Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Barley Meadow Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exeter > Barley Meadow Touring Park Reviews

Barley Meadow Touring Park
Crockernwell
Dartmoor
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6NR
Tel: 01647 281629
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 52
Open: 04/07/2020 to 07/11/2020
           02/03/2021 to 07/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MRS KIM SINGLETON 1 review from this member

 This is a well-maintained site. Lovely site and a relaxing, peaceful and pleasant holiday due to the owner making this site safe during the pandemic. A home from home site as I felt very comfortable there.

My concerns to visit were allayed by the positive attitude to keep the site safety under control to open up to holiday makers during this time. Additional cleaning of facilities made this possible.

The pitches are level and with easy access from the road. The owner is very helpful when customers have problems as we did with our aqua roll. The owner Martin and Site agent Steve really helped us out, nothing was too much trouble.

They are working very hard on this site and it is a gem. We will be using this site in the future as it ticked all the boxes for site and customer service. It is a very friendly site and customer orientated with a small shop on site which is a plus.

Exeter, Exmouth, Teinmouth, Toquay, Torcross and other local attractions are not too far away. Sainsbury, Aldi and other supermarkets a short drive. Village shop close by for papers also for bits and pieces.

Tent owners/holiday makers will find the grass is cut often and the pitches level and spacious with park benches and tables to use. An ideal site for walking holiday makers.

The garden area is maintained and wildlife friendly.

There is a small dog walk for your pets and it is spotless. The shower facilities are pleasant and are very well maintained modern and clean. Hot water good and water pressure.

Washing up facilities clean and tidy and a bonus of being under cover. Refuse area is spotless and just outside of the entrance barrier. There are no rubbish bins on site which makes it cleaner for everyone.

I highly recommend this site and we will be returning customer's as it is immaculate. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amy England 1 review from this member

 This pretty site is a superb base for exploring a huge range of attractions across a wide area of Devon.

Itís also a great location for more active pursuits, with the Two Moors Way long-distance path and Dartmoor Way cycle route both passing close by the site as well as traffic-free Devon C2C and Exe Trail cycling routes not far away.

The site is sheltered by natural hedging, beyond which are extensive views over Dartmoor. Pitches are separated by decorative hedges and flowering shrubs, as well as a variety of attractive garden trees.

The pitches are level with very well kept grass.

The facilities have been recently refurbished to a high standard. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Melee 6 reviews from this member

 A great little site, beautifully laid out with flat, good sized pitches divided by flowering hydrangeas and ornamental trees. It's like camping in someone's garden!

The facilities are always spotless, my only gripe being the basin in the disabled toilet. There wasn't space to help my son with washing his hands and every time you approach the hand dryer goes off which isn't much fun if your child/young person is severely autistic.

There is lots of attention to detail, a freezer for ice packs, books in the games room with local information printed out and even a caddy for leftover food by the dishwashing area. The owner is so friendly and helpful (happy to lend items you may have forgotten to bring) and is available at any time.

The site is rather out of the way. There is no 'local' shop so you need to stock up but the farm shop and cafe five mins walk away are lovely. We didn't find any footpaths or bridleways close by but there are some beautiful woodland walks if you don't mind a couple of miles on country roads first.

We walked to Fingle Bridge and had a drink at the pub and you can walk to castle Drogo too if you can manage hills, there are lots of signs if you head towards Drewsteignton from the cafe.

The road is alarmingly close to the site and sounds quite loud but we didn't notice after a while and it's handy if you want the bus! The only low points were caused by other campers and in no way the fault of the management.

Some lowlifes vandalised the games room and for the first time in over 20 years of camping we had some items stolen, which was more disappointing than anything as they weren't expensive.

This site is very reasonably priced (about £200 less for our stay than other quotes we got in the area) so we weren't sure what to expect and we were very pleasantly surprised. Would definitely camp here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Merlemad 1 review from this member

 Well done Team (nothing is too much trouble). We stopped here by chance on way home due to better weather change (thought just for the weekend).

After 1 hour we realised how good this site was and booked another 4 nights. What a wonderful location. Just 20 mins West from the M5/Exeter on the A30.

This gives access to local areas such as castle Drago & Fingle Bridge along with day trips to North /South & East Devon. Or just chill for the day.

If you are working your way down South then an ideal stopover. In the morning try the cooked breakfast next door. Facilities are superb.

Toilets and shower block. Wash up facilities. We will be back.

Keith & Gill Northamptonshire. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lauren and Nigel 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite, clean, friendly and we loved our super pitch,

only 10 min from M5.

Pitch sizes very generous, though we backed on to a road it didn't impede on our lovely stay here,

definitely will be going back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: NiftySixty17 1 review from this member

 First time at Barley Meadows, fantastic, clean & tidy site new shower block, includes disabled facilities, laundry, washing up area.

Martin & co very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Shop with essentials, camping bits and gas refills. Games room, which includes a pool table, boxed games, books for all. Farm shop down the newly created path.

Fantastic base for sightseeing Dartmoor and surrounding area. Bus stop outside site. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that as from the end of the 2018 season, this site is no longer run by the Camping and Caravanning Club, and is under new management. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 44 reviews from this member

 This is a small but very well maintained site in a sheltered rural location. Staff friendly. Grass short - be warned lawn mowing seemed to happen on a daily basis! Drainage: can't really comment as it didn't rain heavily whilst we were there. Wifi (free) worked well for basic Google searches and email. Reception sells basics but expect to drive for pubs and shops.

#There are supermarkets in Okehampton but all of the petrol stations on the A30 also included a mini-shop which may meet your needs. The site toilet block was new and spotlessly clean but relatively small. It may struggle to cope when the site is full. There is a decent sized playground but not anywhere suitable for kicking a football or flying a kite.

Beware of the complex junction of the A30, A382, A3124 and the road to the site, I think it is called Whiddon Down: on three occasions we met cars you turning on the slip roads. Keep your eyes peeled!

Things to do: we drove to Bude for a day at the seaside, had a day walking on Dartmoor and then a day sightseeing. Brentor church on the western side of the National Park is a stunning location. The church is left open. Closer to base is Castle Drogo (National Trust) but presently covered in scaffolding and plastic! Fingle Bridge is a lovely wooded gorge - perfect for a paddle in the stream or picnic. There is also a very pretty pub but we didn't go in. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kavs 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights before traveling down to Cornwall. Small campsite but well looked after. Toilet facilities were spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water for the showers.

We didn't have any children with us but noted a small play area and a pool table indoors for when it's raining. We did have our small dog with us and the tiny dog area was adequate for us but if you had a larger dog then you would have to go off site to exercise it.

Good location, we visited Castle Drogo and Exeter Cathedral which was stunning. Next time we visit we will stay longer. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maxt46 54 reviews from this member

 This site is a typical club site, very clean, tidy and a credit to the managers. The grass was cut and tidy there weren't even any bald patches even though we were there late in the season, even the flower beds looked good.

There are many places to visit and the area is very scenic, but sadly for us there are no safe walks direct from the site, the nearest one means a walk up a very fast and busy road with bends for approx. 700 yards and we thought with 2 dogs this was unwise. Yes I know we can unhook and take the van but we preferred to move on.

So don't think we will return but still a good stopover if travelling to the west country. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barley Meadow Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barley Meadow Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Barley Meadow Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1535 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December