Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Munstertal

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Munstertal > Camping Munstertal Reviews

Camping Munstertal
Dietzelbachstrasse 6
Munstertal
Germany   (Browse area)

Tel: +49 (0)7636 7080
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Clare Foss-Smith 1 review from this member

This is the most fantastic campsite we have ever visited. We have booked again for 3 weeks next year. Where it differs from other campsites particularly is the bathrooms (literally) - you have your own private bathroom with separate sink, lockable door and lots of space (just like home). Also, having a railway station right outside the gate with free tickets to anywhere in the Black Forest is a huge advantage as we take our bikes everywhere. The campsite is meticulously clean, rubbish bins emptied so regularly that you don't even know there is rubbish. Lots of bins close to all the pitches. The swimming pool is gorgeous and the restaurant fabulous but not particularly cheap - but it's a restaurant with superb food, not a café so it's a treat to go out to dinner there. This is the first time we have ever re-visited a campsite which says it all. Thank you Camping Munstertal for a wonderful experience.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AlcockMotorhome 1 review from this member

Camping Muenstertal is surrounded by the Black Forest. It's facilities are excellent especially the showers units which are like an ensuite bathroom with a shower unit, a sink and vanity unit, even a heated towel rail. You can also book your own private bathroom if you want but with these facilities felt it unnecessary. The swimming pools are good with plenty of sun beds available. Each pitch has water and electric points with plenty of space. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant food is excellent. It came as no surprise that the campsite had won this years Best campsite in Germany Award. Book early it is very popular.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HarryB 17 reviews from this member

I will go along with others re the site facilities, the area, etc. It's great. However just a warning.

We were disappointed in one or two things with the site. Firstly the pitches leave a lot to be desired for a 5 star site. The site to the left of the entrance road has very cramped pitches and narrow road ways hence the reason for the site tractor pitching your unit. However I only have a small van with a mover so they were happy I could manage. Just as well as my allotted pitch must have been the smallest on site, literally just room for the van, awning and car. It was number M118. There is no view from any of the pitches on this side of the site and it seems families are pitched there because of the play park. The whole roadway we were on was all very cramped. When asked if we could have a bigger pitch they said that the new super pitches were available (€3 more per night)However they then told us that only the pitch was ready but not the services to it which had not been connected. Now the smash and grab. We were told that even though the services weren't available we would have to pay the full super pitch price and for a minimum of 14 nights. We were only there for 9 nights so declined. The standard pitch in their price list (in German)had electric, waste water removal, fresh water connection and sat tv point. However when I went to pay I was charged £21 for electric. When I queried this saying that electric was included I was told, rather bluntly, that the electric point was only offered, it was not included, if I hooked up it would cost an extra €0. 60 per KW. It didn't read that way on the price list. Also the tourist tax was €3. 40 for two per night so overall the nightly fee worked at well over the €27 we expected. This meant I didn't have enough cash so opted to pay with a credit card. This was refused, they do not take them. Again bluntly I was told I would have to go to the bank and withdraw the cash or use a debit card. They cited the mastercard interest rate for not accepting them. They didn't seem to be bothered what we thought of their attitude it was either take it or leave it.

So overall my report is meant to give a warning rather than an opinion. So do your sums re nightly cost. This site is run as a very big money making machine. I have marked the site down on value for money and customer service because of the way my complaint was handled and how costs escalated.

After all of that we would go back because we now know what to expect and the area and location of the site a really quite stunning.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshinetours 18 reviews from this member

Can't really add anything in addition to excellent reviews here! The site for family of 4 on regular fully serviced pitch in height of season worked out at around £31 per night for over 10 day stay, and for a genuine 5* facility site this is IMO outstanding value.

Pools are great and wonderful mountain views from outdoor one and you can book into excellent on site spa for treatments or eat at the fine restaurant on site.

Play areas for kids are huge and bathroom facilities are absolute top notch.

Use of free Train travel and bikes are a must and really add to the holiday, and local Staufen and even more local Munstertal are both lovely places. Cafe Decka in Staufen is a must visit for cakes and coffee.

Europa Park only 40 minutes away and is an absolute must visit for at least two days if you have kids and again is great value compared to UK parks and Disney Paris

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scotty1965 2 reviews from this member

After several holidays in France, we decided to try the Black Forest and were definitely not disappointed. On arrival and after checking in (please note that you pay when you leave and we did not have to pay a deposit when booking) a member of staff will unhitch your van and tow to your pitch - I think this is mainly due to the narrow site roads which makes manoeuvring very difficult but the staff make it look so easy. We opted for a 'comfort' pitch with water and drainage and the pitch was large enough for our van (8m long) plus awning, car and space to sit out. The site's bathroom facilities were first class anyway but having two teenage girls, we opted to book one of the private bathrooms which was a real luxury and meant we could keep all our toiletries, hair dryers, etc in there. That said, you would not be disappointed with the communal facilities. In each block there is also laundry and pot washing rooms. The site has both inside and outside pools which were very busy when we were there given the hot weather, the views from the pool of the surrounding mountains are spectacular. The site also has play areas, table tennis, horse riding, gym and many more facilities. There is a well stocked shop on site and although there is no bar, they do have a restaurant which we used twice and the food was gorgeous on both occasions and was approx 70 euros for the 4 of us including drinks.

You will also receive a rail pass enabling free rail and bus travel for all the family within the Black Forest region - we had our 2 dogs with us and you have to pay child fare for each dog. The station is directly outside the site. For us, the main attraction is the location of the site which has the most beautiful scenery and places to visit - you must go to nearby Staufen which is really pretty and has several places to eat and drink. We would also recommend a visit to the Belchen Cablecar, Lakes Titisee and Schultchsee which can all be reached within the hour and are beautiful places to visit. You can also get the train to Basel, Switzerland (free with the pass) and is a good shopping day.

If there is a downside to this site it is the fact that we were the only British there during our stay, with the site being used mainly by Germans, Dutch and Swiss families - however like most campsites everyone was really friendly. We noted that there were lots of campers with car stickers showing they returned year after year.

The cost was approx 50euros per night for 4 adults, 2 dogs, van, awning, comfort pitch and private bathroom which we felt was worth it given the site facilities and standards as well as the location. There is another site close by which is advertised in the caravan club brochure but we felt the facilities and standards on this site were better.

All in all, we will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Durhamwasp 11 reviews from this member

Best site we have ever visited! We are 2 adults with 2 kids - 3yr old and 6mths.

Site was well located with the free regional travel pass, and a big Rewe supermarket just up the road. Pitches were well sized and the site in general was perfectly clean with facilities that you would expect in a lesuire club or 5* hotel.

The site is basically attached to a high class spa with 2 excellent heated pools, and the cleanliness and high class facilities stretch to the campsite - individual toilets, showers, a drying room, fridge freezers, washing room and music played all the time.

For kids the site is full of kids of all nationalities, so they easily mix and fill their own time in! Pools are excellent and the playground is also first class. The site doesn't allow driving around it outside of certain hours so you can be sure the kids wont get run over!

Lots of cycling and walking routes on your doorstep!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 42 reviews from this member

Fully agree with previous post. A very good site in a bit very good location. Facilities are second to none. Shop in on site carries quite a selection, but is more expensive than the supermarket a short distance away. Pools are good, if the outside one a bit cold, but you soon get used to it. Free travel within the Black Forest is a huge bonus and rail station is outside site. Only slight negative is you need rock pegs, plastic and feeble metal are no use whatsoever.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nelmo 23 reviews from this member

Apologies for this review being so long - as I added this site to the database, I felt I had to do a decent review.

So, in summary, an amazing campsite in a beautiful part of the world.

Prior to this trip, we'd had 2 great years in the Vendee but fancied a change. Camping Munstertal is similar in facilities to the 'famous' La Garangeoire, our previous favourite.

It has an outdoor and heated indoor pool (better than La G'S), on-site shop, restaurant (far superior to La G's), a better kids playground, tennis court, astroturf pitch, a small lake (not sure if you can fish in it), mini-golf and stables for horse rides.

Like La G, it has free organised daily events - the only issue is that, as most of the people on site are German or Dutch, the activities are not in English, so not great for kids. I tried the 'easy' mountain bike guided ride but I had to give up - too many hills for my unfit body. Scared to think what the 'hard' ride was like! There is also no 'leave-em-and-relax' kids clubs, like at La G.

There isn't as much evening entertainment as La G and there isn't really a separate bar - it's part of the restaurant.

The toilet facilities are the best I've ever seen in a campsite, better than our home! Three large toilet blocks (that look like Alpine skiing chalets), all kept very clean, with shower rooms (shower cubicle, sink, heated towel rail, stool, hooks) and separate toilet cubicles with paper (unlike many French sites). Seperate washing-up sinks, laundry room and chemical toilet disposal.

The pool is lovely, un-heated and never quite as crowded as La G. You'll still have to fight for a sunbed but it's not quite as bad and there is a separate grass area for sunbathing. The indoor heated pool is almost as big as the outdoor one but a point to note is that neither pool has a shallow end - they're both about 5ft deep throughout. There is a small toddlers pool (knee-deep) alongside the outdoor one.

The site shop is a reasonable size but expensive - there is a small supermarket about a mile away and several bigger ones in nearby Staufen (10 minutes drive). The shop also does take-away pizzas (reasonable cost and quality) and fresh bread and cakes daily.

The site does seem a bit cramped as, like many German sites, they do cram people in. If you choose a premium pitch (full-serviced and can include TV and internet access), they are better and most are on the edge of the site, so you're not totally surrounded. All are half-grass, half-gravel and level. When you arrive, your caravan is towed to your pitch with their own tractor - a great service, considering the fairly small access roads. Electricity is metered - we were charged 27 euros for 12 nights, for a family of 4.

Most of Europe had a heatwave around this time - we had 11 days of 30degC+ weather (peaking with 2 days at 38 !) and then, just as I was packing up the awning, a thunderstorm of epic proportions. We were told it wasn't normally that hot but low 30s was normal.

Where this site is head and shoulders over the Vendee is its location. The Vendee is a barren wilderness, IMO, whereas the Black Forest is as scenic as anything the Lake District can boast. The view from our pitch was of mountains and rolling green fields. The local town of Staufen was achingly pretty, with cobbled streets, brightly coloured traditional buildings, cafe's bordering quaint squares and mountains always towering in the background. Thirty scenic miles away is Lake Titisee and Schlusee - you can swim in them, hire a boat or cycle round them. The site will also give you a free Konus card which gives you free travel on all buses and trains in the Black Forest (and unlike British buses and trains, these work!).

Cycling in Germany is on another level - almost every road has a cycle path running alongside it. There's a lovely cycle path from the site to Staufen (6 miles there and back), great for all ages and you can go much further afield, always off-road.

OK, if you're still with me:

Pros:

Beautiful area with lots to do.
Great site and facilities.

Cons:

Few UK guests, so kids won't make friends.
Take cash - only petrol stations and some supermarkets take credit cards.
Site a bit cramped.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Germany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3869 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019