Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barley Meadow Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Crockernwell > Barley Meadow Touring Park > Reviews

Barley Meadow Touring Park
Hask Lane
Crockernwell
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6NR
Tel: 01647 403020
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 52
Open: 17/03/2024 to 18/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 200 reviews from this member

 Great adult only site on glorious Dartmoor.

Easy booking online, which makes for a smooth check in (and very friendly).

Easy access from the A30 from north or south. Barriered site using ANPR.

Choice of hardstanding, grass, with our without EHU and fully serviced pitches, all decent sizes.

Lovely spotlessly clean facilities block with under cover washing up area and laundry.

Bothy containing free pool table, board games, books, DVDs to borrow.

Small shop on site (licenced).

Farm shop down a short track. There used to be a cafe but that is now closed.

Beautiful Dartmoor views. A little road noise but didn't bother us, even when we were sat outside.

Fenced off dog run (with those views!).

Lots of walking directly from the site (**beware it's VERY hilly**).

Request bus 🚌 stop at site entrance into Exeter or various little villages.

Village pub about a mile away (walkable) from the site.

Bonus for us is that it's only an hour away from home. 👌

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob39 9 reviews from this member

 Barley Meadow sit nicely central to Exeter and the English Riviera in the quaint Devon countryside. Around 50 pitches adult only with a mix of hard standing and grass pitches for all types of camping units.

Just off the A30 giving excellent access to all areas of Devon and Cornwall.

Checking in was super simple and very welcoming, no map of the site is given but it is emailed to you before you visit.

We had pitch 45 on the central area of the park, grass with 16amp EHU, slightly sloping to aid drainage. Pitch size very generous at 11x11m.

Very clean toilets, consisting of x3 toilets x3 sinks and x3 showers. X2 pot washing areas with a couple of sinks in both and your usual Elsan point with the motorhome point just outside the exit barrier, entry and exit security Barrier is number plate recognition.

What we did notice was a lot of campers stayed just 1 night, using as a stop over for the ferry terminals further south.

One issue with the showers we had and itís very minor, was you had a dry area to undress n dress then the shower area, you have to press the push button on the shower many times to get hot water coming through which wasnít an issue but the so called dry area also got wet due to the angle of the shower head which couldnít be altered, again not a big issue but annoying.

As for our pitch, excellent pitch but we had the toilets close by and other campers walked through our pitch and pitch 40 through to 46 to get to the services, which again was annoying. All it needs is a sign and a small path putting in to solve this minor irritant.

The owners were excellent very friendly and kept the site immaculate.

It does say itís a camping and caravan site but anyone can book this site.

The site does sit next to a road so some minor traffic noise is heard especially in a tent and the local bikers do like to open it up at times along this. If your in a van you shouldnít have no issues with any road noise.

Would we return? Probably not as itís really to far away from the areas we would travel to, but it is an excellent well maintained and quiet site overall 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Journo 18 reviews from this member

 This remains an exceptionally well-run and -maintained site with friendly staff and beautiful, warm, modern toilets and showers.

Itís small and quiet with the added bonus of the farm shop and cafe down a footpath from the site.

But you do need to drive to the local pubs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: T0nyB 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean, secure site with anpr barrier.

Arrived slightly later than planned due to traffic and wardens had rung us on our journey to say they would not be there but would input our car reg into the barrier and gave us the pitch number.

While we were setting up they popped back to make sure we were ok and settling in.

Throughout the week they were both working tirelessly to keep the site immaculate and were always on hand for any help or just a cheery chat.

The site is well laid out with a wonderful enclosure for dog exercise.

The toilet block was spotless with lovely hot showers.

We can fully recommend this site and its wonderful wardens. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jacjones 27 reviews from this member

 Very nice and quiet site which was immaculate.

Toilets were immaculate

Great location, and although on the side of the road, the noise wasnít enough to bother you.

They had a great shop on site, and also a far, shop within walking distance.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Wifi on site was great too.

Would definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MRS KIM SINGLETON 1 review from this member

 This is a well-maintained site. Lovely site and a relaxing, peaceful and pleasant holiday due to the owner making this site safe during the pandemic. A home from home site as I felt very comfortable there.

My concerns to visit were allayed by the positive attitude to keep the site safety under control to open up to holiday makers during this time. Additional cleaning of facilities made this possible.

The pitches are level and with easy access from the road. The owner is very helpful when customers have problems as we did with our aqua roll. The owner Martin and Site agent Steve really helped us out, nothing was too much trouble.

They are working very hard on this site and it is a gem. We will be using this site in the future as it ticked all the boxes for site and customer service. It is a very friendly site and customer orientated with a small shop on site which is a plus.

Exeter, Exmouth, Teinmouth, Toquay, Torcross and other local attractions are not too far away. Sainsbury, Aldi and other supermarkets a short drive. Village shop close by for papers also for bits and pieces.

Tent owners/holiday makers will find the grass is cut often and the pitches level and spacious with park benches and tables to use. An ideal site for walking holiday makers.

The garden area is maintained and wildlife friendly.

There is a small dog walk for your pets and it is spotless. The shower facilities are pleasant and are very well maintained modern and clean. Hot water good and water pressure.

Washing up facilities clean and tidy and a bonus of being under cover. Refuse area is spotless and just outside of the entrance barrier. There are no rubbish bins on site which makes it cleaner for everyone.

I highly recommend this site and we will be returning customer's as it is immaculate. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amy England 1 review from this member

 This pretty site is a superb base for exploring a huge range of attractions across a wide area of Devon.

Itís also a great location for more active pursuits, with the Two Moors Way long-distance path and Dartmoor Way cycle route both passing close by the site as well as traffic-free Devon C2C and Exe Trail cycling routes not far away.

The site is sheltered by natural hedging, beyond which are extensive views over Dartmoor. Pitches are separated by decorative hedges and flowering shrubs, as well as a variety of attractive garden trees.

The pitches are level with very well kept grass.

The facilities have been recently refurbished to a high standard. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Melee 6 reviews from this member

 A great little site, beautifully laid out with flat, good sized pitches divided by flowering hydrangeas and ornamental trees. It's like camping in someone's garden!

The facilities are always spotless, my only gripe being the basin in the disabled toilet. There wasn't space to help my son with washing his hands and every time you approach the hand dryer goes off which isn't much fun if your child/young person is severely autistic.

There is lots of attention to detail, a freezer for ice packs, books in the games room with local information printed out and even a caddy for leftover food by the dishwashing area. The owner is so friendly and helpful (happy to lend items you may have forgotten to bring) and is available at any time.

The site is rather out of the way. There is no 'local' shop so you need to stock up but the farm shop and cafe five mins walk away are lovely. We didn't find any footpaths or bridleways close by but there are some beautiful woodland walks if you don't mind a couple of miles on country roads first.

We walked to Fingle Bridge and had a drink at the pub and you can walk to castle Drogo too if you can manage hills, there are lots of signs if you head towards Drewsteignton from the cafe.

The road is alarmingly close to the site and sounds quite loud but we didn't notice after a while and it's handy if you want the bus! The only low points were caused by other campers and in no way the fault of the management.

Some lowlifes vandalised the games room and for the first time in over 20 years of camping we had some items stolen, which was more disappointing than anything as they weren't expensive.

This site is very reasonably priced (about £200 less for our stay than other quotes we got in the area) so we weren't sure what to expect and we were very pleasantly surprised. Would definitely camp here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Merlemad 2 reviews from this member

 Well done Team (nothing is too much trouble). We stopped here by chance on way home due to better weather change (thought just for the weekend).

After 1 hour we realised how good this site was and booked another 4 nights. What a wonderful location. Just 20 mins West from the M5/Exeter on the A30.

This gives access to local areas such as castle Drago & Fingle Bridge along with day trips to North /South & East Devon. Or just chill for the day.

If you are working your way down South then an ideal stopover. In the morning try the cooked breakfast next door. Facilities are superb.

Toilets and shower block. Wash up facilities. We will be back.

Keith & Gill Northamptonshire. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lauren and Nigel 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite, clean, friendly and we loved our super pitch,

only 10 min from M5.

Pitch sizes very generous, though we backed on to a road it didn't impede on our lovely stay here,

definitely will be going back. 
via mobile


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Barley Meadow Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barley Meadow Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Barley Meadow Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crockernwell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3107 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement