Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Warren House Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Warren House Caravan And Campsite > Reviews

Warren House Caravan And Campsite
Allerston
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 7PN
Tel: 01723 850280
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 10 Reviews
                10/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RainMagnet 9 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site with a large open field & stunning views, we stayed for 4 nights in May. The main field has a mixture of EHU & non-EHU pitches around the perimeter with a large open space in the middle for children to play in, this arrangement means you never feel boxed in.

The facilities are basic but very well maintained, with a cabin for the toilets, two portaloo style showers and a single sink for pot washing.

The site is accessed by a long single track road that seems to climb forever but once you get to the top the view is amazing. The location is right on the boundary of Dalby Forest and you can walk or cycle to the visitor centre via a gate at the back of the site if you are feeling energetic, we even saw a few cyclists riding by during our stay. If you want to drive, Pickering with the NYM Railway, Flamingo Land and Dalby Forest are all under 30 min drive away, and Scarborough isn't much further. To summarise this is a great site ideally located close to plenty of locations to visit nearby, would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Silverbirch 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, well kept and nicely laid out with tents and caravans around the perimeter of the field to allow play in the centre. This gives it a spacious open feel. Stunning views. Facilities are good. The toilets are in a large portacabin, which conjured images of awful portaloos, but were in fact proper flushing toilets, clean and nicely presented. The showers are in separate 'cabins', one for men and one for ladies. We did not use them, but took a peek and they looked clean and functional, though there was nowhere to sit down - there were hooks for hanging clothes. The bins were divided into different categories for recycling.

The site has direct off road access to miles of walking and cycling routes into and around Dalby Forest, as well as towards the coast, which was perfect for us. The site is at the top of a hill up a long single track road (with passing places), which puts it well away from busy roads. Safe for children and very dog friendly. It is very quiet, with only the noises of a working farm and the odd small aircraft. Thornton-le-dale is a few miles away, a lovely village with a super fish & chip shop! Flamingo Land is 20 minutes away.

The farmer was very welcoming and very friendly. Will definitely be back :-). 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JohnPa 1 review from this member

 Smashing place, nice toilets, pleasant owner - was unconcerned about extra people, pets etc, nice not to have to factor in all the add ons, excellent value for money in excellent location. If there was some swings or something for my kids to fall off it'd be perfect, it truly is excellent though. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anymorepies 2 reviews from this member

 It may have been a wet a windy few days during the May but that didn't stop us enjoying an excellent campsite.

Large pitches and well kept grounds were a great start. Once set up we discovered that the toilets, even though looking like a portakabin, were a spotlessly clean and had the look of any hotel amenities.

The pitches are set up around the perimeter of the field given the children full playing access to the large middle section. Not that it was a noisy site at all and nice and peaceful after lights out.

For those desperate to still have contact with the outside world I can confirm that even though it seemed were on top of the world (the views are spectacular) we received a very good 4G reception and a strong DAB radio signal.

15 mins drive to Dalby forest along with access to those with bikes (or keen for a nice walk) to the Dalby Forest 'Blue' route.

Pub at the bottom of the track was closed most of the time we were there and even The Grapes pub nearby only opened at 6pm ( 5pm on a weekend). I would recommend a short drive into Thorton Le Dale which has a number a good pubs (and excellent ice cream parlour!).

The owner of the site was very welcoming and very informative about the local area.

All in all an excellent campsite and one I shall be visiting again (hopefully when the sun is shining for a few days!) due to the great site itself along with its location to such great days out! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ddave489 7 reviews from this member

 Having returned from 6 days camping here I can say we will definitely be returning, a lovely campsite with stunning views and surroundings and very friendly and helpful owners.

The fact that the site backs on to the national forest is excellent for cyclists and walkers and just a short picturesque stroll down to the local pub.

The only 2 negatives I could posibly find is that maybe during a busy time the 1 shower for each sex maybe a problem and also the bright floodlights that are around the field takeaway from the beautiful night sky other than that its an amazing little site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swithers 1 review from this member

 Just got back from this campsite

And what a lovely camp site I've never been to this site before

So I went by the reviews and they were spot on all good

There was 15 of us 4 families. To start with the pitches are massive loads of space

We booked 4 pitches but we only used 2 pitches and we had 4 big family tents

The price is very reasonable 17. 50 with EHU and 15 with out

The field was flat which always helps. One tip use plastic tent pegs as it is very stoney.

You pitch around the edges of the field so there's room for kids to play

In the middle which is good.

The toilets are cleaned regularly and kept in good order

The showers are very basic. But I think he's going to improve on them

They are nice and hot not very powerful but they do the job.

Plenty of drinking water taps dotted about as we were leaving he was putting another 1 in

The owners are very friendly and chattie.

You can buy eggs from the farm which a few from our group did and then joyed them

If you need to stock up there's a nice little village called Thornton le dale

Just turn right as you come to main rd

And a farm shop just a bit further on past the village

Fire pits are allowed as long as you keep it off the grass

And the best thing is we didn't have to pay a deposite

We've booked another 3 days there in august

So weather permitting well be back there soon

The washing up area was on but a bit hit and miss with the hot water

We did mention it to him. He's going to look into it

So on the whole

Very good 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leeming7 2 reviews from this member

 Just home after a 3 night stay at warren house farm. We have had an amazing time, and can't wait to go again.

Beautiful site, very well kept. Great base for touring the surrounding area.

Owners very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.

Excellent value for money, with excellent facilities. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kate130 3 reviews from this member

 We went to Warren House campsite for four nights in April (yes we are slightly mad!) The site owner is very friendly and helpful. The toilets and shower are lovely and very well looked after. The tent pitches are big which is always good. We loved the location, and the wildlife around the site, really lovely area. There are good dog walks in the woods. Lovely beaches not far away, shops and flamingo land. And most of all the price is excellent!Will definitely be going back, its our new favourite campsite! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Santa cruz 20 reviews from this member

 Excellent CC/CL, big field so the 5 pitch restriction the C&CC apply means oudle's of space between you and your neighbours on either side.

Access to the field is (almost) through the farm itself and the views south across what is the vale of York towards the Yorkshire Wolds in the distance is superb.

Would concur with the previous review, the family who run the farm and the site make it that bit special, big thanks to Mick and family for making us feel so welcome. T. V. Reception is excellent as is mobile phone, for TalkTalk at least.

My wife and I are retired but we had two of our grandsons with us for what should have been our last night but the boys enjoyed being shown around the farm and seeing all the animals first hand that we had to give in to their demands and stay an extra night. And they were still reluctant to leave the next day.

The site is situated at the south east corner of Dalby Forest, so close in fact that immediately you pass through one of the two hand gates on the site you are effectively in Dalby Forest. Great walks, great mountain bike trails and a newly revamped visitor centre in Low Dalby for 2014.

The pub down in the village of Allerston (Cayley Arms) is 'ok' food wise but nothing to write home about, however the service and welcome is very warming with a good atmosphere.

The lovely village of Thornton-Le-Dale is just a couple of miles west and a further three miles takes you into the market town of Pickering with an abundance of pubs, cafes, two excellent fish and chip shops, a great take away run by Turks but selling great pizza's :) and enough shops to satisfy most staying for a couple of days or even a long weekend.

In all a great site, well looked after and spot on for those who want to walk, cycle (off road) or just chill and soak up the view.

Finally; is it value for money? Well it certainly is; Currently 17. 50 per night for a caravan, awing, EHU and pets, and that's regardless of the number of people sleeping in the caravan. How refreshing when on top of the stated pitch fee so many want 2 for each dog, 2 for an awning (3 if it's a full awning) x for EHU and 3 for each additional vehicle. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roberta kay 1 review from this member

 WOW WOW WOW The site was absolutely perfect, just a beautiful field, with spectacular views and incredible access to Debdale woods, great for jogging, walking riding bikes. The toilets are a real surprise in the nicest possible way. But what really makes this site are the family who manage the farm and site. They are so pleasant, nothing is too much trouble and they are always on hand to help out if you were to get lost. They'll provide maps, and matches for those inadequate campers who arrive without. Thank-you for a truly memorable week, and yes we did have three tents in one week. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Warren House Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Warren House Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Warren House Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5054 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement