Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brightlycott Barton

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Barnstaple > Brightlycott Barton Reviews

Brightlycott Barton
Shirwell
Barnstaple
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX31 4JJ
Tel: 01271 850330
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 15th March-20th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mendipwalker 4 reviews from this member

We liked this site, had a level pitch with great views. It was quiet when we were there, apart from the odd gale!

Site access was OK, single track for a few hundred yards, but good visibility and very quiet. The toilets were fairly basic but clean. Agreed that waste water and elsan disposal points are not good, down steps!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Silvertopsandra 7 reviews from this member

This is a hard review to write as the site has so much to offer.

Easy to access, stunning views (in good weather) across to Exmoor, Dartmoor and Bodmin Moor on the horizon. Just inland to the many beaches on North Devon Coast, Barnstaple few minutes drive where all shopping needs can be catered for.

The site is 4 acres on three levels, the top has the best views, the second level views and probably the best level ground, and the lower needs levellers has restricted views.

Lovely play frame for the children.

The owner is a delight, couldn't be more pleasant.

Now the difficult bit, the facilities;

Showers: Floors an inch deep in standing water most of the time, no where to drain, no boards to raise you off the ground - so towels/PJ's/clothes got wet. Not easy to balance on one leg, put trousers on and avoid water! Couldn't push water anywhere after showering as it went into next door shower and the next, and through all cubicles.

Decent size cubicles but no seat or ledges, shower tray is slippery, no safety mat, concerned for children/older people. Push button control with no head adjustment, two hooks for hanging clothes/towels and wash bag. Only a small soap dish, nowhere to put shower gel/shampoo unless on floor of shower. Old dirty mop in metal mop bucket

Toilets: not very clean, pedestals looked as though they hadn't been cleaned properly for weeks. Loo brushes mucky, sanitary bins not emptied in three days, also rusty and mucky. No sanitary bags. One loo roll a day - when its gone. Its gone, no spares either in cubicle or in block. Standing water in cubicles most of the time. Notice in entrance asking to use loo paper sparingly as on septic tank - no choice as paper rationed! Not hygienic. Having been to loo, there are no soap dispensers by any of the wash basins (a single pot of hand soap appeared on the last day). Not hygienic. Great hand dryer though!

Rubbish bin in ladies full, not emptied during our stay.

Fridge/freezer, washing machine and dryer available.

One drinking water tap outside ablution block. Chemical toilet and waste water emptying facilities were very basic in old farm building, accessed by going down a flight of outside concrete steps. If one is young and strong then not a problem, I had to hold onto the rail and walk/roll the waste master down not easy when full of waste water - large drain with deep drop covered with heavy duty square mesh. CD basic.

Playroom: Old barn, fab size. Seen better days, dusty and unloved. Everything tired and mostly broken.

Coupled with the rain and winds, the facilities were just more than we could take. We left a day early.

I'm sorry to have written review like this as the site has tremendous potential.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 19 reviews from this member

This site is on a working farm and so does not have a traditional reception. When we arrived, the owner was out striming and so it took a little while for him to hear his mobile and come and greet us.

The views are amazing and are even better at the top of the site (the site is in various sections up the hill). There are some lovely flat pitches with hook-up at the bottom but most other pitches are a bit sloping, some much worse than others. We pitched in the top corner and the slight downhill was OK if you angled your tent right! The pitches were average size and clearly marked by black posts.

The site is in a rural setting which is very peaceful. There are swings and a slide right in the middle of the site - ideal for parents to keep an eye on children but potentially noisy if you are pitched nearby.

The washing up area is like a normal kitchen with large fridge freezer, washing machine and tumble drier, plus a couple of useful power sockets for charging phones or using hairdryers (the one in the shower block is free, but very slow.

The facilities were not dirty, but they were not that clean either! For example, only one soap dispenser in the ladies, old shower gels left lying around the whole time we were there, the bins in the ladies never seemed to be emptied.

The main downside of this site, though, is the showers. They are small with no shelves or chair for your belongings and not enough room to dress/undress in easily. But the worst thing is that they do not drain properly, and so you end up standing almost ankle high in soapy water (both from your shower and all the others around you!). The water also ends up all over the floors of the loos.

You could walk to Barnstaple along the country lane and a taxi is about 7 each way.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kershaw m 3 reviews from this member

Great campsite. Clean showers and toilets, a nice quiet campsite, very helpful. In a convenient place, near to many lovely spots and the landscape is wonderful. We were in a tent and the cost was 12 per night with use of fridge, freezer, washing machine and use of electric point. Would recommend to everyone

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ADSmith 7 reviews from this member

I used these reviews to support our decision to make an advance booking and we weren't disappointed with the outcome. Charles was out on the site when we arrived and suggested an appropriate pitch on the middle area where the ground is flat. Everything about the site is good, the toilet block was regularly cleaned, the showers were a good temperature though we all felt that the pressure could be a bit better. The site was certainly full and coped well with the odd instance of being short on WC paper. The washing up area, fridge/freezer, washing machine and tumble drier were all the way you would expect on a decent site. We used the site as a base to tour North Devon. Would recommend Clovelly and Lynton & Lynmouth. Barnstaple has everything you would want. Woolacombe Beach was packed on the hottest day this month but coped well, exceptionally clean and somewhere we are determined to return to in the future.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clove 1 review from this member

This site is an absolute delight! I parked at the top of the hill so it was a bit of a chore pulling up the aquaroll but it was well worth it for the view, which is spectacular. It's grass standings, the driveway is a bit rough and the showers a bit cold but the toilet block is otherwise good and the washing machine is free. The site fees are also very inexpensive and mobile and TV reception is excellent.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Quechappy 8 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite in early August. The owner Charles and his wife are great hosts who looks to make sure those on site are well catered for from arrival to departure. The pitch was a very generous size which could fit our car and tents with electrical hook up. There is a slight slope but nothing substantive. You need to bear in mind that you are high up there and so winds come across the valley. If it is very windy that is what guy ropes are there for!

The showers and toilets were clean. There is the issue of heating in the men's showers as it was not as warm and this could be to physics and demand. It was however warmer later in the day. There is a washing machine and a dryer (1) for use as well as washing facilities.

You are not far from Barnstaple and so you are close to major supermarkets etc within a 10-15 minute drive.

I cannot speak highly enough of Charles and his wife who made every effort to make our stay comfortable in some very challenging weather. I would recommend this site for North Devon and Exmoor for a quiet and relaxing base.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 9tiger9 14 reviews from this member

What a nice site, well located for our touring of North Devon. Charles the owner is very helpful, even offering to pull our van up the site and into its slot. The facilities are not the newest but very clean and servicable, if you are thinking they are old look like storage cupboards rather than showers ect and you have just emptied your chemical loo you are at the wrong end of the site ! These are the farm facilities, there is a newish block with everything you need at the far end of the site including a freezer and drying/washing room. Would we return, most definitely its a little gem.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oldmanbrown 1 review from this member

Great little site. Superb South facing views of North Devon countryside. Very laid back and relaxing. Charles the owner is brilliant, very welcoming and accommodating.

Nice clean facilities block, although the men's showers were a little on the weak and lukewarm side, with no adjustment. My wife said the ladies were nice and hot though.

Pitches are generally flat. We stayed at the top of the field, a very gentle downward slope, so Charles provided some chocks for my brother in law's camper van. There are hardstand pitches lower down the field too. It was not busy when we were there, but the pitch sizes are very generous so it wouldn't feel cramped even if full up. Would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charathome 5 reviews from this member

Visited late May Bank holiday for 3 nights. The site was fairly quiet and you could basically choose where you wanted to pitch. The site does has a slight slope.

The toilet block was clean and was nice to have everything in one block. Our only complaint would be the lack of hot water. Considering how quiet the site was it was surprising that the water was on the cool side in the mornings. Not sure how it would stand up when the site is busy.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4162 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019