Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Trethvas Touring And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Little Trethvas Touring And Camping Site Reviews

Little Trethvas Touring And Camping Site
Cadgwith
The Lizard
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 7AT
Tel: 01326 290344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AandJ 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 10 days in early July in a tent. All round excellent. A charming, small and very friendly camp site complete with roaming chickens! Facilities spot on, lots of free hot water, lovely big level pitches and very genuine friendly owners that are a wealth of local knowledge.

The Almond Tree cafe on site is lovely, and the Full English is wonderful, superb sausage and bacon, probably one of the best we've had.

It's a lovely location for exploring the Lizard Peninsula and great for all of Cornwall really. Thanks Liz for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robinbriggs247 2 reviews from this member

 Just what was needed! Level site sheltered by good hedging. Showers were hot and facilities were clean. Power sockets in the kitchen area for charging laptops/ mobile phones would be nice, but help came at the brilliant on site cafe with its reasonably priced hot breakfasts.

Everyone was friendly and the hosts were extremely knowledgable.

Looking forward to my next visit! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robinbriggs247 2 reviews from this member

 Great location, excellent cafe and brilliant hosts.

Three solo campers from different parts of UK, meeting together for a re-union. Outside school holidays and with mixed weather so the place was not overcrowded.

Flat, well drained pitch.

Hot water, ample toilets and showers.

These days it would benefit to have a power socket in the utility room for charging mobile phones/laptops rather than rely on the kindness of the cafe staff.

Lovely beaches and walks very nearby.

Supermarket not too far away in Helston for stocking up on essentials.

Right place, right time and hope to visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IanJTurner 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two weeks in our small caravan and couldn't have asked for a nicer site. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the pitches are flat and spacious and the loos and showers are regularly cleaned.

The perfect spot for exploring The Lizard. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kent4711 27 reviews from this member

 We spent a few nights here in March & enjoyed walking the cliff top paths in dry weather, some sun & very little wind. The grass pitches were closed so the 3 small motorhomes staying were close together on gravel with electric hook up near the facilities. There were 2 toilets, 2 showers, 2 covered wash-up sinks & a room with shower cubicle, toilet, sink & baby changing facilities. Clean with hot water. There was also an information room with laundry & book exchange. The café was closed at this time of year. We got shopping & diesel in Helston supermarket on the way as there was nothing close to the site. The owners were friendly & helpful & in the process of getting the site ready for the summer. The site is just off the road so no narrow roads but with some road noise. Can’t comment on child friendliness as most of it was closed. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flowing Stream 3 reviews from this member

 We were very lucky to find this little campsite based on a recommendation from the National Trust. It was just what we wanted. A quiet campsite, with a quiet area for tents, with good bathroom facilities, and washing up facilities on the Lizard, with easy access to coastal footpaths and other walks.

This is a campsite and caravan site which also offers glamping, and has chalets and a caravan. While we did not stay as glampers, we did check out the glamping facilities after other campers have left (my photos of the glamping facilities show it as recently vacated, rather than as presented to new guests, so please bear this in mind)

The glamping facilities are good, with a dedicated kitchen area. While the tipi was sheltered somewhat by vegetation, the site can get quite windy due to its location on the Lizard, so be prepared to tighten the guy ropes occasionally if conditions demand, or feel free to ask the owners to do so. There are no dedicated bathroom facilities for glampers, these are shared with other campers, however this is not an issue, as the three bathrooms are excellent, with hot powerful showers, a toilet and a shaving socket in each.

The remainder of my review reflects the site in general, the local amenities, and our experience as tented campers with own comfortable tent. The owners provide a freezer which is open access for people to freeze their ice packs, and a fridge for people to store their perishable food (I suggest you bring labels to put your name on it, this is what others seemed to do). There is also a washing machine in this sizeable little shed, which also doubles as a small library for guest use mainly adult books) and a tourist information centre which has vast numbers of leaflets and information packs which were enormously helpful to us in planning our week, even though we have visited the Lizard for several previous holidays and have explored it at some depth. I recommend the booklet Wild Lizard, which lists places to watch wildlife, and has details of regular nature walks.

I attended a botany walk on Goonhilly Downs, which was enjoyable, interesting and relaxed.

The owners are happy to charge up phone batteries and camera batteries for you (please bring your own plug in charger), or bring your own rechargeable power block, and they will charge that for you. There was no charge for charging batteries, or for freezing ice packs, which made for a very relaxed trip.

We were surrounded by birdsong, which was great. We went to sleep early as dusk fell, and woke with the dawn chorus. While the main Lizard road is nearby, the noise was not disturbing, and it quickly disappeared to a background drone that did not impact on the tranquility of the site (and we were in the field nearest the main road - basically if you do not let it bother you, you wont hear it after 5 minutes, if you obsess about it, you will hear nothing else).

The owners make an effort to ensure that nice people book, who are going to respect the site, and other guests, and this showed. Loud music and disturbance would not be tolerated here, and while the site is dog friendly, the owners were clear that dogs must be kept under control on leads when on the site, and in the rare event that a dog makes a mess, the owner MUST clear it up. The owners have three lovely dogs which it was great to meet, and they also have free range chickens, with two broods of chicks when we were there. This is another reason why children need to be supervised (we saw one unsupervised child harassing a chicken by throwing things

At it before the owner intervened - this was not repeated), and of course dogs cannot be allowed off leads as they will chase the chickens (we saw one example of this when a small dog briefly escaped their owner - again, the site owner and my wife intervened to extricate the chicken from the dog's jaws - this was also not repeated!). These were isolated incidents not typical of our week on the site, and are included to demonstrate that these incidents were quickly resolved by the

Charming and attentive hosts Liz and Mike who own the campsite.

Basically, if you are not the sort of guest who will supervise your dogs and children and have consideration for other guests around you, please go elsewhere (or in my view stay at home!), but nice respectful guests will have a delightful relaxed time here. The owners run a great little cafe on site which is open most mornings and afternoons for breakfast, cream teas and light meals. This was good value, with high quality locally sourced ingredients used. The owners have a source locally for excellent homemade pastys which we discovered after having our pasty of the week, so we look forward to trying them on our next visit! The bathroom facilities are excellent - there are three bathrooms, and an additional two toilets, which doesn't sound many, but my initial misgivings were unfounded, I always found a bathroom or toilet free, partly because we were sensible enough to pick quieter times of day, and the site is

Quite small, with the caravanners I assume having their own loos.

The bathrooms are proper bathrooms, ie a room with an un-metered hot shower, sink, shaver socket, mirror, and toilet, with bolt on the door, so it is yours for the duration once bagged. People are asked to mop the floor after showers or the next person, so the floor is not slippy.

The pitches were flat, and in good condition. No camp fires are allowed, as the owners wish to maintain the lovely pitches in good condition, but barbecues and gas stoves are fine providing they are raised and will not burn the grass. We cooked most evening meals ourselves on a little Coleman one burner stove and loved it!Walking from the site was good, we walked from the campsite to Kynance Cove, Lizard Point, Lizard Village, Church Cove and Cadgewith, and there so many other places to visit, and walks to do. We had great tips from the owners. We tried excellent Fish and Chips at Rodneys Happy Plaice in Porthleven, we didn't have time to try the excellent pastys from the Horse and Jockey in Helston or Porthleven, but we did enjoy one of Ann's pastys from Lizard Village. The butchers in Lizard is good, but there are handy supermarkets in Helston, at least one of which is open 24 hrs a day. We enjoyed Roskilly's ice creams in Lizard Village, and had a great cream teas and occasional cooked breakfasts in the cafe on the campsite (the Almond Tree)

We will definitely return, we very much felt welcomed into their family by the owners. There were very brief periods when the owners were not on site, but they always left a chalk board with their contact details on if they had to pop out shopping, say. Considering the site and cafe are run only by a husband and wife, the level of service is remarkable.

I didn't like having to go home at the end of the week, we could happily have stayed on for another week, and look forward to visiting again. This would be my first choice of campsite when visiting the Lizard. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Boogie and lou 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site in great position run by a very friendly couple, the good points are nice pitches with large central area to play, great location for walks, relaxed feel and not lots of rules. There are a few things that would make this site great, the showers need sorting out urgently, the rubbish needs addressing and the dogs running free poohing wherever is not good! The cafe is a nice addition however this seems to be the priority not the essential jobs that need doing on the site. I think in busy months perhaps some extra help would be useful but appreciate the owners are still trying to get the site as they want it. Liz is a lovely lady and it may be out of peak season these few issues are addressed. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tallsmall 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week in our trailer tent. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 young children. This site provide a safe roaming ground for the children to play while the adults could relax. Toilets and showers were kept clean, hot water and great hand soaps. Pitches are relaxed so space is not a problem. The fields are not overfilled, allowing space in the middle for the children to play. The owners are most welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. Nearby are a beautiful selection of sandy or pebbly coves. Lizard has some small shops only 5 minutes away and Helston has an abundance of supermarkets for the bigger shop.

We would recommend this site for a family holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cornishmade 3 reviews from this member

 Having already stayed at Little Trethvas back in May we booked another week not long after we got back home. The site is so very friendly and the big open space in the middle of the main field is such a selling point if you have children as there could be a temptation to just put more campers in the space. The site is ideally located for the Lizard and is very pretty with all the hanging baskets around the site.

The owners are always friendly and willing to stop for a chat but I feel this time round things are starting to become little rough around the edges. The showers were showing signs of becoming very unclean and the whole site needs a good gardening session as it is becoming overgrown. The bin area most days was overflowing and the info area had a pool of water in front of the washing machine from it overflowing which was there for the whole of the week we were there.

From a personal point of view I think the owners are trying to run before they can walk as the café they have recently opened takes up a lot of their time which should be used to make sure the campsite is running smoothly as they have only had the site for 2 years. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jill and sid 19 reviews from this member

 A very laid back week spent at Little Trethvas. Well located with fairly level spacious pitches and lots of space for the kids. A dog friendly site with good clean facilities and very pleasant and helpful owners, Mike and Lizzie. The site has a nice little cafe, although we didn't tend to use it. Along with the National Trust campsite, this is one of the nicest campsites on the Lizzard. The EHU pitches tend to run alongside the A -road, so some road noise, which tends to abait after 11pm. The pub in Mullion Village serves good food and beer and Kynnance beach is world renowned 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Little Trethvas Touring And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Little Trethvas Touring And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Little Trethvas Touring And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3149 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder