Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Steart Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Bideford > Steart Farm Touring Park Reviews

CLOSED: Steart Farm Touring Park
Homs Cross
Bideford
Devon (North)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note the owners of this site have advised that through 2015 they will not be able to offer camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. This may change in future years.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chowmein 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site and we thought it was lovely and quiet. We had a choice of two pitches which was great near to facilities. The toilets/ showers were always clean and also had a laundry which we noticed on leaving. The site is slightly sloping in places but you do get to choose pitches so not too bad. Motor homes without awnings had a fantastic sea view from the top we were very jealous deff try that spot next time. We actually returned to this site on our road trip due to liking it so much and not feeling safe on the other site. We would highly recommend this site and great value for money under 20 for 2 adults, 1 child, campervan plus awning ! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heather Scoltock 1 review from this member

 Having planned, scheduled and booked transport for our 2 week trek on the South West Coast path, we overlooked the opening dates for Steart Farm and there wasn't anywhere else that worked for our schedule. But Robin couldn't have done more for us. Despite being 'officially' closed he let us stay on site, opened the disabled toilet/shower and washing up facilities for us. I'm sure we were far more work than the small fee we paid, yet he couldn't have been more accommodating, even suggesting we sleep in the camping shelter as the weather forecast was heavy rain.

The only negative was the slog up to the campsite from the coastpath when we were already pretty tired, but then that's the coastpath! But it was very well signposted and once we got there it was soon forgotten. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hippyc 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for one night during a tour of the Cornwall/Devon coast but was sorry not to have stayed for longer.

The warden was lovely and friendly. I had pre-booked a pitch higher up the site but she explained that because the site was quiet the toilet block at that end was not open. I was then given the choice of 7 sites lower down the site nearer to the open facilities and left to choose whichever suited me.

Pitches were generous sized and I chose a grass site with hook up in an area without other company. The facilities nearby included shower/toilet/dishwash and a small launderette area - there was even a clothes drying area to the rear of the block available to use. All the facilities were beautifully clean. There was also a small room containing local information leaflets and the reception had details on walks from the site and had even posted a weekly weather forecast up.

An ideal site for exploring the surrounding area and one I would happily recommend and reuse. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Noonah 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, fantastic clean facilities. Hot showers and very friendly staff. Some pitches have amazing views of the sea especially on the burrows - see photo of site layout. These pitches are mostly for tents and camper vans. It has a large playground area with section for ball games and also some swings for younger children - these are getting a little tired now. We would definitely stay here again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nicpink 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Meticulously clean, lovely free hot showers. Great play area and fabulous manager Chris, who very thoughtfully places units ensuring maximum privacy and has a wealth of local information and advice on places to eat, visit etc. Great base for exploring north Devon and down to Bude. I cannot find anything to fault about this place. There are lots of laminated notices around the place as others have said, but it gave me something to read whilst washing my hands. 10/10 recommendation. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mike McC 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 1 night stay at Steart Farm. A very warm welcome with a choice of pitches we chose 6 Oak and the views were fabulous. The site overall was very pleasant and tidy with a nice dog walking area and access to a lovely wood full of Bluebells. But a few niggles such as the dishwashing area very poor water flow so took an age to fill a sink, also the dish drainers were rusty and the cloths provided for cleaning the sinks had all seen better days in my view it would have been better not to supply them than have them in this condition. Also on arrival the seasonal pitching area left a lot to be desired. We would possibly return but only use our own facilities 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grey Nomad 5 reviews from this member

 Our second time at this lovely site. Stayed for 4 nights. The weather was excellent, no doubt arranged by the new Manager, who is very friendly and helpful! This site is ideally placed to visit all that North Devon has to offer.

Pitches are a good size, catering for all units. And a nice touch is the shelter for tent campers in case of inclement weather. The view from Top Burrow is stunning. Shower block spotlessly clean, all facilities excellent.

We will return! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Haarstadt 5 reviews from this member

 Plus points:

Great at fitting us in at very short notice (24 hours).

Happy to provide an alternative pitch when I declined the suggested one (because after the rain it looked like the Somme!)

Great Views

Helpful staff.

Two washroom blocks (newer is nicer!).

On site washing (3. 50) and drying (1. 50) facilities and airer for wind drying kit (weather dependant)

Thoughtfully provided shelter for backpackers/smaller tent users in the case of very bad weather - didn't use it but a great facility for those with small tents in lousy weather.

Useful (but steep and muddy) path to beach.

Near to shopping Centre and a big Asda for supplies.

Negatives:

Paths/roads poorly maintained - quagmires in the rain. Campsite owners can't control the weather but they can minimise it's impact! A bit more gravel (well a few tons) around the site roads, or even tarmac, would have made things a tad nicer. They did have a big pile under a tarp but I'm not sure why!

Some sites a long way from washrooms

Camping shop/supplies information for local area poor - we had a minor drama (which to be fair the staff were happy to help us get around in the short term) but rectifying it personally meant a trip into Exeter to Go Outdoors as the local shops weren't well enough equipped.

Ground like concrete in Bottom Burrows - hard ground pegs and a huge mallet an absolute must!

In wet weather the on site mud can get a bit depressing.

Had a sign requesting campers to use a slate for their disposable BBQs - fair one, but at least have some handy so we can use them!

Would I stop here again. Yes. The positives outweigh the negatives which were, largely, outside of the control of the campsite operators as they were due to the weather.

Local Attractions:

Clovelly - 30 (entry, 2 cream teas and a cup of coffee - and a glass of tap water that was charged at 10p) and not even home made scones (packet mix on display through the window into kitchen store - spotted by my 10 yr old daughter). The place we ate at had a sign reading 'Please don't ask for a second cup as refusal often offends'. If I want to share my pot of tea with someone I should be able to. OK a cup needs washing but at these prices that huge expense can easily be absorbed. It's a walk down and back up a steep cobbled path to a small harbour. And that is it. Even the kids 'can you spot this and win a prize' activity sheet was rubbish. 2 hours of my life I'll never get back again. Don't bother!

Westward Ho! Great - I'm converted. Park up behing the pebble ridge for about 5 for the day. Pass the body board! Loads of fun.

Appledore - Good for crabbing at high tide and slack water. Sylvesters chippy is great and well worth a visit.

Croyde/Saunton Sands - expensive parking (7) for a few square feet on a beach! Great beaches though.

Bude (Cornwall) not that far away and a great beach too.

The Big Sheep - surprisingly good value if you use Tesco vouchers. Interesting and a bit of a laugh. Expect to get dirty on the Combat Course (not compulsory but good fun). Stuff inside, in common with many other attractions with a captive audience - expensive (2 for a Magnum ice cream).

Honey Farm/museum. Been before about 20 years ago - nothing has changed - at all - except a few bees have died and a few more have been born. A waste of time and damned expensive for a look at some tired old displays and a very passive learning experience for the kids - no interactivity etc. Don't waste your time. Rubbish.

Dartington Crystal - interesting place to visit and the kids can decorate glassware as a souvenier at reasonable prices. Glass blowing was interesting to watch. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sweetnecter0 6 reviews from this member

 Second time at this site and the owners as friendly and helpful as ever.

We had friends joining us part way through and we were told just to let them know once they had arrived and then make payment.

Still the service of ordering newspapers, bread and milk and other small items the night before for morning collection at reception.

Both toilet blocks kept spotlessly clean. Clothes washing facilities and washing lines available.

Excellent location for North Devon and only 30 mins from Bude so Cornwell in easy distance.

A great site and highly recommended to all. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3304 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement