Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Chateau Des Tilleuls

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Abbeville > Chateau Des Tilleuls Reviews

Chateau Des Tilleuls
Rue De La Baie
Port Le Grand
Abbeville
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
80132
Tel: +33 03 22240775
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: March To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

We last stayed here a few years ago and there have been lots of improvements since then - a smart reception building, shop and cafe, and some interesting types of accommodation as well as the usual pitches and mobile homes. There is a variety of unusual tents to rent, some raised up on stilts, some described as "bivouacs", some "tentes suspendues", and four amazing and luxurious tree houses (one even has a sauna and a hot tub!) There are about forty touring pitches, generous in size, and lots of permanent pitches and chalets.

There appears to be plenty to do in high season, with a tennis court, basketball court and beach volleyball as well as a swimming pool, and three ponies and a donkey! In low season it was very quiet, but we enjoyed walking around the site, and listening to the birdsong. We even heard a turtle dove, which was a treat.

The main toilet block is fully enclosed, heated, unisex, and very smart and modern. Loos have seats and paper, showers are operated by the same fob that opens the barriers. You are allotted a certain amount of time but we found it ample, and the temperature is controllable. However the cubicles would benefit from an extra hook. The smaller second block is much more basic.

We stayed at this site on our way to the Dordogne and again on our way back. It's just over an hour's drive from the Tunnel, so it makes a very convenient and pleasant overnight stop.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grandad Kenny 28 reviews from this member

Pleasant staff in reception which is only open 2 - 5pm at this time of year, good parking area if you arrive early with toilets available next to reception. Pitches are grass and level although reversing a van on to the pitch in wet conditions can be a problem, pitches are big enough to drive straight on and manoeuvre the caravan once on the pitch. Water and drainage on each pitch, chemical toilet next to small shower block on next row up the hill. Toilet block is warm, showers are hot and there are washing machines and a dryer. Bread can be ordered at reception. Good site for a stopover en route north or south

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kempsons 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights on our way home. 2 adults, a 17 year old & 12 year old. We were told to select which pitch we wanted. The reception staff were very friendly and spoke great English. We went for one of the pitches at the top as they were really large, we have a caravan, extra wide awning and car and still had lots of space left. The pitches are separated by shrubs and trees and are well looked after. They were fully serviced.

There was a very clean block nearby which had 2 toilets, 2 wash basins & 2 showers. Further down there is a barn size block with plenty of showers, washrooms & the best toilets I have seen in France. The fob which opens the gate at the entrance also activates the shower so it is worth paying a refundable 10 to get an extra one. The toilets have seats & toilet roll which is unusual for France but are unisex (can't have it all).

We enjoyed playing crazy golf and my son used the gym. We had takeaway pizza from the bar area which was very good.

We visited St Valery sur Somme which Is very pretty and only about 10 mins away. It has a Lidl which do great croissants at fabulous prices.

We also went to Le Touquet which is very smart town even in the rain.

Would we return, definitely. Already looking at dates for next year.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardtur 3 reviews from this member

We stayed 11 nights at Chateau des Tilleuls with our three children. I highly recommend it. Very pleasant staff. Pitches are spacious and have trees and bushes to demarcate them which give a certain degree or privacy. Electric, water and waste for each pitch. Children enjoyed swimming pool (which was outdoor but warm), bouncy castles (3 of them) + trampoline, play area, mini sports pitch for football, basketball etc. For a small charge children got to ride on the ponies. Toilets and showers fantastic.

Shop and bar very good. Fresh pastries ordered every day for our breakfast.

Somme area is well worth a visit. Especially St. Valery sur Somme which we visited 4 times! Nearby war cemetary at Noyelles. Also delightful cafe down at Petit Pont by the Somme canal - about 1km away.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Argente4 15 reviews from this member

Used this site twice as an overnight stop on our way to and from the ferry at Calais.

Nice reception on arrival. They spoke English (their choice after hearing my pitiful attempts at French!), and went through everything we needed to know about the site. We were given a small metal tag which is required to activate the showers and also operates the entry and exit barriers. We were also given wristbands in case we used the pool.

The pitches are terraced but all are flat and ours didn't require any levelling. We had water, electric and waste on our pitch and the pitches were marked by a variety of mature shrubs, giving a fair bit of privacy. They all appeared to be quite large.

Our nearest toilet block was a sort of log cabin with two each of toilets, wash cubicles, and showers. All were of a good standard and clean, with toilet roll and loo seats.

The pool was heated but quite deep. I'm 5'4' and could only just stand up, so it was too deep for a lot of children, and the paddling pool was only a few inches deep. However, it was heated, and very welcome after a days travelling.

There's a supermarket about a five minutes' drive away (reception will give directions), which also has a petrol station.

The area looks lovely and we are hoping to return for a longer stay.

Only negative is the state of the main site road- quite steep and very pot-holed.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Razzyb 5 reviews from this member

We chose this site for 1 night on return from holiday further south. Well organised, big site with lots of facilities. We were given a choice of places - all sectioned off with privacy and seemed good generally. The staff spoke English rather than suffer my French, and were helpful. The shop/ bar/ club/ shop seemed big and well organised but the toilet facilities seemed limited for the amount of campers. Showers were limited by time, but ok. We didn't sample all the facilities but they seemed good. Location was handy for Calais/ coast. Not sure what else is nearby- seemed like a drive to nearest town.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Anniesmith76 2 reviews from this member

Stopped for 4 nights in a static 3 bed mobile home as a last minute break. Access is straight off the a16 calais road, about an hr from eurotunnel.

As others have said the site ia a mix of new and refurbished or being extended under cureent owners.

Mobile home was brilliant brand new and very clean. Had a look at camping area and toilets, showers and pitches were spotless and generous in size.

The campsite is a great base from which to explore the lovely somme area, le crotoy is nice but at valery sur somme is stunning. Take the kids to amiens zoological park as its great value and brilliant for kids.

The campsite had a small kiddy pool and a mesium sized heated rectangle pool which was heated. The site also has a climving frame and swings, mini football and basketball pitch, 2 table tennis tables in the petanique area. Also are two very large trampolines and a small bouncy castle.

Small shop with basic provisions on site with a limited but tasty menu in the bar area which has table football, pool table and some indoor type racing ride.

This site is great for young kids as everything is close by but there simply wasn't enough for older children, say 8 yrs and over.

Lovely site all in all and great region to explore.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MikeC 10 reviews from this member

Found this site when looking for somewhere to use on the route home from another visit to Camping Le Picard in Tournieres. Site is close to the toll roads making it nice and easy to find and also making it an excellent stopping off point !

As others have said this site is clearly undergoing a lot of improvements, facilities are therefore mixed in terms of quality, Loo's in out area where first class, almost hotel bathroom style, but the showers that accompanied them where very dated, although the all worked and were nice and hot.

Pitches are very large for a French campsite, easily accommodating our twin axle caravan and full 3. 5 metre wide awning, along with the car, and still leaving space for impromptu games of badminton ! truly huge. Our pitch also had Water and electric hookup, including water drain, and as others have said a chemical emptying point, whilst the last one is handy, I'm less enthused than others as there's only one tap surely leading to people using the drinking water tap to clean the loo ! not a nice thought :)

Last observation is the site is very popular with French families, not a major issue, but there is a tendency for large groups of French teenagers to wander around the site at all hours (certainly up to midnight!), could feel threatening to some.

Would use again for a short stop over, not enough in the area to stay longer than a couple of days.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Ivor-tent 2 reviews from this member

Camped here last July in our tent and said we would return as we had a great holiday in 2013. Returned this year and weren't disappointed. Improvements all round, which is difficult as it was spot on last year. Rented a static this year and had an equally good stay. Toilets cleaned regularly, revamped diner and reception, new entrance and the Poubelle, (Bin area) moved away from diner, more activities and bigger site area owing to expansion. Looking forward to 2015 already.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 16 reviews from this member

This site is undergoing quite a transformation - new pitches, all with chemical disposal, new studio accommodation for those without their own outfits and while we were there the diggers were constructing a new entrance and re-aligning the road to make access easier (we were told this was a first for a campsite in France). The toilets were the smartest we had encountered in France and although the showers were older the temperature was adjustable. Being out of season the facilities were limited but being an Acsi off season site it was excellent value for money. We will be back.

Tip - as the site is terraced if you are not allocated a pitch drive up to the top row of pitches (currently nos 300) and stop to chose a pitch and then drive down to it. Saves clutch wear!

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Abbeville      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3504 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder