Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Secret Campsite Lewes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Lewes > The Secret Campsite Lewes Reviews

The Secret Campsite Lewes
Brickyard Farm
Town Littleworth
Barcombe
Lewes
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN8 4TD
Tel: 01273 401100
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: 29th March - End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 32 Reviews
                10/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CaoimheD 1 review from this member

If anyone wants a place to find space, peace and nature this is your place. The Secret Campsite was the most needed tonic. Going through a very stressful time in my life I booked 3 nights. It was so nurturing I stayed for another 5. This place has individual pitch space, surrounded by carefully planted trees and plants. The owners are wonderful and look after their guests as if they were part of the family. It is a very special place where the sun shone every day. For single campers to families please give it a visit. One of the 'worlds gifts'

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crc44 2 reviews from this member

Another fantastic stay for our family. Our third year. We love the peace and the nature. There seemed to be more wild flowers than ever. Well done to Tim for keeping true to the values on offer. You can escape here, camp in the true style, and they have kept the pitches to a minimum to give you lots of space to breathe!

All very inspiring. Love the nights with starry skies (when it isn't cloudy) and owls hooting in the woods.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr & Mrs Mungo 7 reviews from this member

If you want tent camping with real fires and spacious pitches, this is the place for you!

We spent the early May Bank Holiday at the Secret Campsite for the first time and came away mightily impressed. Our pitch was enormous (as were the others), meaning lots of privacy. There was virtually no road noise as the nearest main road is a fair distance away. With no cars on site, there was even less noise (and plenty of barrows to move gear from car to pitch). This left us to the glorious sounds of nature, peace and tranquility.

The general vibe of the place was really friendly and relaxed, and the owner Tim with his staff were always on hand and helpful.

The price of wood was a bit steep, however this price is shown on the website.

Can’t wait to camp here again.

Cheers!

Richard & Mandy

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve1694 2 reviews from this member

One of the best campsites we've ever stayed at. It helped we had it pretty much to ourselves, but there was plenty of space around each pitching site. Bluebell woods on 3 sides of the big field. So many birds to listen to and watch. Good, clean and working facilities, although not fancy, and very friendly and helpful staff. Great location for Lewes and that part of the South Downs. Lots of farm shops nearby.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bplisted 1 review from this member

A lovely campsite. The pitches are spread out across three fields (two small and one larger). You get plenty of space for your tent and a fire pit. The site is family friendly, no dogs, no cars in the camping fields and no noise after 10pm (no radios allowed at any time). The owners encourage visitors to enjoy nature and have encouraged wild flowers and such to grow between the pitches. The toilet and shower block is good and cleaned every day; you have a choice of showers fed from a solar thermal unit, or you can pop some coins in a meter to use an electric shower. The solar showers were warm and fine in April when we visited. Tim, who runs the place, was really friendly and made us feel very welcome. You can walk to nearby farm shop and pub and there's lots to do in the surrounding area being a little north of Brighton. When we were there the composting toilet in our field was not in use, but it was only a short walk to the main toilet block.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tbowry 1 review from this member

A lovely site where you can enjoy a large pitch with campfires allowed, absolutely brilliant. The pitches are nicely spaced, but it's not as secluded as we had hoped from their website. Some pitches seemed to have 2 tents and it felt like there were a lot of people around. There were too few showers for the number of families staying on site and for the amount charged to stay it is a shame you have to scramble around for 20ps to use one of the showers, especially as this is the only option if the solar showers run out of hot water. The washing up area is very clean and tidy and having a communal fridge was really useful. The campsite is well situated for family walks in the woods and down the disused rail track.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sprucy 12 reviews from this member

I reviewed this site in June 2014 and nothing has changed since then. Before leaving I suggested to the owner putting up an additional set of hooks and soap dispenser in the communal washroom, next to the second basin, which would be helpful for everybody. My companion said she really liked the site and would come again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Royharper 2 reviews from this member

It was great to experience 'real' camping for the first time we've taken our two boys ( 3 and 4 ) away in a tent. The Secret Campsite has masses of space with a mix of well mown paths and pitches alongside more natural areas of trees and meadow.

It's really convenient to have use of a fridge and a good sized washing up space.

The dis-used railway connecting the site means you can go off and explore the countryside without the car which is great bonus.

This site really is so quiet and idyllic and the warm welcome and friendliness of owner Tim and his family made us feel so welcome.

To not be right on top of other campers, and their cars is a real revelation.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crc44 2 reviews from this member

This is the ultimate place to escape from then noise of the every day.

Very large and private pitches, space to breath. Surrounded by nature. We have seen so many butterflies, a deer, glow worms. By day the cuckoo calls and woodpeckers fly by and at night you can listen to owls.

Easy check in. No cars allowed onto the campsite, which makes for wonderful peace. Plenty of wheelbarrows to carry stuff and the owner helps.

Water, wood, hot drinks, washing up facilities, showers and toilets and fridge all on site and handy.

The Lavender Line, a disused rail route, runs close by and is great for a long grassy walk to the local village for the pub or shops.

The darkness down on the site is supreme. See those night skies, they'll take your breath away.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Colegade 5 reviews from this member

My two girls (13, 11yrs)and I spent our annual camping trip at the Secret Campsite this year. We found the whole experience really relaxing in the first car free, group free meadow we've camped in.

Highlights:

• Car free, very well maintained meadow

• Great size pitches

• Super clean, shower block

• Friendly service and advice

• Communal fridge/freezer

Even though no electric hook up, it was really useful that I could leave my phone with the owner during office hours.

Surrounding area full of child friendly activities. We hired mountain bikes from http://www. Sosussex. Co. Uk/bike-hire/ for our attempt to conquer the downs, however only made it as far as the Jolly Sportsman for some more quality food and drink. Its about the journey, not the destination.

So Sussex also arranges course angling amongst other things, which was another first and well worth the time. 13 fish landed between the three of us.

The Anchor pub (hiking distance) has rowing boats for hire too and more quality pub food.

Would certainly go back.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4861 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019