Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Leacroft Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Colyton > Leacroft Touring Park Reviews

Leacroft Touring Park
Colyton Hill
Colyton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX24 6HY
Tel: 01297 552823
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 118
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Devon peace 2 reviews from this member

 I love this site, its clean, immaculately presented, the flowers are spectacular throughout the seasons as I've not only stayed here once, but I decided to take up their offer of caravan storage and my van is pulled out and set up on a tow in tow out basis all ready for when I want it.

The location is perfect I love it that much I travel four and a half hours once a month to be there.

The sea and beautiful village of Beer is less than 5 mins in the car, the walks around are stunning. Its 15 mins one way to Sidmouth and the other in to Lyme Regis and the county of Dorset, 20 mins inland takes you into Somerset.

The site has a small shop with all necessities and a play area and games room for children although its more an adult site to be fair. It also has immaculate shower, laundry and washing facilities.

The staff do what ever they can to help you.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend of your looking for peace and tranquillity but close to all the amenities then this is the place to stay ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Anglaise86 2 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site, with spacious, well-maintained pitches and which offers easy access to Seaton, Sidmouth, Beer, Lyme Regis, Budleigh Salterton, and so much more.

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, well-stocked shop, spotlessly clean toilet and shower facilities with piping hot water, games room and large play area for the children- what more do you want or need?

We have stayed here many times and, and in the past, have stored our caravan here too.

It won't be long before we return to this site-which we can highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kando 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Leacroft & we found it to be as excellent & welcoming as last year.

We particularly like the fact that, despite the camping area being surrounded by caravans, the site is so peaceful. We love that the pitches are divided by bushes which in September are loaded with the most giant red hips.

The site doesn't seem popular in September & we were one of two tents on our arrival, with another couple arriving as we packed up. As a consequence we could choose our pitch. The shower block was scrupulously clean & the showers hot. The site owners are so helpful it has become a firm favourite.

Looking round the site it appeared as if everything had only just been repainted despite it being the end of the season!

We do wonder what would happen if the site were busy, as one pitch in particular had some significant pits which would be noticeable & possibly problematic under a groundsheet.

It seems only a short drive to Seaton. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kando 3 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous quiet site! Admittedly we were the only campers for the 8 or so pitches as it was end of season, but the site policy is respect for others & there were caravans pitched all round. The tent area is in the centre of the site, near the reception & the shower/toilet block.

There is a laundry room & an activity room. The shop is adequately stocked with those1off items (+ a nice selection of beverages!) which is handy. There are 5 sinks outside under a roof for washing up & free HOT showers. Lovely! Not sure if the block is heated ever, but wasn't when we were there. However, that's not an issue for us.

The site staff couldn't be more friendly & helpful & obviously enjoy their work. Having endured a flat tyre on the way down & arriving very late as a result they were still there to welcome us as we had kept them informed of our estimated arrival time. This was very helpful & took the stress out of the situation.

The pitches are generous & there are 8 electric hook-ups, but the further pitches would need more than a 25m cable. We particularly liked the fact that hedges have been grown as the boundary to each pitch, giving a clear area & some privacy to each. There is a security barrier which is operated by a fob for which a returnable deposit is required on arrival. The site is locked at 11pm but cars can be parked overnight in the car park if late back.

The ground is gently sloping but that was no issue. The soil is slightly stony but pegs went in okay. No issues at all with our hard ground pegs.

We will certainly be returning. Lots! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ascsbe 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 day break at this site, Our first visit although we are very familiar with the area because we have family locally. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly warden and shown to our pitch, the grass was immaculate. Water was nearby although the water pressure is a bit low. There are several toilet blocks around the site all kept clean and a small dog walk. However there is lovely dog walking opposite the entrance if your dog needs a real walk. The shop has basics in it.

As a very experienced caravaner the site had everything I required and we will now use the site as our preferred choice in this area. You can pitch for a season and this has been done in a way that they do not look as if they have been placed for months with grass growing up and a shanty town look, they all seem to be on gravel and therefore don't look like a seasonal pitch. They also have storage facilities tucked away.

Any improvements well I suppose the first site that builds a covered swimming pool in this area will be ahead of the competition, no one has one at present, But the owners may consider it more hassle than it is worth. Would recommend this site if you are wanting to stay in the Sidmouth/Seaton/Honiton area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Matt94 28 reviews from this member

 I stayed at Leacroft in July for 3 nights on my way back from Cornwall to visit friends who keep their tourer on a seasonal pitch, which a lot of people seem to do on this site.

The site is very well laid out, and the owners were very pleasant and very helpful, as I was on my own the owner offered to park my caravan on the pitch I was allocated, it took him a few minuets to position my caravan perfectly.

On the Saturday it was the annual free BBQ and drinks for the people who stay on the site all year on seasonal pitches, I offered to pay for the BBQ as I was only staying for the weekend but I was invited at no extra charge.

When I'm down that way again (im from Rochester, Kent) I would definitely stay at Leacroft again as it is a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandiego870 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned home from Cornwall and spent 3 nights on the way home at this site. It's the 3rd. Time we have visited the site, and as on previous occasions found it to be very well kept with large pitches and helpful staff.

The only observation we made is that the toilet blocks, although kept clean, needed updating, and the fact there is only one shower in each block could lead to queues when the site is busy.

This said, I do recommend this site for it's well kept appearance and ease of access. Lyme Regis is only 10 minutes away, as is Seaton and Beer, all well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iona and carl 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from 2 fabulous weeks at Leacroft (helped that the weather was excellent too) and have already booked to return.

The facilities are good and very clean! Hot showers, which I never had to wait for, despite high season, immaculate pitches and wonderful friendly atmosphere.

2 children (11 and 9) had fantastic time on the play area, with plenty of space to play with their new friends. Shop on site is well stocked and fairly priced, and site is central to lots of beaches within 5-10 min drive. Also loads of local walks right out of the gates.

Seaton has big supermarket, and beer and colyton have local shops, pharmacies and pubs/ eateries etc so there's plenty of amenities nearby.

Staff were helpful and gave great advice on places to go/ things to do etc.

Can't fault this site, you can even see the sea from it! The rules and restrictions are n place to prevent rogue children and dog owners (that we all tut at and moan about when they ruin our holiday) from annoying people who want to enjoy a restful, happy holiday. Great time had by all of us. Thank you and see you again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Father Ted 1 review from this member

 This is a little gem of a site!

We are a family of 4, two adults and two children aged 11 & 14, and visited here for our main summer holiday.

I was a little perturbed that, in looking online, I couldn't find many reviews for this site. Maybe I put too much faith in reviews?

The reviews I read were a little mixed, mostly good, but the odd negative review. However, the negative ones are odd (mostly regarding the enforcement of rules)! Yes they have rules about being quiet at night and children being well behaved. Most sites do, or, at least, those which we'd choose to visit, anyway. The rules weren't draconian and weren't enforced in a heavy handed manner.

On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful and friendly member of staff (owner?). Her husband ( I think it was) came to show us to our pitch. He explained it was a little awkward to get onto and asked would we like him to pitch for us ( with their little tractor). I declined ( my ego wouldn't allow that!) which he accepted.

When we got to our pitch it was lovely. It was a nice corner pitch which was very generous. All of the pitches seemed roomy, but the corner ones more so. The pitch had levelled concrete flags for the wheels, meaning I only had to worry about levelling front to back.

The facilities were more than adequate. They did have a slightly dated feel to them, but were well maintained and kept cleaned and stocked at all times. There doesn't appear to be enough facilities for the entire site, but we didn't have to queue once for a shower. My only gripe is that the showers could have been a little hotter, but then, I like to have my skin boiled off by a shower and not everyone else does!

The site shops sells all of the usual along with some less expected items ( Whale pumps etc!). There is table tennis and a pool table for the older kids and a huge play area in the middle of the site. I think, if nothing else does, this play area sums up their outlook. They could have fitted an extra half dozen caravans and made more money, but they set aside the space for the kids instead. There are the usual swings and slide to one end of the play area. Again there are signs up showing the rules, but nothing beyond common sense, (pick up dog droppings and if the kids don't behave they'll be told to).

The prices were about right for the time of year and part of country. With two adults and two children (11&14) we paid 33 per night.

The location is in Devon, near to the Dorset border. Easy travelling to Lyme Regis, Sidmouth ( for the best ice cream ever!) or inland to Somerset. Most local beaches appear to be pebble, but there are a couple of nice sandy ones nearby.

There is one word of warning I'd give. There is no way to get here (apparently) without going up a big hill. Now, I'll emphasise that I know my towcar is slightly under-powered. I also discovered that one of my brakes was binding slightly. But, the hill out of Sidmouth (Trow Hill) is a long 14% hill. I ended up in bottom gear, engine screaming, doing 20mph to get up there. As I say, my car is a little under powered, but it's never struggled like that on any other hills. Obviously that's not the fault of the site and with a decent towcar it won't be an issue.

To sum up: Would I visit here again? You bet I would! (But maybe after I've changed my car! ) 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Creaseless 1 review from this member

 We have been going to this site for several years and it is refreshing that some sites do not change.

The care of the owners is clear to see all round the park. The toilet and shower facilities are spotless and the grass / flowers / shrubs / tress extremely well kept.

It has a small shop with all the basics. A games room, table tennis room, playground and playing field for adults and kids alike.

A safe, quiet site with surrounding views of farmland and the sea. Lots to do locally for all.

What more could you want! 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Leacroft Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Leacroft Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Leacroft Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Colyton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement