Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dyke Green Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Bideford > Dyke Green Farm Camp Site Reviews

CLOSED: Dyke Green Farm Camp Site
Clovelly
Bideford
Devon (North)   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Currently Closed 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

We have been advised by the local tourist office that this site has now closed down for good.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know.

Many thanks

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Normboskett 2 reviews from this member

Another pleasant if short visit to the site, and yet again finding it one of the most friendly sites in the UK, OK so it's fairly basic, but you are right close to Clovelly and there is a small shop across the road combined with a filling station, Bideford, Barnstable, Bude etc. Are all within easy driving distance and the roads are good.

On the site there is a sand play area for children, there are electric hook-ups for motorhomes a shower and toilet block and adequate fresh water supply, the whole area is flat and very quiet, we have been regular visitors and will continue to be so, we love it.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Normboskett 2 reviews from this member

Have visited this site many times,

It's a fairly basic site but flat and the owner is the friendliest site owner on the face of the planet,

There is a petrol station on the opposite side of the road where you can purchase many items and they will freeze your ice packs if needed,

Bideford is just 10 miles away with Barnstable, Bude, Boscastle, Tintagel and so on.

The site is very clean and as I said very flat, and is an ideal area for children to play as they are visible from wherever care to pitch,

You must give this site a try, I am sure you will be more than satisfied.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sagoa001 2 reviews from this member

We've stayed at this campsite twice, and each time we've had an excellent time. We camped there in our Outwell Nevada M tent

Set at the top of Clovelly on the Atlantic Highway (A39), the site is well located to drive into the north coast of Cornwall towards Bude and Boscastle, and in the other direction towards Bideford, Barnstaple and Saunton Sands.

The shower and toilet block is clean and simple. The site is a field with water points around the edge of the field. There are electric hook-ups, but we don't use these.

It is next to the A39 so there is noise from the passing traffic but this didn't bother us. Also there is some light at night from street lamps on the roundabout junction, again this was not a nuisance.

It can become very windy due to the specific location of the campsite. Drive a mile in either direction and the wind dies away. The wind can become a nuisance, so be warned. Still, it is worth a stay!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bcleeve 12 reviews from this member

Basic site. Toilet/shower (one each per sex) also fairly basic. Hot water in shower only by payment of 20p coin. Note that if you do not use all 'your 20p allocation', the timer continues going round till it reaches 'zero'! So you cannot save the unused time for a friend.

All that said the owner is very friendly.

Petrol station over the road has small shop but this shuts at 6.00 pm.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Autumn9 19 reviews from this member

We chose to stay here for its proximity to the historic village of Clovelly, a short drive away. There are forty level, grass pitches, with hook-up and two fields, one for tents, the other for ‘vans and caravans. A main road runs alongside the hedged site but did not disturb us. There are a male and a female toilet, each with a corner sink. They are basic but clean. Other reviews mention showers but I do not remember any. There is a gate which is not made secure at night but the area is not threatening.

The owner, who lives opposite the site, resembles King Neptune and is very pleasant. It was pouring with rain during our stay and apart from an empty caravan and a tent in the adjoining field, we were the only campers!

Clovelly is definitely worth a visit, although we resented the £5.75 each entrance fee. Don’t park the ‘van in the visitors’ car park and walk down for free.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Reversemusic 1 review from this member

I stayed here and there was nothing wrong with it. The owner was very friendly and only charged us £5 a night and we had electric hookup. The showers and toilet were basic but clean and a little shop within walking distance.
The field state was good not waterlogged after some very heavy bank holiday rain. I suppose if you look around you find a good pitch.We should not blame owners for the weather after all it is a field and not a 4 star hotel.

I found royston the owner to be a very friendly chap, good advise and pleasant natured. I would go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smallinchie 5 reviews from this member

I have been going to this site now for many years due to the simpleness of it but never again.
We got there on the Saturday the pitches were wet enough that you could hardly drive your car next to the pitch the car was sinking about 6ins. Last year I paid £11 per night this year Mr Johns wanted £25 per night for a site that has a toilet & shower I found this to be rather a lot of money for nothing, we paid the 1 night we stayed then moved on which is what I have never done before.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smallinchie 5 reviews from this member

Basic yes but what a wonderful site, showers, toilets, electric hook up thats it. Owner Royston Johns don't get much better than him. It also allows dogs on leads. I have been to this site for 4 years kids love it plenty of room to kick a football around as people use this site more for a quick 1 or 2 night stop over to see the sites of Clovelly, Bideford and the surrounding area. I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Devon camper 3 reviews from this member

I really liked this very basic site. It had a magic that is hard to explain. The toilet and showers were small but were clean and did the job. I compare most field sites to this, we sat watching shooting stars on a wonderful summers evening. Basic but has that certain something.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Devon (North)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3714 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019