Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brightlycott Barton

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Barnstaple > Brightlycott Barton Reviews

Brightlycott Barton
Shirwell
Barnstaple
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX31 4JJ
Tel: 01271 850330
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 23
Open: 15/03/2022 to 20/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Glosbill 28 reviews from this member

 In the book to return, ask for pitch with view. It is magnificent.

Fab site, excellent facilities. Hot showers.

Charles is a cheerful welcoming host.

Nice eggs too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: KRB79 1 review from this member

 We very much enjoyed our stay at Brightlycott Barton in August 2021. The site was clean, well maintained and we were welcomed by Charles Friend very warmly.

The views were beautiful being up high in the Barnstaple hills but easy to access town and beaches.

The showers and toilet facilities were very clean and the tumble dryer was useful after a damp day on Saunton sands.

We enjoyed the quietness of the site and the fact it wasn’t crowded at all with lots of space left for and open, green feel. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jowill 3 reviews from this member

 I go to Charles every year accept 2020 and 2021 because of covid so I booked again for end June 2021 I always get a warm welcome and there is plenty room for.

My dog to go for walks plus toilets are clean I give this site 5Gold☆☆☆☆☆. Joan willbye. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mendipwalker 4 reviews from this member

 We liked this site, had a level pitch with great views. It was quiet when we were there, apart from the odd gale!

Site access was OK, single track for a few hundred yards, but good visibility and very quiet. The toilets were fairly basic but clean. Agreed that waste water and elsan disposal points are not good, down steps! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Silvertopsandra 9 reviews from this member

 This is a hard review to write as the site has so much to offer.

Easy to access, stunning views (in good weather) across to Exmoor, Dartmoor and Bodmin Moor on the horizon. Just inland to the many beaches on North Devon Coast, Barnstaple few minutes drive where all shopping needs can be catered for.

The site is 4 acres on three levels, the top has the best views, the second level views and probably the best level ground, and the lower needs levellers has restricted views.

Lovely play frame for the children.

The owner is a delight, couldn't be more pleasant.

Now the difficult bit, the facilities;

Showers: Floors an inch deep in standing water most of the time, no where to drain, no boards to raise you off the ground - so towels/PJ's/clothes got wet. Not easy to balance on one leg, put trousers on and avoid water! Couldn't push water anywhere after showering as it went into next door shower and the next, and through all cubicles.

Decent size cubicles but no seat or ledges, shower tray is slippery, no safety mat, concerned for children/older people. Push button control with no head adjustment, two hooks for hanging clothes/towels and wash bag. Only a small soap dish, nowhere to put shower gel/shampoo unless on floor of shower. Old dirty mop in metal mop bucket

Toilets: not very clean, pedestals looked as though they hadn't been cleaned properly for weeks. Loo brushes mucky, sanitary bins not emptied in three days, also rusty and mucky. No sanitary bags. One loo roll a day - when its gone. Its gone, no spares either in cubicle or in block. Standing water in cubicles most of the time. Notice in entrance asking to use loo paper sparingly as on septic tank - no choice as paper rationed! Not hygienic. Having been to loo, there are no soap dispensers by any of the wash basins (a single pot of hand soap appeared on the last day). Not hygienic. Great hand dryer though!

Rubbish bin in ladies full, not emptied during our stay.

Fridge/freezer, washing machine and dryer available.

One drinking water tap outside ablution block. Chemical toilet and waste water emptying facilities were very basic in old farm building, accessed by going down a flight of outside concrete steps. If one is young and strong then not a problem, I had to hold onto the rail and walk/roll the waste master down not easy when full of waste water - large drain with deep drop covered with heavy duty square mesh. CD basic.

Playroom: Old barn, fab size. Seen better days, dusty and unloved. Everything tired and mostly broken.

Coupled with the rain and winds, the facilities were just more than we could take. We left a day early.

I'm sorry to have written review like this as the site has tremendous potential. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 21 reviews from this member

 This site is on a working farm and so does not have a traditional reception. When we arrived, the owner was out striming and so it took a little while for him to hear his mobile and come and greet us.

The views are amazing and are even better at the top of the site (the site is in various sections up the hill). There are some lovely flat pitches with hook-up at the bottom but most other pitches are a bit sloping, some much worse than others. We pitched in the top corner and the slight downhill was OK if you angled your tent right! The pitches were average size and clearly marked by black posts.

The site is in a rural setting which is very peaceful. There are swings and a slide right in the middle of the site - ideal for parents to keep an eye on children but potentially noisy if you are pitched nearby.

The washing up area is like a normal kitchen with large fridge freezer, washing machine and tumble drier, plus a couple of useful power sockets for charging phones or using hairdryers (the one in the shower block is free, but very slow.

The facilities were not dirty, but they were not that clean either! For example, only one soap dispenser in the ladies, old shower gels left lying around the whole time we were there, the bins in the ladies never seemed to be emptied.

The main downside of this site, though, is the showers. They are small with no shelves or chair for your belongings and not enough room to dress/undress in easily. But the worst thing is that they do not drain properly, and so you end up standing almost ankle high in soapy water (both from your shower and all the others around you!). The water also ends up all over the floors of the loos.

You could walk to Barnstaple along the country lane and a taxi is about £7 each way. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kershaw m 3 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Clean showers and toilets, a nice quiet campsite, very helpful. In a convenient place, near to many lovely spots and the landscape is wonderful. We were in a tent and the cost was £12 per night with use of fridge, freezer, washing machine and use of electric point. Would recommend to everyone 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: ADSmith 7 reviews from this member

 I used these reviews to support our decision to make an advance booking and we weren't disappointed with the outcome. Charles was out on the site when we arrived and suggested an appropriate pitch on the middle area where the ground is flat. Everything about the site is good, the toilet block was regularly cleaned, the showers were a good temperature though we all felt that the pressure could be a bit better. The site was certainly full and coped well with the odd instance of being short on WC paper. The washing up area, fridge/freezer, washing machine and tumble drier were all the way you would expect on a decent site. We used the site as a base to tour North Devon. Would recommend Clovelly and Lynton & Lynmouth. Barnstaple has everything you would want. Woolacombe Beach was packed on the hottest day this month but coped well, exceptionally clean and somewhere we are determined to return to in the future. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clove 1 review from this member

 This site is an absolute delight! I parked at the top of the hill so it was a bit of a chore pulling up the aquaroll but it was well worth it for the view, which is spectacular. It's grass standings, the driveway is a bit rough and the showers a bit cold but the toilet block is otherwise good and the washing machine is free. The site fees are also very inexpensive and mobile and TV reception is excellent. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quechappy 8 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite in early August. The owner Charles and his wife are great hosts who looks to make sure those on site are well catered for from arrival to departure. The pitch was a very generous size which could fit our car and tents with electrical hook up. There is a slight slope but nothing substantive. You need to bear in mind that you are high up there and so winds come across the valley. If it is very windy that is what guy ropes are there for!

The showers and toilets were clean. There is the issue of heating in the men's showers as it was not as warm and this could be to physics and demand. It was however warmer later in the day. There is a washing machine and a dryer (£1) for use as well as washing facilities.

You are not far from Barnstaple and so you are close to major supermarkets etc within a 10-15 minute drive.

I cannot speak highly enough of Charles and his wife who made every effort to make our stay comfortable in some very challenging weather. I would recommend this site for North Devon and Exmoor for a quiet and relaxing base. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brightlycott Barton child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brightlycott Barton?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Brightlycott Barton dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnstaple      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement