are all you could possibly want.

Will definitely return and recommend to friends/family (already booked for May 2015).

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fay Fife 14 reviews from this member

Gorgeous, rustic little camp site set in a walled garden. We were there sans kiddy hoping for a nice (and very rare) coupley break in peace, but it was still the tail end of the English summer holidays so the place was pretty busy and overrun with kids. Our stay was anything but serene as we still had to listen to children whinging, crying and shouting even though we'd left our own little treasures at home. The site is small and there was no escaping them. Ended up a bit of a busman's holiday for us unfortunately.

Would definitely go back but either with our own kids in tow or outwith the school holidays.

The facilities were excellent and the staff very pleasant.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Themgs 10 reviews from this member

Our first time camping after 35 years was a success due mainly to the choice of campsite. In a lovely area and tents only.

The site itself is mainly in a walled garden and mainly individually mown pitches (small, medium and large). The facilities block had male and female toilet and washing facilities leading to mixed shower block. All hot water was free. Dish washing facilities were provided undercover, and included oven, fridge, kettle, microwave and boot washing.

The running and maintenance of the site was second to none and management were always around to solve any problems or give you advice on the area. There was also shelter in case of inclement weather in the large green house or the communal hub. An excellent site run by people who understand campers. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sandy27 4 reviews from this member

Possibly the best campsite in the world! The owner and managers think of absolutely everything you would need. Everything is of a high quality. The showers are spacious and immaculate and there was never a queue. The kitchen was useful both for cooking and meeting fellow campers. There were numerous fruit trees and lots of wildlife. It's a great area for walking and cycling. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Susiejp 1 review from this member

Camping doesn`t get much better than this!

The site is in such a beautiful area, rolling green countryside with lovely walks and cycling.

This is a review for the field camping within the walled garden. The site also has camping in the woods.

Park your car in the car park, load up the trolley provided and wheel it to your pitch which will not be far away if staying within the walled garden. The pitches are well marked with lovely wild flowers and grasses bordering all pitches so no chance of anyone encroaching on your pitch. The site is so neat and tidy, grass in lovely condition. Woodchip paths snake around the site to make sure people do not walk over your pitch.

All the facilities are in The Hub which is a large barn structure with huge open fireplace and round wooden tables and benches. There is a small kitchen area with 2 washing up sinks/boot wash and a fridge for your use (only 5ft fridge without freezer so will be full when campsite busy so do not rely on being able to use it at busy times). There is also a microwave and kettle. The washing machine was broken during our stay. There was a rotating washing line thingy also.

There are 3 ladies toilets/4 sinks (presume same for men). 4 showers in unisex shower block all within Hub. Push button powerful and hot showers with small changing area in each one.

We have a 4 year old boy who had a great time. He made friends and enjoyed exploring. I think this site is more suited to younger children (under 10). There is a flat play area about the size of a bowling green and another area in front of the greenhouse. Games are provided in the greenhouse eg. Giant jenga / croquet / boules / giant dominoes for your use. Wi-Fi also available in hub for free and phone / laptop recharging point.

You can use your own fire pit or hire one with logs and BBQ grate for 5. Quite a few midges and horseflies around during our stay so having a smokey fire was a godsend. There was no noise after about 10pm.

We are looking forward to a return visit to this well run family friendly campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mandoli 3 reviews from this member

One of the best campsites I have ever visited. Amazing location, quiet and green with lots of trees and yet only a short drive from Denholm and Jedburgh. Pitches are very spacious. We loved the huge barn with open fire and tables. Very handy communal kitchen with all appliances, great when the weather is bad. Clean, new toilets and showers. Some of the pitches are within a walled garden with views over a very charming conservatory. Staff very helpful and available. Great idea about safe facilities to light individual fires. Great area for quiet walking, just across the border from Northumberland and not as busy as Peebles.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cazzaj 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a weekend at this fantastic site. It has good sized pitches in a fantastic setting. The kids loved all the games available in the Edwardian greenhouse and the huge play area in front of it. There are also woods behind the campsite which were great for them to play in and build dens or be explorers. As cars aren't allowed onto the site, its really safe for little ones to run about by themselves.

You can hire a fire basket which comes with logs etc and is fantastic for warmth and keeping away the midgies! The hub has picnic benches round a large fire and undercover which is great for when its wet and the small kitchen area has a kettle, cooker and microwave. Though I didn't really see anyone use the cooker and microwave. There is also phone charging and we had full signals and internet on our phones.

The toilets/ showers were always clean and are lovely and warm due to their underfloor heating. The couple who run the site are very friendly and helpful and always willing to give you pointers on things to do. They also want to ensure you are enjoying your stay and if there is anything you need. Initially when booking, I did think it was slightly expensive but having been there, I'd say it was worth every penny.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3294 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!