Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Leadstone Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dawlish > Leadstone Camping Reviews

Leadstone Camping
Warren Road
Dawlish Warren
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX7 0NG
Tel: 01626 864411
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 160
Open: 28/05/2022 to 06/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 128 Reviews
                9/10 from 128 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  128 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richar 1 review from this member

 Only one gripe the showers/toilets could be cleaned more frequently as the floors in both areas were also wet and dirty on each use.

My husband reports similar with gents' facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 62 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to the area and of course therefore to this site. It's a pleasant, quite large site but in 3 fields so each field is of a reasonable size.

The facilities block was good, and kept reasonably clean although we came after a period of heavy rain so the ground was still very wet. This meant that the toilet/shower floor was never as clean as we'd have liked.

The centre of Dawlish Warren, 12 minutes' walk, is a bit of a strange mixture of funfair/ gokarts/ candyfloss alongside an extensive quiet nature reserve, all backed by a lovely sandy beach.

The latter is broken into sections by 9 breakwaters, dogs are allowed on some sections and forbidden on others so everbody can choose what suits them.

We cycled to the ferry to Exmouth one day, and to Powderham castle on another day (a worthwhile excursion).

A bus stops directly outside the site from where there is a half-hourly service(in summer) to Teignmouth via Dawlish town. We took the bus to Teignmouth and then the ferry to Shaldon (another worthwhile excursion).

The walk into Dawlish town is about 25 minutes and it's a pretty little place where you can get anything not possible in Dawlish Warren village.

The 'mushroom farm' next door has an excellent café and farm shop.

The site team, led by Andrew, is extremely friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynne3 1 review from this member

 Staff and location is very good

All I can say is facilities are stretched at peak times, could do with another block, I was using the disability toilet and every time I went to use it there was always somebody in there 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Craigo 1 review from this member

 Pitches nice and flat. Clean facilities. Very quiet at night. Not much farting or snoring.

Ten minute walk to Dawlish and excellent breakfast at the mushroom farm next door. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Fellhound 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived at leadstone and couldn’t fault the welcome, we booked two pitches together for our party, the size of the pitches was ok but we became concerned about the big mudpatches where the grass had not been allowed to recover between each stay and also the slope of the ground

The site itself was bigger than expected and the facilities where totally inadequate for the amount of people on site. The worse example being the showers, 6 unisex shower for a campsite holding approx people 600+ people is not good enough, consequences the shower had constant ques and hygiene standards where appalling, when my wife raised concerns with the manager she was informed that they were cleaned twice a day, which was totally inadequate.

The toilets floors and shower walls and floors had obviously not been thoroughly cleaned for the entire season. The decking surrounding the amenities block had obviously not seen a brush which resulted in grass and dirt being trodden into the showers and toilet block all the time.

We bought the internet package as well, really not worth it as the connection was horrendously slow.

Although the site itself was relatively quiet we where woken up on several nights by dogs barking bought in by campers. Shame really as the quiet rule was respected by the vast majority of campers.

Even after the driest week camping when we took our tents down the footprints where covered in mud where the ground could not cope.

The location is great and the site could be a lot better with a it more TLC. Unfortunately won’t be returning 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Homebird2003 19 reviews from this member

 A pleasant site separated into various fields bordered by trees and bushes. We were concerned that the site was full but campers were observing Covid recommendations. We were put at the top of a slope and we had trouble levelling our folding camper as the pitch sloped top to bottom and side to side.

Facilities were clean and campers were encouraged to disinfect after use. Numbers were restricted in wash up and laundry and it was suggested that users leave gaps between sinks and toilets.

There's no dog walk but the beach is about a 15/20 minute walk. As our dog is not keen on beaches we found a good field attached to another camp site a short walk away.

There is some road noise and the occasional train can be heard but it's not intrusive. We were fortunate to have extremely good weather so enjoyed clear skies and could see stars and the occasional bat.

All in all, a good site with clean facilities and good recycling. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Iant0272 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic site. The staff greet you on arrival and take you to your spot and are extremely friendly and helpful, a handout was give with the new rules implemented due to COVID-19.

The entire site was clean and tidy.

There was a pizza van which produced freshly made pizza’s at a reasonable price (is there on Tues & Thu evening).

The wash/ toilet block was always clean and tidy and a one way system was in place.

The beach is only 10 mins walk from the site (this is a blue flag beach) with a funfair and other amenities.

I would highly recommend this place. I look forward to going back there in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fieldgirl 2 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Leadstone campsite, and once again it didn't disappoint. There were excellent measures in place to prevent the spread of Covid-19, from the regular cleaning and disinfecting of the toilet and shower blocks, to a well-planned one way system around the facility blocks.

Coronavirus aside, this is a lovely site, with large pitches (we chose electric hook up again) and plenty of water stand pipes. A ten minute walk down hill finds you in the little resort of Dawlish Warren, with its beach and usual array of seaside shops. There is also a railway station, where you can hop on a train and head into Dawlish town, or a couple of stops further takes you to Teighmouth.

The walk back up the hill to the campsite is a little more challenging, but is made more bearable by a pub half way up, where you can pop in for a drink and get your breath back!

Back at the site, there is a cute little pizza van, which serves up freshly made pizzas for a couple of hours at tea time.

All-in-all Leadstone is a fab campsite, and I would recommend it to anyone for a few days away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Barrym62 1 review from this member

 Another 1 st class stay camping at leadstone. The Covid rules were spot on and felt really safe. Thank you Andrew, Sarah and Phil and other staff for another hassle free holiday.

The site and facilities were again top notch. And even with the Covid things ran smoothly. Well done all.

See you next year all being well as this site is ideal if you love a peaceful friendly relaxing break this is the best site within the area. Already pre booked for 2021 as this little gem gets full quickly. Well done all you smashed it. Especially this year owing to the awful situation 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kezzm8 1 review from this member

 This campsite is PERFECT! Facilities are immaculate, and they have put every effort into social distancing measures possible.

Site is perfectly located for beach and usual seaside amusements all within walking distance.

Would highly recommend 
via mobile


Previous     128 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Leadstone Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Leadstone Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Leadstone Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dawlish      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3595 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement