Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glamping Thorpe

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Glamping Thorpe Reviews

Glamping Thorpe
Banbury Road
Thorpe Mandeville
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX17 2HA
Tel: 07973 294495
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kimster 1 review from this member

 A truly amazing visit. Booked as a last minute birthday getaway, we couldn't have chosen a better location.

We were made to feel welcome from the onset. Welcomed and shown to our caravan we were made to feel as though there wasn't anything that would be too much trouble.

After a very satisfying dinner at the Three Conies (supplied with a powerful lantern to find our way)we were set to return for an evening outside sat by the fire. A chiminea was cleverly set up next to the caravan with plenty of wood supplied to last through the evening. A perfect place to sit and chat over a few drinks.

Instead of being greeted with a barrage of rules and time restrictions, we were made to feel relaxed and comfortable and even offered ice for our drinks as we sat outside into the night.

Breakfast bought to your caravan at anytime requested was a treat. Beautiful duck eggs and bacon - perfect.

Take the tractor ride and view the surrounding country side. A perfect ending to a lovely night spent at Glamping Thorpe.

Bearing in mind we visited in October and it was a tad nippy, we were warm and had a lovely hot shower in the morning in the ingenious bathroom.

If your looking something laid back, unusual, truly relaxing and unintrusive - book up 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Gillian.berridge 1 review from this member

 My husband and two children aged 10 and 15 have just come back from a 2 night stay at Glamping Thorpe. We stayed in the converted Bedford Horse Lorry which was great fun and was surprisingly spacious, clean and well equipped. It has a lovely little multi fuel burner which kept us warm and cosy even when the weather was not at its best and Paul provided us with plenty of logs and smokeless fuel to keep us going.

There is a converted horse box in the field where the Horse Lorry, Gypsy Caravan and Shepherds Hut are situated. The horse box acts as a large shower room and also includes a large sink for washing up. There is plenty of hot water and space for very young children to shower with their parents. The toilet is a composting toilet in a separate wooden wigwam type structure which was very adequate and I was pleasantly surprised how clean and smell free it was.

We were allowed to use the neighbouring field to play rounders and team games which meant we didn't have to worry about disturbing other guests and meant that children have plenty of space to run off steam. The accommodation is well placed to ensure privacy, although being 600 feet above sea level it can be windy. I would therefore recommend taking a couple of windbreaks, warm jackets and blankets to help stave off the cold if you are planning to sit out in the evenings. Kites for the children would also be recommended.

The owners are very attentive and great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble including helping us source the material we needed to dig and build a fire pit which all added to the outdoors experience and helped keep us warm in the evenings. We would recommend the cooked breakfast and also the local pub whose food and welcome were equally good. All in all a great experience if a little chilly due to the windiness of the site. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ben Yates 1 review from this member

 Pleasant enough if you enjoy roughing it, but more then a little over priced for what was available. The hosts were friendly when we could find them, but we were very much left to ourselves. That may be what some would want but it would be good to have someone available to answer basic queries. The farm animals were adorable, but not at 5 a. M. When they woke us with a dawn chorus.

Don't get me wrong, I am an animal lover but love my sleep too! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Paul and Bec 1 review from this member

 Me and my partner have just come back from a lovely night's stay at the beautiful 'Glamping Thorpe Farm'.

I cannot speak highly enough of the site, facilities, experience and most of all the welcome we received from the owner and his family. The quaint caravans are as beautiful as the pictures on their website suggest, we arrived, he greeted us and could not do enough for me and Bec to feel welcome, homely, comfortable and relaxed.

The local pub, the Three Conies, is idyllic for a few glasses of wine on a warm Saturday afternoon. Again - they couldn't have made us feel more welcome. The owner ran us there on his quad bike over his fields for that true 'Arrival in style'. Breakfast was perfect, and I was introduced, I'm ashamed to say, to duck eggs for the 1st time. A night time fire ensued and before we knew, it was midnight and the day had passed without so much of a frown.

I really could go on for page after page on how wonderful the site and family are - we felt like we'd made friends in fact.

To wrap this up, I think the fact I have never ever felt the need to write a review in my whole 30 years of existence until today, and also that we spoke about our next visit on the hour long drive home says it all.

We will be sure to be back next year, this time bringing with us the family (And my partners Mother) the only thing I ask that you change for our next visit (Bearing in mind that the mother in law will be coming) is that you move her caravan, into the next field.

Visit the farm - you will not regret it.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kristywilks 1 review from this member

 Me and my boyfriend came here for his birthday, we had never heard of this before so wanted to give it a go. As soon as we got there we knew we were going to love it!

The owner and his family were so so helpful, checking if we needed anything, helping us on what to do as we didn't know the area.

The place itself was amazing, we had lots of our own space, enjoyed our 'garden' area outside the hut, were we had many of great nights watching the sunset, with the log fire and cooking with the bbq. The hut we stayed in was lovely, clean, had a very comfy bed, everything we needed. Was so relaxing having no tv or noise around us, the family were very kind too offer if we needed too recharge our phones.

The bathroom on the site was very clean, hot shower which is a plus.

The best part of the trip was the luxury tractor ride we went on, all round the farm. Loved it.

We have planned our next visit here as we enjoyed our selfs so much, fun for all ages.

Will be coming back soon with family and friends! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Mjc77 1 review from this member

 What a lovely place, and such truly lovely hosts. The owners were thoughtful, generous and so helpful - they couldn't do enough for us. We were the first guests in their new 'shepherd's hut' and had such a memorable stay!

As it was meant to rain, they offered to put up a gazebo right next to the hut for us, which worked out perfectly. We loved sitting out with the chiminea fire and we cooked our dinner outside and roasted marshmallows - a heavenly change from our life in London!

The shepherd's hut itself is decorated adorably, with lovely matching greens and oranges, and provides really almost everything you need (no doubt the few things we lacked will be added shortly!)

This is a great experience for 'uncertain' campers as it provides some creature comforts while still giving you the outdoor, countryside experience. And you can only chuckle to yourself as you stomp through the little field on your way to the (quite impressive) bathroom with its hot running water and pump toilet.

Our visit would have been even lovelier in nice weather, but even with wet grass and quite cool temps, we really had such a memorable and enjoyable time.

The owner took us for a ride on his heavy-duty quad bike, bombing along up and down their land and showing up the beautiful views - so fun! Quite unexpectedly, they also have a number of tanks (!) and he plans to have an option in the future for tank rides - what a riot!

We also had a nice chat with our neighbours in the gypsy cabin and they also seemed really pleased with their stay. Theirs was an anniversary celebration; ours was for my birthday, and we recommend this for a really special little getaway for an occasion or just a chance to enjoy the lovely country.

We couldn't recommend this spot enough! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glamping Thorpe child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glamping Thorpe?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Glamping Thorpe dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2825 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - 12v / 240V Avtex Freeview Play Full HD TV with built-in satellite decoder worth 379!