Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Galmpton Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Brixham > Galmpton Touring Park Reviews

Galmpton Touring Park
Greenway Road
Galmpton
Brixham
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ5 0EP
Tel: 01803 842066
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: Easter To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

We've stayed here many times over the last few years, and have enjoyed it.

However as another reviewer (Flashdan) states it's time for a makeover and needs some money spent on it.

The showers are dated and need modernising. They look old and very utilitarian, old brown tiles, flimsy cheap shower curtains, and the block was damp, cold and smelly (maybe a blocked drain?) - for their charges (top dollar) a bit more luxury and decent quality fittings! Everything is an 'extra'

The hard standings need re-laying as they have lots of weeds and not a lot of shingle left.

You do (if you're lucky), have great river views, but obviously the view from a lot of pitches is obscured by tree's etc, but I guess the site can't do much about this.

The wardens work hard to keep the site clean and tidy, they are also helpful and friendly.

Think I'll give the site a miss, til it's been updated, and the facilities match their prices.

Although they usually give the generic reply that they are comparable with other sites in the area. Perhaps they need to go and have a look round these comparable sites.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikebs 5 reviews from this member

One of our favourite areas to visit is the River Dart and the Galmpton touring park is a good base from which you can visit the area. The site is just outside the village of Galmpton and is accessed via a narrow lane but we didnít encounter any difficulties getting to site.

Access to site is restricted by a security barrier close to reception. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful as are the wardens. Reception has a small shop.

Pitches are on a terraced hillside, some with hard standings and some on grass. If you choose the right pitch there are lovely views back up the river and with a little luck you might get to enjoy a stunning sunset that can be had from here weather permitting.

We found the shower block to be clean at all times with plenty of hot water albeit from push button controls. Toilets and privacy rooms are available in this building. Some of the pitches can a little way from the toilet block.

The local village is a 10 minute walk away and has a small shop and pub. There is also a bus service available from here. Galmpton creek is just a short walk away and well worth visiting. If you get to speak to a local denizen there is some interesting WWII history to be had.

If you are a NT member then Greenway house is not too far away and if you walk you will pass over the steam railway line and station. The gardens overlook the river and the boathouse is at the riverís edge. Just on from here is passenger ferry, £2 per person, one way, which goes across the river to Dittisham.

A small village with pub and waterside properties. If you walk to the top of the village there are some great views of the river.

Further afield are Brixham and Berry Head, there is a nice cafť here.

Pitches can be a little on the expensive side especially in the high season but they occasional have a promotion and prices are more affordable.

EE mobile phone signal strong. Wi-Fi available.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Srose1958 11 reviews from this member

This is on our 'definitely will re-visit' list! The site was very clean & well maintained, as were the facilities; the toilets and showers were tip top! The staff were extremely warm, welcoming and friendly, with a smile and an acknowledgement whenever we saw them. All in all, a very enjoyable & hassle free stay!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 67 reviews from this member

I have spend a week at this site. It is a very nice site with great views of the river Dart. Depending on your pitch the views of the river maybe obscured.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

The toilet facilities were clean but dated.

Most of the pitches for caravans slope steeply, so pitching was a real problem for me.

Would I go back? Probably not!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flashdan 10 reviews from this member

My wife and I have just spent a lovely week in Galmpton and will say from the start the the staff were very friendly and helpful. The views of the river Dart are stunning and the sunsets were beautiful.

Unfortunately the site is due a make over, the showers had a 'sewery smell' and timers ranged from 6 to 24 seconds ! Both the hair dryers in the ladies were out of action and by the look of the signs had been for a while !

The drinking water tap near our pitch had almost more water coming out of the top than did the spout!

The hard standing lived up to its description, quite large (4 inch) sharp stones which even with an awning mat was uncomfortable to walk on, the pitches are too close together our neighbours were about four feet away having their lunch.

Bus and steam trains were about a mile away down and up quite steep hills, this is a very hilly area so if you have problems walking think again about Galmpton. Ball games are forbidden but rule not enforced !

Others we spoke to had similar feelings.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MORREY 1 review from this member

This is the most magical place to wake up to. The staff are so approachable, professional and nothing is too much trouble. Great site to stay with fabulous views and well kept grassed areas. Toilets are cleaned and regularly checked 3/4 times a day. The reception has essential goods and have a fabulous welcome. The toilets are looking a little tired, yet very clean and comfortable. Fish and chip van arrives on a Friday and Wednesday a pizza van arrives. Shamazeballs! Hairdryers in the toilets need to be fixed with decent blowers! Doggies are very welcome and they have their own closed off field for walkies etc and bins provided. No ball games which I think is great so no units etc can be damaged. Play area is great for the kiddies and safe. I have been a regular here for many years and am going back in 4 weeks time! Regular bus and my husband and I purchase a day rider for a fiver each which takes you anywhere.

The village shop has papers, cakes, booze, veg and dairy products, not too far.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hadvad 1 review from this member

Just returned from spending two weeks at Galmpton. Nice clean site. Great view down the river Dart, from pitch 4. Toilets very clean and tidy. Our first time at this site but we shall return next year. Plenty of places to visit such as Greenway House and Greenway Quay where you can catch the ferry to Dittisham and Dartmouth save driving and parking. Would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jfinn 1 review from this member

Fabulous campsite with amazing views. Staff were charming and helpful. One request - could you please put up some low lighting at the top end of the site as it was pitch black at night and forgot the torch!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Memoryremains 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights. On our second day we had very high winds (40mph gusts) and rain too. Our tent was getting a battering so we went to see if we could change pitches to somewhere with more shelter. They were more than happy to help but unfortunately they only had 2 pitches left for us so we decided to stay put. One of the guys, possibly owner offered to give us some decent tent pegs and help batten the hatches, this helped a great deal and our tent was no longer caving in from the wind.

On a Wednesday evening at 17. 30 a mobile pizza van comes to the site. Try their pizzas, they're completely homemade. On a Friday at 19. 30 a fish and chip van come on site which I also recommend.

The toilet and wash facilities are spot on, they were even cleaning them at 23. 00 which says it all really! They have a washing up and laundry room on site, you can purchase tokens from the reception for the washers and dryers. They also have an iron which is 20p and an ironing board.

There is a children's play area with a climbing frame, badminton net and table tennis table.

All in all a lovely campsite apart from the toilets etc being up a fairly steep hill and the lack of a bar/ entertainment on site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Marcusjp 2 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, in a great location near to Greenway (NT), and the village of Galmpton with an excellent pub (Manor Inn). The only issue we had was that there were no private bathroom / shower facilities, and the toilet block itself felt a little tired. However, the staff were excellent, and the site itself was spotlessly clean, with good sized pitches, and lovely views of the River Dart. Fish and Chip van comes on a Friday evening.

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3764 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019