Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Pavillon Royal

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Bidart > Camping Le Pavillon Royal Reviews

Camping Le Pavillon Royal
Avenue Du Prince De Galles,
Bidart
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
64210
Tel: 0033 05 59230054
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Browny549 10 reviews from this member

Spent 2 weeks at this site. The location is superb with easy access to the beach and a free bus service taking to you to nearby Biarritz and Bidart. A mixture of pitches to suit your unit.

Very tight access to pitches and we had difficulty with access for our twin axle.

It has been mentioned out the wind issues. The site is on the cliff edge so wind can be a problem. One day the wardens went round the site to inform us that winds were expected to ensure awnings were tied down.

Facilities are good with entertain supplied if you wish. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theothertwin 16 reviews from this member

This site offers pitches for tents, motor homes and caravans. The plots vary in size and ground levels. Blocks may be required on some plots and not others but it is recommended for those on the front row overlooking the sea to have wind straps and more as high winds can develop in an instance.

The plots near the Reception area are shady and terraced, especially those for tents but the further the site drops towards the sea the terracing becomes less steep. The shelter that is provided by hedges at the top end also becomes less to the extent that at the top end you may not hear the sea whereas at the bottom end you can always hear it. We enjoyed our stay on plot 15 even though we were buffeted by the winds but the benefit of seeing and hearing the sea was adequate compensation!

Very clean toilets and showers with plenty of foot washes outside to wash sand and salt from wet suits and equipment. The site is very popular with surfers of all kinds from all over Europe. Converted vans stacked high with boards is a common sight.

Good shop and restaurant on site. Site has its own swimming pool for those who do not enjoy swimming in sea. Beach is supervised diligently by Lifeguards during the day. Some nudist bathing took place on the beach West of the steps onto the beach from the site. This access is controlled by key card gates.

Biarritz is a 15 minute cycle ride away and Bidart is slightly closer in the opposite direction. Largest supermarket 5 minute drive away with 24/7 fuel. Also Bricolarge for the ratchet straps we felt we needed in addition to the storm strap. Do not be put off by this comment, prepare well and enjoy this great site.

Multilingual staff on hand to help out as well.

No dogs, ball games or skate boards allowed.

We would go ack in a heart beat!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Iain Shaw 4 reviews from this member

I would recommend this site as it has a good surfing beach within metres of the campsite.

The bar /restaurant serves good food and wine and there is a shop which has most things including fresh bread every day. The shower/toilet blocks are modern and very clean.

The pitches are well sized and have the same type of electrical hook-up that is used in the UK. The reception staff are friendly and helpful.

There are free buses into Biarritz. Biarritz is worth the trip, good restaurants and bars and beaches.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Croyde_or_bust 16 reviews from this member

We visited this site the middle 2 weeks in September and had a very pleasant time, helped by nice sunny weather and some absolutely stunning sunsets. We did have a storm one evening into the night and boy that was a corker ! Very entertaining !

Finding the site was easy enough though access at the weekend can be tight thanks to the inconsiderate parking by locals.

Booking in was good and the reception staff (in fact all staff) were friendly and helpful.

Our initial pitch was a bit on the small side without a view of any sort but we later changed without any hassle and then had one much bigger and open, nearer the beach which made the holiday.

While on the subject of the beach, it is accessed by a security gate (swipecard) after which there is a terrace and then quite a number of steep steps to reach the beach, bear this in mind if one of your party had a disability, there is a handrail but it is steep.

The beach itself is georgeous, warm seas and you can walk a fair way in both directions, though watch the tides as they will cut you off if not careful. To the left is a large naturist section so beware haha! We actually went for the surfing and bodyboarding but after the first couple of days in went flat as a pancake and stayed that way lol.

As previously mentioned in other reviews it is part sloping and on the pitches nearer the beach you will need blocks as the slope is VERY deceiving.

Toilets and showers are excellent and there were enough of them.

The site has a large pool with a smaller square children's pool. Plenty of sunbeds and very under used during our stay.

The restaurant on site was very good value for money, with good food and pleasant service, as were the restaurants we visited in Biarritz and Bidart. One tip (gained from the locals) buy water at the table as the alcohol is expensive, the food is actually very reasonable both in quality and price.

The site has a good shop selling fresh bread, groceries and ice cream. Again the service is friendly. There is a supermarket about a 2-3 minute drive from the site which will supply nearly anything you may want.

As previously mentioned the site owners do appear to group people by nationality on site and yes the Germans had the pitches nearest the beach. Oh well.

Biarritz is well worth a visit, very picturesque with small coves, tiny marinas partly comprising of Regal buildings part Cornish Fishing Village, shopping for clothes though OUCH very expensive. It is not a quick walk but only 5 mins in the car and parking isn't too bad.

Travelling about locally was again very scenic and easy on the eye.

All in all I would go back as it is so peaceful and relaxing though my wife thinks it a bit too quiet. Judging by the number of Brits in particular who visit year after year, September is consistently a good month to do it.

Do take storm straps for your awning as when we did get a storm it was powerful in terms of wind and rain not surprising when you think that you are right beside the Atlantic. Many did take their awnings down and then put them back up the next day, we didn't and it survived.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 48 reviews from this member

We have been to this campsite twice now, in June/July 2013 and June/July 2014. The site itself is excellent. Pitches are large for this part of France but small compared to UK sites and the toilets and showers are plentiful and kept really clean. Many of the pitches are on a slope so you will need levelling ramps. The real draw of this site is that it is right on a beautiful sandy beach. There is a gate at the back of the site which leads to a flight of steps down the cliff onto the beach. The beach is fabulous but the waves are massive so unless you are a strong swimmer it might not be for you and is definitely not for small children. At low tide you can walk along the beach in one direction into Bidart and in the other direction into Biarritz. We tend to walk in the Biarritz direction and the walk takes about an hour to stroll along the beaches into the centre of Biarritz.

The site has a very nice pool complex with a large rectangular swimming pool and a smaller square children's pool. Due to the sites proximity to the beach the pool is hardly used so if you enjoy a good swim, you usually have the pool to yourself.

There is a small restaurant on site which I can't comment on because we never used it and there is also a very good shop selling fresh bread and a reasonable range of groceries and ice creams and beach equipment. There is a good sized intermarche supermarket about a 2-3 minute drive from the site and a great patisserie just up the road.

Staff on site speak good English. They are not the friendliest bunch I have ever come across but they are helpful when asked.

Out of peak season the site is not hugely busy. At the start of our time there this year the site was only about a tenth full and by the time we left it was about a quarter full but I was told by other campers that it is usually full in peak season. We left the day before peak season began as the price increases a lot as soon as peak season arrives. Campers are the usual mix of French, German, British and Dutch with a few other nationalities thrown in. If you ask for a specific pitch be aware that the site owners tend to group people by nationality on site. We asked for a particular pitch this year based on our experiences last year and when we got there and were given the pitch we asked for, we discovered it was in the German area and we were surrounded by German campers, the Brits were all at the other side of the site.

A word of warning though. This site may be in the south of France but it is still on the Atlantic Coast so the weather is very changeable and can be very poor. We stayed for 18 nights this year at the end of June and beginning of July and only got 2 sunny days. The other days were generally wet and windy, similar to what you would expect in a bad summer in Cornwall, just a bit warmer. Last year we were there for 10 days at the same time of year and although we had dry weather it was quite cloudy and very windy on a number of days. You definitely need storm straps for your awning and we had to rush and take ours down one day this year as the wind was so strong it was actually bending our steel awning poles. We looked out the window and saw everyone scrambling to get their awnings down and I am very glad we followed suit, the wind was frightening.

I'm not sure we will return to this part of France again due to the dodgy weather but if we do, we would definitely stay at this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Briary 14 reviews from this member

Took ferry from Plymouth to Santander and headed to this site for five nights. Prebooked back in April as had heard it was very busy. Not a cheap site but probably due to the fantastic location right next to a beautiful beach that is cleaned daily. Whilst we were there, there were always lifeguards on duty I suspect due to the high waves. Pitch was adequate and facilities first class. Staff very friendly and location superb. Lovely pool and lots to do for kids and families. Nice size of site, nice and peaceful in evenings. Will definitely return in future.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bidart      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5840 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019