Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Higher Moor Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > Higher Moor Farm Campsite Reviews

Higher Moor Farm Campsite
Nottington
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4BW
Tel: 01305 815199
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 89
Open: 22/03 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robbolee77 1 review from this member

 2nd year we've stayed here. And still love it. Even through this year was different due to covid19. But even before site was kept beautifully clean. And facilities are great. WiFi shop playground freezer for freezer blocks.

Washing /tumble dryers machines. Micro waves(not there at moment due to covid19) daniel and staff are always pleasant and there to help.

Pizza van on certain days. Ground coffee van. Hotdogs & chip van to. Days advertised on board.

Loved our stay and shall be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hmv4u 39 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week on this site and enjoyed our stay, the site is a mixture of caravan/motorhomes/tents and pods. You are allowed to pick your own pitch, there are water taps scattered through out.

There are 2 toilet blocks although one was closed presumably due to the season winding down, the remaining one was excellent and professionally cleaned every day. There is a small shop in reception and the staff were very good. There is a children's playground at the top of the site and despite using mainly adult only sites-due to the school hols ending there was little noise

The site is accessed through number controlled barrier

Small negative points-the site is gently sloping so the pitchs aren't dead level-take leveller's and the hard-standings are made of dirt and stones which tend to stick up through the awning floor covering. Price is reasonable compared to a lot of south coast sites and only a few miles from Weymouth.

Meal wise we ate at 2 pubs the Marquis of Granby and the old ship inn and had excellent meals in both. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ktcop 1 review from this member

 The best! Beautiful campsite, wonderful staff, great facilities and the vintage bar is a must.

Toilets and showers were spotless and modern. Beaches a short drive. Wonderful place.

Will be visiting again for sure. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kerryam30 1 review from this member

 Higher Moor Farm is a wonderful campsite. We stayed for a week with family and friends including children aged 5-14 years.

The toilets and shower facilities on site are impeccably clean. There is a wonderful park and a games barn for the children. They have a vintage marquee that hosts great entertainment and the owner of the campsite is amazing, he joins in and encourages everyone to get up and dance.

The atmosphere of the whole campsite is very friendly, happy and helpful. They also have a lovely shop on site selling local produce. This was our second holiday at Higher Moor Farm, our first time was August 2013 and we will be having many more holidays there in the future.

There are so many places to visit while staying there, Durdle Door, Lulworth castle, Lulworth Cove, Portland Bill, Corfe castle, Weymouth Beach, Chesil Beach, the Jurassic coast and so many more.

There is a lovely little pub called The Elm Tree Inn just a short drive from Higher Moor Farm, they serve delicious food and the management were very welcoming and friendly.

There is nothing I dislike about this wonderful campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: GriffFamily 1 review from this member

 Immaculate campsite, near, level pitches, clean and fresh toilets and showers.

Really family friendly, lovely little playground.

Close to Weymouth and the fantastic Jurassic Coast. A great base to explore from.

Owners really friendly and helpful.

Will return as soon as possible! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chipsandchops 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly Welcome. We were allowed to drive in and pick our pitch. All the pitches were the same so that made it easy.

The position of the site was lovely, The washing facilities were very clean. The site was kept very tidy.

I could not fault it. Just a lovely simple quiet site.

Well done to the team that run it. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mculpin 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a lovely weeks stay on this immaculate site. Staff very helpful and friendly. The site was kept in pristine condition, no litter and all facilities spotlessly clean. Only negative comments, not the site's fault but watch out for the speed humps on Nottington Lane, two of them are really vicious. Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lisa.72 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to this site and what a find it is! We stayed 7 nights and only reluctantly left as they were fully booked over the bank holiday weekend and despite us begging, pleading and checking for cancellations repeatedly we eventually admitted defeat and left vowing to return!

The site is family run by some of the nicest people who genuinely love what they do and go above and beyond to make sure you have a great holiday. Toilet and shower facilities are luxurious and a pleasure to use. Although we didn't use the washing up area it was spotless and the first time we had ever seen washing up liquid and brushes provided. Nice touch. Bins were emptied regularly and the whole site was spotless, well maintained and cared for. Often saw Daniel or Laura riding round on the golf buggy driving people round looking at pitches or just passing the time of day with people checking they were having a good holiday. There is an on site bar in a marquee which seemed well used and a fish and chip van visited one night and a wood fired pizza van visited another. All announced from the golf buggy driving round to let people know what was going on. Good play area for the kids which was close enough to see the kids but not too close so they intruded if they made a noise. Nice touches like a laundry room with washers, dryers, charging stations and freezers plus a games room all add to the well thought out facilities on offer here. Pitches were level although the site sloped slightly upwards which gave a lovely view of the countryside when stood at the top. Excellent location for visiting Weymouth and all the surrounding area. All in all just about perfect and we can't wait to return next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suziec1977 4 reviews from this member

 This site has first class facilities. I have not seen better. The showers and toilets are spotless and new. There was also a huge family shower room which was useful for showering my 2 young children together. The laundry, with 2 washers and 2 separate dryers, even has some communal clothes airers outside! There are lockers for phone charging and 2 microwave ovens.

There is a small and nice children's play area, which again looks like new and a small on site shop, with the basics, although more expensive, as expected. Visiting food vans were often on site - fish and chip vans, pizza van and even a van selling breakfast a few mornings! All the food we bought from them was lovely.

We were pitched near the main entrance which was noisy and there was not much space at all for the children to play around the caravan. There was a games field - although our children are too young to go alone so we would have appreciated more space around our pitch. There are also electricity pylons nearby that buzz. There are lots of bright lights at night which I found a bit irritating and noticed a couple covered with towels so wasn't alone in my feeling!

Took us about 15 mins to drive into Weymouth. Excellent beaches there. Plenty else to do with our children - sealife centre and jurassic tower, monkey world, Abbottsbury Farm.

Overall excellent facilities on the site, in a good location so maybe I am being rather picky with my negatives! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deteclee70 2 reviews from this member

 On arriving we thought this was a very clean, tidy and pleasant looking site. Toilets / showers nice and clean although 10 second shower timer was far too short and toilet roll holders jammed constantly.

Dog area directly next to children play area and accessed via kids play field. Would have been better if dog area in opposite corner of camp. Bins full of rubbish and over flowing, would benefit from emptying twice daily.

Area around site is lovely Weymouth is 10 minutes away and is lovely.

No local pubs within walking distance but one 5 minutes drive away.

Quite a lot of local attractions around area Monkey world is great and West Bay at Bridport well worth a visit.

All in all site is nice looking 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Higher Moor Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Higher Moor Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Higher Moor Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6605 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement