Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Doolittles Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Taunton > Doolittles Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Doolittles Caravan And Camping Site
Greenway
North Curry
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA3 6NH
Tel: 01823 490686
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaybeth 1 review from this member

 First of all I'd like to say about a previous review, the dogs are not yappy, you hardly ever see them, the grass was short & well kept, people make me mad who go to the seaside or the countryside & then moan about smells & sounds, if you don't want to hear gulls or cockerel's or smell poo go to the city & listen to the traffic!.

Now, Dolittles is a quiet peaceful site, yes, it's a bit basic, one loo, one shower, (i use mine in the caravan) my husband used the shower & said it was lovely & hot, you are pitched in an orchard, 12 pitches & a shepherds hut is available to hire, set amounts rolling fields, you are on a T junction but they are country lanes so not much traffic noise, lovely friendly owners & not forgetting Jo-jo the collie who was very welcome in our van, there's a nice pub in the village, I loved it so much I've already booked for the same time next year, I spent my birthday there & it was the best birthday I've had in years, the lovely Wendy even gave me a card & a little gift that I will treasure, if you like peace, quiet & tranquillity with no on site shops or bars, just the sound of sheep baaing, cocks crowing, birds & woodpeckers, lovely dark sky's with no hideous light poles or flags, no street lights then this is the place to be. See you next year Jo-jo & I won't forget your doggy bics. Forgot to say this is an adult only site so no screaming children  


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weavers78 26 reviews from this member

 Quiet basic adults only site with minimal facilities

One toilet (which includes basic information boards) and one shower which also includes washing up facilities for campers.

There is also a portaloo behind the block

Basic recycling facilities

Plenty of surrounding footpaths, 2/3rds mile walk to local shop/post office and pub, also a small community coffee shop

Owner keeps grass well short BUT does not pick up cuttings so, particularly when wet, they tread in everywhere, also is not too careful and grass was all over our van and even over the towels hanging on the drying line

Several yappy dogs from the owners are allowed to roam and even pooped on the camp field which was not picked up

Although well priced at 14 per night including EHU and free WiFi probably would not return due to grass and dog issues. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jethroe 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a long weekend break at this wonderful site, the facilities are basic but more than ample for a small site.

The site is set in 2 small orchards with large pitches, water and electric provided in the price and free wifi for those who need to keep in touch with the world.

Adults only site, peaceful and tranquil little gem and now added to my list of sites to visit again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BeniaminoGigli 10 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at this very welcoming Adult Only site. Large grass pitches with EHU. Dog friendly.

Limited facilities which are clean and adequate. 1 Shower and 2 WCs.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Good Pubs in village just a walk away. Plenty of National Trust and English Heritage sites to visit. Easy access to Taunton avoiding M5 once you find your way on the back lanes. You need a MAP not Satnav! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bonnie84 16 reviews from this member

 Wonderful peaceful site, only small very quiet, and friendly owners, all the campers were very friendly as well. We saw the woodpeckers in the orchard, ducks on site as well. We walked to the pub in the lovely village, had a good meal not cheap but a nice treat. We were central to go to the coast Devon or Dorset. We visited the willow and wetlands worth a visit. For 12. 50 a night with electric well worth it.

The only downside was the gate entrance a bit tight to get in 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicky Hatherell 20 reviews from this member

 We have just spent the hottest weekend for years at this site! It was perfect camping weather and it was peaceful being able to sit outside our tent in the evenings, the grass was mown short and the site kept in tip-top condition.

For 12 a night (inc electric which we don't need) we couldn't complain; a very fair price.

However I think we would be reluctant to go back there as the facilities were minimal. I don't mean we want all sorts of things, but one shower and one toilet (excluding a portaloo at the back) for the whole site I don't think was really enough. It seemed a bit odd to us that in the loo there was a stainless steel sink and drainer, as if people washed their dishes there. And if they washed clothes there then no-one else could use the loo. The loo also housed the information boards, so they also became inaccessible when the loo was in use.

The electric shower was ok most of the time, but it did keep going cold - maybe the water pressure fluctuated if someone pulled the flush?

If you have a unit with your own facilities then this site would probably be very suitable to you; the owners were very friendly and it was peaceful with no children there, a few yappy dogs but hey! Live and let live!

We liked the fact that we could recycle our rubbish on site, but their claim to be a Green Site ended there from what we could see - the washing liquid and cleaning chemicals weren't environmentally friendly ones, and the toilet rolls weren't made from recycled paper.

We were surprised that for a rural setting there was quite a lot of traffic noise, but again that wasn't a real issue to us. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Settingsun29 1 review from this member

 Great little site! Stayed for 3 nights in a tent. Friendly, relaxed owners and fantastic price for 12 a night with electricity. Clean facilities but not fussed about it only having 1 toilet as I didn't go there to spend time in the toilet! Everything was clean and smelled fresh and the shower had plenty of hot water. We pitched in the orchard under the shade of the trees. Everyone around us was lovely and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Liked the fact it was an adults only site! We bought some eggs from the house for our breakfast.

Great location for exploring the beautiful County and the site was only about 10 minutes from the motorway. Village is a ten minute wander away. Pub in the village was great with a lovely atmosphere and was flexible regarding meals for veggies. Food was fab with massive portions and great quality! Nice, quaint decor in the pub and the village was a bustling little place- cute! Village shop was great with good choice of food and drink- friendly guy at the till and cute cat sleeping on the fridge!

Would definitely recommend and would go again when next in the area! Little gem of a place! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tuffythedog 11 reviews from this member

 Spent a fantastic long weekend here. The campsite is small with just 12 pitches, split into two on a small holding. Its a C&C site, but it seems to be open to all. One side is the Paddock, more suited to motor homes and caravans. The other side, where we pitched, was called the Orchard. Pitches are very big and all have electric (which is included in the pitch price)and there are a few apple trees dotted around the field providing some shelter. We pitched between two of the trees, which provided us with some shade as it was the warmest weather we have has so far this year.

Upon arriving the daughter of the owners greeted us and showed us around the site and we could choose our own pitch from those available. There are fresh chicken and duck eggs to buy, but no shop. There are washing and drying facilities.

The toilets and wash facilities, although basic, were always spotless. There is a main block, containing toilet, separate shower room and washing facilities. There is also another plumbed in toilet at the back of the main block. Water was always hot. Fresh towels were provided every day in both the toilets and shower blocks. The site is adults only, which gave a very quiet site.

There were a few seasonal pitches, but they were very friendly and welcoming. The only advice I would give though is to be careful driving out of the site as there are two blind corners to access the main road.

Would definitely recommend this site as a quiet and although basic its a bit of a gem especially at 12 per night for 2 adults, tent and EHU. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Doolittles Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Doolittles Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Doolittles Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Taunton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7538 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement