Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holmans Wood Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Chudleigh > Holmans Wood Holiday Park Reviews

Holmans Wood Holiday Park
Harcombe Cross
Chudleigh
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 0DZ
Tel: 01626 853785
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CEW3A 25 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, so peaceful, tidily presented & all immaculately clean. There is a barrier at the entrance, operated with a card, for which the £10 deposit is refundable when the card is returned on departure. We were given a spacious pitch with its own water tap with a waste water drain, very convenient.

The washing up area is at the side of the toilet block, semi undercover, with 4 sinks & drainers; washing up bowls, sponges, j cloths & dish brushes provided for campers to use Ė very thoughtful. There are 8 sinks, 8 toilet cubicles in the ladiesí & 4 shower cubicles.

The shower cubicles are a bit dated in that the porcelain shower trays are raised up quite a bit, the glaze looks cracked & the shower head nozzle is fairly rigid, but I had no problem with any of this. There is a shower curtain to prevent sprays on the floor, and I liked the fact that a non-slip mat & a hand rail was present in each cubicle (itís an age thing!) plus a seat & a plastic duckboard in the changing area. Two hooks on the wall, could perhaps have had an extra one, but not really an issue. A babyís bath was hanging up on the wall in the ladiesí if needed & since our previous visit 12 years ago (when we were in a tent & our children were with us) then the radio is piped into the toilet block Ė yes, you can sing along as most of the time I had the place to myself!

In the laundry room there are 2 washing machines; one looks similar to a domestic front loader & the other is an industrial top loader; both take 3 £1 coins. The industrial dryer takes 20p coins but I didnít use it so I donít know how many coins would be required.

There is a shed with tourist information & a small freezer for cool blocks (we didnít use), plus a selection of board games, jigsaw puzzles, books & DVDS. I did a swap of one book I brought from home & took a couple of my other books down there when Iíd finished reading them. Another plus is the free WiFi!

We were eventually able to walk into The Meadow, for old timesí sake, which is where we camped 12 years ago, but from this season the site is not taking tents at all. The site has new owners since earlier this year (now part of the Haufryn group); it appears that the site is gradually becoming one for statics only. We saw the arrival of 3 new statics, with wooden cladding which looks different to the other statics on site. Another camper told us that these new statics are intended to be put in The Meadow; the gateway will need widening & hardstandings put down etc before that can happen though. Just before we left I asked whether they will continue to take tourers & was told that probably for the next 2 years or so.

There is a wooden play area in a dip; Our children played there 12 years ago! However I noticed some poles in front of the area which werenít there on our arrival, so maybe the play area will be fenced off & reduced in size Ė more room for statics?

We saw plenty of rabbits (just like 12 years ago!) & there are several birds to identify if you are able. I did see a robin! Yes, you can hear the traffic from the nearby A38, but it didnít bother us Ė we managed to block it out; weíve heard worse!

We had a lovely, peaceful stay, just the antidote to the stress of a busy life & work, and it helped that the weather was fantastic! There is a community-run, outdoor swimming pool in Chudleigh, which is only a car ride away. I was able to swim 40 lengths x 20m there & it wasnít too busy either - £4 admission.

If you are looking for a site with lots of entertainment provided, a clubhouse etc, then this site is not for you. Donít come here Ė leave it for people like us who loathe the sort of site youíre looking for! 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pwwukpw 4 reviews from this member

 Reports no tent this season. Gave 10/10 score as emailed back following email enquiry responded straight away.

"Thank you for your enquiry. Unfortunately, our Meadow for camping is not going to be available this coming season. Hope you find a suitable Park" 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sona 5 reviews from this member

 Where to start?. Holmans Wood was amazing from the off! First of all the wardens and manager were super helpful and friendly when I called to ask if we could turn up a night early, due to bad weather where we were, then they came and met us and gave us a choice of pitch in the meadow, they were even more helpful the next day about where we could put our gazebo as we had overlapped the edge of our pitch slightly in our haste to erect our tent the previous evening!

We have teenagers and they loved the table tennis table in the play area, there is loads of room to run and roam, bikes etc allowed in the play area only, but it is huge! There is even a box of outdoor toys to borrow from if you forget your badminton racquet. There are some swings and a football goal as well.

The toilets and showers were lovely and clean, with piped music, I kept meeting the warden and two other ladies in there constantly cleaning! There was loads of free hot water and loads of toilets as well as four showers, I only had to wait once, and only for a few minutes. The wash up and laundry facilities were superior to any others we've been to, sponges, cloths and brushes supplied for campers' use.

The meadow itself is lovely, wildlife is there to be found, its peaceful, sheltered and quiet, despite its proximity to the A38. Road noise did not bother us at all, it wasn't loud and you get used to it very quickly. Because of where this park is, all the attractions of Devon are within easy reach, it only took us a couple of hours to get all the way to The Eden Project in Cornwall. There is no shop on site, but a well stocked garage and shop is a pleasant 5 minute walk away. There is no club house on this site, a positive thing for us, but I believe there are lovely pubs close by in Chudleigh. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Salnsteve 20 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming and helpful reception and staff. What a great site. Immaculate toilet and shower block and although we didn't use the laundry it looked clean and well equipped. Lovely views of surrounding countryside and a really huge 'bowl' grassed children's play area.

Perfect for visiting the coast or countryside. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Salsapembs 17 reviews from this member

 This caravan site is in a great location. Stayed here 2 nights in a motorhome in August 2016. Situated on the old Exeter road with a great bus service into Exeter. Friendly & helpful staff, nothing too much trouble! Only tiny niggle would be that the toilets & showers are a little dated. Having said that. They were clean at all times! The Highwayman's Haunt Pub is a short walk from the site & provides excellent meals. I would most definitely stay at this caravan site again. Thank you Holmans Wood! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mary F 5 reviews from this member

 Sadly we only stayed here for one night en route back home from Powderham Castle to Cornwall. We were greeted on arrival by an extremely nice lady who was very helpful. We were then guided to our pitch by a lovely lady who is one of the wardens.

I had asked for a spot close to the shower/toilet block as my partner is not very mobile at the moment. We couldn't have been closer, it was ideal. The warden caravan was next door and we found them both very helpful and caring.

This site is probably the cleanest site we have ever stayed on. The grounds are kept really beautiful and the showers and toilets are immaculate. The washing up area is also spotless, and a lovely touch is the bowl, washing up brush, jay cloth and scourer/sponge for use on each draining board. I cannot say enough about the friendliness and cleanliness of this site and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

The wardens are complete treasures. Thank you so much for your help and kindness. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CUMBRIANS 3 reviews from this member

 Thought this site was lovely, the only down side was traffic noise from a very busy road, but we could put up with that for such a nice site.

Wardens very friendly and took an interest.

The facilities, a little dated, but homely and very clean, and we really liked them. Little touches such as all the dish washing equipment at the washing up sinks was a nice touch.

Nice pub down the road in walking distance, lovely meals.

Beautiful meadow which was nice to walk around, especially early morning.

Would definitely book this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mikerbiker 1 review from this member

 We spent two and a half happy years on a seasonal pitch at this site. The owners were always helpful and informative - nice people.

The location was very good for accessing Dartmoor or the coastal resorts of Dawlish and Teignmouth. A great day out is to take the Starecross ferry to Exmouth. The site exists in a sheltered area which enjoys a benign and sunny microclimate.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Eejaybee 3 reviews from this member

 Owners and wardens friendly and helpful- we got a warm welcome. Nice site- quite quiet when we were there. Toilets and showers were immaculately clean. We used this campsite as a halfway point to meet with friends, who had a tent. They camped in the 'Meadow ' camping field, which was green and had nice views. There was a large play area field too- kids enjoyed the swings. Some noise at night from the lorries on the A38, but given the location I guess that's to be expected. Nice Co Op in Chudleigh which did croissants etc for breakfast. Good location for Dartmoor. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marnpah 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks stay at this campsite. I must say that the wardens were great and nothing was to much trouble. They were very friendly and always around if you needed any help. The shower blocks were spotless. We would return her any day and we be recommending to friends. Thanks again for a great week.

Regards sue and kev pitch 95 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holmans Wood Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holmans Wood Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Holmans Wood Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chudleigh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2558 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement