Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gran Camping Zarautz

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Zarautz > Gran Camping Zarautz > Reviews

Gran Camping Zarautz
Talaimendi Apdo 8
Zarautz
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: +34 943 83 12 38
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 400
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seejay 1 review from this member

 On the approach to the site, we were trepidatious due to height and climb, etc. But the site was well worth it, staff were lovely, facilities (showers, toilets, waste water, recycling, etc) excellent.

The restaurant was an added bonus as not many sites seem to have facilities open this time of year and the staff were so lovely and welcoming.

There was also a shop (luckily as there was no bus access nearby) and a great launderette. There was a walk from the site to both town and the beach, hilly but worth the exercise!

The views from the site are fantastic! There was a gym and wellness centre(sauna) which was free although we didn't use it.

The only downside (in common with every site we have visited) is the wi-fi - it was hopeless. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 27 reviews from this member

 Nice site with a lively bar, reasonably stocked shop and good views over Zarautz beach, the sea and towards the mountains. Wifi is excellent around the site. Reception staff are friendly with good English and the opening times are good - no long lunch hour!

However there are some issues which visitors should be aware of.

The site facilities are a little tired - broken doors, missing loo seats and dirty floors. Sadly I think this is partly down to a small element of well-oiled surfers. However they are cleaned regularly. This is a suffering area so most of the campers are surfers and the majority are well behaved.

The pitches are small and very shaded - great for summer but at this time of year everything was a little too overshadowed.

The main tip I would leave is the steep walk down to the beach (and the further 2. 5km walk to town). I loved it and really enjoyed the views as you do the walk but you need to be fit to do it. The surfers carry their boards down (hundreds of steps) - I couldn't do it!

But the town is nice and the malecon is wide and lively; the beach is super and swimming was possible at low tide ( a little challenging at high tide).

Only come if you are up to the hike - and enjoy it! 


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gartempe 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for just one night en route from France to Southern Spain. Perhaps due to it being low season but the site was quiet with plenty of room and the very helpful man in reception allocated us a perfect pitch. We will certainly go again, lovely setting, spotlessly clean and heated sanitary block, adequate shop, good bar but didnít try the restaurant. We thought it was one of the best sites in Spain that we have been to. We would have liked to stay longer. ACSI 17 euros 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 93 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site.

It is, undoubtedly, the best site for visiting San Sebastian. Which has some of the best tapas bars in the whole of Spain. And certainly in the northwest.

It can be very crowded, and the pitches are mainly medium sized and rather cheek by jowl. So less of a site to spend a day relaxing in, more of one to use as a base to explore the surrounding area and return for sleeping.

We found the 'movers' on the caravan to be extremely useful. Can be quite tight fitting in. Once in, you have room to roll out a canopy and set up table and chairs. Or park the car.

Facilities are good. Great views over Zarautz bay. Easy walk down. More challenging coming back.

We liked the bar/restaurant area. Reasonable food at average prices. Though we found better value/scenery etc in the town. In Zarautz, the old part, set back from the sea front. There are lots of bars and restaurants. Some do fabulous tapas and pinxtos, lots of tasty nibbles that can quickly make up a full meal.

The nearby fishing port/marina/up market small resort of Getaria is worth a wander through the old part. Again, plenty of bars and restaurants. But pricier than Zarautz. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pinkfeebee 9 reviews from this member

 There is nothing wrong with this site but I wouldn't use it again for more than a stopover. It was very busy when we visited and they squeeze everyone in wherever they can. That said, a very helpful man on a three wheeled motorbike led us, in our large motorhome, to a sufficiently large space and got us neatly parked. The toilet block is clean and modern, the bar is good value and, although it's busy during the day, it totally went silent at night. I just felt it was expensive at 31 euros for the night - I have had better facilities for less. However, I guess you are paying for location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Astral weeks 10 reviews from this member

 You arrive and are led to your pitch by a boy on a scooter. He tried to put us next to the bar but I waved him on and he took us to a more acceptable shaded pitch. There was not enough room for all our tents and our car but after tying a washing line to the surrounding trees we were able to ensure total privacy. The car was parked in the shade about 10 metres away.

The site is in a great position but do be aware that it is on top of a cliff and though the beach looks very inviting and the walk down is easy, the return can be more than challenging, especially in the heat, as you work your way up the 400 odd concrete steps.

The shower block is very clean and everything worked well. There are several restaurants and a shop on site and a veg/fruit stall sets up in the morning. The prices do not compare to the supermarket in town but are a lot handier.

Paella night was not a great success. We couldn't help but notice that our portions didn't compare well the Spanish campers. Luckily my Spanish speaking wife managed to persuade them after a fairly loud and protracted argument that we deserved an extra portion. The English couple next to us were not so fortunate and had to buy an extra portion to eke out their previous meagre portion. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Feelyjordan 17 reviews from this member

 Superb hilltop location overlooking bay. Helpful man at reception guided us to our spot and helped to position the van to overlook the bay. Possibly the best view of any campsite to date!

Loos and showers clean, but showers lacking place for soap/sponge. Wet floor a problem in showers.

Free WIFI but limited range, not available on pitch and very slow. Unable to access Orange mail, but Googlemail worked OK.

Didnít much fancy the restaurant, possibly spoilt by previous campsite.

ACSI price 16 Euros, not bad value.

Zarutz is a modern town, very much a seaside resort and surfing centre. There were lots of young people on the site attracted by the surf, but no problems with rowdiness. There is a large supermarket in the town.

The nearby fishing village of Getaria is more characterful and worth the walk along the coast to get there - we hopped on a bus to get back.

There is a modern electric narrow gauge railway running along the coast and it is possible to take the train to San Sebastian, which is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bunny72 12 reviews from this member

 This is a stunning site perched on a hill overlooking the sea. When we arrived the reception was most welcoming and we were guided to our pitch by motor cycle (all of 100 meters). The pitches are fairly level in terraces. Beautifully kept as was the whole site. There is a path down to the beach- quite steep but worth the walk of about 300 meters. The path also goes to a good sandy beach about 800 meters away. The toilet Block is excellent- floored with terracotta tiles. Extremely clean. The only reason not to give 10 stars are the trivial point that the wash-hand basins have no soap or hand dryer but you can put up with that! There is a shop which has the usual necessities and bar/restaurant(which we didn't use). It has free wifi and electricity. In June the cost was 20e + tax for a night. 


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wakker1 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights after coming across on the ferry to Bilbao. The site is about 1. 5 hours drive from Bilbao on the toll road, leave at exit 11 but make sure you take the right hand toll booths, nearest the exit or you will have to pay and then carry on to the next exit.

The site is well signposted from the motorway and easy to find. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you, they showed us to our pitch which was right on the cliff edge but well sheltered by bushes. We could have had any pitch of our choice as the site was very quiet, but we stayed on the one allocated as it also had 10amp electricity.

The site is set in a nature reserve, so if you are a walker or dog owner it is ideal for countryside and cliff walks. The sights are stunning from the site looking out over the Bay of Biscay and Zaurutz.

The site can be a bit windy but I think you would expect that being on the bay and high up on the cliffs. The site has a brand new amenities block with all mod cons, with loads of showers and toilets. There is a cafe/ bar where they serve snacks and drinks, it is worth trying the Basque cider which is excellent, also a restaurant and shop which sells wines and spirits, plus all basic items.

The site is dog friendly and dogs are allowed in the bar/cafe and shop.

Zaurutz is a twenty minute walk down the cliff, and then on to the beach, the town itself has plenty shops, and is very clean and tidy.

We only stopped 2 nights but will definitely return for longer, because we have heard San SebastiŠn is a place well worth a visit, and it is only a few miles down the road. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Inka 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite and found the reception staff most unhelpful. No choice of pitch was offered and the size of the pitches was small. Also they crammed the units together.

It was a pity because the site is overlooking a lovely beach.

I shall not return to this site but try the site nearer the town right by the beach next time we visit the area. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gran Camping Zarautz child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gran Camping Zarautz?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gran Camping Zarautz dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Zarautz      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53982 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement